Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
110,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Focus drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Feb 122016


  • 83,000 miles


"takata recall" I'm having transmission problems with my Ford Focus while driving, the transmission will not shift correctly in the higher gears, 3rd and 4th I had it checked at a transmission shop who verifyed that the computer told them that the higher gears were at fault. I would like any help you can give me with this problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #22

Jan 162016


  • 56,998 miles
I am driving on the highway, and the used car I just bought with in the last week is shuddering, jerking, and slip out of gear. It only had one owner, and a little over 56,000 miles. Now I have only put 125 miles on it, and it does this. Since it slows down quickly with a fierce jerk of the car, I was lucky and did not cause an accident because of the problem, and other cars behind me slamming on there brakes.

- Windsor Heights, WV, USA

problem #21

Oct 152015


  • 48,260 miles
Was leaving work put the vehicle into gear and the shifter came apart in my hand after it was put into gear. Was not able to put the car in park or take the key out of ignition.while I was driving.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #20

Aug 282015


  • 79,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. While driving at 60 mph, the vehicle decreased in speed to 30 mph without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that a bushing failed and needed to be rebuilt. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 01/12/16

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #19

Jul 042014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The vehicle key is stuck in the ignition which makes it easier for car theft to occur. There is no way of getting the vehicle key out yourself. The vehicle starts, but when you turn it off, the key remains stuck in the vehicle ignition.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #18

Dec 042009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I bought a Ford Focus 2007 car which is a lemon but didn't fall under the original lemon law due to the first transmission not going until 16 months. This car currently has had a total of 5 transmissions put in with the last one in Oct 2013. With the one transmission- fluid leaked all over my driveway when I brought the car back home from the shop April 11, 2011. The next morning I took garbage down- didn't see it, fell & broke my wrist tfcf tear, subsequently resulting in surgery & the loss of my job as well as much pain when I never had an arm issue in my life. One transmission only lasted 6 weeks total. The first transmission was at around 20-22,000 miles. This brand new car did not pass my first pa inspection-what new car doesn┐┐T pass an inspection? car was bought brand new & only has 137,000 miles currently after 7 years. Driving down the road, the seatbelts will jam or come undone & off for no reason, headlights will come on & off at times, the lighter switch almost caught on fire, when the car battery was jumped it melted some plastic on the car, the air bags show as being off all the time and numerous safety issues. We have called Ford so many times including at the very beginning when all the problems began & they have refused to acknowledge or help us. They (Ford customer service) have been terrible to work with-lacking care/compassion in regards to our vehicle & situation. We were forced to keep the vehicle since we took out a loan on it. I paid $18,000 for this car brand new and it has been nothing but a nightmare. This vehicle is an accident waiting to happen & a health hazard. Someone besides myself is going to be seriously injured due to the safety. I will not buy a Ford ever again.

- West Middlesex, PA, USA

problem #17

Jul 112014


  • 48,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving up an incline at approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated, the engine power decreased without warning and the engine revved rapidly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission gasket needed to be replaced. The vehicle remained at the dealer for fifteen days while waiting on the replacement part to be available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 02/02/15

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 062014


  • 989,887 miles
I was leaving the store when I felt my car slip a little but didn't think much of it. Then a few moments later the check engine light came on and the over drive started blinking off and the car went to reduced power mode. I took it to O'reilly's they plugged it in and said it was the shift solenoid E. took it to another place and they talked about just replacing the whole transmission!! the car only cost me $5400 why would I pay 4K for a transmission!! why has there not been any recalls on this yet I have seen so many people say the same thing with new cars and less miles then mine, what is Ford doing"?"......nothing!! built Ford tough my [xxx]!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #15

May 092014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 86,844 miles
While I was driving my 2007 Ford Focus, I noticed that it was making unusual noises but didn't think anything of it until the noises grew progressively louder and more alarming. Initially I thought that I was perhaps in the wrong gear so when I came to a stop light, I put my car in park and turned it off, then back on again. That seemed to alleviate the sounds momentarily and I drove a distance before the sounds started to occur again. As I started to pay more attention to these noises, I noticed that the gas pedal was trembling so I pulled over to the side of the freeway and contacted my uncle, who is a fisherman by trade. He has done a lot of mechanical work on the engines inside of his 32-foot, commercial-sized fishing boat, so I frantically asked him what I should do. He had me do a series of checks including checking the transmission fluid levels, the color, and the odor. I reported to him that the fluid levels seemed adequate and the color normal but there was perhaps a slight burnt smell. The "od is off" light was also flashing and so he thought it was most likely a transmission problem but that it could be a belt issue as well. He said that it would be safest to get back into the car and off the freeway, onto surface streets and return home until I was able to take the car into the Ford dealership to check if the transmission could be covered under warranty. He thought it was quite strange that I was having these issues and I was only at 86,000 miles. I cautiously drove the whole way home, not quite sure if I was going to make it back. I then arranged an appointment to have my car serviced by the Ford dealership and contacted aaa.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 192013


  • 100,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking lot and parking when my gear shifter fell apart in my hand. Literally threw up a spring and the button popped off I managed to get it across the street to advanced auto partswhere the worker was kind enough to kind of fix it for me. I have nightmares about being on the road and it falling apart again this is so unsafe. Thank you [xxx] there needs to be a recall as I have read many complaints here on the same thing. Also this car has hesitated when driving and slipped out of gear on numerous occasions. Frightening. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 162013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 87,769 miles


I was driving my 2007 Ford Focus home when my gear shift fell apart in my hand. Luckily I was pulling into my driveway when it happened. It is now not drivable and has to be towed to the shop to be worked on. I do not believe a gear shift should fall apart in your hand as this one did. I got online and read that many other people have complained about this same issue. I think this vehicle needs to be recalled as to this is truly a safety issue. Thank god this happened before my planned vacation with my niece to the coast which would mean traveling curvy roads and if this would have happened then it may have cost us both our lives. I have written and complained to Ford company via their online site but I expect that nothing will probably be done but it's sad that Ford company prides themselves on safety and customer service and would let this go on without being addressed. I will definitely think twice before buying another Ford product as to definitely they do not care about customer safety. Maybe a fatal accident has to happen before this gets addressed.

- Tulare, CA, USA

problem #12

May 112013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 53,500 miles
My '07 Focus has been slipping out of gear & at times, just stops! a yellow flashing, od off, lights & flashes on the dash. Left me stranded & I have ms!! I purchased this car with 8 miles on it and have taken very good care of it, so I would never have to worry about being stranded. It has only 53,700 miles! is there a recall or a class action suit, because I would be interested in either or both! when I was stopped on a steep hill, approximately five years ago when the car had roughly 20000 miles, it started to roll backwards even though it was in drive. Then it was fine so I didn't see a reason to bring it in, just guessed the hill was too steep for it...seems I guessed wrong!

- Helena, MT, USA

problem #11

Jun 142012


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that she started the vehicle and attempted to shift into gear but the gear shifter would not move. The contact allowed the engine toidle for 15 minutes before the gear was finally able to be shifted. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic and the contact was advised that the transmission fluid needed to be changed. The vehicle was serviced but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Joshua Tree, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 062010


  • 60,000 miles
The throttle on my car continually gets stuck open. This has been happening repeatedly for the past three years. I have almost been in several accidents and am probably going to die in a car accident due to this. I go to brake and my car won't stop. Tonight, 2/24, I went to stop coming off the freeway and my car actually accelerated while I was braking. Ford has repeatedly refused to fix this even though you can look it up online and see that it happens to almost anyone who had the unfortunate luck of buying such a crappy car. Fix it before I die in a car accident. I don't have the money to fix it myself. It is becoming a more frequent incident. It has happened in 2010, 2011, the end of 2012 and just now.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 152013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 22,500 miles
2007 Ford Focus St excessive tire wear. At 71,000 miles the vehicle is due for the fourth set of tires. Goodyear Eagle GT P205/50-16 tires have twice lasted less than 25,000 miles while the tires are warrantied for 50,000 miles. Alignment and balance are good and maintained, no 'unusual' wear patterns. Many owners of this vehicle have reported similar issues.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #8

Dec 072012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Traveling on an freeway, I downshifted (mtx75, 5sp manual trans) and passed another vehicle. Then went to up shift and found transmission would not enter any gears. Shifter would move side to side, but no up and down into the gates. Towed to a repair shop and tore down to find cause. Found a roll pin had fallen out/sheared off on the gear selector assembly on the transmission. Research showed this is a common issue on this transmission with no fix or updated parts from manufacturer.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #7

Jun 222012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle decelerated to 40mph and stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the alternator was defective and needed to be replaced. The failure recurred a week later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who verified the alternator had become defective again and added that the shift solenoid needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not offer any assistance. The contact was referred to NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 78,000....updated 09/12/12 updated 09/18/2012

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #6

May 242011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
2007 Ford Focus 3 door w/auto transmission. 130,000 miles. Car is shifting in and out of gear. RPM suddenly rises for no reason. Strong vibration on the hills. Mechanic replaced the overdrive sensor as it was throwing a code. Ford wants $3700 to replace with new transmission. I'm not convinced that it isn't a problem with the transmissions computer or wiring. There seems to be a lot of similar stories about these Ford Focus transmissions. Its not a well built unit. Ford knows these transmission are not reliable and should replace and remann them all!

- North Lewisburg, OH, USA

problem #5

Jan 242012


  • 83,835 miles
There are two recurring problems that really concern me: 1) transmission/powertain light has flickered on-and-off and then goes off completely. Initially I assumed it was a fuse or electrical problem. There have been several episodes, the scariest to date on 2-20-12 the car seemed to "lose gears, " shuttered a little, and suddenly felt it was going to stall out on a short incline. My 15 year old daughter (with learner's permit) was at the wheel. It was frightening as the car felt it would roll backward with traffic stacked up behind her. 2) brakes: On two ocassions since I have owned the car (3.5 months) the brakes, when applied (normal fashion) completely went to the floor without functioning: There was nothing there. A couple of minutes later, and only after pumping the brakes a few times, did the "brake function return." My mother had warned me about this - she also provided me with a file folder of all repairs she had made on the car. Twice; she had the master brake cylinder replaced! she complained to the Ford dealer in her hometown, who "brushed it off" and assured her there would be no further problems. In the last 3 weeks, the brakes failed again - and again, my 15 year old was at the wheel. I cannot tell you how frightening this was - if NHTSA is aware of multiple complaints about a design failure; why hasn't Ford issued a recall to make the necessary repairs?

- Talladega, AL, USA

problem #4

Sep 062011


  • 86,668 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the vehicle shook abnormally before stalling without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer test drove the vehicle and advised that the tires needed to be rotated. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the transmission. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,668.

- Tabor , IA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?