Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: When the 3rd-generation Durango was introduced in 2011 owners almost immediately started having a wide range of issues -- from water pump failure to stalling engines. Turns out the TIPM is to blame and those problems carried into the 2012 model year.

TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Modules) is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when the TIPM starts acting up, so do all sorts of problems in the vehicle.

The problems have been so bad -- and replacement parts became so hard to find -- that a class-action lawsuit was filed against Chrysler focusing on the 2011-2012 Durango. The lawsuit accuses the automaker of ignorning the problem until it spiraled out of control.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,352 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #146

Oct 202016

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Dodge Durango. Consumer writes in regards to alternator shorted out and caused the entire electrical system to fail. Consumer VIN# not listed for alternator recall notice information. The consumer referenced recall # 14V630000. However, he was informed his vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #145

Oct 292016

Durango

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the vehicle continued to stall after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #144

Oct 212016

Durango

  • 38,000 miles
Car wouldnt start from being parked, smelled burning under hood. Was able to take a battery jump, but could only go half mile before stalling without warning. Had alternator tested bad. Replaced it twice& still having problems all testing bad. Had no warning except battery icon flashed on briefly & then went off prior to incident.

- N. Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #143

Oct 232016

Durango

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost all power, stalled, and would not restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the alternator had burnt wires, which caused the shut down. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer for the repair, but was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #142

Oct 122016

Durango 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I smelled burning while driving on a city street. The car just died. I got out raised hood. Smelled burning at alternator. Car is completely dead. Called tow truck.. next day. Car towed to all tech auto. Diagnosis- 180amp alternator bad and caused extensive damage to tipm and PCM. Paid $760 for replaced alternator. Towed to dealership - tipm and PCM shorted out, $2066 to repair. My car is currently at the dealership waiting for me to earn the money to repair. Im praying that I will have an additional $2066 in two weeks so I can get repairs completed. Fca recalled 160amp and 220amp. How do they skip over the 180amp in the Durango crew? you won't have as many complaints because there weren't as many manufactured as the other models - unfair! send someone to investigate before repairs are made.

- Lancaster, TX, USA

problem #141

Apr 012016

Durango

  • 63,000 miles
My 2012 Dodge Durango purchased brand new has been having major electrical issues since the motor was power washed at covert Dodge dealership in North austin. They had an inexperienced car washer clean up the oil that was on the motor from a hose change. He used a very high pressure, pressure washer and it shorted the electronics causing the vehicle to shut down unexpectedly with no warning. This has happened multiple times within the last 6 months. I have had the car at 3 different Dodge dealers trying to resolve the issue. On 9/22/2016 the battery light came on while going 75 on the highway. I smelled a strong odor of electrical burning and all the lights on the dash board came on, the blind spot alert system was stating it was inoperable, the ac stopped working, the seat belt light and buzzer stated to go off even though my belt was fastened and then the Durango just shut off, right in the middle of the toll road highway stranding me in the middle lane. The hazard lights did not even work. I put the car in park to try to restart it but it was totally dead, nothing worked and the car was stuck in park! I could not put the vehicle in neutral to move it out of the highway, several cars did not realize I was stopped and locked up their brakes nearly missing me. I was so afraid someone was going to run right into the back of me and the car. Major safety issue. I called the mopar warranty road side assistance and 1 hours later I was able to get the car off the 102 degree highway. As a result of all of these issues, which seem to have started when covert Dodge power washed the engine bay, I am no longer confident the vehicle can be trusted and be reliable not to mention the safety factor. As you can tell from the vehicle history, I feel I have been patient and cooperative in allowing Chrysler and the dealerships to find a resolution.

- Liberty Hill, TX, USA

problem #140

Sep 142016

Durango

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalled and car shut off. Once from a stop while trying to accelerate and another time while trying to stop. In both instances an accident was nearly avoided. My wife on 9/13 was turning across traffic and the car died and she was almost T-boned. On 9/14 I almost rear ended a car as I was slowing to a stop and lost all power. Wipers will come on randomly on dry, sunny days (while parked or in motion). Car jerks forward intermittently when starting (using remote start or while in the car). Occasionally the car continues to turn over but never actually starts. I have taken this to the dealer 7-8 times and they've never heard of these problems. No error codes recorded. Never able to be reproduced when at the dealer. Contacted another Dodge dealer and they have never heard of these issues either. Took to an independent mechanic and he immediately recognized this as a potential tipm issue. The fuel relay recall was implemented in summer of 2015 which was supposed to resolve these issue. However, all of these problems continue to intermittently occur - with the stalling (and near accidents) just occurring for the first time this past week. Spoke with Dodge yesterday explaining the situation and both dealers didn't want to sell me a new tipm because they weren't sure it would fix the problem and reiterated that the fuel relay recall would fix these issues. When I stated that I am still having the issues they didn't have an answer but were willing to take my car in on trade. We currently have 93000 miles but this started shortly after we purchased the Durango; with well under 40000 miles. We were still under warranty when this started but no fault was ever found when at the dealer.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #139

Aug 172016

Durango

  • 66,500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. While driving 55 mph, the low battery, ABS, and traction control warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred twice. In addition, a burning odor emitted in and outside the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator failed and burned the serpentine belt. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 66,500.

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

problem #138

Aug 202016

Durango

  • 59,000 miles
In November of 2014, Dodge issued a recall of the 160 amp alternators due to early failure and risk of fire. Saturday, August 20, 2016, the alternator on this vehicle failed with the same symptoms: High heat, burning smell, and the vehicle suddenly stopped running. However, this vehicle has a 180 amp alternator. There are other reports of the 180 amp alternator failing in very similar ways as the 160 amp. The recall must be expanded to include all alternators for the dogdge Durango. A failure at less than 60,000 miles, and a failure in a manner that presents a risk of fire is a major issue and needs to be addressed quickly.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #137

Aug 182016

Durango

  • 48,904 miles
Alternator failed in my 2012 Dodge Durango. I have only had my vehicle for 4 years 3 months, 48,904 miles and do mostly city driving. The vehicle was in motion when I began to smell a burnt scent. Soon after I noticed the air conditioner power minimized rapidly and the burnt scent continued. Luckily at that point I was getting home and therefore I immediately parked my vehicle. Was inspected by a mechanic who confirmed the problem was with the alternator.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #136

Jul 212016

Durango

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on a major highway in NJ on 7/21/16, all the car warning lights went on randomly and unexpectedly, windshield wipers went on on their own, radio shut off, all power was lost and car shut down almost immediately with limited or no braking or steering power and the car would not turn on any longer. I tried to make it safely to the side of the road (left shoulder was the closest) with big trucks and fast moving cars going by. Had it towed to an auto body shop which took 2 days to diagnose the problem which they deemed a failure of the main board which caused the alternator to fail which caused the battery to seize and fail as well. The costs of repair I had to pay to fix the issue on my 4 year old car with 92K miles on it was approx $1,500. The symptoms and diagnosis were almost identical to the P60 recall issued by chrylser but when I inquired with Chrysler about getting my vehicle covered under the recall and reimbursed for the costs of repair, they claimed that the recall did not apply to my car bc it is 180 amp vs 160 amp (?) but it is very obvious and clear to me that what happened to my car was exactly the same as the P60 recall. Not to mention it was a very dangerous situation that I encountered with my car stopping in the middle of a busy highway. It could have been tragic had I not been able to navigate it well. Chrysler is basically refusing to extend the recall to my VIN # and not reimbursing my repair costs.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #135

Dec 152015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #134

Aug 012016

Durango

  • 52,416 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. Moments after the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000(electrical system), smoke appeared from the passenger side sun visor and headliner. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and later caught fire and was destroyed. No further information was available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,416.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #133

Jul 282016

Durango

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer for inspection. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #132

May 012016

Durango

  • miles
Dash lights started flashing car shut off, charged battery, alternator started smoking, replaced alternator, replaced battery, battery is still draining.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #131

Jul 232015

Durango

  • 78,000 miles
Immediately following a scheduled oil change at the dealership, the check engine light came on and I noticed a burning smell as I was going down the slight decline from the dealer lot onto the street. I returned to the service department where they inspected the car and diagnosed the issue as a failed alternator. Because of the costly repair, I opted to get a second opinion. This mechanic also diagnosed the issue as a faulty alternator. He checked the VIN for a recall, and did not see my VIN listed, though there was a recall for the alternator on Dodge Durangos made in 2011-2014, matching the specs of my auto. Because the car was a 2012, I asked if this is common for such a "young" car. He did not think it was a typical issue. What he also thought was odd was that tracking down a replacement alternator to fit the vehicle was difficult; there was only one compatible part available within a six state radius, and was informed that they were not presently being manufactured to accommodate the need. We were lucky to secure the item and have it overnighted. The lack of parts and alleged hold on manufacturing drew the assumption that 1) there were several of the same model experiencing the same issues and/or 2) additional recall was imminent. He strongly encouraged me to contact Chrysler to request reimbursement and offered to act as an expert witness and testimony to what he encountered. Fca (Chrysler) was not responsive.

- Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #130

May 242016

Durango

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The vehicle was repaired. Approximately six weeks later, while driving approximately 10 mph, smoke appeared from the top left corner of the windshield and sun roof. The contact parked the vehicle and noticed flames in the same location. The fire department extinguished the fire. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was left at the scene. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- South Windsor, CT, USA

problem #129

May 022016

Durango

  • 88,000 miles
The alternator in my Durango failed suddenly. We luckily had just arrived at my daughter's day car when the car shut off on its own and we noticed smoke. When we got out to check under the hood, the alternator was smoking! I had to have the Durango towed to my dealership as there was no power to the Durango at all. The dealership attempted to start the vehicle, and could not start the car using a jumper box, or by jumping it with another vehicle. The alternator had completely drained the battery. We were told a few days later that they were attempting to locate an alternator as it was back ordered, and it could be up to 6 weeks or more before they could get one. When we inquired as to why, we were told there was a recall on the alternator for many Chrysler and Dodge vehicles and that even though our Durango falls in the specific years, it was not part of the recall. When they finally called to let us know the Durango was ready to be picked up, we drove maybe a half mile down the road and the battery light came on. We returned it immediately back to the dealership. A couple of days later, they informed us that because of the alternator failure, the engine control module was bad and needed to be replaced. Now, the dealership is telling us that the ECM is no longer functioning properly because of the issues with the alternator and that we will not be able to drive the vehicle without it. They contacted Dodge to inform them of the faulty alternator that caused the ECM failure and Dodge told them, too bad.

- Waverly, NY, USA

problem #128

Apr 222016

Durango

  • 78,000 miles
Alternator failure as common with the P60 recall. The alternator in my Durango failed suddenly and we lost all power. We were lucky in that we were on a residential road at low speed and able to pull to the side safely. The alternator was smoking. My Durango is not covered by this recall so I felt it important to report this is still happening with other alternators with the V6. I did call into Chrysler and they confirmed my vehicle was not covered by P60.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #127

Jan 192016

Durango

  • 35,496 miles
I purchased this used vehicle around the turn of the year. It came on the ferry January 15, 2016. By Monday, the check engine light had turned on. C&F ran a diagnostic on January 20, and found code PO456. Within several days, I noticed water intrusion. The floorboards were wet and becoming drenched in the front and in the middle seats. Every time I came to a stop or turned, I could hear water rolling through the car. I took it to rc February 15. When the water problem was looked at, I was informed it is not a normal leak, but what is called a "phantom" leak. To fix this, they would have to gut the interior of the vehicle. When they went to restart, it would not start with the push button. The vehicle was taken to midtown auto where they found the battery compartment under the passenger seat 3/4 full of water. They were unable to diagnose the push button problem after 2 hours of diagnostic. They stated the water intrusion could be a danger to my life when I picked up the car after they had it for 3 weeks. On 3/9/16, the check engine light came back on. As of today, 3/25/16, the sensor for "check gas cap" comes on. This car will be returning in the morning to the dealership in anchorage via the ferry, but you should know that there are major issues with this vehicle. The water in the car is clean with no dirt. In the morning, there are puddles that distribute themselves from the front to the back of the car during regular driving. The entire floor from the front to the back is saturated with a lot of water. Rc enterprise said there is no window leak, no door leak, no roof leak. This must be something in the frame. This car collects water while driving or sitting in park. Due to the battery being under the passenger seat and in the floor and then filling with water, this is not a safe car.

- Kodiak, AK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?