Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,496 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Sebring engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Apr 092016

Sebring

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When cruise control on, when you step on brake at stoplight, accelerates un- controllably. Must slam on brakes, shift to neutral, and turn ignition off. Then would accelerate again several times when trying to restart car. I think cruise control finally went off.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #20

Feb 192016

Sebring

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring convertible. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a stop light, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed however, the brakes failed to slow the vehicle. The contact was able to place the shifter in the neutral position to slow the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle was towed to the residence. The contact also stated that when the vehicle was restarted, the engine revved. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #19

May 092006

Sebring

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, she approached a traffic stop signal as the engine stalled without warning. The engine restarted and resumed normally. In addition, on numerous occasions an unintended acceleration occurred when depressing the brake or accelerator pedal. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and they were unable to locate the problem. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was not available.

- Millington, TN, USA

problem #18

Nov 282012

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 80,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After accelerating from a stop at a traffic light, the car accelerator or throttle began to stick and accelerate intensely, going up to 80mph with the brake engaged. I pulled off the main road, continuing to brake as hard as I could until I was able to safely shut down the car. I had no control over the car and narrowly avoided a serious accident. Prior to this incident, my car has had every service recommended by the manufacturer manual.

- Townsend, DE, USA

problem #17

Oct 112011

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 80,291 miles
I bought my used touring model Sebring in may of 2011, and since then it has repeatedly jumped or leaped forward when coming to a stop or idling, even with my foot on the brake. I have almost caused a few accidents by ramming the car in front of me at a stop light and such. As well, it stalled out on me when I made a complete stop on 10/11/11. I have seen many, many of the same complaints and wish I knew what the issue was. Will be taking it into the repair shop tomorrow.

- Byron, MN, USA

problem #16

Jul 162010

Sebring

  • miles
I have owned a 2004 Chrysler Sebring for about 3 years. This issue has been sporadic throughout the time I've had the car. After driving on the highway and then needing to come to a stop at a traffic light, stop sign, or toll booth, the car periodically does one of two things; it either stalls, which then I have to restart the car and all is fine, or the rpms drop and this causes the car (by itself) to react by revving up the rpms and lunging forward while my foot remains on the brake. It's not so much the stalling part that bothers me, as I restart the car and go. However, on several occasions, I nearly hit the car in front of me when the car lunged forward. The occurrences are infrequent, but it is only going to take one time that the nearly becomes an accident. This issue occurs maybe 15-20 times per year. Out 20 occurrences, it will stall 18 times and lunge 2 times. Nothing has ever been found to be mechanically wrong with the car. After doing some research, it appears to be a common issue with this year, make and model. I've seen enough complaints to take the time to send this to you.

- Blandon, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 052004

Sebring

  • 90 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. While driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions proceeding to make a turn; suddenly, the engine stalled without warning. The driver was able to restart the engine and resume operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle also intermittently exhibited unintended acceleration. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 90 and the current mileage was 30,000.

- Fairland , IN, USA

problem #14

Dec 202007

(reported on)

Sebring

  • miles
2004 chrsyler Sebring surging issue. Consumer states that the vehicle will accelerate without warning causing the driver to take emergency action.

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #13

Jun 142007

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. He stated that the engine would race and the vehicle would surge. Surge forward. The engine would rail until he turned the key off. The current mileage was 43,500 and the failure mileage was 41,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 062006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Shortly after I took delivery on my 2004 Sebring sedan in July, 2004, I returned to the dealer because the car would shake and stall out at low idle speeds. The dealer addressed the problem. The problem recurred again in late 2005, but this time, it didn't always stall out. At times while I was breaking or even stopped with my foot on the break, the car would suddenly surge forward without my touching the accelerator. I took it to the dealership again, and it was fixed, I was told, by a computer update, and I got it back on 12/1/05. I noticed that the problem was recurring as I drove about 450 miles on January 3rd and 4th of 2006. I planned to take the car back to the dealership after driving home on 1/6. but on the last leg of the trip, as I applied the brakes coming up on cars stopped at a traffic light, the engine surged and the car hurtled forward as I yelled and tried to get the brakes to override the acceleration. I rear-ended the car in front of me at the light, but only knocked out her left brake light. The Sebring sustained over $5000 in damages. I drove the car the rest of the way to my home, but on reflection, I was too afraid to drive it to the dealership for repairs, and they came and drove it to be repaired. When they checked for the surge I described, this time they were unable to duplicate it, so they said they could do nothing. I have not accepted the car back. Too dangerous.

- Shillington, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 252005

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chrysler Sebring touring 20000 miles. When car is stopped with foot on brake car jumps forward for no reason like some one had put their foot on the gas this has happen couple times took it to the dealer. He found a service bulletin and was going to do it when I take it back. But after reading it seems like there is a lot of people with this problem there should be recall before some one is killed!!!! also when in traction control it makes a terrible noise like the brakes grinding on the rotors when the wheels are spinning dealer not sure what is wrong and is going to look into it.

- Bradford, PA, USA

problem #10

Aug 132005

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,757 miles
Consumer has a 2004 Chrysler seabring. Consumer complained about an intermittent stalling problem. Vehicle has been worked on twice due to stalling. Dealer cleaned the throttle body twice. The vehicle was at the dealer on August 12, 2005. Then the vehicle stalled again on August the 13, 2005. Dealer said the problem was build up in the throttle body. When the vehicle stalled there was no warning, and the vehicle started up with no problem after stalling. She contacted dealer August 15, 2005 and the dealership assured her the vehicle was safe, and did not offer to try to do anything else to fix the problem. She did not think vehicle was safe, and was scared to let her family ride in it.

- Hattiesverg, MS, USA

problem #9

Jul 112004

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Purchased 4 door Chrysler Sebring sedan (4 cylinder at mcdonnough chrylser of East brunswick, NJ 7/9/04 w/ 13 miles. 2 days following the purchase, car stalled at approximately 42 mph on a crowded interstate, and started right back up. Drove to dealer to find that I needed a computer software update. Took the vehicle back, idling rough, rpms jumping all over the place. Several weeks later, vehicle stalled again this time on NJ turnpike while slowing down, but not before surging forward, my foot was not on the accelerator, and again started right back up. Returned to dealer @ 994 mi, nothing registered on diagnostic check, another cpu update. Car still in same condition only did not stall. Surging got progressively worse, finally at approximately 8,000 miles car stalled countless times in the 13 mile ride to dealer, check engine light illuminated, could hardly drive the entire way. Dealer found bad ignition coil, but only because the light was illuminated could they detect a problem. Dealer kept car 3 days, did not offer rental or comp car, nor transportation to my work. Picked up car, not stalling but still idling rough, steering wheel visibly shaking. Car surges forward at every stoplight, I have just learned to control the brake to avoid accident, not accelerating properly & transmission slips at low speeds. Why can't this problem be erradicated, this is my first brand new car, and runs as poorly as my trade in did at 230,000 miles! I need a break, and I need a solution. In addition, car makes loud whistling noise between 68-73 mph, and headlights have shut off 2 times in the middle of driving at night and flickered back on also, not tracable by dealer computer.

- Carteret, NJ, USA

problem #8

Nov 182004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,020 miles
When coming to a stop with my foot on the brake, the idle will drop down and then surge causing the car to lurch forward. It has also stalled on 2 occasions. I have almost hit another car and a pedestrian when the car unexpectedly jumped forward. I am afraid I will hit something. This problem needs to be investigated now.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 112004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,985 miles
I have already submitted one complaint and this is an extension of that plus a new complaint. On 7/11/2004 my vehicle surged again when I started to take my foot off the brake while sitting at a stop sign. When will an investigation begin on this problem" including my past complaint I have found 10 complaints about this problem. Does someone have to die before an investigation is started? the ODI id# for just the surging issue are: 10075295, 10079965, 10079969, 10072311, 10063597, 10064593, 10074633, 10065378, 10075041, and 10080475. I informed the dealership about the problem and they looked at all the sensors and computers and said they found no problem or record of a problem in the car's computer, this was on 7/12/2004. Also a problem from months ago, the car suddenly died, luckily my wife was cruising through a park and the speed limit was 10 mph, she was able to restart it and it hasn't happened since. We took it to the dealer and again they checked everything and found no problem. 3rd issue, my Sebring has been idling very rough every now and then. I drive my car every single day, but it appears to do it mainly when it is the first start of the day but it has done it at other times. The dealer has been notified about this issue and they requested we leave it with them over night so they could test it on the first start. Service arrangements for this issue have not been made yet. I have found many complaints about all three of these problems on this website, but there is not a single investigation open on this model of Chrysler, why"

- Melber, KY, USA

problem #6

May 142004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Sitting at a stop light, the vehicle's rpms increased and it tried to surge forward, but foot was still firmly on the brake so the car didn't move more than a couple of inches. The next day a truck stopped in the road and it had no brake lights, so my wife had to slam on the brakes. She released the brake and as she did the engine's rpms revved up very strongly and the car surged forward. The brake was applied again and the car came to a stop and held the car back until the engine's idle speed returned to normal a few seconds later, because of the surge an accident almost occurred. Took the car to the dealership, they looked at it and found no problems, said it may have been a computer glitch. A few weeks later, while letting off the brake the car surged again, brake was applied and car came to a stop. Then a week or two after that while stopped in a parking lot with the transmission in drive and the brake applied, the car revved up again and tried to surge forward, but again only moved a couple of inches because the brake was firmly applied. Later car died, but was able to restart right away. Car taken back to dealer in regard to both problems. The dealer said the stalling problem could have been because of the oil filter. They replaced the oil filter and the oil switch, as for the surging problem they said they could not find anything wrong, and again it could have been a computer glitch.

- Melber, KY, USA

problem #5

Jun 052004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 531 miles
My 2004 Chrysler Sebring limited convertable has an ongoing problem of the engine intermittently surging, revving, and dying at slow speeds. I've been to the dealer 11 times. He can't duplicate problem but has found oil on map sesor, PCV valve & hose and intake plenum. He has replaced these parts and finally had to replace whole engine along with running service bulletin # 18-041-03. The surging, reving, and dying has started again. The first time was at 531 miles and the most resent was at 18500 miles. The Chrysler people told me mine was the only case but I've found 9 more on this website. Something must be done!!!!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

May 142004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
Follow up to ODI #10064593. Vehicle continues to accelerate unexpectedly while sitting at a stop. Has also stalled on three occasions and idles rough. It has been to two (2) dealerships 8 times. Tcp sensor, ad solenoid, map sensor and PCV valve all been replaced. Service bulletin #18-041-03 has been ran twice. The vehicle has almost hit two cars, one motorcycle, one concrete piling and two buildings. The only thing that has kept me from hitting anything is the fact that I always have my foot on the brake. Why won't Chrysler or the NHTSA begin an investigation? I have found over a dozen complaints regarding Chrysler/Jeep vehicles with the same dangerous malfunction. I love my car, but I am afraid someone is going to get hurt.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #3

Mar 302004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 744 miles
When I brake to park the vehicle, it surges forward. It has done this several times. The dealership has replaced the throttle position censor, but it continues to surge.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #2

Mar 112004

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
While at a stop light vehicle suddenly accelerated and hit another vehicle.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?