Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,610 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Feb 252010


  • 85,762 miles


Gas pedal was stuck and truck and could not stop truck until it hit the curb at the dealership.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #12

Jan 112010


  • miles
2008 Ford F150 consumer stated that vehicle self-accelerated at full throttle. The consumer stated he had his foot lightly on the brake pedal; when he shifted from park to reverse, the vehicle accelerated at full throttle and thrust backwards at an unsafe rate of speed. The consumer applied the brake immediately and shifted to park; the engine was still racing at full throttle. He shut off the engine, waited a few minutes and then restarted the vehicle again and drove home. On January 13, 2010, the same thing happened again. It happened for a third time while stopped at an intersection attempting to make a right turn, with his foot on the brake and the vehicle spontaneously accelerated. The dealer had the vehicle for 2 1/2 days, but they were unable to duplicate the problem.

- Trinity, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 012009


  • 1,000 miles
The accelerator and brake are so close together on my 2008 Ford F150 that I have on occasion accidentally pressed both the accelerator and brake pedals at the same time while braking. The first time it happened I did not know what was happening. The engine was revving up as I was applying the brake, so I applied the brake harder and the engine continued to rev higher until the truck lurched forward. This caught me by surprise and my foot came off the brake and the engine revved down. I realized that my foot had been on the accelerator the same time it was on the brake. Since that first time, I know that if the engine starts revving while I am applying the brake that I have my foot on both and can angle my foot to the left to remove it from the accelerator while still keeping my foot on the brake. Even so, one time I just missed hitting the car in front of me while "stopping". this seems to me to be a dangerous design. When the engine begins revving for "no apparent reason" one tends to panic and steps harder on the brake which makes the problem worse. I think there needs to be a recall on this problem.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #10

Feb 022010


  • 27,225 miles


I own a 2008 Ford F-150 XLT supercrew / I have been having acceleration problems. Once sitting at an intersection luckily I was the first one at the light this vehicle just started racing and took off on me luckily my light just turned green I put both feet on the brakes and it didn't do a thing as the tac was buried and engine revving as fast as it would go by then I was in the middle of the intersection and still out of control I put the truck into neutral the truck stopped but the engine was racing so fast I thought it was going to blow up I then put it in park and shut the truck off, I had my two boys 14 and 16 with me to witness this and we were all scared to death. I finally started the truck back up reluctantly but I was in the middle of the intersection and it was fine I pulled over into a shopping center trying to calm down and finally drove home with no other problems that day. Since this was a weekend the Ford dealership was closed so on Monday morning I went to them they looked in their computer found no recalls and told me if I put it on the computer it would cost me 60 dollars.1 year later this same thing happened to me this truck took off on me like a rocket engine racing this time I was by myself on way to work I kept it on the road as long as I could then shot off into a field went approx.1/4 mile taking out stumps and trees in approx 8in.of snow then went airborne back over the road landing into a ditch up against two trees. I was semi conscious when I finally landed and stopped but all I could hear was this trucks engine racing as fast as it could go and I could see steam coming out of the front it scared me so I had the sense to put the truck in park and shut it off. Been doing some research same company that makes throttle/sensors for Toyota also makes them for Ford. I truly believe this problem needs to be addressed asap. I'm lucky I'm still alive the next person might not be over this obvious throttle/sensor defect.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #9

Jan 122010

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,400 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. The contact stated the vehicle surges forward on many occasions. The vehicle would surge forward after shifting into drive and while stopped at a traffic light. The contact has taken the vehicle to a dealer but the dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact was concerned that the failure may cause a crash while driving. Failure mileage was 7,400. Updated 2/22/10 updated 05/17/10.

- Trinity, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 112009


  • 8,500 miles
Vehicle is a Ford F150 XLT 2008. Vehicle was bought new from jack madden Ford in norwood Massachusetts. Vehicle purchased approximately in April of 2008. Problem with vehicle is when slowing down and coming to a stop the vehicle's engine accelerates and I have had to release foot brake and reapply. Or I have had to put it in neutral to stop vehicle. One time I went through a stop sign because vehicle accelerated and lunged forward. I have had the vehicle back to the dealer about 4 to 5 times and they have found nothing. I have contacted the attorney generals office here in massachsuetts and she has contacted the Ford representative but Ford could not speak to her without a letter being sent to them. At present we are at a standstill. Problem occurs occasionally and has happened about 8 to 10 times. This is an extremely dangerous situation and I am truly concerned about my safety and that of my wife's., not to mention other people being injured either walking in a crosswalk or in another vehicle. Please contact me.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #7

Jun 292009


  • 5,700 miles


Owner of 2008 Ford F-150 experienced spontaneous acceleration of vehicle at approximately 4800 miles and then repeated 3 times in one day at approximately 5700 miles. It happened twice while in drive and twice while in reverse. Even while holding the brake pedal to the floor, the truck continued to accelerate to full throttle each time. With great difficulty, my husband forced the truck into neutral and then park, at which time the engine returned to a normal RPM. He turned the engine off and then back on. We took the truck to the Ford dealership. Our truck was left at the dealer overnight for a check over. The service agent stated that the computer did not record any issues and they were unable to duplicate our concern. The service agent stated that there was "nothing" on Ford's site about our problems with the F-150's suddenly accelerating and they could not fix what wasn't "broken." If this is not a safety issue, nothing is! especially since so many trucks are used for hauling heavy loads. This is not an issue of where the gas and brake pedals are located. After this happens once, you know where the brake pedal is!!! it is obvious that Ford is not going to own up to this "concern" until enough injuries or deaths are reported.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #6

Apr 102009


  • 10,000 miles
This Ford F 150 pickup truck has the widest gas (accelerator) pedal I have ever seen and as a result, my right foot continues to press down on it even after I have started applying the brake pedal with the same foot. I have nearly collided with my working partner and a boat trailer three times in the past month as we were trying to hook up the trailer to the truck. As I backed up, and moved my foot from the gas pedal over to the brake pedal, the right edge of my foot was still pressing down on the gas pedal while the left part of my foot was pressing down on the brake pedal. So both pedals were being pressed down at the same time, but the gas pedal dominated and instead of slowing down, the truck accelerated in reverse. To avoid this situation, I have to consciously move my foot over onto the middle or left side of the brake pedal, which is something I have never had to do before with any vehicle I have driven, and I have been driving for 43 years. I have driven many Ford pickup trucks, F-150, F-250, and F-350, and the old F-100 as well, plus Dodge and Chevrolet and Nissan and Toyota pickup trucks, full size and mid-size and MINIpickups. I have never encountered this problem before in my entire life, and my co-worker has not either. We feel that this is a definite safety issue that needs to be addressed. This situation only occurs when backing up to hitch up a boat trailer, not when coming to a normal traffic stop, so the difference lies in the fact that my foot is moving faster from gas pedal to brake pedal when backing up to hook up a trailer, than it is when making a normal stop in traffic. But I have backed up many other pickup trucks in the past to hook up boat trailers and never had this problem before. We measured the Ford F-150's gas pedal width and compared it with other pickup gas pedal widths and the Ford's was wider than the others.

- Port Townsend, WA, USA

problem #5

Jan 042009

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 50 mph with the cruise control engaged, the engine began to rev at full throttle and the vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. Immediately, the cruise control was disengaged to slow the vehicle down. The failure occurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing, but they could not duplicate the failure. The failure recurred on two separate occasions, in which the most recent failure contributed to the vehicle lunging forward unexpectedly into the preceding vehicle. There were no personal injuries and both vehicles sustained minor damage. The police was called to the scene and filed a report. The vehicle was towed to the authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and repair. The contact is waiting on a response as to what caused the failure. The failure mileage was 18,000 and current mileage was 23,000. Updated 12/8/09 updated 12/09/09

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #4

Feb 142009


  • 1,533 miles
I own a 2008 Ford F-150. Last Saturday I entered the vehicle, started the engine and put the vehicle in drive. The engine imediately increased in RPM to the point where the rear tires began spinning on the gravel. I put the transmission in neutral and the engine RPM increased. I removed my foot from the brake and the engine continued at a very high RPM. I then depressed and released the accelerator and the engine returned to a normal idle. I have read other complaints abpout this type of problem and I do not believe I was pressing on both the brake and accelerator pedal at the same time. I also didn't see any advantage to taking my vehicle to my dealr since no one else has been able to find a problem.

- Fallon, NV, USA

problem #3

Sep 142008


  • 2,100 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 5 mph and then attempting to park, the vehicle jumped the sidewalk and struck a tree. Prior to the failure, the cruise control was engaged. The contact attempted to disengage it, but it remained activated. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 2,100.

- Powell, TN, USA

problem #2

Aug 232008


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. While driving 5 mph, the contact pulled out of his driveway and behind another vehicle. Her vehicle suddenly accelerated. On another occasion when the vehicle accelerated on its own, the contact depressed the brake pedal with both feet, but her vehicle continued to creep up behind another vehicle. While braking at a traffic light and driving through a drive thru, the vehicle began to accelerate. The dealer found no failures with the vehicle and stated that it was due to driver error. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 700 and failure mileage was 100.

- Wesland, MI, USA

problem #1

Apr 292008

F-150 8-cyl

  • 500 miles
Took delivery of 2008 Ford F-150 lariat crew cab 4X4 on 4/23/08. Yesterday 4/29/08 I was preparing to pull into a parking lot from a two lane highway and the truck spontaneously accelerated at full throttle with my foot firmly on the brake. I had the sensation that I was hit from behind because I was advancing without applying the accelerator. With the brakes fully applied I continued to advance into the parking lot and I immediately shifted into park in attempt to stop the vehicle. The vehicle came to a stop and the engine was racing at full throttle in park, I then turned the ignition off and the engine stopped. From the time I experienced the sensation of being hit from behind until the vehicle came to rest, I estimate the distance of travel at 50 feet. There were two passengers in the truck with me that witnessed the event and concurred that the truck had accelerated spontaneously. I brought the truck to the dealer, explained the experience and after checking it out informed me that no problem could be found. I am extremely concerned that this could happen again and the potential consequences could be catastrophic.

- Covington, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?