Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have caught on fire.

Have we mentioned all the reports of complete engine failure due to oil sludge?


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,419 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Apr 252008


  • 148,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving at an unknown speed, the low oil warning light illuminated. The contact pulled into the nearest service station to check the oil. She added one quart of oil as indicated by the oil dip stick. She resumed driving and after approximately five miles, the engine began knocking. She pulled to the side of the road and called a tow truck to have the vehicle towed back to North Carolina. Once in North Carolina, the vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that a new engine was needed. The failure and current mileages were 148,000.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #35

Jul 162007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,292 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 40 mph in dry conditions, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The contact pulled off the road. She was able to restart the vehicle and drive to her residence. The vehicle was then towed to the dealer, where it is currently located. The dealer has been unable to determine the cause of failure. There is an open defect investigation (EA05018) for this failure. The current and failure mileages were 36,429. Updated 09/05/07.

- Ashland, OR, USA

problem #34

Jul 022007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,100 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. On July 2, 2007, the contact stated that the engine shut off when driving at high speeds or when in the idle position. She had new equipment for the engine replaced. She stated that this is the fifth time that this failure has occurred. The current and failure mileages were 47,100.

- Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #33

Nov 012006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving 50 mph, the steering wheel locked and the vehicle shut off without warning. The contact parked and restarted the vehicle. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. Presently, no other failures have occurred. The current mileage is 42,000 and failure mileage was 39,000.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #32

Dec 032006

Durango 4WD

  • 34,000 miles
Engine died as we were exiting the freeway after driving about 40 miles. Had it towed to dealership. Were told the engine failed because of sludge build-up from failure to change oil often enough. $6000 to replace with a remanufactured engine. New engine would have been $8, 000. We did not have receipts of the oil changes performed, and so we had to pay for engine replacement. Have since heard of many others who had the same experience.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #31

Mar 122007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
2/15/07 while driving the engine just shut off. 3/12/07 truck was running fine. Drove approx. 2 miles and it would not re-start. Engine would fire, then stall. After 5 attempts it started continued to run fine.

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #30

Mar 022007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,488 miles


On March 2, 2007 I got in my 2004 Dodge Durango limited (hemi) to take my kids to school, I noticed my radio had no sound, the power came on, but no sound at all was heard. After I drove about 1/2 of a mile the speedometer and tachometer gauges started acting erratic, jumping up and down, the radio came back on for a few seconds, then cut out again. The overhead temp control was jumping from 54 degrees to negative 40!. my airbag light came on and stayed on as well as the etc light. After dropping my kids at school, I have not drove this truck, with less than 41000 miles. After reading that fires have started in many other 2004 Durango's, I would like to know why my truck has not been issued a recall, what are they waiting for? I can not put my kids in this truck. In October 2006 my truck was leaking from above my drivers side door (34713 miles), we took it to the dealer and they had to re-seal seams above my door as well as other possible areas water could be getting in, one week later my truck started stalling at stop signs, my husband took it do the dealer again (35050 miles) the dealer schaefer and strohminger Dodge whitemarsh of course tells us that it is lack of maintenance (not true) and we need the throttle body cleaned ($169 and a tune up $182) yet just the week before when my truck was there they did the multi-point inspection report and checked that everything was fine. After doing research I found out the issue with the leak above my door was sent out as a customer satisfaction notification no. D10, dated March 2004, why didn't I get this notification" better yet, why didn't the dealer fix this before I bought it in Sept. 04? what good is the warranty from them when everything is denied" I will never buy a Dodge/Chrysler vehicle again. I have had many vehicles and never had an issue with a dealer not honoring a warranty and fixing problems, this is ridiculous and unsafe.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #29

Feb 262007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,200 miles
Without warning, my vehicle has stalled during slow down. This has happened twice in the last two years. The vehicle is a 2004 Dodge Durango limited with the 5.7L hemi engine. After first incident, dealer says that nothing could be found. Second incident occurred this past week. Will try a new dealership.

- Richmond Hill, 00, USA

problem #28

Jan 212007


  • miles
Engine stalls without warning.

- Egg Harbor Twp, NJ, USA

problem #27

Jan 022007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,102 miles
2004 hemi Durango, driving down freeway and vehicle shuts off. Placed vehicle in neutral and recovered. Coasted to a stop in breakdown lane. Placed vehicle in park and re started vehicle. It took 2 attempts to re start it was almost like the engine had loaded up. It then re started fine after the 2nd attempt. This has happened on several occasions during driving but only once at fwy speed.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #26

Mar 082005

Durango 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles


Engine shut off while in a left turn. Loss of all electrical & power. Was able to stop vehicle. Took 6 tries to restart vehicle.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #25

Aug 112004

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,600 miles
While making a left turn, the engine shut off. Loss of all power. Was able to pull the car over, avoid an accident and stop car. Was able to restart engine.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #24

Oct 262006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,900 miles
My truck has stalled several times, and at one point would not even start, the dealer said it is a dirty throttle body causing this, but I do not think they even really looked into it, especially after reading other complaints about the same problrm!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #23

Jun 212006

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,400 miles
2004 Durango. V6 3.7 L engine. After sitting over night vehicle is hard to start as if it is out of gas. Turns over for a very long time before starting. When accelerating from a stop vehicle stalls, or sputters or hesitates everytime. Makes a slight ping noise when engine eventually takes off. Took to dealership they suggested change plugs I did that. Said I used wrong kind changed to there brand. Still no difference. They cleaned throttle body and injector still no change. New dealer still no idea vehicle has been in shop 7 days now. Dodge no help what so ever. Dealership rude unhelpful and dented my hood trying to close. Afraid problem will get worse or cause an accident for my wife.

- Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #22

Mar 052006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
While driving on I-91 South in MA (in the evening, with two of my kids ages 5 & 7) in my 2004 Dodge Durango SUV the engine suddenly and unexpectedly cut out - turned off. The vehicle lost power steering and power brakes. The dashboard lights went dark. The headlights remained on and the radio continued to function. The car was in drive and the ignition key was in the proper position - this was not caused the my having inadvertently put the car in neutral or park, etc or by the car having been inadvertently turned off. This was a sudden engine shut down while traveling at highway speeds on an interstate. Fortunately, I was able to put the flashers on (they worked) and coast over to the shoulder and stop the vehicle. I shifted the transmission from drive to park. I turned the key to the off position. I checked the headlights -- they went on and off. I checked the radio it went on and off. I waited a moment to collect my thoughts. Then, I turned the key and the car started right up no problem. I let the engine idle for a moment and checked for any engine warning lights - there were none. I put the vehicle in drive and proceeded on the shoulder for a short distance to see if the car would go. It did. I was able to enter back on to the interstate and resume by trip. The vehicle functioned perfectly normally for the remainder of the trip. I vehicle has also continued to function properly since then without incident. This engine cut out problem had never happened before. I am concerned, however, that the problem could recur at any time without notice. While fortunately this time that an accident did not occur and no one was injured, it is entirely possible that given a different situation and this same problem happened there could easily be an accident resulting in death and/or serious bodily injury, as well as property damage. A mechanic look at the vehicle and didn't find anything wrong.

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #21

Feb 112006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,700 miles
I lease a 2004 Dodge Durango limited w/ a 5.7 hemi. This vehicle stalled on slick road doing approx, 35-40 mph. I tried to stop vehicle and lost control. Went off road into ditch and rolled vehicle. All passengers in vehicle (4) were all uninjured. This vehicle has done this since it had 1803 miles on it. This truck has had multiple problems and has been a nightmare. This vehicle is unsafe as I have said since first episode of stalling. Now this truck has approx, 21000 miles on it and this problem recurred. We are scared to drive truck. Manu, says not to worry" if this happens, airbags will still deploy." Are you serious !! enough is enough! lets get together and make this problem known. At this point I am ready for action to be taken and all the consumers that have this problem need to unite and settle this once and for all. Next time there may be a death. It may be your child. We need to stop this people !!!

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #20

Sep 242004

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,196 miles
On September 24, 2004 the battery was replaced. On December 29, 2004 the battery cable was rerouted per recall. On May 6, 2005 the vehicle overheated, the following parts were replaced the hub/drive fan, thermostat, water pump, and the spark plugs. On May 16, 2005 overheated the radiator had to be replaced. On August 12, 2005 the vehicle overheated. The following parts were replaced the heads, valves, camshaft, and sprocket. On October 18, 2005 the vehicle had squeaky brakes, brake pads replaced and rotors turned. The right rear axle leaked and needed to be replaced. On January 17, 2006 the radio cut in and out, dashboard controls were flickering on and off. No problems were found. Also, I asked for the brakes to be checked for the same type of vibration. Stated there was no safety issue, but rotors needed to be replaced. On January 20, 2006 the vehicle was again brought to the dealer for the radio, dashboard, and stalling. The car was kept for two days and returned without any solution. On S January 22, 2006 again my vehicle stalled at a traffic light. On January 24, 2006 was again brought in to the dealer. I spoke with the service manager on January 25, 2006 and he told me that Chrysler said static electricity from the seat caused the problem. He was then advised to spray the seats with something to eliminate the static electricity. The car was to be delivered to me by an employee of the dealer, when the gentlemen arrived he told me that the car radio started cutting in and out, and the dash board went crazy, he then left with the loaner car and I proceeded to call the dealership, driver came back to pick up my car once again to return to the dealership. When he tried to start the vehicle it would not start, a technician was sent to my home to replace the battery. The battery was replaced, an vehicle was off to the dealership.

- Winthrop, ME, USA

problem #19

Jul 152005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
As I was driving down US41, I felt an "internal kickback", definitely not due to acceleration or other driver input. Right after, the "check engine" light turned on. The same incident occurred again in October 2005 when we were pulling out of a parking lot. My husband thought that he had been rear-ended, but I recognized the kickback and saw that the "check engine" light had turned back on. The truck is a 2004 Dodge Durango.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 232005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,700 miles
Approaching a left turn, while braking, the engine stalled. Approximate speed at the time of failure was 15 mph. Had to make a difficult left turn against oncoming traffic without power steering, causing the vehicle to strike a curb. No damage was done to the vehicle or injuries to the occupants. Put vehicle in park and restarted the engine. Vehicle seemed fine after that.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #17

Jul 302005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,328 miles
I purchased a 2004 Dodge Durango with the hemi engine in April of 2004. In July 2004 the check engine light came on and the engine failed immediately. I had it towed back to the dealer ship (towne & country Dodge conyers ga). They fixed it and did not tell me what it was. In March 2005, the same thing happened again. This time they replaced a valve spring in the 3trd cylinder. Two weeks ago, it happened again. This time they told me I needed a new battery. I complained and they recharged the old one. When I went to pick it up, there were warning lights on and the cd player did not work. They are charging me to do a diagnostic test. I have complained to Dodge with no satisfaction.

- Covington, GA, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?