Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 19
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 8 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #165

Nov 062014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


For several weeks vehicle had issues starting. Eventually the vehicle would not start. Dodge dealer advised tipm module was bad. Dealer replaced module with similar tipm but stated this was only a temporary solution and that Dodge had not come up with permanent fix.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #164

Nov 142014


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. While traveling approximately 45 mph and attempting to exit a major highway, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The service manager indicated that the technician was hard wiring the power to the fuel pump module through the relay as an interim repair. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (fuel propulsion system). The contact was waiting for the part to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #163

Nov 132014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
For several days my car has been making a high pitched whining noise coming from under the hood. After reading several similar complaints online im assuming it was the alternator. Finally on 11/13/14 just as I had left my house the cars electrical system went haywire, all my warnings lights came on and then the car stalled and wont restart. Luckily my family and I weren't injured but now im faced with waiting for the recall to push through or dish out $1100 to have the alternator fixed...

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #162

Oct 152014


  • 65,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The contact merged over to an emergency lane and restarted the vehicle. When the vehicle was restarted, the engine, ABS and brake warning lights were continuously illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The technician diagnosed that the totally integrated power module had failed. In addition, the contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V530000 (fuel system), 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available. The manufacturer had been notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Cuba, MO, USA

problem #161

Nov 042014

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,430 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and after it restarted the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,430. Updated 12/22/14 the consumer stated the fuel pump would continue to run after the vehicle was shut up. The fuel pump fuse had to be removed and placed back for it to stop. Updated 05/26/2015

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #160

Nov 062014


  • 52,000 miles
We are getting a check engine light immediately followed by a traction control warning light which is then followed by a loss of power. You can push the gas pedal to the floor without any acceleration. This has happened numerous times on the highway. You can be in the left lane without the ability to accelerate and now you have to pull off to the left or struggle to maneuver to the right. It has occurred while on the on-ramp to highways and limited the vehicle to 20-30 mph causing right lane traffic to slam their brakes or swerve around us. Our 2011 Durango also burns through bulbs both front and rear at an alarming rate leaving our family on the road often times without a headlight, brake lights or turn signal.

- Townsend, MA, USA

problem #159

Aug 272014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles


My car would not start on several instances. Many times it tried to stall when driving. I took it to the dealer and the said the tipm was failing and installed a fuel pump overlay wiring. I did my research and found 100S of other customers with the same complaints, yet no recall was issued. I had to pay for the repairs. There is now a recall P54 in which they acknowledge the problem, but say not parts are available and they will not issue reimbursement for repairs already made. I am certain that there are more issues with the electrical, since my windshield wipers go off without rain, when it is cold outside. Why is Chrysler refusing to make these repairs and what can be done to make them pay for repairs already made and actually fix the problems?

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #158

Nov 032014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 54,300 miles
My car started having trouble turning on and staying on. Eventually, after several attempts it would turn on. I took it to the dealer planet Dodge (worse service ever) to be told that the vehicle is under the recall for the fuel relay pump (tipm). The part is being manufactured by Chrysler which they are planning to fix it by adding a part but not replacing the tipm. In the recall it says the part required is not available yet. Upset I contacted Chrysler to be told to either drive the vehicle like that which can shut off and cause a crash without warning or pay $1,000 to replace the tipm. Now, what upsets me is that they do not care at all whether you drive the car or not and/or if you crash and to be reimbursed Chrysler has to changed the tipm (which they won't) and since they won't we will not be reimbursed. It is frustrating how they so nicely tell you to drive the car even though they know it can shut off without warning. Don't fall for the "refund" talk, they will not refund it!!!!

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #157

May 302014


  • 70,000 miles
Car would not crank.

- Sarepta, LA, USA

problem #156

Sep 012014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
My 2011 Dodge Durango started having starting problems in Sept. Of 2014 and the problem became worst over the next several weeks. On Oct. 22, 2014 the vehicle didn't start and had to be tow in for service. I the was told about the tipm problem and that no parts are available and no date for delivery. Every day I have talked to Chrysler and the dealership with no future of resolving issue.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #155

Nov 032014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #154

Oct 282014


  • 57,000 miles
Over the past 2 weeks our Durango has had issues with starting. When using the push start button the engine will crank over multiple times and never start. Sometimes vehicle will start and other times it can take over 20 attempts to start. In one incident it took 34 time to start and even cause black smoke to come up from under the hood. From research with Chrysler corporate and the local dealer, they are aware of the problem. We took the vehicle into the local dealership for an assessment and we were told that the problem had to do with the tipm/fuel relay system. We were told they could not fix it because they didn't have parts to remedy the issue and that they hadn't received a recall notice from Chrysler corporate. From my research it appears the recall number is P54. Yesterday, on 10/28/2014 while driving on a major road at 50mph the vehicle with two children in the back seat completely stalled and died. Luckily I was able to pull over to the shoulder and we are blessed we weren't in a major accident or killed. I contacted Chrysler corporate and local dealer immediately and again was told they could do nothing about it. Not a loaner vehicle, not replacement of part at full cost.. absolutely nothing. This is completely unacceptable and when you put my children's lives at stake it becomes personal. The vehicle is now parked in the garage because we fear for our lives. Please help.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #153

Sep 152014


  • 33,700 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated to start. Once it started, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The dealer stated that the tipm was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 33,700.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #152

Oct 262014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 46,254 miles
1st time: Car would not start after getting gas, I was rving car just fine before this occurred. Went to start car, did not turn over, tried again push the start button and car kept trying to turn over with no luck, I let the car sit for a few minutes and tried again, it started. Day two, started car just kept turning over had to press "stop" tried again and it started.

- Cudahy , WI, USA

problem #151

Oct 202014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 43,889 miles
Vehicle engine would start with use of ignition button, then vehicle engine would shut off with out warning. At this time vehicle will not re-start with use of ignition button. Vehicle would just engage starter motor and not fire engine with use of ignition button. Starter would run on until button is pushed to engage the off position, with a no start condition. After several cycles of the ignition button vehicle engine will finally start and stay running. Problem is recurring often.this is absolutely unacceptable for any vehicle and the safety of its occupants. This can lead to loss off control of vehicle, possible collision and loss of life, at high speeds on the crowded interstates, or moderate speeds on small town streets.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #150

Aug 292014


  • 63,000 miles
Vehicle does not always start the first time but stalls at random intervals. When the issue first started occurring, 2-3 times of pushing the ignition the vehicle would fire up. Now it takes 20-30 pushes before vehicle starts. Lately, I'm the last one to leave the parking lot. I recently called the dealership and inquired about the Chrysler P54 recall. "in the affected vehicles, the fuel-pump relay inside the totally integrated power module may fail, causing the vehicle to stall without warning." I was told that my vehicle VIN does not qualify for the recall. I have a 2011 Dodge Durango with the 3.6 L engine. My vehicle is stalling and the problem is getting worse.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #149

Oct 152014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Luckily I was driving in a non-congested area in a 35 mph zone when my 2011 Dodge citadel lost power and shut off. I was able to pull of the road and it restarted after cranking for a while. Starting seems to be a problem on some mornings. The vehicle will crank and crank then after repeated attempts it will fire. This vehicle has a 5.7L V8 if that matters. I'm worried I might lose power on the highway. Judging from an internet search this may be a problem for many owners of this vehicle: sounds like a tipm problem.

- Jamestown, KY, USA

problem #148

Oct 072014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I had to have the tipm replaced because the vehicle would not start.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #147

Oct 182014


  • 63,000 miles
Vehicle will start sometimes after multiple attempts and then shut back off. Dealership agreed faulty tipm is the cause and Chrysler is aware of the issue. My VIN is not included in a recall for the issue, so I had to pay $1200 out of pocket to repair.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #146

Oct 042014


  • 31,000 miles
I believe there is actually 3 incidents that are all connected. First was August 2014 check engine light was on and car was losing power. The dealer replaced the battery. I asked them to check alternator but was told it was fine. Oct 4, 2014 we where driving and the check engine light came on car was having power loss and engine began to smoke. Took to the dealer and they claimed it was a bad waterpump. They also did recall work on the braking system. Two days later the check engine light was on again and the battery light would come on and off. My wife and daughter were driving car down the road and car power system just shut down. They had no control over anything at all in the vehicle. Towed to dealer and they claim it was the alternator and the batter. I am sorry but a vehicle with 31,000 miles with proper maintenance and around 10,000 miles a year should not be having all of these problem.

- Miami , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?