Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Jan 272014

F-150

  • 41,841 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I tried to start my truck, but it wouldn't start. It turned over perfectly but would not start. It had started twice earlier in the day. The fuel pump driver module, located above the spare tire on the frame of the truck, had corroded and failed.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #45

Jan 162013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The right exhaust manifold studs had broken approximately 5/5/2012, in which they did not tell me the full extent of the damages. They just told me the manifold was leaking and the cost to repair it. This caused the manifold to warp and leak. The dealer would not repair it under the extended warranty. Approximately one year later I called the warranty company and found out it was actually covered. When I had taken it in, in May 2012 the dealer wanted to charge $1500 for the repairs. The repairs were finally made in may of 2013 to the exhaust manifold, but not to the catalytic.converter which started causing problems in January of this year. This leak may have caused the right catalytic converter to fail also, but have found many forums stating that failure of the catalytic converters are a common problem on these pick ups. At this time I am driving the pick up and it throws the code P0420, for catalytic converter below efficiency threshold. This problem should also be forwarded to the E.P.a. because people cannot afford to replace their catalytic converters at the price of $1200 per side. If this is a common problem with Ford F-150's this needs addressed. Also the failure of the exhaust manifold is a safety hazard that could cause the occupants in the cabin to be exposed to carbon monoxide. The leaking manifold also confuses the computer by telling it that the of bank cylinders is running to lean in response to those readings it then adds fuel to that bank which causes it to run richer on that bank than it should. I believe that this caused damage to the catalytic converter making it fail prematurely.

- Douglass, KS, USA

problem #44

Jun 262013

F-150

  • 100,000 miles
Vehicles misfiring and stumbling during moderate accelerations and cruising when a load is put on motor. ( going up a hill, slight incline and passing). Spark plugs were unable to be removed for replacement. The spark plugs were not of good quality and would need to be replaced more often than usual. The manufacturer was made aware, however no assistance was provided. $1249 to change one spark plug.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #43

Jul 012012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 1, 2012, my 2006 Ford F-150 super crew truck caught on fire while sitting in my driveway. The truck had been sitting untouched for a week when it caught on fire without any explanation. Fire investigators were unable to determine the cause of the fire because the truck was approximately 90% burned.

- Fort Campbell, KY, USA

problem #42

Jun 112012

F-150

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact took the vehicle for a routine oil change when he was advised by the mechanic that four of the spark plugs were unable to be removed for replacement. The spark plugs were not of good quality and would need to be replaced more often than usual. The manufacturer was made aware, however no assistance was provided. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate current and failure mileage was 72,000.

- Long Key, FL, USA

problem #41

Apr 082012

F-150

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While traveling 40 mph, the vehicle attempted to stall and would no longer accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the contact was informed that the failure was caused by a bad spark plug design. The contact was also informed that the sparks had fractured each time they attempted to remove the spark plugs. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were 52,000.

- Denville, NJ, USA

problem #40

Apr 112012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,121 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While pulling vehicle into garage the vehicle suddenly accelerated. I did not have a floor mat on the floor. This is about the fourth time this has happened since I bought the vehicle new. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealer approximately 2 years ago and they could not duplicate or determine the problem.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #39

Oct 012011

F-150

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised him that the spark plugs failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Holland, OH, USA

problem #38

Feb 092012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 87,351 miles
The number 3 spark plug was blown out of the cylinder head. This is the second occurrence of the same spark plug. The first incident occurred on 10/21/2011 at 82781 miles. The first repair was completed by mike naughton Ford in Aurora co. The mechanic installed a sleeve into the cylinder head to reinstall a new spark plug. The mechanic explained that this is a known problem because the cylinder head only has 3-4 threads for the spark plug to screw into.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #37

Apr 202006

F-150

  • 3,000 miles
I was driving casually on US17 North on my way to work. My truck suddenly lost power and service engine light illuminated. I took it in to the dealer they told me nothing was found to be wrong. Then the same event happened about 7 months after that. I brought the vehicle back in for diagnosis and repair. They told me nothing was wrong and to take it back and stop wasting their time. I asked them to keep it and give me a different vehicle in which they would not. I left the truck with the dealer and Ford motor credit repossessed the faulty vehicle.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #36

Sep 012011

F-150

  • 128,183 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer performed a diagnostic and located the failure as the engine locking due to defective parts. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 128,183.

- Hackette , AR, USA

problem #35

Aug 292011

F-150

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while having routine maintenance performed on the vehicle, the dealer advised him that the spark plugs needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 52,000.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #34

Nov 262010

F-150

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving 55 mph there was a knocking and banging noise in the engine which caused the vehicle to malfunction. The vehicle was then driven home. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 66,000. Rvk

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #33

Oct 302011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Spark plugs are engineered counter sunk in holes in top of the heads, when the plugs are unscrewed the bottom of the plug more often than not breaks off inside the spark plug hole. This requires very expensive tools and a skilled mechanic to extract. I feel the part was engineered to fail to force the price of repairs up. Leading up to this when the plugs begin to fail the engine will fail without warning and without the engine needs service light ever coming on. When this happens and their is no place to pull over you hope your not ran into by oncoming traffic.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #32

Apr 052010

F-150

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While driving highway speeds, the wrench warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle then decelerated, lost power and stalled. The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted but denied any assistance with repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 52,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #31

Jul 162011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated that the engine exhibited an abnormal noise while driving at any speed over 30 mph. The vehicle was taken to the local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the number seven and eight spark-plugs. The mechanic advised that the spark plugs had separated from the holder and caused a piece of the spark plug to penetrate the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 116,000. Updated 10/27/11 updated 12/06/2011

- Hillsdale , NJ, USA

problem #30

Aug 282011

F-150

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact was driving 70 mph when the vehicle exhibited a loud, abnormal noise from under the hood followed by the vehicle stalling. The check engine light was illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure as the number seven spark plug having released from the coil head causing the coil assembly to fail. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 83,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #29

Apr 172011

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated while driving approximately 20-55 mph, there was excessive hesitation with an intermittent illumination of the check engine warning light. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated a spark plug fractured within the engine and it would need a tune-up. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #28

Jun 282011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
To start out, it should not cost $1249 to change one spark plug... due to Ford's design flaw on their motor craft spark plugs which causes the M to break extremely easy, I am being charged to tear down my entire engine to retreive one spark plug!!! this is Ford's fault and I feel they should be held liable for the cost of repair. I have been told by several mechanics that Ford designed their motor craft plugs to break!! Ford is also the only one who can fix the problem. It was not until I paid over $400 to change 2 coil packs that I was hit with this price. This F-150 woulonly do 30-35 mph on the interstate highway...I could have been killed if I was hit from behind!! these spark plugs should be recalled and I should be reimbursed! my truck is still at the Ford dealership after a week...I already paid $126 for my motor craft parts by cash even before taking my truck to them. This is not right on the part of Ford to design a vehicle like that. Please investigate this defect problem so others are not charged like I am being charged. Please recall these spark plugs !!!!

- Amite, LA, USA

problem #27

Jul 062011

F-150

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated while having a tune-up performed at the dealer, one of the spark plugs became lodged in the cylinder head. The dealer advised that the cylinder head would be sent out to have the spark plug machined out. The vehicle was left with the dealer where the contact was awaiting repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Jackson, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?