Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 56
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,851 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Feb 172009

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the engine rpms would increase excessively in colder weather, usually about 15 degrees. When the failure would occur, the vehicle would abnormally accelerate while the contact was driving. The failure recurred fives times. The contact had to shift into neutral in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 158,000. Updated 04/10/12

- Murray, UT, USA

problem #75

Sep 202011

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles
On or about 2004, complainant purchased a Ford truck, F-150, supercrew, 4X2, model 2001. Complainant owns and lives in a house. Said house has a gate carport. By September 20, 2011, the above referenced vehicle had been parked and turned off for about one (1) week in the gated carport of complainants house. On September 20, 2011, sometime between 12:00pm and 1:00pm the above reference vehicle began to burn inside the carport. The flames and the smoke flowing from the vehicle expanded into complainants house causing damages to the structure and a myriad of movable objects located therein. According to complainants forensic expert, the vehicle began to burn as a result of a failure in the vehicle's cruise control switch deactivator.

- Toa Baja, PR, USA

problem #74

Dec 092011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 202,534 miles
Attempting to park vehicle in parking stall with foot on brake stopping the vehicle. The vehicle, for no apparent reason, abruptly accelerated forward striknig the vehicle on the other side of the parking stall. The resulting crash caused damage to the front of the 2011 GMC sport utility vehicle and to the front of the 2001 Ford F-150. This is the second time an incident similar to this has occurred. The first time was in August 2011. The first time the vehicle demonstrated a similar phenomena occurred when the owner was parking the vehicle in a parking stall. The vehicle was stopped in the parking stall, the driver's foot on the brake and the vehicle abruptly accelerated, for no apparent reason, over a concrete parking block. The vehicle continued into the street as the driver continued to apply the brake, attempting to stop the Ford F-150. The driver was unable to avoid striking a vehicle after entering the street.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #73

Jul 012011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford F150. Attorney writes on behalf of client regarding vehicle fire an expert examined the vehicle and determined the cause of the fire was the factory-installed speed control deactivation switch. A recall was issued regarding the same problem targeting the control switches. However, the consumer was never notified.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #72

Oct 242011

F-150

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While parked, the vehicle became engulfed in flames. The contact was able to extinguish the fire with a fire extinguisher. The contact noticed the fire had originated from the cruise control system. The fire department reported to the scene and a report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The dealer was waiting for the manufacturer and the insurance company to communicate in order to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #71

Oct 102011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 154,000 miles
I had noticed a slight restriction in the accelerator peddle for an extended period. On the date above, I pressed down on the peddle. When I took my foot off the peddle it stayed down and the vehicle began accelerating rapidly. To gain control I turned slightly to the right and turned off the key to slow to a stop. I removed the plastic cover that encloses the throttle body. It was securely in place. When I took the cover off the throttle snapped closed. It now operates normally with the throttle body cover removed. All parts are in good condition and exhibit no wear.

- Interlochen, MI, USA

problem #70

Sep 102011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My F150 Ford was parked for over a week when it all the sudden caught fire under the hood. I arrived to find the fire department putting out the fire. The fire was on the driverside engine compartment. After looking at the truck the fire department suggested checking to see if there was a recall on something. I found the cruise control recall.

- Kelso, WA, USA

problem #69

Sep 022011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
For a long time we had issues with the brakes even after getting new ones, about 3 wks before the fire my cruise stopped working.on the day before the fire I rolled my front windows down after I went back to work, an when I got off work my windows would not roll up, an I could not get the gear out of park, so I turned the engine off, an just turned the key on, an got it to go into neutral so I could start it an get it into drive.the next morning I took it to the shop to see about the windows, an before it could be checked, about 3:00 in the afternoon the engine off, the shop owner came out an the truck engine was fully engulfed. We didn't know until after the fire that there had been a recall on the speed control system that could result in a engine fire. We never received a recall notice.

- Savannah, TN, USA

problem #68

Jul 302011

F-150

  • 167,257 miles
Lost power steering assist while driving. Hose corroded through and lost all hydraulic fluid.

- Havana, IL, USA

problem #67

Jul 052011

F-150

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that after hearing a loud noise, she went outside and noticed that the vehicle exploded. As a result, damages were inflicted on two houses, two vehicles, and a storage shed. The police were notified and a report was available. A fire investigator appeared on the scene and stated that the fire may have originated from the cruise control switch. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mesilla Park, NM, USA

problem #66

May 132011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. NHTSA recall campaign id number: 05V388000 (vehicle speed control) was repaired in November of 2005, but the contact stated the vehicle caught fire because of the vehicle speed control deactivation switch. The fire department came and put the vehicle out. The fire department stated the point of origin came from the engine. The vehicle remained at the contacts home waiting to be fully inspected. The failure and current mileage was 140,000. The consumer stated on June 3, 2011 Ford and the insurance visited his home to assess the damage. Updated 07/29/11

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #65

May 192011

F-150

  • 120,000 miles
May 19, 2011 at around 4:20 am we were awaken by our neighbors that our truck was on fire. Our 2001 Ford F150 was on fire, an explosion had made a huge hole in the hood on the front of the driver side. The truck had last been driven the morning of May 17, 2011 and had been sitting in our driveway since then. The firemen said the fire was due to electrical wiring. We always kept up with all required maintenance. We had no idea of the problems Ford were having, we now only have one vehicle to get around and the worst part is that it's a 2004 Ford F250 which could also be a recall vehicle. Our income is very tight because my mother is very sick and we are sending money for her medication and expenses, we have no way of getting another vehicle. Our Ford F250 is a diesel and diesel fuel is very high. Someone please help! not sure what we're suppose to do or if Ford will be responsible.

- Fort Worth, Texas, 76110, TX, USA

problem #64

May 132011

F-150

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle had been parked and idle for five hours before he noticed smoke emitting from the cruise control area. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and provided a case number but offered no further assistance. The failure and current mileage was 110,000.

- Julian, CA, USA

problem #63

Feb 242011

F-150

  • 120,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2001 Ford F150. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked the engine caught on fire. The fire initiated at the engine master cylinder area. The manufacturer took a report 0538200551 and will have an engineer examine the vehicle. The vehicle has not been repaired. The fire department was not present. The failure and the current mileage were 120,000.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #62

Nov 152010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
My first Ford F150 had a engine fire as a result of the faulty brake fluid switch. I was told this truck was not part of the recall and didn't have this problem by Ford customer service when I called to report it. Since then the recall was expanded. My current Ford F150 has a leaky brake fluid switch and my cruise control doesn't work. This switch is the one that was put on by Ford after I brought it in for the recall. Ford said this is not an additional recall. I am concerned that this will result in another fire and then unfortunately be recalled later. There are numerous articles online about brake fluid leaks continuing to cause fires in Ford vehicles. Please help me resolve this simple problem now before it becomes a large problem. P.S. I choose "fireball" in equipment because I didn't see Ford listed as the manufacturer.

- Belmont, MI, USA

problem #61

Sep 082010

F-150

  • 80,000 miles
My 2001 F 150 super crew start on fire in a parking lot I live in Mexico but this truck was made in the usa, the fire started about 45 minutes after the engine was turned off.

- Queretaro, 00, USA

problem #60

Jul 182010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Vehicle was parked after fueling with key off and removed the brake master cylinder spontaneously caught fire, this occurred 45 minutes after the vehicle was parked and shut off. The fire was caught in time to not cause severe damage, the master cylinder with attached plugs/harnesses and close proximity parts were melted. The fire department responded and claimed the fire was caused by a faulty cruise control plug on the master cylinder, that was under recall.

- Miami Springs, FL, USA

problem #59

Jun 252010

F-150

  • miles
When accelerating at higher freeway speeds, the accelerator sticks and does not disengage. Only after kicking or perfectly knocking it with your foot will it disengage. This occurs both with and without the cruise control on.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #58

May 282010

F-150 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles
On two occasions, my 2001 Ford F150 (5.4 engine, auto, 4WD) has had the throttle accelerator "stick" during acceleration. The first occasion occurred in February 2010, and the second occurred May 28, 2010 at approximately 10:45 am cst. On both occasions, I was accelerating from a stop at an intersection. On the first occasion, multiple attempts were made to pump the brakes and also the accelerator, when these actions did not respond to the problem, I shifted into neutral and turned of the ignition, and pulled over onto the shoulder of the road. On the second occasion, the same attempt was made, pumping the brake and accelerator pedal; after several seconds and many depressions of the brake and accelerator, I made one final, very fast depression of the brake, which resulted in a noticeable "clunk" sound and accompanying jarring sensation, similar to something disengaging. After this, the truck returned to normal operating conditions. No "check engine" indication was noted before or after either of these occasions of "stuck" accelerator. Fortunately, on both occasions, traffic was very light. If traffic had been heavier, a collision would have been likely to occur.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #57

Apr 022010

F-150

  • 104,500 miles
I drive a 2001 Ford F150 ext. Cab 4X4, 5.4 Triton motor.throttle has stuck wide open on 2 different occasions when passing a car, on 11/27/09 throttle stuck once & 4/2/10 throttle stuck twice. Turned off cruise control no effect. Mashing on brakes as hard as I can doesn't even slow it down until I turn ignition off & put it in neutral & start slamming the gas pedal until it releases. In the meantime my girlfriends freaking out until I finally get all under control. Thought it was cruise control but it stuck when cruise control was off. Don't no who to contact. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jupiter, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?