Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Has the power steering started to show signs of failure in the 2014? Yeah, a little. Am I confident it will become a bigger problem over time? Yeah, a lot.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,672 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jan 142017

Fusion

  • 31,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"new rack and pinion system ordered for vehicle. Scheduled maintenance to install new Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion is set to take place at river town Ford columbus, ga on the date of 21 Jan 2017. Current health report was done 10 Jan. 2017. Customer was informed on 7 Jan. 2017 that the car is still safe to drive after the dealer's diagnoses. After a week and after the customer scheduled appointment date, 7 Jan 2017, for initial diagnoses more failures occurred; on the date of 14 Jan 2017, driving with the faulty Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion still installed has caused further malfunction of the traction control, it fails to turn on, and the forward collision warning system has also failed. The customer fears that the malfunctioning of the traction control system will be used to place fault on the customer for the failure of the 2014 Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion even though the car is still under warranty at 31991 miles. Safety features traction control and collision warning system failure indicates the Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion maybe faulty after 30,000 plus miles; this is a road safety issue and the failure of the Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion places the vehicle out of compliance with 571.126 standard no. 126; electronic stability control systems for light vehicles ("NHTSA 33-12" standards (https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/fr-2015-06-23/pdf/2015-14127.pdf) ). suggest recall or further testing of malfunctioning Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion, part handles steering and control over the vehicle by operating occupant of the vehicle." "customer reports traction control and collision warning system failed on the 14 Jan 2017 while driving on hwy 280 at 70mph. The customer also stated during the time of failure the steering felt awkward and kept locking while turning the steering wheel."

- Smith Station, AL, USA

problem #38

Jan 062017

Fusion

  • 31,200 miles
"suspension knock while turning the wheel; the wheels sticks during sharp turn ins to the left and right while in motion." "the knock is also happening while the car is stationary turning the wheels to either side left or right; the wheels stick." "at highway speeds the sound can not be heard but the car does handle oddly as a result from the suspension issues." "at low speeds the sound can be heard when truing the wheel all the way to the left and right, the wheels will stick during this process." "also, the steering is loose and has some play; stability control may need to be inspected due to the odd driving habits at low to highway speeds. This all took place today 6 Jan 2017, due to the customers fear the vehicle was unsafe, it was inspected by a near by mechanic "tire engineers" the car is at 31,200+ miles and having mechanical issues with the suspension. "this is one of many times the car has had a "front end suspension issue"; attempts to fix the vehicle at a dealer (opelika Ford) have ended in failure to provide warranty parts to replace faulty parts in the past. Since opelika Ford did not inspect the vehicle, 2014 Ford Fusion AWD sedan, on 6 Jan 2017 an appoint was made for 11 Jan 2017 to inspect the vehicle at that dealer, no walk-ins allowed; unclear if the car was safe the customer drove the vehicle to another dealer in columbus, ga. Another appointment was set for Saturday 7 Jan 2017 to diagnoses suspension issues. There is a 36,000 miles manufacture warranty. This issue has been on going with no resolution but a back and forth between the dealer (opelika Ford) and customer's home, placing 40 miles to drive to the dealer and from dealer's location, as a result the mechanical issues have worsen." "the drive is placing the car out of manufacturers warranty soon." "part cost assessment is $2226.37 to replace if out of warranty."

- Smith Station, AL, USA

problem #37

Dec 082016

Fusion

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 5 mph, the steering failed. The steering assist and stabilizer warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer programming needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000. The VIN was not available.

- Indianola, IA, USA

problem #36

Jun 062016

Fusion

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Ford Fusion. While attempting to shift the gear shifter to the desired gear, the vehicle jerked. The contact also mentioned that the steering wheel was very loose. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the details of the diagnosis could not be provided. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering wheel column needed to be replaced. The diagnosis for the transmission had not yet been determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Marion, AL, USA

problem #35

Nov 302016

Fusion

  • 81,000 miles
Steering bolts have loosened, resulting in some loss of control of vehicle. Vehicle was traveling straight on a level highway when this occurred. This is a persistent state.

- Youngsville, NC, USA

problem #34

Nov 232016

Fusion

  • 57,000 miles
Was driving at low speed on the highway when "steering assist failure pull over safely" light came on and power steering went out. The vehicle only has 57,000 miles and we took it to Ford for repair and they will have to replace the electric rack assembly due to a short in the gear box...

- Floresville, TX, USA

problem #33

Nov 132016

Fusion

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on bolts holding the steering assembly together, and the power steering completely went in my 2 year old vehicle. The dealership and Ford overall say that because the bolts were fine they aren't responsible for my power steering needing to be completely replaced. They can't tell me how the steering would go in a 2 year old vehicle that is driven to work and the grocery store, not off-roading or racing. The vehicle was stationary, and was started and immediately noticed the power steering failed.

- Bangor, ME, USA

problem #32

Nov 092016

Fusion

  • 119,000 miles
I have experienced a loss of steering power while going on the highway. After pulling over the car light flashing saying "service advancetrac, and steering loss stop safely" I will be taking it to a repair shop but it is a safety issue. I have looked online and have found many problems with similar issues. No recall found?

- Oakley, UT, USA

problem #31

Oct 192016

Fusion

  • 79,871 miles
Power steering stopped functioning over night. Skid control and traction control lamps were on and dash said power steering need service. Service quote attached. It is a commuter car. No offroading. Service advisor claims that dirt might have caused the problem.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #30

Sep 232016

Fusion

  • 34,000 miles
While driving on the highway my 2014 Fusion cut off. A warning indicator popped up that said "transmission not in park". we had to coast off to the shoulder, fortunately there were no cars in the lane we had to cross to get to the shoulder. Later today (the same day) it happened a second time. The car loses all power. We were driving past the dealership we use, so we left the car with them to be fixed and have the oil changed. We will be waiting for the outcome the first of the week, but felt it necessary to report this since others have had the same issue.

- Chester, MD, USA

problem #29

Aug 062016

Fusion

  • 4,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering abruptly stopped working.

- Audubon, PA, USA

problem #28

Jul 142016

Fusion

  • 54,000 miles
When my son was driving the vehicle the steering assist indicator light came on without notice at which time he was unable to easily steer the car. He managed to get the car into a nearby parking lot where we had the car towed to a Ford dealership service center. The dealer indicated that the steer gear failed and would need to be replaced. Even though there a regional customer satisfaction no 15R01, for the replacement of this gear, my repairs would not be covered under this program because the gear didn't fail as a result of fault bolts. I contacted Ford Motor Company and and experienced great customer service in dealing with the problem, at which time I was transfered to tj brewer (thomas), the general manager for the West market. I never spoke with tj as someone named mark answered and indicated that he would be happy to get things started for me and pass it along to tj. Mark was rude and belittling. He acted like I was trying to get a free handout and told me that my request for repair for the known steer gear failure has been denied. I asked to speak with tj and mark said that he had all of the authority to approve or deny my request and that no effort of my own would over-ride his decision. I asked him if there was any manager that I could speak with and he told me that they were all busy and he would have them call me back. I have not heard from mark, tj or his manager yet. I followed up with a call into Ford Motor Company again, where I my situation was handled expertly again but told that tj would be the last authority and have the final say on whether Ford was going to do the right thing or not.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #27

Jul 132016

Fusion

  • 80,940 miles
Vehicle stationary, engine idling when "power steering assist" failure message appears, with subsequent loss of power steering. This has happened twice within 3 day, separate occasions, after driving on interstate for approx. 1 hr, same setting. Ford dealership was informed about it on the first occasion during a scheduled 80,000 mile maintenance, however they stated vehicle was ok, and ready to drive. Mileage at the time of first incident was approx. 80,947. Arrival mileage at Ford dealership was 81,043. On 7/13/16

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #26

Jul 052016

Fusion

  • 56,000 miles
Several times my power steering has shut off on me while driving almost getting me into an accident twice luckily this had yet to happen while driving on the highway as that could be fatal

- Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jun 152016

Fusion

  • 34,500 miles
Steering wheel came lose. Dicoved during driving. Dealer removed airbag and applied lock-tite to but in steering colum and re-tourqed.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #24

Mar 012016

Fusion

  • 90,000 miles
Sudden power steering loss without any warning while driving in a straight line on a highway. Only warning was a message saying power steering failure please stop safely. Lost all ability to maneuver the car safely or safely transition out of traffic. Needed excessive strength to enable the car to turn and safely exit roadway.

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #23

Feb 292016

Fusion

  • 44,300 miles
I keep getting a series of warning indicators; up hill assist is not available, service advance trak, no power steering, no traction control, no ABS, and the no air bag lights come on. This comes on while driving at normal, low speed on regular roads, when turning and also at higher speeds when driving on expressways. This is dangerous especially because my power steering does not work! there needs to be a recall!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #22

Dec 292015

Fusion

  • 36,120 miles
I started the car and had to warning lights come on. One warning for steering assist fault, and the other for service advancetrac. I read online that Ford is recalling cars same year and model for the same issues. But no recall for mine - why??

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #21

Dec 132015

Fusion

  • 14,900 miles
I started to experience harsh gear shift on December 13, 2015 every time I put the car in reverse. Also, when I reached 20mph and 40mph I felt the harsh gear shift and the car would jerk forward. I took my car to the dealership on December 14, 2015 and they said the mount for the transmission was broken. The technician wasn't there to check out the car in order to determine if it was mechanical or not, but they did the work on the car anyway and on December 16, 2015, the dealer called to say the car was ready. It was very obvious they did not test drive the car after supposedly repairing the mount because my car was doing the same thing, except worse. When I took it back the next day, the technician was there and said it is a mechanical problem. I asked for a loan since they said a part had to be ordered and they would need to keep my car for a few days and I was told I couldn't get a loaner. Instead, the dealer said my car was drivable and did deliver good customer service. It felt as though he was trying to take advantage and not take care of the customer. Then he proceeded to tell me there might be a further problem, but could not tell me what it was. I am extremely dissatisfied with Ford. I had the car since March 2014 and shouldn't be experiencing a transmission problem less than 2 years later. There was also a recall on the steering bolts and I didn't receive notification of the recall.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #20

Oct 042015

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
My son and his friend were driving his 2014 Fusion on a two lane road that makes a 90 degree turn to the right when his power steering went out. As he came to the turn he was unable to turn the wheel and the vehicle went straight and left the roadway. The vehicle struck a small tree and sustained minor damage to the driver's side front fender and the under carriage of the vehicle. An accident report was made. We were able to drive the car home without any power steering and I took it to the dealership the next day. The dealership informed me that there was no recall for the power steering assist and that the could put the vehicle on a computer to determine the problem. However, it would cost me $135 per hour for the diagnosis and it could take 2-6 hours. I was also told that if the power steering assist module needed replaced it would cost approximately $2,000. The vehicle has 50,000 miles on it at this time. I drove the car back home and contacted Ford customer service and customer relations. It has been past the 15 working day period for a representative to contact me and I have still hear nothing from Ford. Today I had the vehicle towed to a repair shop.

- Lowell, IN, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?