Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,414 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Edge drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Sep 112013

Edge

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving around 65mph, the vehicle suddenly went into "limp" mode with no ability to maintain speed. I was on a 3 lane bridge without a shoulder and it was difficult to navigate the vehicle safely through traffic from the far left lane, across the bridge, and onto the upcoming shoulder. The red "wrench" light came on along with the "AWD" light. Pressing the gas pedal had no impact to RPM's (which stayed around 700rpm). Brake screeching from another vehicle was heard as my vehicle coasted across the 2 lanes of traffic. After coming to a stop, I turned off vehicle and restarted without any warning lights and vehicle drove normally. Incident occurred again 1 week later in heavy traffic, aproximately 65mph. Red wrench light, AWD light. This time engine light also came on. I maintained my lane, put on my hazard lights, put car in neutral, turn off ignition while coasting, slightly tapped brake to restart the car. Vehicle started but warning lights did not reset and vehicle still in limp mode. Without the ability to maintain speed, I coasted to the shoulder and came to a complete stop. Turned off vehicle again. Restart and red wrench light was off and AWD light was off. Engine light stayed on. Vehicle drove normally. Took it to a dealer who replaced the throttle body at my cost. Vehicle is not safe when suddenly going into "limp".

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #23

Jun 142013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 51,199 miles
Driving down the street and vehicle acts like it is running out of gas or vapor locking. Accelerator all the way down and vehicle slowing down to a stop. Wrench light comes on vehicle and take to Ford dealership for repair. I feel like this should be covered under warranty due to the fact that several other throttles have reported going out on this year model.

- Cat Spring, TX, USA

problem #22

Oct 042012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 26,274 miles
Driving on I-65 in an area with 4-5 lanes of traffic with a speed zone of 65 mph when the vehicle lost power - wrench light warning light came on - had to maneuver the vehicle across 3 lanes of traffic during rush hour to reach the emergency lane. It was sheer luck that I made it to the emergency lane without being hit by another vehicle as I could not speed up the car and the speed was nearing zero mph. The vehicle had to be towed into the dealership where it was diagnosed and eventually repaired under warranty. It took the dealership approximately one week to repair the power train issue. Per my research on various Ford Edge sites, this is a very common occurrence and Ford has failed to recall this issue. Luckily, I was not harmed. However, not everyone will be this fortunate. Ford needs to recall this issue asap.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #21

Jun 182013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband was driving; we were on a trip. The speed dropped from about 50 to a crawl; no acceleration. He pulled over and I pulled out the owner's manual. The info said there was a problem with the powertrain and the car would be in limp mode. My husband turned off ignition and restarted. It was okay for another couple of miles then happened again. Again he turned it off and restarted. The third time it happened, we pulled over and called Ford. Luckily there was a dealership close by. However, when we talked to them, they said they'd have to do a diagnostic. We didn't leave the car. We didn't have another problem until July 25, 2013. It happened again twice while I was driving. The car is now at the dealers being checked out for the problem. First impression, it's the throttle.

- San Antonio, VT, USA

problem #20

Jul 202013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
While driving the car the car 'stalled' meaning I had no ability to accelerate the car, all other items worked ok, an amber wrench light came on, I pulled over, restarted the car and it worked fine. It happened again 3 days later approx the same speed. Seeming this has been an issue among other Ford Edge cars.

- Holtsville, NY, USA

problem #19

Jun 272013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 42,109 miles
Travel on interstate highway in middle of three lanes at 75mph. Power to engine ceased. Engine would not respond to accelerator. Coasted across right lane of heavy traffic to get to right shoulder. Coasted to stop.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #18

Feb 122013

Edge 6-cyl Diesel

  • 49,236 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this certified pre owned 2011 Ford Edge and 3000 miles into owning it the drive train has repeatedly slipped and when it engages it slams. This seems to happen at any time mostly from after stopping and sometimes as the car is just driving at low speeds. I`M taking it in for this soon but from these other postings I don`T feel so good about what to expect.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #17

Mar 092013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 23,500 miles
On March 9, 2013 while driving 40 miles per hour, the vehicle jerked as if I had hit or been hit by something, pulled over into a parking lot, got out looked under my vehicle walked around and didn't hit anything, my motor didn't come out, didn't get hit by another vehicle, no blowout tires, got back in my vehicle and drove home with no other issues (wow). Then on March 31, 2013 while driving home from an out of town trip, almost home, on the interstate driving 75 miles per hour the vehicle jerked again like it did that day on March 9, my husband was in the passenger seat with his eyes closed and sat straight up and asked me if we had been hit. Explained to him this is exactly the same thing that happened to me a few weeks ago. Took it back in and of course the dealership could not replicate so a recorder was installed. On May 24, 2013 this happened again I pushed the button on the record and now my Edge is back in the shop. I have been reading blogs on Ford forum, apparently this problem has been going since 2007. If my vehicle decides to stall while this is occurring I'm in deep trouble I'll be rear ended and Ford motor will have a law suit on their hands. Glad it didn't stall out on the highway because I may not be here today.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #16

Apr 012013

Edge

  • 33,023 miles
I purchased a certified used 2011 Ford Edge in January 2013. Shortly thereafter, I started noticing some major issues. 1) the transmission whines at low speeds, until I accelerate & it shifts up a few gears. I have also had it slip & clunk while shifting gears 2) there is a loud popping from the front end, passenger side, when I am turning, especially in & out of parking spots 3) there is a whistle coming from under the SUV, between the driver side doors & it does it in accessory mode or when the SUV is running. I have now had it back at the dealer for the 3rd time & they are working with Ford on diagnosing the issues. It is very disheartening to spend so much money for a vehicle & have such issues. Thankfully it is certified & under warranty. The dealership has been good about getting me a loaner vehicle too. But I almost am ready to ask them to trade me out of it, because I am sick of dealing with the issues. It is embarrassing to have such a nice looking "new" vehicle & when people ride with me, they notice all the things wrong & say I got a bad deal.

- Foxhome, MN, USA

problem #15

Dec 012011

Edge

  • 7,500 miles
The car repeatedly has transmission issues when slowing then accelerating from around 20 mph. The transmission/power stops momentarily then it shifts with a very hard jerking sensation and a loud thud. I feel this issue will eventually put me and my family in danger.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #14

Nov 262012

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had been having on-going issues with engine surging, stalling and gear "skipping" since I first purchased the vehicle in December 2010, which I had reported to the dealership and about which I was in the midst of lemon law proceedings under ga lemon law. They are best described as similar in nature to those reported in the NHTSA investigation here: www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/02/25/probe-Ford-cars-SUVS-stalling/1945799/ at times, the engine would cut out at high speeds and I'd be stuck in "limp mode". other times the transmission would slip, then surge, making it feel as if I were hit from behind by another vehicle. Still other times, it might stall out at slow speeds (I.e. while making a turn, etc.), leaving me stuck in an intersection and vulnerable to being hit by oncoming traffic. Ford had attempted multiple times to fix this problem, but it kept recurring, even after many parts were rebuilt or replaced. Finally, the unresolved issue culminated in an accident on 11/26/12. I was coming off on a highway exist ramp and the engine "skipped" and surged, propelling me into the rear of the car in front of me. No one was treated for injury at the time of the crash, but the driver of the other car did report injury after the crash. My issue is still unresolved by Ford. They claim they can't duplicate the issue and have made no attempts to get me out of this vehicle, which I am stuck driving until I can complete the lengthy lemon law process. I fear for my life every day that I have to drive it and am afraid to Transport my children in it. Thank you for the opportunity to submit my claim.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #13

Feb 112013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
As I was leaving work and pulled out of the parking lot onto the main road and my car stalled after reaching approx 10-15 mph indicating me to "see manual" with a wrench on the screen then flashing "check engine oil pressure". as I came to a complete stop my Edge began to shake violently and the RPM's began to jump up and down frantically. I then turned my Edge off for 30 seconds. When I restarted it, it started without issue and idled fine. I was able to back it up and drive it under 10 mph to park it over night. The following day (today) when I went to take it to the dealership the same thing happened except this time around only the "see manual" indicator flashed and I had to have it towed to the local Ford dealership for servicing. Still no word on what it could possibly be. I checked the oil level, it was normal and have been having it serviced every 3,000 miles.

- League City , TX, USA

problem #12

Jan 282013

Edge

  • 39,000 miles
I own a 2011 Ford Edge with 39,000 miles on it. Three days ago I was driving on a relatively busy road going 65 mph when all of a sudden my Edge seemed like it lost all power to it. The "see manual" with a wrench screen came up on my dashboard, as my car slowly began to stop. Upon stopping it began to shake and rumble violently. I put the car in park, and back into drive to start driving again. When I pushed the gas pedal nothing would happen. The RPM's would not even move. I turned the car off, and when I turned it back on it rolled over a couple times before it actually started. Then it acted like nothing happened. Then today (01/28/2013) I was turning in the middle of an intersection and it happened again. I wasn't even going 20 mph this time. I had to coast onto the turning late of the opposite direction after trying to avoid being hit by a couple semi's. I took it to autozone where they tested it, nothing seemed to be wrong with it. They even checked under the hood. On the way home, 20 minutes later it happened on the same busy highway. Once again, I was almost involved in a couple accidents. I have tried looking everywhere to see where there is a solution but I can't seem to find one. I feel extremely unsafe driving this vehicle, and I actually am considering trading it in. It's a death trap, and it's sad to say because I loved my Edge so much. If anyone has the solution to what is going on, please tell me. I'm tired of getting no answer.

- Starke, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 052013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
When driving between 30 and 35 mph on fairly level terrain but somewhat curvy my car will lung violently. First time it happened I pulled over thinking I had been hit in the back of my car. This has happened twice now. Marshall mize Ford dealership says there is nothing they can do unless they can replicate the problem. This car has ongoing issues with the transmission. My first complaint was 1 month after I bought the car. When driving approximately 57 mph on a decline if I every so slightly touch my brake pad my car will "slam" into a lower gear. I have had to bring the car to a complete stop to get it to go back into normal shift mode. Actually had a Ford engineer ride with me and tell me that was "normal". when I pressed him "it's normal to have to come to a complete stop to get my car back into normal shift mode" he just shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing he could do for me. I actually had to pull off to the emergency lane one morning because me car did this and a transfer truck also most rearended me.

- Apison, TN, USA

problem #10

Nov 242012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 20,900 miles
Two weeks ago my Ford Edge limited (2011), which I had for less than 2 years and it had ~21000mi, started to have serious problems. While driving on one of the busiest highways in houston, the acceleration suddenly disappeared (gas pedal went limp) when I was going 65-70mph. The car still had power and I was able to break and steer to the emergency lane. While doing that, almost got hit from the back twice. After complete stop at emergency lane, I restarted the car. It started fine, and I was able to get home, though I was afraid to take a highway. Next day, same problem happened twice, and both times at about the same speed. These times, however, I felt strong vibrations when restarting the engine. All of the times, an orange wrench appeared on the dashboard indicating power train problems. After the second time, a light indicating that engine needs to be serviced soon also appeared. This light turned off on its own couple days later. I had plenty of problems with this car before. This was the last point when my patience with this car had ended. Besides, I could get into a serious accident. Luckily, all of the times I was driving after the rush hour and traffic was not too bad. Otherwise, I would be definitely be hit by someone. In any case, I brought the car to the dealership and traded it in. No wonder, I was told in the dealership that they are not aware of any problems like this and offered servicing the car. I refused it, because of multiple problems I had with this car before and just didn't want to keep it anymore. Ford definitely needs to recall 2011 Ford Edge with such problems. I will call them and complaint to them as well. For now, I would recommend people not to buy 2011 Ford Edge as it has so many issues, especially with electrical wiring/components and sync. This was the most expensive and most unreliable car I've ever had.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Sep 282012

Edge

  • 18,500 miles
I was driving with my two children on the highway going 65 miles per hour/average speed limit when all of a sudden my car acceleration went limp and the car engine stalled. The accelerator pedal no longer worked and a little orange wrench flashed in the digital dash. There was no warning. I put on my hazards. Shut off the ar, then restarted and it was fine. This happened two more times. Ford dealership can't find anything wrong with the vehicle and can't "recreate" the problem. I looked online and there are consumer complaints all over user group websites complaining of this problem but when I call Ford customer care they say that "no one has ever filed this complaint with them". call Ford. Blow up their hotlines and if you are having this problem get the word out to them and everyone else including Consumer Affairs, BBB and more. Someone is going to get killed. It's so dangerous and clearly a manufacture defect that they will not acknowledge because they don't' know what it is.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 182012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Driving at highway speed, engine shutdown and vehicle had immediate loss of power. No visible alert for surrounding traffic to avoid collision. Engine did not turn off, but acceleration was not possible. I turned the car completely off, waited a few minutes, restarted, and was able to proceed at normal speed onto the interstate before it occurred again. Dealership thought they had it fixed on Monday. They said it was a computer communication issue and they reset it. Their test driver had to be towed back to the shop. Next day, they repeated yesterday's fix, told me to pick it up. I had a friend drive it, while I followed. We made it 5 miles before it shut down on the interstate during rush hour traffic. I used my truck to block traffic so we could make it to the median. Dealership had it towed back. One week later, the dealer says it's the throttle body, but are not confident it is safe to release, and are not positive that's the problem. I have read many blogs on Ford's computer or fuel related issues that appear similar, yet with slightly different diagnosis. My concern is safety. I am looking for a safe vehicle I can trade with confidence that it will not cause the next owner to crash.

- Talbott, TN, USA

problem #7

Aug 112012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 40,130 miles
This is the 3rd time in the past 3 months that my Ford Edge has stalled. The first two times were on the highway going 55mph. This time was in my neighborhood going 35mph. Car just sporadically goes "limp" and loses all acceleration, with wrench light coming on. Have been able to coast to side of road each time. Ford refuses to fix. They keep saying they can't duplicate the problem. I'm going to get killed in this car if something isn't done about it. Apparently I'm not the only consumer with this issue.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #6

Jul 012011

Edge

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a loud banging noise while changing gears and the vehicle would jerk. The failure occurred at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was normal. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Chestnut Hill, MA, USA

problem #5

Jun 212012

Edge

  • 37,550 miles
My wife was driving home from work on the freeway when all of a sudden her vehicle went "limp". while the vehicle was in "limp' mode there was no acceleration and you can feel huge vibrations as if the engine was about to die. She was forced to maneuver her way through three lanes of traffic with her hazards on in order to get to a "safe" spot. The only way she was able to get out of the situation was to turn off the vehicle and restart it. The on board computer had a wrench light up and a message asking to look in our manual. Per our manual this is a powertrain issue. This has happened two more times in less than four days and twice our three month old son was with us/her. My wife is currently taking the vehicle to a Ford dealership and she just called to inform me that it had happened the third time. This is a dangerous thing and has disaster written all over it!

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?