Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,699 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Focus electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Sep 012011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 21,649 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First automatic power door lock problem: The passenger side door lock would not respond to fob, interior door lock opener or manual intervention. Repair shop checked fuse, checked good. Scheduled appointment for repair. Started working again after I left the Ford dealership. Second automatic power door lock problem: 21649 miles. The passenger side rear door lock would not respond to fob, interior door lock opener or manual intervention. Shop notes: Customer states pass rear door will not unlock, service writer verified. Happens when hot out, works when cool in the morning. Failed door latch right rear, test verified pinpoint test lead to latch replaced right rear door lock latch assemble 901. Third power door lock failure. Mileage 49826, the driver side rear door lock would not respond to fob, interior door lock opener or manual intervention. 4/29/2013 returned to dealership, service writer verified, scheduled service appointment for 5/1/2013. This is a safety issue. If drivers door lock fails and driver needs emergency exit of vehicle, driver could not exit. We also own a 2010 Ford Fusion with approximately same mileage and had no problems with it. Ford could re-engineer the 2010 Focus power door locks like the ones they engineered for the 2010 Fusion and replace all locks upon failure of first lock. I found 14 other reports of failures of power locks on the 2010 Ford Focus. I didn't report this until my third failure. I would thus assume for every reported failure, there are over 100 not reported, maybe more. This is a safety issue and needs additional action by the Ford Motor Company.

- Cheney, WA, USA

problem #10

Jan 012013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 780 miles
I am wondering why the transmission light is coming on. I only have 780 miles on the car eventhough I bought the car Jan 2010. I am retired and only need the car to go food shopping and go on a few errands. I was sick in May 2011 and just started driving my car again to the store in Nov 2012. In Jan 2013 the transmission light comes on and I have not had any accidents or stalled on the road as of today. I am wondering if there is a recall for Ford Focus 2010. I received mail for recall on 2011-2013--but I have a 2010 Ford Focus. The car dealer told me to bring the car in--it's due for inspection in April and I plan on taking the car to the dealer in April unless I stall or find out that there is a recall. The wrench light comes on and I only drive at the most 25 city speed limit.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #9

Aug 252012

Focus

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while parked the vehicle failed to start. The contact attempted to jump start the vehicle when she noticed sparks coming from the battery. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnose that there was an electrical shortage which damaged the starter. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- Newton, MS, USA

problem #8

Jun 242012

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Focus. The contact stated that coolant was emitted through the air conditioning duct and leaked inside the vehicle. The failure caused electrical problems in the vehicle. A representative was sent by the manufacturer to install a coolant fan motor on the vehicle. The contact stated that after the installation, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified who offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 28,000...updated 09-26-12 the consumer stated when coolant came out of the airducts it got on the consumer's face. When the consumer applied the brakes the vehicle went in reverse. The brakes were applied again, the consumer hit the steering wheel and the seat belt unbuckled. The coolant that came out of the airducts also reached the interior floor and behind the console. Other issues with vehicle are the tires that have always looked worn, when the brakes were applied the vehicle would accelerate, rpms would increase and engine revs, toxic and burning wire odors, excessive heat from the engine, metal grinding sounds from under the hood, vibrating and rough riding, the trunk opens on its own, compressing sound while air condition is running, windows were icing on the exterior of driver and passenger windows, and rust on the ignition. Updated 10/01/2012

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #7

Jun 202011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
When I was driving, the car would lose power. Sometimes, it would just slow randomly, and many times it would just lose all throttle and stop. It happened on the highway going over 65 mph, on a busy street traveling 40 mph, and in the middle of a turn at a busy intersection. Apparently, this is happening to many Ford focuses (www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?T=271461), and something must be done about this. It is dangerous. Not only is it not covered under the powertrain warranty, it is $600 to fix! this is awful, and it should be re-called. Someone will end up getting killed, and Ford should be sued for their death. If this is happening to so many cars they should not pay to fix it, it should be recalled!

- Willow Springs, IL, USA

problem #6

Aug 312011

Focus 4-cyl Diesel

  • 700 miles
All but the driver's door would not unlock. I tried the inside door latch, the outside door latch, key fob, and even tried to unlock with the key from the outside. Car was taken to Ford dealer twice when getting there everything worked fine third time it would not unlock for them they replaced door lock latch żżactuator assembly and door lock switch assembly. Worked fine for about a week and started doing the same thing called and got appointment for that Friday got ready to take in and they started working again and have worked since but still concerned about this happening and us not being able to get out of the car period.

- Coos Bay, OR, USA

problem #5

Sep 252011

Focus

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was locked in my own car! the driver's side door would not unlock. I tried the inside door latch, the outside door latch, key fob, and even tried to unlock with the key from the outside. I had friends trying to help me get the door unlocked, with no luck. I had to crawl out the passenger side of the car. After letting the car sit of over an hour, the door would finally unlock. The dealer is saying it is the actuator motor going out, cost for the motor alone is $400. That does not include the labor to install it. I think it is ridiculous that an electrical motor would go out with only 38000 miles on it. From what I have read, there most certainly should be a recall. Hopefully it will not require someone getting trapped in a car and loosing their life for that to happen.

- Douglassville, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 012010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 16 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Focus. The contact stated that all four doors on the vehicle were defective. When the contact pushed the unlock button it would not respond or the door would continue to stay locked. The dealer replaced the door locks numerous times, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 16 and the current mileage was 26,127. Updated 8/30/11 updated 09/28/11

- Searcy, AR, USA

problem #3

Nov 012010

Focus

  • 61,000 miles
Purchased vehicle October 2010, driver side seat belt unbuckles and key sticks in ignition and steering wheel locks.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #2

Aug 042010

Focus

  • miles
The steering wheel and front wheels lock if the contact key is in the off position as described in my owner's Focus 2010(manual transmission) booklet if we want to pull the Focus behind my 1998 30 foot winnebago adventurer. So I turned the key in position 2, accessories, and drove more than 500 miles after adequate wiring was performed. The Focus battery was dead. A Ford dealer could not solve this mystery. Just in case my eml is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Laval, Qc. Canada, 00, USA

problem #1

Mar 312010

Focus

  • 300 miles
Car engine kills while driving at all speeds without warning. This has happened 7 times in the last 23 days, the last time on interstate in the left at 60 mph. Car will not start for some time after but will start but stall again. The last time it stalled while turning across a 6 lane intersection with oncoming traffic at highway speed. First events occurred at 174.5 miles on the odometer and was towed to the dealer. On the evening of 31 March 2010. Car returned on evening of 8 April dealer stating the instrument cluster caused problem with the coded key making the car think it was an unauthorized key. New instrument cluster would not load into the computers, dealer stated they had to force the computer loading. Car returned to me the afternoon 8 April and brought back to the dealer the afternoon of 9 April for same issue with 300 miles. Dealer states he is working with the manufacture on programming a new computer as this might be the problem but they are unsure, have never seen this before in a new car. Of the 23 days I have owned this car it has been in the shop for over 20 days. I have lost my trust in this car and feel there is something very wrong for it to stall while moving in 60 mph traffic or in the center of intersections.

- Racine, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?