2010 Mazda CX-9 brakes problems: stiff, difficult braking

Stiff, Difficult Braking

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The only area of real concern for 2010 Mazda CX-9 owners is the brake booster.

In 2014, Mazda extended the warranty on the 2007-2013 CX-9 brake booster to 7 years / 90,000 miles. However this extended warranty has expired, so buyer beware.

This Mazda CX-9 brake booster failure isn't terrible in terms of repair cost — it "only" costs $550 average to fix. However it is a safety issue when the brake booster fails as it increases stopping distance. Owners have reported having to stomp on the brake pedal, & crashes/injuries have been reported due to this CX-9 brake booster defect.

8.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$770
Average Mileage:
102,400 miles
Total Complaints:
7 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (4 reports)
  2. replace the brake booster (2 reports)
  3. replace brake cylinder membrane (1 reports)
2010 Mazda CX-9 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mazda CX-9:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mazda CX-9 Owner Comments

problem #7

Mar 272018

CX-9 Sport 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed hissing from brakes about 6 months ago. Replaced front brakes, problem persisted. Airbag recall came in and took car into dealer. Had them look at brakes since they started making whistling noises recently. Brakes seemed to stop fine. Dealer said it was the booster. Looked it up online, found the extended warranty, however now I am past the 90,000 mile limit. 6 months ago if I had known of this I would not have been. Called Mazda corporate, they said they will NOT cover it. Guess I won't be buying another Mazda. Too bad, I really liked the CX-5.

This is an example of very poor response to a dangerous issue, and should have been a recall. This is due to the fact of this being a safety issue, as well as the lack of knowledge by the next owners if buying the vehicle used. The NHTSA really screwed this one up. Judging from the NHTSA response on this issue it seems they think that the booster would be "prevented" from totally losing pressure by hitting another part, that is, in my opinion, a bunch of crap.If you lose brake pressure of any sort you are going to panic. I guess it will take injury or death before the government acts.

- unfitmazda, Toledo, US

problem #6

Apr 012016

CX-9 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

I TOOK MY X-9 INTO MAZDA IN NORTH MIAMI AND I AM TOLD THE BOOSTER IS BAD TO THE TUNE OF $672.00 AND WHEN I LOOKED IT UP IT WAS A RECALL IF TAKEN IN BETWEEN MARCH 2014 TO MARCH 31,2015. UNLIMITED WARRANTY AFTER MARCH 31, 2015, 7 YEARS OR 90,000 MILES WARRANTY, NOW I HAVE TO PAY $672.00 WITH 12 MONTHS OR 12,000.00 WARRANTY

AND THIS WAS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH MAZDA. I HAVE OWNED A MAZDA SINCE 1992 NEVER AN ISSUE, AND THIS IS MY MOST LUXURIOUS PURCHASE.. HOW DO I GET COMPENSATED FOR THIS?

- Barbara L., Miami, FL, USA

problem #5

Dec 192017

CX-9 6 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

brake booster noise, braking distance compromised unsafe December 19, 2017 NHTSA ID NUMBER: 11055542 Components: SERVICE BRAKES NHTSA ID Number: 11055542

Incident Date December 19, 2017

Consumer Location MCKINNEY, TX

Vehicle Identification Number JM3TB2MV9A0**

Summary of Complaint

CRASHNo

FIRENo

INJURIES0

DEATHS0

HELLO!

THIS MORNING ON 19 DECEMBER 2017, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IN A CITY STREET GETTING READY TO CROSS A MAJOR INTERSECTION. THE LIGHT TURNED YELLOW AND SHE BEGAN TO BRAKE. AT FIRST THEY FELT NORMAL, BUT THEN THE PEDAL WENT DOWN AND THE BRAKES FELT REALLY HARD AND THE HISSING STARTED, ALMOST RUNNING INTO THE BACK OF THE CAR IN FRONT OF HER. SHE PULLED OVER AND CALLED ME.

WHEN I ARRIVED, I COULD HEAR A HISSING SOUND AS IF AIR WAS LEAKING FROM SOMEWHERE NEAR THE BRAKE BOOSTER. I AM AN AIR FORCE AIRCRAFT MECHANIC AND HAVE BEEN WORKING ON MY OWN CARS FOR OVER 40 YEARS. I SEARCHED ALL OVER THINKING THAT A HOSE MIGHT HAVE TORN OR PULLED OUT OF THE CHECK VALVE, BUT I COULD NOT SEE ANYTHING OBVIOUS. THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS FINE, SO I DROVE THE CAR HOME AND BEGAN TO SEARCH THE INTERNET.

I FOUND THIS WEBSITE: HTTP://WWW.MAZDAPROBLEMS.COM/TRENDS/BRAKE-BOOSTER-FAILURE/ AND FOUND OUT THAT MAZDA HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THE ISSUE FOR YEARS. I'M REALLY UPSET THAT THEY WOULD NOT MAKE A RECALL ON SOMETHING LIKE THIS, SINCE IT AFFECTS BRAKE RELIABILITY AND COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT, INJURY OR DEATH!!!

I'VE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP: HTTP://WWW.ELDORADOMAZDA.COM/ TO VERIFY IF IT WOULD BE COVERED, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS NOT. WHEN I INQUIRED ABOUT WHY WEREN'T OWNERS NOTIFIED OF THIS POSSIBLY LETHAL SITUATION, THEY COULD NOT PROVIDE AN INTELLIGENT ANSWER, OTHER THAN YOUR CAR IS TOO OLD AND IT HAS TOO MANY MILES. OUR VEHICLE BARELY HAS 92K MILES ON IT, AN AVERAGE OF 13K PER YEAR. THEY STILL TOLD ME THAT THEY WOULD FIX IT, BUT THAT I'D HAVE TO PAY FOR IT .

THIS SITUATION IS ABSURD AND NEGLIGENT AND I FEEL THAT ANYTHING TO DO WITH BRAKES AND THEIR PERFORMANCE OR LACK THERE OFF SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL AND OWNERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO FIND OUT THE HARD WAY LIKE DAYS BEFORE CHRISTMAS OR AFTER AN ACCIDENT!!!

PLEASE, HELP US! :)

HOPE YOU HAVE A MERRY CHRISTMAS!

- iloveklassiks, McKinney, US

problem #4

Mar 312017

CX-9

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had a problem with the brakes out of the blue. Trouble braking, very scary to drive home from work. There has been an on going brake booster problem with the Mazda CX9, not sure why it wasn't recalled and why I have to pay for a problem that has been a known Mazda issue for a while.

- Hetal R., Ellicott City, US

problem #3

Jun 152016

CX-9 Touring 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

Well taken care of by selling dealership (Overland Park Mazda - recommended) . Currently in the shop but has not been quoted any cost, as this is a known defect on specific cx-9 years by Mazda and if any cost were imposed I would refuse. Cannot believe Mazda corp does not make a preemptive recall on the defect: I almost had a rear end and almost got rear ended on the way to dealership. Brakes are very hard to apply, then when enough pressure is applied (and it takes a lot, in our case at least) all of a sudden it comes through and puts the car to a very fast stop - dangerous if someone is laying close behind you! Highly irresponsible by Mazda corp not to recall. Again, not reflecting badly upon the dealer/ service where we bought this used , in Dec 2015. They are great! Otherwise a sporty if not thirsty 7-hauler that we enjoy.

- mgonzalezbravo, Olathe, KS, USA

problem #2

Apr 112016

CX-9 Grand Touring

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

Brakes were so hard to push that I was not able to stop properly. Hissing started a week before the pedal started seizing. Looked online says they extended the warranty to 90k. Of course my car has 110k! Dealer is not willing to help either. Super disappointed with Mazda.

- Joann O., mesquite, TX, USA

problem #1

Oct 242015

CX-9 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

brakes are not working all the time, is hard to brake

BRAKES ARE SO HARD SOME TIMES THAT I GET SCARE AND THE MECANICS ARE TELL LING ME IT COULD BE THE MASTER CILINDER OR THE BOOSTER?

- alicia_diaz, Anaheim, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?