2014 Ram 1500 transmission problems: bump in transmission when releasing brake or accelerating

Bump In Transmission When Releasing Brake Or Accelerating

2014 Ram 1500

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ram dealer.

6.2

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$750
Average Mileage:
13,500 miles
Total Complaints:
19 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (16 reports)
  2. replaced drive shaft (1 reports)
  3. symptoms caused from-gas pedal sensor and module- defective! (1 reports)
  4. update pcm, clear adaptive transmission module/s (1 reports)
2014 Ram 1500 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ram 1500 Owner Comments

problem #19

Jun 302016

1500 Bighorn 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Dealership was notified immediately. Took it in for tech analysis...was told they could not replicate the described issue and therefore could not issue a prognosis or a work order. I have taken it the dealer multiple times, while still under warranty, for this same reason and was told the same thing each time. But now that the warranty has expired, I'd bet they could get tyre issue to replicate itself VERY easily.

- Jerry P., La Cygne, KS, US

problem #18

Oct 032016

1500 Tradesman 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,800 miles

Purchased this truck with only 7,700 miles on it. Noticed this bumping or what feels to me like a broken motor or transmission mount the very first week of owning this truck. I called my local Dodge dealer and explained this bump or shift in the drive train that I feel every time I stop and than accelerate from a stop. The service department told me that this is normal for the RAM 1500 with the 8 speed transmission. I guess they just don't want to waste their time trying to find out what is causing this issue. I turned the hill assist off and I am still getting the bump or shifting feeling. I guess I can live with it as long as I know for sure its not a defect.

- flbandit98, Melbourne, FL, US

problem #17

Jan 012016

1500 Sport 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

Still experiencing engine and transmission problems. Engine runs excessively rough at times and the bump in transmission occurs more frequently. Going back to the shop this weekend.

If you are someone that experiences the transmission jerk from 1st to 2nd on cold starts, I've found rolling into second slowly seems to remedy the once or twice a day issue. Still not a longterm dealership/ Chrysler solution though.

- James W., Hubbardston, MA, US

problem #16

Aug 152016

1500 Laramie 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After going to two dealers and the issue was not resolved, I emailed Chrysler assist and they contacted me right away. They had me go back to the second dealer and they worked directly with the dealer. Both Chrysler assist and the dealer were excellent to work with. The issue is caused by a part in the drive shaft but it was less costly for them to replace the drive shaft than to take it apart and replace the interior part. I highly recommend contacting Chrysler assist if you cannot get this same issue resolved. Many people on this website reported the same issue I was feeling. I have had it back for over a week and it has not reoccurred.

- Bob A., Cincinnati, OH, US

problem #15

Jun 202016

1500 Longhorn 3.0L V6 Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

After stopping truck suddenly "bumps" as if hit from behind. Problem comes and goes - dealer has no idea how to fix!

Update from Aug 17, 2019: My resolution was a Lemon Law attorney. My truck became un-drivable. After 5 dealers and a multitude & growing number of failures, FCA bought my crappy truck back. The 3rd party collection company they use to collect the vehicle is a real piece of work also. Iā€™m pretty confident that FCA will never sell me another pile of crap again!

- hershey1, San Angelo, TX, US

problem #14

Feb 272014

1500 Laramie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

Related to Ram 8spd Transmission Bump

I've had the transmission bump from day 1 of ownership. Had it back to the dealer several times, with out resolution. They installed several software updates but nothing that cured the "bump".

The best way I can describe the sensation is imagine having a big tank of water in the bed of the truck, I accelerate from a stop, and as all the water shifts to the back of the tank you can feel that abrupt motion of the water shifting and hitting the back of the tank.

My guess is its a software issue related to "Hill-Start Assist" feature. How the ECM holds and releases the transmission is not smooth or seamless, and we feel the "bump" when it releases the drive train to operate. I turned off the Hill-Start Feature and it virtually eliminated the "bump". I think the engineers could fix this with some better code writing.

- 1buck, Atlanta, GA, US

problem #13

Dec 312015

1500 Sport 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Everything mentioned by previous Ram owners is exactly what I've experienced. On cold starts, the transmission almost feels like it's disengaging from the flywheel in first gear, the RPM will increase on it's own, and the truck will jerk forward into second.

I've also had the bump when coming to a stop or starting. Feels like a brick or cinderblock slides forward from the back of the truck bed to the front when you're coming to a crawl of a stop.

Not sure if anyone else has had this problem but when coasting at a low speed, I've actually had the truck jerk forward 6 or 7 times like the engine was going to die from lack of fuel/ air. It's going back to the dealership. Looks like there is no work around for this based on previous posts. I had the short block replaced under warranty because of a worn cam shaft bearing. The new block has less than 2k miles on it and here come transmission problems. Honestly, if I didn't love the truck as much as I do, I'd get rid of it. It's been in the shop 4 times within the last 6 months. I feel like anyone else would have gone crazy by now.

Update from Jul 6, 2016: Brought it to the dealership last Friday. They had it back to me in a day. Based on the service ticket, it doesnt even look like they test drove the truck before or after the repairs. They updated the PCM and cleared the adaptive shift memory in the transmission. Seems to be shifting much better now and the rough engine idle is completely gone.

Update from Jul 18, 2016: After about 2 weeks, the transmission is slowly progressing back to it's old ways. A gentleman, Andrew B messaged me and stated it's a programming glitch with the Hill Start Assist and to disable it. I'm going to try that today and see if there's any improvement. Thanks for the tip Andrew!

- James W., Hubbardston, MA, US

problem #12

Nov 192014

1500 Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17 miles

Bought new 2014 RAM Larimie 8 speed transmission.

When coming to a stop, gear will shift from 4th gear to 1st gear. Will hard shift down to 1st when slowing to a stop. Started the day I got the truck, at 17 miles on the odometer. My gear ration is the 3.92 and it seems like another complaint had the same gear ration. I am wondering if this is the issue. It could be the new 8 speed transmission, which was new for 2014, I think.

I had a Dodge dakota 2000 and still have this truck and the transmission on that is smooth like silk. Beautiful. The 2014 1500 Ram is clunky and jerky. I only have 3500 miles on this Ram and the date of this writing is Jan 22, 2106.

I have mentioned this to the dealer but never bothered to bring it in. I honestly dont think they have a fix and having them mess around with my new truck will only likely make things worse.

This Ram transmission is a learning trans. Yes it is, but I dont think that means it learns how to be less clunky and improve the hard shifting. I think learning mean just how to efficiently shift, not how it shifts. Dealer did say it may get better as it learns but I think that is a puff of smoke.

I just think this 2014 RAM trans is not a good trans. Someday it will break. I bought the lifetime Chrysler coverage so im not worried, but the drive is awful to some degree.

- ram1500, Mililani, HI, US

problem #11

Aug 012014

1500 Outdoorsman Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,049 miles

Hi Friends,

I am the proud owner of a 2014 Ram 1500. I have the crew cab, 5.7l hemi, 4x4 , Outdoorsman version. I use this truck for my work as a pilot car, escorting oversize loads throughout North America! I am based out of Montreal, Canada and bought this tryck brand new with 7km on it in June 2014! Today, I have 196,670km on it!

I also have the transmission issue similar to others on here....seems like dry-shifting when downshifting and gear-slamming when upshifting! I had purchased an extended warranty to 200,000km at time of purchase...and I have only recently started visiting dealers to witness and address the transmission issue before my mileage breaks the 200,000km! I stopped last week at a dealer in Lufkin,Tx., and took a mechanic for a test drive in which the did not reveal the issue! Thx Ram...but they did believe that what I was saying was possible but without real evidence they could only 'flash' my ECM and update where possible! That was free but of no effect to the rough shifting! I should mention that when driving, my engine seems to have a hard time matching the driveline with my throttle...I can best describe it by saying that the sound of my hemi is similar to the beginning of the music in the movie 'Jaws' (when the shark is approaching)! There are so many different modules in this truck that if one sensor is out of sync, then perhaps the rest cannot compensate properly to provide optimum overall performance! I have read all the other complaints but no one mentionned the engine sound fluctuating! I am in touch with both Chrysler Canada and my original dealer, and they are both offering me options to have the truck completely checked even though I must leave on another trip to Texas before I can stop for 2 or 3 days and allow them to find and fix the problem! Chrysler Canada told me to do my trip to Texas and when I arrive down there, regardless of the mileage over the 200,000 km, go to the nearest dealer down there and they will authorize and fully cover any repairs neccessary! Bravo! I went to see my dealer this morning, here in Laval, Qc., service was closed but the sales Director told me to stop in early this Monday, just before I leave for Texas and the service manager will open a work order while my mileage is under the 200,000 limit and then after I return from the trip they will solve the issue under warranty regardless of the actual mileage! I have to say that the cause of my problem is still unknown but, at this point, I like knowing that both my Manufacturer and my selling Dealer, are standing on their product and service to accomodate this customer! That is worthy of my continued loyalty to Dodge! I doubt that they will let me down! I will update my fellow Ram owners of my situation in a couple of weeks or so! God bless šŸ™‹

Update from Feb 24, 2016: Well friends and fellow Ram owners....I'm not so proud that I am the owner of a Dodge Ram! Chrysler Canada has manipulated and deceived me with their words to support me if I crossed the kilometer limit of my warranty! The dealers did little or nothing to solve my vehicle issue while it was under warranty but now that I am paying the bill they have found the problem! Nothing like getting shafted by a huge company like Chrysler Canada! This is the last Dodge product I will ever purchase!

- ramit5000, St.Edouard, QC, canada

problem #10

Nov 052014

1500 SLT 3.0L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles

Slips into gear when in traffic and at slow starts. Feels like I'm getting rear ended.

- pmorita, Long Beach, NY, US

problem #9

Sep 172014

1500 SXT 3.6L V6 8 Spd

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have the same problem, although mine seems to happen when first taking off. I don't get to drive it much but it seems to be when it's cold mostly but it has happened after driving for a while and then taking off at a light. Not many hills in MB to test the downhill on. I'll be taking into the dealer tomorrow for the recall repairs and I'll be asking about it but I'm not holding my breath. The one thing I miss is a dip stick to check the trans fluid level...

- bisontrkr, Winnipeg, MB, Canada

problem #8

May 012015

1500 5.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

Have taken vehicle to two separate and unrelated dealers (automotive) in Las Vegas - both agree that the problem exists, but there is no given solution. "new transmission design". Really annoying when coming down a hill after long cross country drive.

Solution - buy a different manufacturer's vehicle!

- dwoodard, Las Vegas, NV, US

problem #7

Mar 212014

1500 ST 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

I have the same problems that every one else is having; when slowing it will hard downshift to stop. I have taken it to the dealer and Chrysler was involved multiple times. They updated the software in it and it got better for about a week. Then back to the same. Last time they told me that they were designing a different valve that would probably be a solution, they said by 2014 summer. Well it is 2015 and no solution. I have to admit they have always gotten me a rental and are always helpful about my needs. Mind you I have bought 4 different Chrysler brand vehicles from this dealer and two more Chrysler from other Chrysler dealers. My family and I have been very loyal to their brands. I love this truck otherwise, but I hope that they can resolve this very annoying issue.

- Cesar H., Moreno Valley, CA, US

problem #6

Oct 012014

1500 SXT 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,534 miles

Went to the dealer a few times... For them they can't do anything cause it's the manufacturer who should find a solution. The dealer tried to explain it, but no more. I call them every 3-4 month to make sure the know the problem is always there....

- sgiguerre, Mirabel, QC, Canada

problem #5

Feb 062015

1500 Sport V8 Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,100 miles

I have the exact same problem as everyone else on this thread. My truck is at the dealership now. They are acting like they've never heard of or seen this before. I hope they don't think I'm going to accept anything short of this being made right. They have been really cool about letting me use one of their used cars while they investigate this so I'm not complaining about them. Yet. Anyway, I was really hoping to find some helpful advice here. Anyone got anything?

- gga, Warner Robins, GA, US

problem #4

Feb 122014

1500 Sport 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

Bought the my truck in December 2013. I have had this problem since about February 2014. When slowing down it downshifts very hard. There is no way of knowing when it will do it but it happens at least once almost every time I drive somewhere. I have taken it to the dealership multiple times. Had the computer flashed to update transmission to newest update. It seemed to fix it for about a week, then it came back. I have also notice the 2-1 shift is very rough too, and notice it EVERY time I come to a stop. Dealer has told me that Chrysler hasn't issued any recalls or fixes for this issue but to keep checking back with them to see if anything new comes up. It is very annoying. I also think I should mention I have the 8 speed transmission with 3.92 gear ratio. I would make a new complaint every time it does this, but I would have a few hundred complaints on this thread. A buddy of mine has a 2013 Sport with same 5.7 hemi and 8 spd transmission, only difference in our trucks is the gear ratio. His has the 3.21 or 3.23 (I can't remember for the life of me, what the other stock gear ratio is). His drives and shifts as smooth as silk. I am to a point where I just drive it and hope the transmission goes out before 100,000 miles.

- Nick B., Marietta, OH, US

problem #3

Sep 012014

1500 laramie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

I am having the exact same thing happening to my transmission as one and two. The dealer said nothing wrong at first. I went on a test drive with them and they felt the problem after I pointed it out. It only does it maybe 10-20% of the time. Very annoying as if the transmission has a split second slip at take off then catches into gear. The dealer gave me the newest trany update and wanted me to drive it around awhile but it did not help. Going to take it back again. Also the downshift from 2nd gear just before coming to a stop is annoying too

Update from Feb 3, 2015: I am having the exact same problem as complaint 1 & 2. Dealer is aware of the problem since I took them on a test drive and showed them the issue. They performed the new trany update and had me drive it around to see if it fixed the problem. Problem is still the same. Going to return it to the dealer.

- Paul H., Temecula, CA, US

problem #2

Dec 012014

1500 Big Horn 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,411 miles

I see at least one other 2014 Ram 1500 owner has the same issue and he was told by the dealership that there is nothing wrong. There is definitely something wrong...the transmission is not shifting to 1st gear upon braking to a stop. Then when you try to accelerate, it "finds" itself and quickly "bumps" into 1st. I can tell when it's going to happen but can't prevent it. Happens 95% - 98% of the time. I am afraid the dealer will say the same thing to me as said to the other guy. I love the truck otherwise. I bought it used with 8411 miles.

What kind of advice can anyone offer to get a dealership to do the right thing? I want to get the problem resolved and don't want a line of BS thrown at me when I bring it in.

- Robert S., Palm Beach Gardens, FL, US

problem #1

May 012014

1500 Laramie 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

My truck only has 7k miles. 95% of the time I let off the brakes from a complete stop, I can feel and hear a delayed bump in the transmission in the rear. The best way I can describe it is by saying it feels like a small brick is in the truck bed, and when I accelerate, the brick slides toward the back and hits the tailgate. This happens when I just take my foot of off the brake and coast forward for a bit and if I accelerate. Someone has mentioned torque converter problem or U Joint. I took it to the dealership and they said it was operating normally. I don't know if they just did not get the truck to do the problem and I don't want to keep wasting my time at the dealership.

- brooksd, Norcross, GA, US

Not what you are looking for?