Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,650 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #140

Jul 072014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled at temperatures above 85 degrees. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the technician replaced the fuel pump. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,182. Upated 9/4/14 updated 1/8/2015

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #139

Feb 042011

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Focus. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for fuel pump replacement the consumer stated her mother had not experienced any problems with the vehicle prior to the recall. However, in Feb 2011, the vehicle came to a dead stop without warning. The vehicle was towed to a service station, because it couldn't be restarted. The problem was soon diagnosed as a fuel pump failure and subsequently it was replaced. The consumer's mother contacted the dealership and was told she was eligible for reimbursement. But, soon after the statement was retracted. Ford stated the replacement coverage was for a period of ten years from the original warranty start date on the vehicle.

- Park City, UT, USA

problem #138

Oct 212010

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,739 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the vehicle would suddenly stall intermittently without warning. The dealer made three attempts to replace the fuel pump however, the vehicle continued to stall without warning. The failure began five months ago and the contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure. The current mileage was 65,622 and the failure mileage was 63,739. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/16/11

- Alta Loma, CA, USA

problem #137

Jun 012010

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Focus. Consumer states faulty fuel pump the consumer stated as she was driving, the vehicle began to loose power. The vehicle began surging to the point where she had to press the accelerator all the way down to the floorboard and the vehicle was still barely maintaining power to get out of the way of traffic. The fuel filter was replaced and she was able to get the vehicle back onto the highway. As she began to drive, the vehicle began to surge again and finally the vehicle shut off. After doing some research, the consumer discovered the vehicle was built using a faulty fuel pump which was found to be a safety issue. NHTSA required Ford to issue a csp 03N01 which replaced the fuel delivery module. The consumer stated her vehicle should have been included, but because the vehicle was built two months after the end of the csp production date range Ford would not replace the fuel pump free of charge.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #136

Feb 262010

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had numerous stalling condition while driving that have been frightening. Several fuel modules have been replaced as well as harness repairs. The dealer has finally replaced the harness going to the fuel pump stating it had been rubbing against the body and grounding out. I am not sure this will fix the problem since it is intermittent. It appears the dealer has done several wiring harness repairs leading to the fuel pump.

- Shokan, NY, USA

problem #135

May 012009

Focus

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While engaging the accelerator pedal, the vehicle shut off due to the fuel pump. The manufacturer stated that they were unable to provide any assistance. The contact is aware of the safety risk since the failure could potentially cause a crash. The current mileage was 46,000 and the failure mileage was 45,000.

- Port Ochard, WA, USA

problem #134

Jun 012009

Focus

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The contact drove to a repair shop and the mechanic replaced several parts; however, the failure was not corrected. The fuel pump was eventually determined to be the cause of the failure. The dealer and manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The current and failure mileages were 83,000.

- Glen Rock, PA, USA

problem #133

May 252009

Focus

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. On May 25, 2008, the vehicle would not move when the contact attempted to accelerate. He took the vehicle to a repair shop and the mechanic stated that the fuel pump failed. The mechanic further stated that the part could not be replaced because he did not have the proper tool to remove the fuel pump. Only the Ford dealer was equipped with the tool. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The estimated repair cost would be $1,000. The manufacturer confirmed that the VIN was not included in the recall and would not assist with the repair. The current and failure mileages were 59,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #132

Jan 122009

(reported on)

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Focus recall for faulty fuel pump. The consumer stated over the last few months the vehicle has stalled several times. The consumer discovered a recall, but the dealer wanted to charge $95 just to perform a diagnostic test to determine the cause of the problem and the test would only detect a faulty fuel pump when it was in failure mode. The test would not reveal a problem since the failure only occurred on the road and on an intermittent basis. Updated 04/20/10 the consumer stated for years his daughter had problems with the vehicle stalling. Updated 05/07/10.

- Winnabow, NC, USA

problem #131

Feb 072007

Focus

  • 108,596 miles
My vehicle, 2001 Ford Focus, displays all the symptoms regarding a faulty fuel pump fuel delivery module. At one-quarter tank, the engine will stall on right turns. During extended driving, the vehicle will surge and stutter eventually stalling, and during idling, the vehicle will drop power requiring constant pressure on the accelerator. I took the vehicle in for service on Feb 7, 2007 and was told that my vehicle came off the assembly line three months too late to have fallen under the extended warranty. I am furious that Ford would provide a 10yr extended warranty on it's vehicles - regardless of mileage, but would exclude models that have VIN numbers just outside the window of "known occurrence of problem". the vehicle had stalled on a major highway (US95 in las vegas clark county), and fortunately no one was hurt. The vehicle had over $1300 of service completed during this incident, but the issue has now re-occurred. Symptoms began in late September, and have gotten progressively worse. I do not feel safe driving long distances, as the vehicle has begun stalling around corners and during idling. I currently can not afford payments on a new vehicle, and want Ford to honor its pledge for safety by admitting more vehicles under its extended service warranty. Ford's technical service bulletin regarding this defect is 03N01 and Ford claims that over 671, 000 vehicles are affected. I suspect very few 2001 focuses are still on the road, and fewer ever received notice regarding this "recall". I find it hard to defend their patronizing position that "(they're) sorry, but there is nothing that can be done". I have spent thousands of dollars to keep this vehicle road worthy, I and I refuse to spend one penny more. For a vehicle model that has had so many flaws, I am appalled at the lack of support actually provided. I will note, that Ford was very helpful in replacing the ignition assembly-three times. Thanks recall id from NHTSA: 03V482000 Ford tsb 03N01.

- Laughlin, NV, USA

problem #130

Jun 272008

Focus

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the engine hesitated, and the vehicle lost power, surged, and experienced other similar symptoms. The failure has occurred twice while driving. The vehicle became sluggish and stalled at any speed. After waiting 20 to 40 minutes, the contact restarted the vehicle and took it to the local service station for a diagnostic. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 89,000 and current mileage was 90,000. Updated 07/29/08 updated 08/07/08 the dealer lowered the fuel tank, removed the old fuel pump and found the screen in the bottom of the tank. The dealer replaced the fuel pump. Updated 08/07/08

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #129

May 242008

Focus

  • 86,781 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate and then shut off a few minutes later. The vehicle was towed to a garage and the mechanic stated that the fuel pump failed. The mechanic replaced the fuel pump. The contact received a Ford recall notice (03N01) in January of 2004 and took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer informed her that they would not change that part until the failure occurs. Currently, the contact is experiencing difficulty receiving reimbursement from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 86,781 and current mileage was 87,800.

- Newport, VT, USA

problem #128

Mar 182008

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,509 miles
I had received a letter in January 2004 from Mr. Frank M. ligon, director of service engineering operations of the Ford Motor Company. The letter stated that in accordance with program 03N01 (engine stalling in 2000-01 Ford Focus vehicles) customer's vehicles "may experience engine hesitation, loss of power, surging, and other similar symptoms ultimately causing the engine to stall completely...as a result of contamination of the fuel pump filters."..."Ford is offering to replace your vehicle's fuel pump (parts and labor), at no cost, if your vehicle exhibits any of the above conditions...valid for a period of 10 years from the original warranty start date, with no limit on mileage."...I had been experiencing the above forementioned safety issues with my 2001 Focus, and took the car to the dealership for service. The dealer had to replace the fuel pump and filter, originally stating that it was covered under this program, but called back later and ultimately changed their mind. The explanation given was that this program was no longer "open." Since the company has acknowledged this particular safety concern, confirmed the letter being sent and my vehicle fitting the program 03N01 guidelines of make, model, year, and timeline (10 years unlimited mileage), and has refused to repair this defect free of charge, as stated in their letter, ...I would like to file an official complaint on this issue...and I would appreciate your assistance in resolving this runaround that the Ford Motor Company has given me. I got the letter, had the problems and safety issues as stated in that letter, it hasn't been 10yrs, so why did I have to pay for their defect? thank you for your time and assistance!

- Hazleton, PA, USA

problem #127

Feb 082008

Focus

  • miles
My car has had several issues with the engine stalling and shutting off...I encountered my first incident just recently, about a week ago. My car shut off and would not start while I was driving. It happened right as I was changing lanes. I thought I needed a jump but when that did not work I had my car towed to a mechanic. They told me that my fuel system was clogged/blocked, I don't remember the exact statement, but they told me that I needed a fuel system flush, a fuel filter, and a new fuel pump. I checked the recall list and saw that my card make and model were on the recall list for fuel system failure and when I called the dealership they tell me that my car does not qualify. I tell me that my issue was caused by something else...this is the first major problem that I have had with this car and now Ford is trying to say my car was not a part of the recall and are refusing to fix the problem.

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

problem #126

Apr 032007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,073 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The engine light would illuminate and the vehicle would stall, stutter, skip, and not run when the tank reached a quarter tank. Initially, the contact was informed that the cylinder head needed to be replaced. Then she was informed that the timing belt, gear, pulley, and tensioner needed to be replaced. The components were replaced. Finally, the contact was informed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. Ford stated that the vehicle was manufactured too late to be included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The purchase date and speed were unknown. The current mileage was 88,000 and failure mileage was 83,073. Updated 03-04-08\the fuel pump was replaced.

- Seneca, SC, USA

problem #125

Dec 182006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine would stall. The vehicle also decelerated without the contact removing her foot from the accelerator pedal. She did not hear any noises or notice any warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. He notified the dealer and manufacturer and they stated that the problem was due to the fuel pump and that his vehicle was not included in the extended warranty. The failure mileage was 90,000 and current mileage was 104,000.

- Orient, OH, USA

problem #124

Aug 182007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 108,650 miles
First occurrence happened when my wife and daughter were driving in the baltimore tunnel and the engine started to stumble and loose power finally stopping soon after they exited the tunnel allowing them to pull oven onto the shoulder. If the engine died 30 seconds sooner who knows what could have happened, there is no place to pull over in the tunnel. She managed to get to a gas station to fill the tank and then the car ran fine. It was at 1/2 a tank when it died. When she got home I changed the fuel filter and we had no more problems for 3 months. The second occurrence happened when I was driving the car to clemson SC for my daughter to use while attending college. I ran the tank to almost empty and noticed some loss of power but I thought I just got to close to empty, filled it up and all was fine again. While I was passing an 18 wheeler, fuel at 1/2 tank, the car started bucking violently and loosing power. I had to wait for the truck to go by and then make an extremely aggressive move cutting off the car that was following the truck so I could get to the shoulder. Once again after sitting for awhile the car started and I was able to limp to a gas station fill it up and it was fine. My concern is for public safety and a company the does not support the products that they sell. Ford has been aware of this problem forever and sent letters to almost 600,000 owners telling them of the possible problem and giving them an extended warranty on the fuel delivery system for up to ten years with unlimited mileage. What about the rest of us" we don't deserve the same consideration? I had to pay $500 to fairway Ford in anderson SC because my VIN number wasn't included in the replacement program. Ford, and all there talk of quality, ?Q1" flags flying at all of their facilities, seems to be more concerned with share holder value, than the safety of their loyal customers.

- Boyertown, PA, USA

problem #123

Jul 112007

Focus

  • 546 miles
July 11, 07 I had to travel for work and three hours out the car stopped in the road and at that time the car continued to roll so I merged to the side to get of the road, the engine light came on and didn't start till 30min later. I had to turn back around and head home and the car continued to stop and start over 20 times till I made it home. At times it would not pick up speed or it would decrease. 07-26-07 I took it to a Ford dealership service center and they brought up that the problem was in the fuel pump, fuel filter and pc valve and other items that did not pertain to the problem but needed future attention. The lady who helped me told me I need an updated version of the fuel pump and was charged $590.43 for everything including fees. August 1st, 2007 a friend had told me that a dealership in his area was replacing all fuel pumps for Ford Focus 2001 that failed within an extended warranty of 7 years under 100,000 miles and that the company was not telling anyone until the part failed and they brought it in for service. I looked up the claim on the internet and found that it was true. I got information from the dealership and company that my particular vehicle number, was not included in the replacement program. I still have no answer as to why my vehicle was not selected when my car clearly showed symptoms of the defected fuel pump. The answer I receive was that it could be a variable of reasons including where it was made and where the part was made. I was also told that my car has a 3yr warranty and there is nothing that they could assist me with. The more I tried to get answers about the program and the cars involved, who I can speak to or what can I do to solve this issue the more the representatives got aggravated and rude. Since Ford would not provide me with details or help with my fuel pump defect I wanted to seek help through the NHTSA to do an investigation of my vehicle in order to push a recall for my model.

- Holland, OH, USA

problem #122

Jul 202007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 58 mph the fuel pump failed on two occasions. The dealer stated that the fuel delivery module failed. The current and failure mileages were 84,000.

- Curwensville, PA, USA

problem #121

Mar 012007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate and eventually shut off. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact restarted the vehicle and drove away, only to encounter the same failure. A different dealer replaced the fuel pump assembly. This is the second time the fuel pump assembly had been replaced. The first time was in 2004 at 40,000 miles. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 72,000 and failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 06/26/07

- New Cumberland, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?