Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,077 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Crown Victoria lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Crown Victoria:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Crown Victoria Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Sep 102011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent failure of head lamps during nighttime driving. Flash to pass lights seem to work, as well as signals. Incident incurred a traffic stop from kalamazoo department of public safety while residing in kalamazoo, mi and driving on West Michigan avenue.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #27

Jul 202011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that while driving, the headlights would sporadically fail. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the light control module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 94,218. Updated 10/14/11 updated 10/21/11

- Southfield , MI, USA

problem #26

Jun 172011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,056 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The vehicle was taken for state inspection when the inspector noticed that the headlights were not functioning properly. The contact stated that the headlights intermittently failed when activated. Yet, the daytime running lights continued to function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technicians advised that the lighting processor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 27,056. Updated 09/14/11

- Carlotte, NC, USA

problem #25

Feb 012011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. While driving at night, the contact noticed that the headlights would fail. She would pull over and wait a few moments and then they would illuminate again. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer advised the contact that there were no related recalls or service bulletins and offered no further assistance. The current mileage was 65,580 and the failure mileage was approximately 63,000. Updataed 06/03/11 updated 06/13/11

- Palm Dale, CA, USA

problem #24

Apr 212010

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,171 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated the headlight control module failed while driving 35 mph and the headlights would not re-illuminate. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the lighting control module was replaced at a cost of $754 at the contacts expense. There were no recalls for the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 80,171. Updated 06/17/11 updated 11/28/11

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #23

Jan 102011

Crown Victoria

  • 134,341 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Crown Victoria police interceptor. The contact was driving 35 mph when the exterior headlight failed. The contact had to utilize the high beam headlights to illuminate the roadway. The contact called the manufacturer and was advised that the failure would be investigated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The contact stated that the light control module malfunctioned. In addition, the contact state that there were numerous complaints online regarding the headlights for the particular year, make and model and believed that the manufacturer should issue a recall. The failure mileage was 138,341.

- Dickson, TN, USA

problem #22

Feb 142011

Crown Victoria

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that the headlights failed when engaged. The failure would recur whenever the headlights were engaged and sporadically, the lights would illuminate independently after the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who advised that the lcm (lighting control module) would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 60,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 57,000.

- D'iberville, MS, USA

problem #21

Apr 152011

Crown Victoria

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that the headlights would continually fail. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the lighting control module would need to be replaced. There were no recalls for the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Hebersprings, AR, USA

problem #20

Nov 152010

Crown Victoria

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. While driving approximately 55 mph the contact stated that the headlights shut off and on intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was also taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the lighting module needed to be replaced. The contact noticed that the replacement part had a label which stated that it was a motorola sample module. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Sandford, NC, USA

problem #19

Feb 042011

Crown Victoria

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Crown Victoria. While driving approximately 40 mph the contact turning the headlight switch and the headlights would not turn on. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The dealer was contacted and stated there were several complaints about the headlights but there was not a recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Alderson, WV, USA

problem #18

Jan 202011

Crown Victoria

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that they began to smell a burning odor. Shortly after, the headlights stopped functioning. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the contact was informed that the lighting control module failed. The vehicle was repaired. The current and failure mileages were 150,000.

- Franklin, KY, USA

problem #17

Jan 292011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. While driving various speeds the headlights would intermittently shut off. Whenever the head lights shut off the contact was unable to turn them back on. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 55,000. Updated 3/14/11 updated 04/22/11

- West Winfield, NY, USA

problem #16

Mar 012010

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My headlights will just go out. The parking light and rear light stay on. The headlight will go out and some times for the whole ride. Then sometime they will stay on for the ride. When the lights go out you have to use the passing high beams. I called the dealer and told him over the phone what was happening and he told me what the problem was without even looking at the car. He stated he knew what it was because it happens all the. I feel this is a safety issue that should be addressed. I was told it would cost $342 to fix.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 022010

Crown Victoria

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that the headlights turned off and on intermittently. The high beams also did not function. The contact had to keep the turn signal on to see when the failure occurred. The dealer stated that the light control module failed. The failure mileage was approximately 84,000 and the current mileage was approximately 88,000.

- Hendrix, OK, USA

problem #14

Dec 112010

Crown Victoria

  • 39,195 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph with the headlights on when suddenly the headlights became inoperative. The vehicle was driven to the side of the road and the turn signal was engaged and the headlights turned back on. The contact continued driving. The failure occurred again and the headlights failed to operate. The failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed the contact that the headlight control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired for the malfunction. The failure mileage was 39,195.

- Cantonment, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 172010

Crown Victoria

  • 31,050 miles
2005 Ford crown vic head lights take a break my crown vic has only 31000 miles on it. Now that its getting dark earlier and I work 10am to 8pm my first near death experience happened. All most had a head on, ,!!!!!!!!!!! that caught me off guard.. if there ever was a recall, this is the time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #12

Apr 032010

Crown Victoria

  • 88,000 miles
My crown vic rear brake lights keep going off and on when actually still applying the brakes sometimes the light comes on and sometimes it does not a new brake light switch was installed but the problem came back I had people almost run into the back of me this is a very serious matter.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #11

Apr 302010

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 41,786 miles
Headlamps occasional failed to turn on or would go off periodically at first. A month later the problem had become the norm rather than the exception. When the headlamps went out I had to drive with my hand engaging the high beam in order to have driving lights. Flicking the hi/lo beam wand would not turn the lights back on. Interior dash lights worked normally. It got to the point in a 5 mile trip, at night, my driving lights were off more than they were on without me having to engage the high beam lamps for driving. Extremely congested areas that I drive in so the engaging the high beams all the time caused a safety hazard not only for on coming drivers but for me as well. It is extremely hard to drive a full size car like mine while keeping the high beams engaged. The integrated control module (icm) had to be replaced to fix the problem. This is hard to believe given the fact that my car had less than 42,000 miles on it at the time. The car had not been involved in any damage causing wrecks. From all the forums that there are online, does not appear to be an isolated occurrence.

- Morganville, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jan 012010

Crown Victoria

  • 45,000 miles
Headlights turned off while driving at night. Refer to the following: NHTSA action number: N/a NHTSA recall campaign number: PE08066 N/a make: Ford model: Crown Victoria manufacturer : Ford Motor Company year : 2005 component : exterior lighting:headlights Ford found that some lighting control modules (lcm) in the subject vehicles contained defective solder joints on the printed circuit board. This condition can lead to poor headlight performance ranging from intermittent outage and dimming to eventual headlights failure. The failure does not affect other lighting functions (park, emergency flasher, brake and flash to pass lights).

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #9

Feb 022010

Crown Victoria

  • 110,000 miles
Light control module goes out with no warning causing the headlights to suddenly go off. Very dangerous in nighttime driving. Called Ford, very unhelpful, went on the internet and was able to find help and render the problem.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?