Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
57,896 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Focus seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Sep 032013

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic, who stated that the air bag failure was caused by an electrical issue and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that the air bag would not inflate if the vehicle was involved in a crash. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000. Updated 12/20/13 the vehicle was repaired on 9/11/13. Updated 12/16/13

- East Northport, NY, USA

problem #32

Aug 072013

Focus

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver's side air bag clock spring needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 19,000.kmj

- Cedar Knolls, NJ, USA

problem #31

Aug 092013

Focus

  • 32,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 32,200.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #30

Aug 082013

Focus

  • 91,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was repaired previously but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,800.

- Lago Vista, TX, USA

problem #29

May 182012

Focus

  • 85,000 miles
I was in a auto accident on 05/18/2012, I was driving 10 miles under posted speed limit, I had a green light and a young girl age 17 ran red light I had no time to step on brakes or anything, I was knocked out when I came too, the air bag had deployed and it burned my face, nose, I inhaled whatever chemicals are in the airbag, it burned my throat all the way down, and to this day, my nose has a bruise looking splotches and my nose bleeds constantly, also, I have sores in my mouth constantly and a blue blood blister on my lip..I am horse, I was coughing up blood...my voice has not been the same since the accident, the young girl was sited with a ticket and I was not, I was rushed to the hospital, the airbag broke my sternum but I am concerned about my lungs hurt constantly and with all the other things that are still bothering me, I have pictures of my face and chest, plus the police report...

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #28

Dec 262012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
12-26-2012 I was on route 77 in akron, Ohio when I slid on ice and snow, my car started spinning and an SUV going North and my car crashed. I spun into the left lane where a Cadillac SUV was driving North and he hit the driverside front side of my vehicle. My car may be totaled. Front driverside headlight is gone, transmission was pushed back and hood of car is bent. My airbag did not go off. I was taken to the hospital after hitting my head on the driver side window, and I strained my neck. My question is why did my airbags not go off??

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #27

Nov 242012

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband and I were driving on a highway at about 65mph outside of cleveland, Ohio when the passenger side air bag deployed without cause. We were shocked, but my husband was thankfully able to keep control of the car. The road was totally clear there was no reason for this to happen. We went to a nearby police station and the officer stated that there was no evidence of any kind of accident at all, and that this was a manufacturing defect in their opinion. My arm and back have been sore and we have not heard from the Ford dealer how they plan to take care of this. I am afraid that the other airbags are defective as well. If this happened on the driver side it could cause a serious accident.

- Brookline, MA, USA

problem #26

Feb 012009

Focus

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while starting the vehicle the air bag light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the air bag system failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure reccurred several times.in addition, the contact stated that while entering the vehicle it was found that the driver front seat was the problem. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where it was confirmed that the cushion of the seat became disconnected from the body. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 61,000.

- Marstown, NJ, USA

problem #25

Sep 272012

Focus

  • 87,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 75 mph, the contact drove over a tire in the middle of the road. The front driver's side curtain air bag then deployed erroneously. The contact sustained bruises to the arms as a result of the airbag deployment. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 87,800.

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #24

Apr 022012

Focus

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while traveling 65 mph, the front driver's side air bag erroneously deployed. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's residence and was later taken to an authorized dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Jun 062011

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the clock spring needed to be replaced because the air bag may not deploy in the event of a crash. The contact also stated that the door latch for the front driver's side broke and he could not get exit from that door. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 64,000.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #22

Apr 142012

Focus

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph over a pothole, the air bag warning indicator began to illuminate continuously. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and independent mechanic, who both stated that the entire air bag system would need to be replaced. The technicians also stated that when the malfunction occurred, the air bag system responded as though a massive impact was involved with the vehicle. There was no impact nor did the air bags deploy. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Orion , MI, USA

problem #21

Apr 112012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 93,453 miles
At 7:30 this morning, I was driving to work on the palisades parkway, my speed was about 70 mph, when suddenly there was a loud bang, followed by smoke in the interior of my car. I immediately slowed down and realized that the car was still operating fine, but that the driver's side impact air bag deployed for no reason. I did not hit a pot hole, nor was I hit or hit any one or any thing. It just deployed on it's own. The seat bag was located in the driver's seat. There is now foam rubber in the interior of my car from the seat. The seam on the seat is open. I called the local Ford dealer and was told it would not be covered. I also called the Ford Motor Company customer care service, which assigned a case number and I should hear back in about 24-48 hours. Upon looking on the web, I have found about 25 additional instances of the same air bag deploying for no reason. My left arm, my neck are bruised from the impact of the airbag. I also am having ringing in my left ear from the bang. Is there enough evidence for a recall based on many deployments of this airbag?

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 272012

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
Air bag light is illuminated or on. However, my car has never been in an accident or collision. Power steering on the car went bad. I had to get it replaced. Wanted to know if there are any recalls for both of these issues. I bought this car new. Should I be experiencing problems this soon?

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Apr 122011

Focus

  • miles
Air bag light lights up indicating some type of failure if used.

- Fajardo, PR, USA

problem #18

Nov 012011

Focus

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact was driving at various speeds when the front passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred whenever the engine was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where they informed the contact that the instrument cluster and passenger side impact sensor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and informed the service warranty expired. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Knox, IN, USA

problem #17

Aug 312011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 37,023 miles
The airbag light on the instrument cluster of my 2007 Ford Focus came on for the first time August 31, 2011. The car has 37,023 miles and has had all the dealer maintenance performed since the car was purchased. I was told by the longmont Ford dealer that the on board diagnostic computer indicated a loss of communication and that the airbag safety system was not engaged when the light was on. I returned to the dealer the next day to have a complete diagnostic to determine what had caused the light to activate. I was told that the instrument cluster had failed and that the entire cluster must be replaced. This electronic failure represents a serious safety issue if not replaced at a cost of ~$800. I am deeply concerned that other drivers of this car may not understand that the safety system is completely inactive when the instrument cluster fails in this way. Ford does not offer to replace this as part of the safety warranty program. I think this is wrong and represents a safety hazard for drivers who may not understand the failure or who cannot afford to make such a repair and choose to drive the care without the safety feature operable.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #16

Dec 082009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 32,693 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when the airbag warning light illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and repairs. One year later, the failure recurred and the clock spring was replaced. The vehicle was not being driven due to the safety concerns regarding the airbag. Updated 5/9/11 the consumer stated the air bag light illuminated again in February 2011. The dealer stated there was a faulty spring in the steering column. Updated 07/06/11

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #15

Mar 102011

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 65 mph the drivers side side air bag deployed. The contact stated that he was able to continue driving after the air bag deployed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technicians had not diagnosed the failure. The manufacturer stated that the repairs were not covered under the warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,500. Updated 05/03/11 Ford authoried the dealer to replace the driver side air bag, sensor and module.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #14

Jul 082010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The airbag warning light on my 2007 Ford Focus ZX3 comes on and remains on. Dealer reset the code and it stayed off for a couple months and then came back on. I am told that the bags will not deploy so long as the light is on. From owner forums I gather that this is not an infrequent issue.

- Standish, CA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?