Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,047 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Aug 042016


  • 180,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. when inserting the key into the ignition switch, the key fob failed to start the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #35

Jul 152013


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while the vehicle was parked, the rear passenger door and tailgate door locks would not engage and the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- St Pete Beach, FL, USA

problem #34

Dec 282015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Passenger window got stuck about a week ago and delayed in rolling back up. Once it rolled up I set the window lock button so it wouldn't accidentally happen again while having wet weather. Yesterday, 1st sunny day, had rolled driver and front passenger windows down. Parked and rolled up windows. When got back into car 10 minutes later, noticed bad smell and yellow smoke coming from main window control panel on door before even turning the ignition on. Had to pull the fuse for the windows to stop it from smoking. This is the second time this has happened since I bought it off the lot. Replaced part on May 21, 2011 and paid out of pocket. Again Honda is asking me to pay for inspecting and replacing of this problem. I should not have to pay for this! I return tomorrow night to pick up my car.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #33

Apr 022012


  • 60,000 miles


For the last 3 years we have had three (3) main issues with this vehicle, 1) air bag SRS light has been on, 2) the front passenger window will not roll down and 3) the air conditioning system has not operated. From the begining I have checked on recalls/ campaigns for these items and the only recall we received for this vehicle VIN # was the air bag recall (btw we took it in for the recal and the SRS light is still on). When you look on Honda's website to check for recalls no other issues come up with my VIN#, yet if you look the vehicle up by the model and year, a whole list of "campaigns" come up under this vehicle. My vehcile has had the same problems as the said make and models for years. I filed a complaint with Honda America (case # 04205532) this morning and spoke with "serinity" of the product concern section of Honda America and basiclly she is telling me because my particilar vehcile was manufactured in Japan (VIN # starting with a "J") that no recalls apply to me. But yet I am having the same issues with my vehicle of the same model and year. Honda basically has stated that they cannot offer any help on this matter. Please note, there are other safety "campaigns" that I never got notices, such as wiring harnessess. I took my vehicle into a non-dealer mechanic for air-conditioning services and they stated to me 2 + years ago that this vehicle is known to have a major defect in the ac clutch on the ac pump was designed too close to the engine and thus heats up and shatters into many pieces and flows though the whole ac system thus requiring that the whole ac system is required to be replaced (Honda service bulletin # 12-072). Honda has issued a campaign increasing the ac system warranty to 10 years/ 100,000 miles, but again this does not apply to my vehicle, yet I have the same exact issues on my vehicle. Please help on this matter.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 132015


  • 114,000 miles
Drivers side automatic lock failure lock will not work remotely or by manual key on going problem for the last 1-2 years sometimes intermittent, now not working at all as of above date (approx.)

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #31

Jun 222005


  • 45,000 miles
Affected parts section will not let me list parts or choose from drop down. Tripometer quit working at 45,000 / on pch 1 from monterey to san deigo, ca at dusk, head ligths went out 2005. Did not learn of recall til SRS light came on in 2012 and switch wire was replaced. Also learned of airbag issue at this time, serial ck'd, was told did not fall within recall # maintenance light came on 3 dys later and has remained on / from the 1st year I owned it, batteries were replaced every 11 to 16 mos. From 2004 untill headlite issue solved. / at 51,882 mi condenser and compressor went out, at 63,985 ac out again this time comdenser out and compressor locked up leaving me stranded on a mtn road yards from a blind curve, ac out again at 84,948 for the 3rd time forcing me to drive in 90 to 102 temp from hampstead, nc for 14 hrs to lumberton, ms, leaving myself and my dog suffering from heat exhaustion / winter 2012, prior to last ac issues, problems with driver and passenger windows raising. Had to use power button and have manual assistance on windows to get up. In spring, I accidentally put window down, however it raised without assistance. / I did not receive a recall on any issues with this Honda until the end of mach 2015. The car was purchased in April 2004 and I noticed the first airbag recall being June 2004. / other issues: Vent swiveral broke off, hood release lever broke off, mileage lite out, in cabin air lite stays on, glove box lite stays on./ this vechicle has almost got me killed on two occasions-1) when the lites went off on pch 1 at dusk, had it been dark and there was no pull over I could have ended up in the pacific ocean. 2) when the condenser went out and the compressor locked up on a mtn road in mt I was yards from a blind curve with no shoulder or way to move car for 2 1/2 hrs waiting for tow truck in hail storm. One on coming car was force off road.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #30

Mar 272015


  • 68,371 miles


Summary: While driving, the master power window switch overheated and began to emit a strong burning odor. Afterwards the left rear window failed to operate. Since I initially did not know where the odor was coming from, I went to the dealer the next day to see if they could find the source of the odor but they couldn't. after sniffing around, I found the source of odor, the master power window switch. I had the dealer remove the fuse for safety reasons. The dealer said the window regulator had failed but I suspect the failed switch burnt out the window motor. I was worry that the car would catch on fire.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 162015


  • miles
I have gone through 3 separate right low beam headlights in the past three years, got the recall notice for a short in the headlight system, had it fixed, and yet the right headlight keeps going out, even though the bulb is not burned out. Dealer has no idea what is wrong, and believes it to be a fuse issue. This car is absolutely falling apart.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #28

Sep 152014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V486000 (electrical system, visibility) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bonita Sping, FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 122015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V486000 (electrical system, visibility) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available. The dealer was contacted. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bonitaspring, FL, USA

problem #26

Aug 112014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles


While driving on the freeway, I bumped my keys lightly with my right knee causing the car to suddenly switch off, and making steering difficult. I was able to coast off the freeway to a stop at an exit, and restart my car. It appears that the car switches off with even the slightest bump to the keys in the ignition. The problem appears to be similar to the current GM recall.

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #25

Jun 102014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 154,000 miles
Door actuators do not always work making it difficult to get in and out of the car quickly.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #24

Jul 152007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Vehicle headlights low beam start failing on drivers side. Burning out often - while other side headlight remained stable. Replace headlights (both sides) many times after that - only to have the drivers side fail after about a year and a half. Drivers side headlight would also change to very dim while other side remained bright. Probably similar to a flashlight, - needing batteries. Would always flick bright lights on for a while, or tug on headlight wire in engine compartment and light would change to normal bright color after this. When car was turned off, - the whole situation would repeat itself next time car started up and ran at night with lights on. Noticed radio display panel would go out also, -- black out, only to come back on later. That would be the clock and station radio lcd panel display. Had car problem fixed several times throughout the years, at least twice at private mechanics, twice at Honda dealership, - plus recalled at Honda dealership in 2012 for headlight wiring failure and problems, plus back in the dealership one month later in 2012 for same problem, plus back in dealership 6/9, 6/10, 6/11 2014 with same problem. After spending several thousand dollars over the years for various fixes, this time (2014) dealership once again has finally found the problem - wiring harness attached to engine firewall compartment bad. Melting, corrosive, and wires with insulation missing in harness, - but another 1850 dollars would cover a new wire harness plus installation. Paid 91 dollar diagnostic fee, picked up car and left. Researched problem on internet and found many Honda CRV's from around those years with same problems. Reported situation to Honda and opened a case number with them. The latest case number being N012014-06-1100779, assigned 6/11/14 by Honda.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #23

Jun 022014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Submission from constituent re 2004 Honda CR-V reimbursements. The consumer stated before he turned the vehicle on, there was a burning odor, emitting from the vehicle. He took the vehicle to the dealer, where the technician found the power window switch circuit board contacts were burnt. American Honda was contacted, and they stated the VIN was not included under recall 12V486000.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 182013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 106,917 miles
Update to July/2013 complaint regarding SRS light coming on permanently. 9/11/13 SRS light came on permanently again. Dtc 15-2 code. The Honda dealer replaced the SRS control unit on 10/1/13. Mileage 114,126. I have the old SRS control unit in my possession. 10/21/13 SRS light come on permanently again. 11/4/13 Honda dealer reset the SRS light. Dtc codes were different than the dtc 15-2. mileage 114,925. No charge by dealer. 11/24/13 SRS light came on permanently again. Honda dealer diagnosed problem as a short in one of the wiring harnesses triggering the dtc 15-2 code. Dealer reset the SRS light. No charge for 4 hours of work. Dealer would not give me any paperwork on service visit. Mileage approximately 115,437 at time of visit. The dealer tech suggested I clear the code with a code reader until it would no longer clear rather than blindly replacing at this time the 4 wiring harnesses to locate the short. The consumer also stated the head lights burned out prematurely, and he had to replace them several times. Updated 01/29/14

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #21

Aug 152013


  • 78,000 miles
Not an accident. Just concerned that the same part had to be replaced in July 2011 and again in August 2013, and am concerned that this may be a safety issue, as the driver's window becomes inoperable.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #20

Jun 302010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was driving slowly in the summer when I smelled a burning smell of smoke in my vehicle. Within 5 minutes my air conditioner began to blow hot air. I took my vehicle to a reputable mechanic for inspection. They showed me with the vehicle in the air that there was a hole in the condensing unit of my vehicle. When I asked what could have caused it, they stated that the hole was blown in the unit from the inside out. I took my vehicle to a Honda dealership for inspection after that. The mechanics there said that I must have run into a piece of metal. Then, off the record, they stated that many other owners had their ac's go out in the same way and that Honda would probably be recalling them. I researched it a little at the time and got no-where with Honda. Honda stated since my vehicle was out of warranty, they would do nothing. At the time I gave up...however, with additional replacements that I have had to make that are un-characteristic and untimely for a Honda, and with additional inspections by both Honda and non-mechanics...I was told that my entire engine assembly was put in sideways by design and that design causes multiple issues with multiple components. I actually had one reputable garage refuse to continue to work on my car because it was so poorly designed and difficult to work on. Sadly, I will never buy a Honda again. And I have had 5 Honda's prior to this one, bought this one new, and would have been happy enough had Honda owned up to the problems.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #19

Oct 012011


  • 70,000 miles
The air conditioner dash board of my 2004 Honda CRV stopped working one day, with no signs of problems before, the air was on and tried to turn it off and controls didn't work couldn't lower the level of air either, tried to moved the switch back and forward until finally stopped, but the problem continue for months until the point of not been able to turn it off; I have to turn off the engine so my A/C will turn off. Engine light turned on one day and went off in a day or two then happened again like a month later turned on and then off in a couple of days, the problem continued for about 6 months was hard to get diagnose since by the time I was able to take it to check light got off, it got to a point when engine light permanantly stayed on- I took my car to get that checked and gave a very generic code that not specifying the problem.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #18

Jul 102012


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that she received notification of a manufacturer's recall that was related to a defective air conditioning compressor. The contact stated that she waited two months to take the vehicle to the dealer for repairs however, they refused to perform the repairs and stated that the statute of limitations had already been surpassed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 01/10/13

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #17

Sep 012012


  • miles
Master power window switch on driver's door started to burn and I could see smoke coming out of the switch. The result was a melted switch. I have a Japan made 2004 Honda CR-V with VIN # starting with jhlrdxxxxxxxxxxxx. By looking at the statement from american Honda, my VIN is not affected by the recall regarding the potential of fire at the master power window switch. What can I do? this is what happened to my car but it's not included by the recall.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?