Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,845 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Apr 012015

F-150

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The service advancetrac warning came on and the dealership said the truck needed a new steering gear. They stated that if this were to fail, control of the truck would be lost resulting in a major issue. This is a safety issue and needs to be recalled.

- Jenks, OK, USA

problem #74

Aug 272013

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
We were traveling down the interstate when the red battery light came on. Shortly thereafter loss of power steering, loss of stability control (per dash indicator), and loss of power brakes. I have had the alternator replaced 2 separate times since for a total of three (3) alternators as well as one new battery. Now truck is in shop again for same malfunction. 2011 Ford F150 lariat. Crew cab. V-6 engine. Only 54000 miles and I am anticipating my fourth (4th) alternator. I use the truck in non-mountainous terrain, mostly highway for errands, and rarely tow. I believe a recall investigation should commence.

- Madison, SD, USA

problem #73

Jan 202015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 4/20/15 the consumer stated that the vehicle was repaired at the owner's expense. Updated 6/26/2015

- Palemerton, PA, USA

problem #72

Feb 072015

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 56,599 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was slowing down to pull in my driveway and the steering went out, almost took out my wifes car. Service steering now came on. Put the truck in park, turned off and restarted. Went to drive error code went away, as I was backing up steering became hard and impossible. Service steering immediately came on. Muscled the truck straight in my driveway and backed it to the end. Called the dealer I bought it from and was told that im not the first one to come in with this problem, but there is no recall on it and it would cost me 1500+ to repair. I don't make a lot of money, and I had my little brother in the truck. How is this okay? I cant drive this let alone get to work.

- Indain Trail, NC, USA

problem #71

Dec 302014

F-150

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving 65 mph, the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver. The contact also stated that the entire electrical control panel failed and the instrument panel illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Weston , WV, USA

problem #70

Jan 182012

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 700 miles
Popping rattling knocking felt in steering wheel. Started when going over bumps then progressed into driving normal. Constant steering wheel popping and rattling. Feels like steering is coming apart. Dealership verified complaint. They have installed 2 different eaps steering rack and 1 intermediate steering shaft. The problem still persist...

- Ofallon, IL, USA

problem #69

Jan 062015

F-150

  • 47,308 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL-the contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the service power steering now warning light illuminated. In addition, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it diagnosed that the electric power steering module and the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,308. Djr

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #68

Nov 172014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 48,700 miles
When turning steering locks up going left prevent correction or turning.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #67

Dec 172014

F-150

  • 44,399 miles
Steering started making a funny noise and power steering stopped working. Could not steer vehicle. No prior issues with steering.

- Penn Valley, CA, USA

problem #66

Jun 112012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
Steering became sluggish and pulled slightly to the right. I thought that the front right tire was flat. After pulling over the tire was not flat. Problem was not present after I had stopped to check tire. From that time on while driving at any speed there was an occasional "stickiness" to the steering. Also while wheel was turned completely to right or left there would be a thump and then it would stick just a bit before steering normally. During the longest stretch of this trouble I had an appointment made to have it checked but it stopped before the appointment. Then this week at about 25 to 30 miles an hour it was a very noticeable jerk to right and left while driving strait.got to destination and had to back into a difficult area where making full turns right and left were necessary. Turning from one complete turn to the next took a lot of force to get steering wheel to start back the other way. Made it back home just 3 to 4 miles was no problem. Next morning while backing into parking area had wheel turned all the way to right it would not come back and had to be towed to dealership.

- Quincy , IL, USA

problem #65

Aug 042014

F-150

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Screeching in rack and pinion and lost all power steering. Took for diagnostic and was told it was the steering angle sensor embedded in the rack. Entire rack has to be replaced. Truck is only 3 years old with 52,000 miles. New rack and pinion is over $1500.

- St Matthews, SC, USA

problem #64

Oct 272014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Steering became locked and could not avoid hitting the merging curb. This resulted in blowing both tires on the passenger side and chipping both rims beyond repair. While no one was injured this time I am definitely surprised a recall has not been issued for this problem.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #63

Oct 172014

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The electric power steering lock! and send me to the side walk, thanks god nobody was there.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #62

Sep 252014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 39,004 miles
My 2011 Ford F150 -with only 39000 miles- had a complete failure of the rack mounted electric power assisted steering module which prohibited it from being driven. The failure caused an increase in steering effort (no power assist) of the vehicle which needed to be towed to the dealer for repair. Fortunately, the vehicle was not being driven at that time and was parked at the time of the failure. In addition, a driver alert was observed that indicated that the power steering rack had failed and warned to service the power steering system. An attempt was made to reset the system but the message returned again after restart and the power steering assist was not functioning. The vehicle was towed to the Ford dealer who indicated that the power steering rack had failed and would need to be replaced. Total replacement cost was in excess of $1500. The vehicle only had 39000 miles indicated on the odometer. This is very similar to reports of the failures on sedan vehicles installed with similarly designed power steering racks. It is recommended to NHTSA, that the recall/investigation of this issue with sedans be expanded to include Ford light trucks.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #61

Sep 302014

F-150

  • 121,341 miles
Loud sound and popping when turning wheels sharp. Has been happening for a while and has gotten worse. Service advance trac message displays and then turn signals no longer work. Eventually warning would disappear but would come back on when turning sharp again. Took in for service and problem became so bad that vehicle would not turn. Having to replace rack and pinion.

- Ash, NC, USA

problem #60

Aug 042014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The first time this happened I was driving on a highway on ramp turning left and my steering wheel stayed stuck in the turned position. My truck felt like it was going to flip and the wheels would not straighten out until I turned them back. It has also caused my truck to put up warning about my stability control. This has happened to me a number of times and seems to happen when it is warm outside. I feel this needs to be looked at because it could be a serious risk of rolling over.

- Mauldin, SC, USA

problem #59

Sep 082014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
While driving on the highway at approximately 65 mph as I steered into a left hand curve in the road with the steering wheel in about the 10 O'clock position the steering "locked" into that position. The vehicle felt as if the wheels had entered a rut in the road. The automatic return to center function did not work and I hand to manually apply force to bring the steering wheel back to center. This malfuntion continued to occur whenever the above conditions were met. I brought the vehicle to the dealer and they had to replace the electric power assist steering system "rack". Ford is aware of this problem and has a tsb (#11-08-18) in effect to address it. The tsb has the problem narrowed down the the year, model, place of manufacure, and date of manufacture. I do not understand how a well documented problem such as this that has been fully researched and identified is not the subject of a safety recall. This problem could easily cause a vehicle to drift out of its lane on a divided highway, into oncoming traffic on on undivided road or off the roadway entirely.

- Lake Grove, NY, USA

problem #58

Jul 152014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The contact stated that the failure occurred on six occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000. Updated 10/24/14

- Owings, MD, USA

problem #57

Sep 012014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
When maneuvering in the parking lot, the epas unit failed creating the steering wheel to be extremely hard to move. This issue was so bad I could no longer drive the truck back due to safety concerns. I am having the truck towed to the Ford dealer to see what they can do about this issue. The service advancedtrac information display appeared on my dash as well as electronic powersteering assist system failure. When turning as far right as possible the truck would make a really loud metal to metal noise. This truck is no longer able to drive safely, hopefully Ford will take action to fix this issue before its too late. Otherwise, I am still going to have to pay out of pocket around $1200-1500 to have this fixed.

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #56

Jan 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Service advance trac light comes on when reversing with wheel fully turned, slight grinding noise heard. Called dealership and told not a concern -- the new systems "do that". mentioned at next service appointment and told nothing is wrong. Noise gets intermittently worse, but dealership is "unable to replicate problem" before the warranty expires in March 2014. In July 2014 (26,000 miles), the sat light comes on whenever the wheel is fully turned in forward, reverse, and park, and a loud grinding metal on metal sound occurs. The dealership could hear it this time and diagnosed steering gear assembly failure. The service representative stated on July 18, 2014 that the service advance trac light indicates this problem and that the vehicle is not safe to drive. This should be a recall before injuries or deaths occur due to steering failure.

- Northville, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?