Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Sep 222014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #18

Aug 192014


  • 140,000 miles
The car repaired with the Honda dealer as per the recall notice for the "2002-2006 CR-V driver's power window master switch" today when it was parked in the covered parking garage of the macy's corporate place, it got fire after 1 hour it was parked. The driver side switch controls was completed melted and caught fire police and fire dept came and put the fire out the car was towed to classic collision 3507 old norcross road, duluth 30096 and they judged as total loss Honda's replaced master switch is no help - it caused the fire and have photos to back it up.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #17

Aug 012006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
My low beam headlight bulbs need replacement at least 3 times per year, sometimes more. Even when replaced with new bulbs, sometimes the brightness of the light varies randomly. The last time I had the bulb replaced the technician said that the new bulb wouldn't even stay lit when he replaced it. There are other model years for this car which have been recalled for this low beam bulb issue. It is time for Honda to recall this model year and fix this problem. I don't feel safe driving my car at night anymore. This is a safety issue!! also, just within the past couple of years, my SRS light is randomly staying lit for no apparent reason. I am the original owner of this car and know that there have been no accidents that would have created these issues.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #16

Jun 162014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


SRS light stays on intermittently. The SUV has never been in an accident. I don't know if the airbags will deploy in a accident.

- Folsom , CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 202013


  • 112,000 miles
I was driving down the road at 45 mph when all of a sudden both my side air bags deployed. There was no collision or impact to the car. I almost drove off the road because I was so startled by this occurring. I contacted the Honda dealership and they refused to do anything. I then contacted american Honda and they refuse to do anything but give me an inspection of the vehicle. They want me to drive the car to the dealership. I contacted my insurance company and they came to look at the car. They found no reason why the airbags deployed and told me it was a manufacturers defect. I contacted american Honda with this finding and they still refused to provide me with a tow to the dealership claiming they weren't liable for the defect. The insurance adjuster advised me not to drive the car because there may be problems with the front airbags, I am six months pregnant and am not going to risk my life or my child's life because of Honda inability to fix a problem with an airbag. I could have been seriously injured or killed because these airbags are defective. This is a very dangerous situation. How can airbags deploy with no warning or reason.

- Sussex, NJ, USA

problem #14

Sep 252010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 280,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CRV. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, he fell asleep behind the wheel and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The front driver's side air bag deployed and caused the contact to sustain injuries to the left arm and face. In addition, the contact suffered hearing loss in both ears. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileage was 280,000.... updated 02/27/13 updated 03/04/13

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #13

Sep 182012


  • 89,000 miles


Driver airbags signal comes on and off.

- Brawley, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 272012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 88,109 miles
On start up, air bag light stayed on. Brown Honda of charlottesville, va, diagnosed it as a bad air bag SRS unit (code 53-93), a bad left side impact sensor (1st)-code 43-11, and a probable lf harness problem. The problem has not been resolved as yet.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 302011


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CRV. The contact was traveling 65 mph, heard a noise coming from the transmission and the vehicle started to rapidly slow down. When the failure occurred the vehicle started to veer drastically to the left causing the contact crash into the median wall and the vehicle to spin around three times. The passenger side air bag deployed, but not the drivers side. The vehicle was towed to the insurance companies inspection station where it was ruled destroyed and they were unable to determine the cause of failure. The failure and current mileage was 115,000.

- Ciprus, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 082011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
On Jan 8th 2011 I was involved in a wreck involving my 2005 Honda CRV LX model equipped with driver and passenger side air bags. It was a frontal impact at 35 TO40 mph causing major damage to the front of the car which was totaled. The seat belts did their expected job but caused bruising to my wife's chest, stomach area and sternum (possible fracture). My complaint was the air bags did not deploy on either the drivers side nor the passengers side. I believe if this would have deployed my wife would not have suffered these type of injuries or would have lessened them. I called the local Honda dealer to discuss this and he gave me some off the wall reason why they did not deploy even at a 35 to 40 mph front collision! the sensors on the front bumper area, radiator, engine and frame were damaged to the point they seemed to be moved back towards the passenger cab. These air bags should have deployed on impact but did not. I cannot find any customer help line for Honda to report this. I feel that this should be investigated to see if this is a problem for this type of vehicle.

- Corrigan, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 132009


  • 77,989 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. upon starting the vehicle she noticed a red light illuminating on the dashboard. While having the vehicle serviced for routine maintenance by an independent mechanic she was informed that the seat belt sensor failed and the air bags would not deploy in the event of a crash. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 77,989 and the current mileage was 102,000.

- Limestone, TN, USA

problem #8

Jan 152008


  • 17,300 miles
The SRS (safety restraint system) warning light came on in my 2005 Honda CRV with less than 18,000 miles on it. The light will not go out. The car has never been in an accident. The Honda dealer has performed diagnostic tests that indicate that nothing is wrong and the air bags should deploy and seat belts should work in an accident. Who do I believe -- the warning light or the diagnostic tests. I don't like driving a car that has a warning light indicating something is wrong with a safety system.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 152008

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the SRS light began flashing. The contact called the dealer twice and was informed that it was not a serious issue and should not worry. She did not realize at the time that the vehicle was at the end of warranty. When the SRS light illuminated again and remained lit, the contact called the dealer a third time and was informed that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. NHTSA campaign id number 04V526000 (air bags:side/window) was referenced. The current mileage was 22,749 and failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 06/02/08 the consumer stated the dealership acknowledges speaking with them in reference to the SRS system popping on at times in January and paying to diagnose vehicle at dealership. Updated 06/02/08

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #6

Nov 142007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. while driving 50 mph, the contact struck a deer. The air bags failed to deploy. The front end of the vehicle was damaged. The insurance company stated that the vehicle was not destroyed. A police report was filed. As of November 16, 2007, the insurance company had not repaired the vehicle. The contact's head struck the drivers door window, which caused bruises to her stomach, head, and cheekbone. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 23,500. Updated 01-11-08. The consumers body struck the steering wheel. Updated 12/12/07

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #5

Feb 062006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Air bag sensor under right front seat not working properly. This was found when the dealership insisted I call in my insurance company to look at dampness in the car. I haven't had any resolution to the dampness/mold/mildew issue and no one has addressed the air bag sensor, other than a verbal notification from my insurance company. I've followed what the dealership has suggested in regards to the dampness/mold/mildew - removed the mats (right front was wet underneath with mold), keep the A/C on exterior circulation when the car is closed up & had the car detailed...none of which has solved the problem. They want me to guarantee payment of over $4000 to have the carpet removed, car 'dried' out & carpet replaced.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #4

Apr 252006

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,007 miles
Driving along a 4 lane road at 25-30 mph when suddenly car accelerated out of control. Though I stomped on brakes, my car smashed into the car in front of me. The air bags did not deploy and I received severe whiplash. The car sustained more than $12,000 damage. Honda refuses to admit the car had a problem.

- Amesbury, MA, USA

problem #3

Nov 152005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
A restrained 54 year old male, was involved in an offset frontal collision while driving his 2005 Honda CR-V. a 1995 Dodge neon crossed the center line of a 2-lane road and collided with his vehicle. The driver of the neon was treated and released from the hospital on the same day with some facial injuries. The driver of the Honda died at the scene and was revived by emt personnel. He now has quadriplegic. The driver's side front, side bolster and side curtain airbags in the CR-V did deploy. His injury was to C4 and C5. This driver had no prior neck injury. The change in velocity seen by this vehicle is believed to have been less than 30 miles per hour.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #2

Feb 132005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Airbags deployed both front and side while driving through a mall parking lot. The obstruction of view caused the vehicle to run into a light pole. The driver sustained a broken arm, fractured cheek, dislocated nose and jaw, and 8 stitches in her lip.

- Clive, IA, USA

problem #1

Aug 102005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,975 miles
With only 6900 miles on our 2005 CRV one of the Bridgestone dueler H/T 684 front tires blew while my wife was driving at approximately 10 mph in her employers parking lot. The tire pressure had just been checked two days before the blowout. The air bags did not deploy. My wife sustained a broken neck, concussion, head trauma and a facial laceration which required a plastic surgeon.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?