2011 Ford Fusion steering problems: power steering failure

Power Steering Failure

2011 Ford Fusion (Page 1 of 4)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

8.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,620.00
Average Mileage:
65,721 miles
Total Complaints:
72 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (36 reports)
  2. Recall (15 reports)
  3. replace steering assembly (12 reports)
  4. replaced steering rack (9 reports)
  5. ford covered repair (1 reports)
2011 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #72

Jan 092017

Fusion SEL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failure while backing out of driveway. I find out today 08/12/17 after taking my car in for a throttle body failure (another recall) that there was a recall on it. I get all my servicing done at the ford dealership but not once has the service manager said anything about a recall on my vehicle. They said they don't do anything until there is a failure. Isn't this why there is a recall so the safety of everyone isn't endangered?

- , Chesapeake, US

problem #71

Jan 052017

Fusion

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,569 miles

I AM REALLY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS CAR. WHEN I FIRST GOT THE CAR I WAS IN LOVE WITH IT UNTIL THE STEERING GEAR WENT OUT. I TOOK IT TO FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS CHARGED AN ARM AND LEG TO GET IT FIXED. THIS ALL HAPPENED IN JANUARY 2017 AND NOW I AM FACED WITH THE SAME PROBLEM EXCEPT NOW I HAVE TO PAY 3100.00 TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. I FEEL THAT FORD SHOULD HONOR ME WITH THE DAMN RECALL THEY HAD AND REPLACE THE PART. I DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS BUT RIGHT IS RIGHT AND WRONG IS WRONG. FORD KNEW WHEN THEY MADE THIS CAR THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE THAT WILL OCCUR WITH THE STEERING GEAR. THEY WILL NOT HELP ME IN ANY MEANS AT ALL. I AM REALLY DISSATISFIED WITH FORD. BE CAREFUL AND CHECK THINGS OUT BEFORE YOU GET ANYTHING FROM FORD.

- , Harrell, AR, US

problem #70

Jun 152017

Fusion SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

Power steering assist fault. Why is my vehicle not covered under the recall along with the 400,000 that were recalled and it has the same problem? F*ck Ford F*ck Ford F*ck Ford. Never buy a vehicle new or used from them. They don't care about your safety. Just want to spend the least to fix the problem. Do not buy a Ford and put them out of business. I feel they put me out of business with not recalling my vehicle with the same problem as recalled vehicles. I am out the money if I repair or not. I will not be able to trade it in with the problem. Ford sucks.

- , Buckeye, AZ, US

problem #69

May 252017

Fusion

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering assist failed suddenly while driving. When steering is out on these vehicles is actually almost impossible to turn the wheel. I have driven old vehicles without power steering and this is twice as hard to steer. This vehicle is equipped with the EPAS. Apparently many people are having the same problem. I contacted Ford and they dined coverage because the EPAS software was updated in 2015 as part of a recall for defective EPAS. The software update did not accomplish anything as the EPAS failed after the recall software update. This is a huge safety concern that needs to be address ASAP, I guess Ford is waiting for fatal accidents to start occurring and increasing before they do something about this power steering defect.

- , Richmond, CA, US

problem #68

Mar 252017

Fusion SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

The power steering was not working when I started the car. To steer the car it took all the strength I had and then I could only turn a few degrees and frequently I had to back up and turn maybe a couple of times to get around a corner. It does get better with more speed, but still cannot get around a sharp turn.

- , Luther, OK, US

problem #67

Aug 112016

Fusion SE 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,582 miles

Power Steering Assist Error popped last night on my 2011 Ford Fusion. Halfway out of the parking space, the car started making a funny dinging sound and the steering wheel locked and would not turn. Thank you God, I wasn't on the highway when this happened since there was no turning that wheel. I turned the car off, let it sit and 5 seconds, restarted and it worked fine.

Immediately starting researching and found this is an ongoing issue since 2014 ~ Average cost to repair has been close to $2,000 ~ There has since been a recall from Ford. Recall # 15S18 ~ If dealers find any loss of steering assist DTC's, the steering gear will be replaced, free of charge. If no codes are found, the PSCM software will be updated, at no cost.

I spoke to the service department at my local Ford dealer this morning. I mentioned the recall and he immediately stated this could be something completely different, so don't go assuming this is due to the recall. Then he stated since I heard the dinging and was unable to steer, the vehicle had to come in immediately.

Hopefully this will be covered under the recall. Will update once Ford service has taken a look.

Update from Oct 18, 2016: Ended up being the racket pinion. Had this replaced, under warranty thank God!

- , Sellersburg, USA

problem #66

Nov 042015

Fusion SEL 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering went out 2011 Ford Fusion was repaired in recall #15V340000 for the steering: electric power assist system. 11 months later it went out again. Ford refuse to fix said it was my problem. Won't buy Ford again

- , Palm City, FL, US

problem #65

Nov 202016

Fusion SEL 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,137 miles

POWER ASSIST WENT OUT...(STEERING REALLY STIFF) THE DEALERSHIP REPROGRAMMED THE CAR, SAID WOULD NEED TO CHANGE THE POWER STEERING RACK IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN, IT DID. NOW, ITS ABOUT $4K TO FIX HERE IN CANADA....THAT IS HALF OF THE VALUE OF MY CAR! IF FORD DOESN'T COVER THE COST, I'M DONE WITH FORD FOREVER.

- , Montreal, QC, Canada

problem #64

Feb 272017

Fusion LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,691 miles

Was backing my car out of a parking space, started turning the wheel when notification signal came on and then error message "power steering failure". Could not turn the wheel at all. Restarted the car and it was fine. 2nd time in less than a week this has happened. Never has happened prior to the 1st time.

- , Fayetteville, NY, US

problem #63

Dec 212016

Fusion SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,100 miles

My boyfriend and I were Driving to Tennessee and 100 miles into the drive on the highway the car started beeping and the "Service Advancetrac" came on then moments later "Power Steering Failure" . We lost power steering immediately. When we stopped for gas I removed both fuses and checked them, they were not blown. Shut car off for over 10 mins turned back on but same thing happened. Drove for 700 miles with no power steering. Took it over to Ed Ford in Sparta who wanted $1600.00 to replace the entire assembly. I declined the service. This is detrimental for me because I am a small women and I am now completely unable to drive the vehicle myself as I cannot turn the wheel at all. I hope there is a recall soon this is terrible.

- , West Palm Beach, FL, US

problem #62

Nov 212016

Fusion SE 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For about 6 months now I have been having an issue with my car where the power steering failure light would turn on when I was going from reverse into drive and turning the wheel. The wheel would lock up. I would turn the car off and on and it would reset itself. But this week, in two different incidents it happened while I was driving and thank God I didn't get into an accident. I parked the car in a parking lot each time coasting in and reset it by turning it off and on. I barely saw that there is a power steering recall and called Ford. They said it would take a few days to check the car. :( I cant afford to fix something I didn't even do to the car.

- , Austin, TX, US

problem #61

Oct 182016

Fusion SE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,184 miles

Recall 15S18 Power Steering Recall performed Aug 01,2015 While driving on a dry, sunny day on the inside lane of a 6 lane (one way) highway in Dallas early rush hour, the steering began to feel odd. I checked the dash and found the Advance Trac light illuminated. I thought I'd accidentally pressed the button when turning on the AC. I pushed the button to turn it off and the Advance Trac off light illuminated then turned off. I decided to make my way to the outside lane and exit the interstate which was approximately 300 yards away. This was done with little effort, but something just didn't feel right.

As soon as I was on the exit ramp, I felt the steering wheel resist as I tried to steer to the right. Driving at 30 mph or slower, I quickly got into the right lane and turned immediately into the driveway of a large shopping center. I made 2 right turns about 25 feet apart and the a wide left turn into a parking space. These turns were extremely difficult to make, the steering wheel required plenty of strength and effort to turn. The upside is the parking area I turned into was vacant except for traffic exiting the shopping center. I was frazzled to say the least and turned off the car, walked around it to insure the tires were correctly positioned and that there was nothing stuck underneath the car.

At that point I turned the key in the ignition to make a phone call and I tried the steering wheel, it moved with not too much effort. After several minutes I started the 4 mile drive home at a snail's pace to insure I could control the car. This is an experience I definitely could have done without. I am afraid to drive my car to the dealership 25 miles away for fear of the same thing occurring, however I will need to get the car there as I must have a car. Looking into towing it or getting a car dolly so that I don't have to actually drive it.

Now, the question is, if my car had the recall "fix" why did this occur? Apparently Ford's "software fix" fourteen months earlier did not resolve a problem that I hadn't experienced up to that time.

Update from Feb 5, 2017: After a call to the Ford 800#, an appointment was set up. They were unable to guarantee my vehicle repair would be covered. Regardless of their decision I needed my car to be fixed and was seriously considering trading in my car which was paid off, and purchasing a different make/brand.
The Ford dealership advised that my car was eligible to be fixed at no cost to me. I was surprised and relieved, apparently my vehicle did show the "codes" required for a covered repair.

- , Richardson, TX, US

problem #60

Dec 042015

Fusion SE 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,303 miles

In a common day when I start my Ford Fusion 2011 the "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" light it turned ON, I turned OFF the car, then I turned ON again and the light went off. So I continued my day. But when I leave my work at 5:00 am the light goes ON again and the car has no POWER STEERING. That was a PAIN in the ASS because I live 35 miles away from my house. When I went to the dealer and they said that the parts had no warranty. Ford has a RECALL for the FUSION 2011 like mine but the VIN # of my car was not included in the RECALL and I had to paid for the repair like $2000 that sucks.

- , Homestead, FL, USA

problem #59

Jun 112016

Fusion SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

My 2011 Ford Fusion is having a light on that says Power Steering Assist Faulty. It's happened about 6 times. I turn my car on and the warning beeps and the light reads Power Steering Assist Faulty. The wheel is completely locked until I turn it off and restart the car again. It then clears the warning light and I'm able to drive again.

I took it to Ford on June 17th, 2016. I was told that it's covered in a customer satisfaction recall up to 150,000 miles. My car is at 101,000 miles. It should be covered. Ford won't fix it because it's not pulling up a code. It's happened 6 times. One time I'm not going to be as lucky and I might be driving the car with my three children in the car. I don't care if it has a light or not. I had pictures with the warning light. I did another recall for the steering that had the little wrench light. My car was reprogrammed and I thought it was fixed.

I now have this problem. I believe they should fix this for me because eventually I will be driving and if I wreck because they wouldn't fix it they'll have a lawsuit. When they fixed the last recall for steering I was driving and the car started shaking and the I could hardly drive to turn around and go home. They tried to say that it could be my battery, but my battery is less than a year old and it was just checked with my oil change.

- , Oakley, CA, USA

problem #58

Jun 122016

Fusion

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

My 19 yr old son was driving home from work when the power steering it went out. Fortunately he was driving slow and only ended up in the neighbors front yard. Took it to the ford dealer and it has a recall on it it. They are replacing it.

- , Evansville, IN, USA

problem #57

Apr 112016

Fusion SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,983 miles

My 2011 ford fusion steering gear failed. The 2011 ford fusion is under a recall for this part however, Ford Motor company only provided the Recall for vehicles that were made after 7 September 2010 in their Mexico Plant. Mine however meets every single criteria except it was made in August of 2010. Imagine that FORD not being inclusive in their research and the consumer taking the hit for their FAILURE.

- , Oologah, OK, USA

problem #56

Oct 152015

Fusion SEL 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

I was driving back from a vendor show yesterday and my message center lit up. It advised to Service AdvanceTrac and Service Power Steering soon. Not long after the message center displayed Service Power Steering NOW, and not long after the power steering went completely out.

I started doing some research online to see what others were experiencing. A lot with the same stuff dating back to 2011. On the last page someone posted that there was a recall issued on May 27, 2015 by Ford for 2011-2012 Ford Fusions manufactured at the Hermasillo Plant in Mexico between the dates of 09/07/2011 to October 2012.

I went out and checked the sticker inside my door and it had a manufacture date of 12/2010, so I then decoded the VIN, just google Ford VIN Decode, and it will tell you what plant it was manufactured at. Just to be sure, I checked the NHSTA website and entered my VIN to check for recalls, and sure enough it popped up. I know for the recall dates, the 09-07-2015 was definitely the start date, I'm not completely sure about the 10/12, but if its not, its close. Hope this helps out a few of y'all.

- , Lexington, KY, USA

problem #55

Oct 102015

Fusion LS 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,458 miles

On 10/10/15, while driving 30 miles per hour, my SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW and SERVICE ADV TRAC lights both came on. It became difficult to turn into a parking lot, while I surveyed the issue. Once realizing, that the power steering is electric, I drove the car home.....using all the power I could to utilize the steering wheel.

Since it happened on a Saturday, i just parked the car until the next business day and called the dealership to get advice as to what the issue could be. After being advising they had never heard of such an issue and advising that it would cost a few hundred dollars for a diagnostic, I had it towed to my to my personal mechanic.

After paying for tow and diagnostic - close to $300. I was advised to get brand new tires and that might correct the issue. The tires were in need of replacement, however I am not stupid enough to believe that tires caused my power steering to go completely out! The mechanic advised that since the power steering had sensor that were directly affected by the tires......the tires should be replaced first before anything else can be diagnosed.

After speaking with a couple of male friends and explaining the situation to them, it was suggested that I do some research of my own. Looking at the Ford website and placing my VIN number to check for recalls. I found out that Reprogram Power Steering Control Module is the recall list. This prompted me to call the dealership back to advise what I found to be told that only certain codes would apply and if my mechanic didn't provide that information, I would need to have them run a new diagnostic and would be responsible for the cost of the new diagnostic. Well, lucky I did obtain the code from my mechanic and a couple of the codes provided were listed with Ford.

Now to have the vehicle transported to the dealership for the repair.

- , Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #54

Nov 302015

Fusion SE 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

POWER STEERING WENT OUT THERE WAS A RECALL ON STEERING GEAR AND SENSOR BUT THIS VEHICLE WAS 2 WEEKS OUT ON RECALL. ALTHOUGH THE SAME PARTS WERE REPLACED AS RECALL WE WERE NOT INCLUDED ON RECALL. THIS WAS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AS WE LOST ALL POWER STEERING. FORD REFUSED TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM THE PARTS WERE MADE IN THE SAME FACTORY AND WE HAD TO SPEND 1700.00 ON REPAIRS THIS COULD HAVE KILLED US OR SOMEBODY ELSE

- , Greenwood, IN, US

problem #53

Nov 062015

Fusion SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

2011 Ford Fusion...all was well then BAM all sorts of lights and dingers going off telling me to service Power Steering and Traction. After reading other complaints, I am concerned! I made an appointment for service, but it will not take place for a few days. In the mean time, I am scared to death to drive the POS.

- , Auburn, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?