10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,659 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Fusion brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #149

Sep 232016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My break pedal needs to be pushed in all the way to engage.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #148

Jun 252015

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles
Brake pedal went soft after driving over pot hole in summer of 2015.did online research that pointed to the ABS hydralic control unit. Ford dealer replaced brake master cylinder and I had marginal improvement. Few months later went to a snowy empty parking and activated the ABS doing a quick stop. Brake pedal which wasn't very firm after master cylinder replacement got very soft. Took it back to Ford who replaced the ABS hcu. Brake pedal returned to normal firmness. Ford has revised this part which I had fail. It's the ABS hcu which has a valve stick open. Go to you tube and search fordtechmacaluso soft Fusion brake pedal who describes this same problem.

- Centenniao, CO, USA

problem #147

Oct 232015

Fusion

  • 118,559 miles
Faulty hcu: In March 2015, made a hard stop and the '08 Fusion went into an ABS stop. The brake pedal became very soft and almost went to the floor. I had to pull off the road and pump the brakes repeatedly to get back to a it's normal state. Fortunately, I was only driving 25-30 mph. I took the car to a Ford dealer to have it inspected for a cost of $125. Of course, they said everything was fine. Ford probably told their dealer to keep silent on this issue. Within a few months, this same thing happened again while trying to stop on very a rough road. Fortunately, again I was only driving about 25mph. Now, this was getting a little frightening so I researched the internet and concluded that it was an issue with the hcu. On 10/23/15, I had the hcu replaced by a Ford dealer for a cost of almost $1,200. Problem solved...at my expense. Funny how the Ford dealer couldn┐T trouble shoot this issue.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #146

Dec 192016

Fusion

  • 66,095 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 12/19/16, I was northbound on interstate 5 in South orange county, ca in the extreme right lane at approximately 60 mph. A pickup truck towing a small trailer in the lane to my left, suddenly started coming into my lane without signals. I stood on the brakes and the horn. The rear tires started to skid for approximately 2-3 seconds and then stopped skidding as the computer control took over the brakes. I was still hard on the brakes as the truck and trailer returned to the second lane. There was no contact and I was able to resume to the next off ramp. When I started to brake, the pedal felt as if it was almost touching the floor. I was slowing down very slowly and felt that I was not going to stop in time for the light. I drove home slowly and every time I braked, it felt as if I was not going to stop. The next morning, I drove to the Ford dealer as they had replaced my front brakes on 12/02/16 (rears ok). The brakes felt normal on the drive over. The service advisor thought it had reset itself after sitting. The dealer could not find anything wrong and said to return if happened again. Unknown.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #145

Jan 052017

Fusion

  • 189,000 miles
We have had multiple instances where our anti-lock brakes have not engaged properly and it leaves us feeling like we don't have brakes at all. The pedal feels like it's going all the way to the floor and it's very soft. When this first started happening (maybe a year or two ago) it would reset itself within a day or two and the brakes would be back to normal. Now, if it happens, it's lasting weeks and sometimes over a month. We are currently in a state of them being soft again. We had some snow and ice last week, and one time of applying the brakes and sliding, and it has caused the issue to come back. We are a week out at this point and seeing no improvement in our brakes. We have not had an accident, but have experienced this many times with our Fusion. Every time this has happened, it is when the brakes are being applied. If we hit a bump or rough spot, or the pavement is wet or icy, while applying our brakes, it causes the issue to happen.

- Sparta, MO, USA

problem #144

Feb 012016

Fusion

  • 165,000 miles
The brakes are "spongy", slow to stop, go to floor, etc. The pads have been replaced, rotors/drums serviced, fluid checked. All is in good repair but problem still persists. This happens whether driving on surface streets or interstates, on dry and wet roads. It's been a problem for almost a year. I was recently advised the brake booster needs to be replaced but while researching the cost of this, I came across many other complaints of the same problem, spanning several model years. This is obviously a factory defect that Ford Motor Company needs to address and issue a recall on.

- Kingston, TN, USA

problem #143

Jan 082017

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed at 10 mph, the vehicle failed to respond. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal went to the floorboard and lost pressure. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #142

Jan 042017

Fusion

  • 75,750 miles
2008 Ford Fusion about 18 months ago I had to brake hard at freeway speed to avoid hitting an animal, resulting in activation of the ABS system. Immediately afterward the brake pedal became very mushy, requiring pumping of the brake pedal in order to restore a firm pedal. I took it to my mechanic who replaced the master cylinder. This seemed to fix the problem. Then last week the same thing happened again; I had to brake hard on a rainy freeway going freeway speeds, again activating the ABS system. Immediately afterwards the brake pedal became soft requiring pumping of the brakes to temporarily restore a firm pedal. This works once, but after releasing the brake pedal it becomes mushy again. The brake fluid level is good and there are no external brake fluid leaks.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #141

Jan 082017

Fusion

  • 72,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. While driving various speeds, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to engage immediately. When the brake pedal was first depressed, it felt spongy and traveled close to the floorboard in order to stop the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the cause of the failure was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 72,800.

- Edensburg, PA, USA

problem #140

Dec 162016

Fusion

  • miles
Brakes- whenever I am driving down the road and preparing to brake, if I hit the smallest pothole or bump in the road, my brake pedal goes to the floor. This has occurred ever since the car was bought in 2013. When this occurs, there is no pressure to apply the brakes. I see this as a very dangerous issue and this needs to be addressed quickly.

- Mccalla, AL, USA

problem #139

Dec 202016

Fusion

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #138

Apr 202016

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles
On multiple occasions when driving over rough, icy, or wet roads and or turning in these conditions while applying the brake, the ABS will engage and the brake pedal will become soft and go almost to the floor. The ABS system is designed this way, however, after an ABS event, braking action should return to normal (I.e. no pulsating) in this case it does not. It seems the hydraulic control unit valves stay stuck open after an ABS event and fail to close, this leads to low brake pressure/pulsating brakes all the time. Extremely dangerous and frustrating. No prior braking issues occurred before this event and recent brake system checks were made. This is a recurring issue that sometimes 'magically' fixes itself in between engine starts.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #137

Nov 232016

Fusion

  • 177,183 miles
During first snowfall of the year the vehicle ABS engaged while braking. After the ABS disengaged, the brake pedal went all the way to the floor and I was unable to come to stop or even slow my vehicle. I was approaching a red light at a busy intersection on a surface street. Thankfully, and due to the snowy road conditions, I was traveling slower than normal on this road. If I had been going the posted speed limit and typical follow distance, I don't believe I would have been able to stop the vehicle before crossing the intersection. In order to stop I had to shift the vehicle into low gear and use the hand brake. I pulled into a parking lot and luckily was not in a collision. Prior to the ABS engaging, the vehicle's brakes functioned without issue. The vehicle had to be towed to a service garage as it was unsafe to drive. Upon inspection from garage, I was told that the brake control unit was defective and would have to be replaced. The mechanic noted that he had already fixed this specific issue on same/similar model cars. He stated that I was the first he had heard this issue occurring after ABS engagement, and that other customers typically report that this problem occurs after hitting a bump in the road. The mechanic also noted that this issue is non-existent or very uncommon on other vehicles. Total cost of vehicle tow was $90. Total cost of vehicle repair including parts was $1226.69.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #136

Aug 082016

Fusion

  • 195,000 miles
On many occasions, the vehicle failed to stop at a stop sign or stop light, especially on adverse conditions (I.e. wet streets or hills). We took the vehicle to joe cooper Ford in tulsa, ok and was advised that they had to replace a hydraulic brake unit. We had to pay $1,531 to replace this unit. We have now found out that this has been a problem with this make and model. We are very concerned that the unit has been replaced with the same type of unit, we feel that this should have been a recall and that we should receive some type of reimbursement for the replacement. We are attaching the paid invoice for the replacement. The incident initially occurred in August 2016 and periodically occurred several times up until the repair. Again on many occasions when pressing down on the brakes, the brake paddle would go down to the floor as if there were no brakes and then the brakes would eventually work.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #135

Apr 052016

Fusion

  • 92,578 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. While driving 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the brake booster and master cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,578.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #134

Oct 262016

Fusion

  • 104,026 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the brake pedal needed to be depressed excessively in order for the vehicle to stop safely. The failure was intermittent and without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed brake fluid. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,026.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #133

Jan 042017

Fusion

  • 77,500 miles
Re: investigation opened 12/20/16 on 2009-2011 Fusion for soft brakes after ABS deployment I suggest you add the 2008 year model as I have been experiencing the same problem. One month ago, the shop replaced the master cylinder to "fix" the problem, which worked until yesterday when the ABS activated again.

- Madison, SD, USA

problem #132

Dec 162016

Fusion

  • 13,500 miles
I have not had a accident (thank god). But after a ABS event on 2 separate occasions I lost 95% of my braking power/pedal. The pedal/braking does come back eventually but who wants to guess when it will go out again. I live in Michigan so ABS events can happen often in the winter. I was turning into a parking lot when I hit a low sewer cover that was wet which caused my wheel to slide just a brief moment. Then when I went to use the brakes next to pull into a parking spot there was nothing. That was the first incident. I really cannot say for sure what caused the next one due to being a snow storm outside. Dealer says the hcu is the culprit and the part alone is $1200. Full install is almost $2000. I am having it fixed for safety sake because I feel this is not something to be put off

- Walker, MI, USA

problem #131

Dec 172016

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles
December of 2016: While lightly pushing on the brake pedal as I approached a stop sign in snowy weather, I lost my brakes. The rural intersection had a slight incline with no turns, and I first applied the brakes at around 15 M.P.H. there was no sensation (by feel or audible) that my ABS had activated and the brake pedal felt soft. Pushing harder on the pedal had no effect, and I ended up gliding right through the stop sign. I didn't think anything of it until it happened again a few days later. I have never had any brake issues on this vehicle besides normal wear and tear. I had a rear caliper replaced in 2014, front brake pads and rotors were replaced in 2015. I recently saw on the news that 2007-09 Ford Fusion were being investigated for brake failure issues.

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #130

Nov 242016

Fusion

  • 129,000 miles
2008 Ford Fusion. My issue is with the braking system in my wife's car. It will go soft and feel like there are not brakes. While driving car on city, county roads, and some highway. While sitting in idol or park breaks still feel loose and go to the floor. There was an article that NHTSA investigating 2007-2009 Ford Fusion and Mercury Milan with the same issue I want to involve my wife's car in this also. Had car at Ford dealer and they found no leaks thought it could be something in a caliper fixed it but it didnt solve the problem.

- Goshen, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?