Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Focus electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

Nov 012013

Focus

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag light indicating that the passenger air bag even when there's a passenger on board will indicate the airbag is off. It has been doing this everysince I got the car 4 years ago. Now I have a child and people who ride in the passenger seat and safety has become a huge concern there are many reports online of this issue including on here. My family and I cannot afford to replace this or fix this our selves to my knowledge the only aftermarket parts on my car our the tires and all of the mounts. For the original manufactured mounts failed and broke.

- Madill, OK, USA

problem #59

Nov 302015

Focus

  • 118,050 miles
I was driving in the rain when the internal lights started to flicker. This was followed by the radio shutting off, headlights dimming before turning off, and wiper blades failing. This was quite dangerous as it was dark out and raining, and I had no wipers or headlights. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to get off the road before the car failed entirely. The car would not restart, and I had to get towed to a mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed the problem as a faulty alternator, which also caused the battery to fail. The mechanic replaced both components for $630.80.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #58

Jun 112015

Focus

  • 90,000 miles
Out of no where my battery indicator light came on. I stopped to get gas and all electrical components of the car cut off and the car died. I had someone jump me and I made it to my house and in the parking spot and as soon as I parked my car it died again. I went and bought a new battery on 6/11/2015 today is 7/28/2015 and the same thing happened again I had the battery replaced a second time and had the car tested and found out the alternator is failing. I have found many many complaints about the alternator failing and believe this has become a huge issue. I had my children in the car with very high temperatures outside and the car shut off. I will replace the unit but I have seen where many people replaced it multiple times within a 2 year span. Please look into this situation.

- Shepherdsville, KY, USA

problem #57

Jul 142015

Focus

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while parked, the contact turned the air conditioning on to levels 3 & 4 and noticed that the air would not blow. The failure recurred on one other occasion. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the pigtail and the switch melted together. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Pea Ridge, AR, USA

problem #56

Jun 142013

Focus

  • 45,000 miles
1) the airbag did not deploy in an accident several years ago ( approx. December, 2011 - mileage was approx. 45,000) when the car collided with an oncoming car and was damaged on the front end and driver's side. No one was injured. During the past 2 or 3 years, I have noticed that the driver's side airbag warning light has been going on and off for days at a time. It seems to be affected by heat and humidity. It seems to go on when the weather is humid and off when the air is dry, at all times of the year. I am not sure whether the airbag would deploy when it is necessary. 2) during the past year, the power steering has making a loud grinding noise when I turn the steering wheel either right or left. A mechanic who worked on it said he put a clamp on it and refilled the steering fluid, which helped for a few weeks, but the problem has returned. So far the steering has worked well, but I'm concerned that power steering is defective and wearing out too soon.the mechanic said it was safe to drive.

- South Portland, ME, USA

problem #55

Jul 042014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The vehicle key is stuck in the ignition which makes it easier for car theft to occur. There is no way of getting the vehicle key out yourself. The vehicle starts, but when you turn it off, the key remains stuck in the vehicle ignition.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #54

Oct 252013

Focus

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear taillight bulb blows out as if an electrical short in wiring. Bulb will look black, even the socket has black discoloration. This has been an on-going problem since we purchased car in 2009 with both the left and right rear tail lights. To date I have replaced about 15-20 bulbs to the extent I purchased two (2) boxes of bulbs a socket wrench and correct socket to keep in car to replace bulbs each time it happens.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #53

Nov 132014

Focus

  • miles
Wiring inside of boot to the hatchback (liftgate), powering the third brake light, lock for hatchback, and rear wiper is broken causing shorts.

- Woods Hole , MA, USA

problem #52

Jul 112012

Focus

  • miles
Dashboard extreme heat. Wiring for airbag switch no longer works. Airbag light stays on. Switch on dash no longer works.

- Ruther Glen, VA, USA

problem #51

Aug 082014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Battery light lightened, ABS light came on, all the instrument panel lines went to zero, car jerked a few times, then died. Tried to start it and just clicked, got a jump start and got it home. Brother checked it out, fixed alternator. Now it is almost a month later and same thing.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #50

Dec 042009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a Ford Focus 2007 car which is a lemon but didn't fall under the original lemon law due to the first transmission not going until 16 months. This car currently has had a total of 5 transmissions put in with the last one in Oct 2013. With the one transmission- fluid leaked all over my driveway when I brought the car back home from the shop April 11, 2011. The next morning I took garbage down- didn't see it, fell & broke my wrist tfcf tear, subsequently resulting in surgery & the loss of my job as well as much pain when I never had an arm issue in my life. One transmission only lasted 6 weeks total. The first transmission was at around 20-22,000 miles. This brand new car did not pass my first pa inspection-what new car doesn┐┐T pass an inspection? car was bought brand new & only has 137,000 miles currently after 7 years. Driving down the road, the seatbelts will jam or come undone & off for no reason, headlights will come on & off at times, the lighter switch almost caught on fire, when the car battery was jumped it melted some plastic on the car, the air bags show as being off all the time and numerous safety issues. We have called Ford so many times including at the very beginning when all the problems began & they have refused to acknowledge or help us. They (Ford customer service) have been terrible to work with-lacking care/compassion in regards to our vehicle & situation. We were forced to keep the vehicle since we took out a loan on it. I paid $18,000 for this car brand new and it has been nothing but a nightmare. This vehicle is an accident waiting to happen & a health hazard. Someone besides myself is going to be seriously injured due to the safety. I will not buy a Ford ever again.

- West Middlesex, PA, USA

problem #49

Jun 062014

Focus

  • 989,887 miles
I was leaving the store when I felt my car slip a little but didn't think much of it. Then a few moments later the check engine light came on and the over drive started blinking off and the car went to reduced power mode. I took it to O'reilly's they plugged it in and said it was the shift solenoid E. took it to another place and they talked about just replacing the whole transmission!! the car only cost me $5400 why would I pay 4K for a transmission!! why has there not been any recalls on this yet I have seen so many people say the same thing with new cars and less miles then mine, what is Ford doing"?"......nothing!! built Ford tough my [xxx]!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #48

Jan 062014

Focus

  • 114,000 miles
When I first noticed, it was around the 45 mph when I felt the jerking of the vehicle. As time went on it started to do that at 35 and (sometimes or) 45 mph. This past Tuesday 3rd of June 2014 it started to do this at 15, 25, 35, and 45 mph from sitting at the red light and moving forward. After getting a tune-up.. it is a little better but it still does that at 35 and some times at 45.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #47

Aug 242013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 101,001 miles
NHTSA 10023297 contents re: Negative battery cable corrosion, subsequent heavier gauge ref. P/N 14300 / 14301 oem history of alternator/battery replacement beyond normal due to corrosion of cabling FOIA the Freedom Of Information Act, or FOIA (5 U.S.C. 552, as amended), generally provides any person with the statutory right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to government information in executive branch Agency records. This right to access is limited when information is protected from disclosure by one of FOIA?S nine statutory exemptions. Federal register publications, including the federalregister.gov website and the various editions of the daily federal register, the code of federal regulations (cfr), federal register/cfr indexes, and the public laws posted on the federal digital system (fdsys.gov) are not subject to the request for records provisions of the FOIA. Under the FOIA, our publications are made available to the public through numerous sources, including this website, gpo?S fdsys.gov website, the gpo book sales program, and nearly 1,250 government depository libraries located throughout the nation. For more information, see the national archives and records administration Freedom Of Information Act reference guide. This guide provides instructions for obtaining information from us (for both operational and historical records) using the Freedom Of Information Act. Learn more about our FOIA regulations (36 cfr 1250). Read the text of the Freedom Of Information Act (5 U.S.C. 552).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #46

May 092014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 86,844 miles
While I was driving my 2007 Ford Focus, I noticed that it was making unusual noises but didn't think anything of it until the noises grew progressively louder and more alarming. Initially I thought that I was perhaps in the wrong gear so when I came to a stop light, I put my car in park and turned it off, then back on again. That seemed to alleviate the sounds momentarily and I drove a distance before the sounds started to occur again. As I started to pay more attention to these noises, I noticed that the gas pedal was trembling so I pulled over to the side of the freeway and contacted my uncle, who is a fisherman by trade. He has done a lot of mechanical work on the engines inside of his 32-foot, commercial-sized fishing boat, so I frantically asked him what I should do. He had me do a series of checks including checking the transmission fluid levels, the color, and the odor. I reported to him that the fluid levels seemed adequate and the color normal but there was perhaps a slight burnt smell. The "od is off" light was also flashing and so he thought it was most likely a transmission problem but that it could be a belt issue as well. He said that it would be safest to get back into the car and off the freeway, onto surface streets and return home until I was able to take the car into the Ford dealership to check if the transmission could be covered under warranty. He thought it was quite strange that I was having these issues and I was only at 86,000 miles. I cautiously drove the whole way home, not quite sure if I was going to make it back. I then arranged an appointment to have my car serviced by the Ford dealership and contacted aaa.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #45

Jan 172014

Focus

  • 102,000 miles
Without any indication of a low battery, the car began to lose electrical power while driving. At first, I was on my way to work when I noticed my radio stopped playing. Upon looking at my radio, I realized the lights were completely off, including the clock--which stays on even if I turn the radio off. I noticed I was very cold, and my defrost had stopped working. Thinking it was hopefully just a blown fuse, I continued on my way to work, driving cautiously. My car did sound like it was not shifting gears as much as it should have been. I made it to work fine, and even checked on it during my lunch hour--it started up fine, lights and everything was working, with no indicator lights illuminating on the dash. Thinking it was fine, I drove home that night with the intention of bringing it to the shop to check the battery over the weekend. While driving home (in the dark) that evening, I made it almost to my apartment. I noticed again that my radio suddenly stopped playing. I looked at the radio, at which point I saw the text display "low battery." I began to notice everything dimming--the dashboard, interior lights, and even my headlights. I was close enough to get to my apartment ok. The next morning I had an appointment to get to the shop. After reading the other complaints of similar drivers of 2007 Ford focuses having identical issues, I was nervous about driving to the shop. Not knowing if my car would suddenly die on me, and if I would be able to use my hazard lights, or turn signals to indicate to other drivers if my battery started to go again. Luckily my car made it the 3.1 miles to the shop, before giving out. Same thing--no earlier indications that the battery was low, the power just starts shutting down. This is incredibly dangerous, and I was lucky that I read up on the issue and was only driving locally, and not on a highway.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #44

Jan 262009

Focus

  • 43,720 miles
Alternator suddenly failed while driving. I had no control of the car while in traffic including the steering. The alternator was replaced. Approximately 3 years later on July 2, 2012, the same thing happened. Sudden alternator failure while driving with no ability to control the vehicle. Because the electrical system had a total failure I could not steer the vehicle, turn on the hazard flashers, or signal the traffic behind me that I was slowing down because the brake lights could not function. Terribly dangerous. On July 6, 2013, alternator #3 failed and burned out the battery as well. Ford Motor Company apologized for the inconvenience and said it was my problem because it was out of warranty and there was no recall. Inconvenience? that takes the cake. I don't know why there is not a recall on this defect and it is clearly a safety issue. Sudden electrical failure on a highway at high speed with no way to steer the car or warn other drivers merits a recall. The web is awash with complaints about sudden and repeated failure of the electrical system in the 2007 Ford Focus.

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #43

May 312011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
The vehicle had issues with the engine 'surging' on its own for a few of weeks. This was especially noticeable when slowing down or braking for a turn. A visit to the local Ford dealer did not find a source of the problem. Eventually while on the freeway the vehicle's engine was racing to over 65 mph without accelerating and then it died. It was towed to the local Ford dealer and after a couple of days it was diagnosed as a faulty noise capacitor. They did fix the problem but it is two years later and it is also exhibiting the same 'surging' issues again. I have not had this problem with any other car I have owned and this can't be a normal thing. Thank you.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #42

Apr 202013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
The lock on the rear passenger side door will not lock. Doesn't lock with the rest of the doors and I cannot lock manually. Anyone could come open it at any time and take whatever they want. It is not safe. I am afraid if someone rides back there it will pop open if they lean on it.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #41

Oct 172012

Focus

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated while driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder to be restarted. The vehicle had to be pushed to a garage to park it. The contact removed the ignition transformer capacitor and the vehicle started again. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or local mechanic. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?