Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,362 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda CR-V lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Apr 222008

CR-V

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Beginning in 2008 I began noticing that I was changing my headlamp bulbs on a fairly frequent basis. As much as 3 or 4 times a year. Mostly on the drivers side. Recently the low beam went out again, April 2013, and when I replaced the bulb the low and high beams both shined very dimly and when I switched on the high beams both lamps went out. I am at a loss but suspect that there is a switch problem. Honda also recently recalled my vehicle for a faulty master window switch.

- Jackson Heights, NY, USA

problem #46

May 012007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
This vehicle blows out headlights constantly. We replace nearly every couple of weeks; this vehicle, and its twin, our 2005 CRV. We have repeatedly notified Honda of the problem, they deny a problem. I can't believe headlights only work for a few thousand miles each. We even have searched amazon, ebay to see if they sell them in hundred packs, its that ridiculous. We were heading to the store to buy a headlamp once--10 minute trip, tops, and the other blew out on the way, leaving us driving illegally with the high beams. This is a very expensive, and dangerous, irritation with these cars. No one should have to keep several bulbs on hand as a condition of owning a car.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #45

Feb 122013

CR-V

  • miles
My wife and I have owned our Honda CRV since early 2006. It has had numerous electrical issues, specifically issues with the headlights and interior lights. We have had to replace the headlight bulbs at least once a year since purchasing the CRV. It is clearly a major defect with the Honda CRV electrical system. I have seen numerous complaints on the internet by others with this same issue. Honda is responsible and needs to recall the CRV and fix the issue. I will never purchase another Honda again.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #44

Feb 122012

CR-V

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ambler pa, passenger side low beam headlights have blown out three times in 11 months. Feb 2012, January 2013 and last night 02/02/13 during a snow storm. Driver side has blown out once in the past year. This situation is very dangerous. Considering the number of similar complaints with the 2006 Honda CR-V, a recall is probably an appropriate action.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #43

Dec 152009

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I have replaced numerous low beam bulbs on our 2006 Honda CR-V. I replaced the left one this past week end. The bulb I removed tested fine, but I put a new bulb in anyway but still had no low beam! then after checking fuses which were ok, it worked. Now it is out again. I checked to make sure everything had tight connections. The low beam is still not working even with the new bulb. This has happened on both the left and right sides. I had the right side go out a month ago and replaced that bulb. This a continuing problem. I decided to do some research and discovered I am not the only Honda CR-V owner with headlight low beam problems. I read where a recall is coming for model years 2002-2004. I am one of many Honda CR-V owners who believe the recall should extend through the 2006 model year. I have owned vehicles for over 50 years and can't recall a vehicle that has gone through so many bulbs. We purchased this vehicle from a Honda dealer with 33,000 miles on it in April of 2009. Please investigate this safety issue! thank you.

- Linneus, ME, USA

problem #42

Jan 012007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
The first recorded incident was at 82411 miles, when after replacing both headlamps multiple times at my own expense, I took the vehicle in to a third party service center (that I've used for years on multiple vehicles) to have the headlight circuitry evaluated (no problems found). As stated earlier, as of this time, I had already purchased several replacement bulbs. Since this time, I, again, have replaced both headlights multiple times at my own expense. Over all, I would say that in the (approx) 7 years of owning this CRV, I have replaced both headlights approx 6-7 times each. Having searched the internet several times over the years, I feel that having to replace these headlights as often as I have is unrealistic and evidence of a systemic problem, based on the number of similar complaints on the internet.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #41

Sep 102010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have experienced multiple headlight failures over the past 2 1/2 years, almost all on the driver's side. I have had it to the dealer multiple times and despite this, the headlights continues to burn out. Last time it was "fixed" it burned out the next day. Last fall, I had both lights burn out which is extremely dangerous. After an on-line search it is clear that this is a pervasive problem which has not been adequately addressed by either the dealer or the ntsb.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #40

Nov 122012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 78,455 miles
I had a brake light go out on the passenger side of the 2006 CR-V. I replaced the light bulb, but when you press the brake pedal, if the headlights are on, the break light will not work. I talked with numerous people on the internet and at the auto parts store who have had the exact same problem with the same model of vehicle as mine (CR-V). My Honda master mechanic believes that there should be a recall on this electrical problem because there are so many of these that he has seen and that have been seen by dealerships. Is there a reason why Honda has not recalled the 2006 Honda CR-V for this electrical problem? I bought 6 different lights, thinking that maybe I just bought a bad light or lights. I also switched the lights with the light that works on the opposite side (driver's side), but it won't work on the passenger side. If people are complaining about this on the internet and everywhere, but not filing a complaint on here, I figured that nothing would happen, so that is why I am sending this information in, in hopes that someone will look into the problem. Thank you very much.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #39

Jan 052009

CR-V

  • 25,000 miles
I decided to write this after searching the web for ideas on what's going on with my CRV, this seems to be a very common problem. The headlights keep burning out - it's getting annoying to always be replacing them. I cannot service my own vehicle and always seem to be into our mechanic getting a new bulb replaced for this vehicle. Now my daughter is driving the car and I hate having her come home at night and tell me the bulb has burnt out again (twice in a month as of this week already since December 2012). I'm sure that I've replaced over 12 since owning the vehicle new. Luckily they have never gone out at the same time which would be dangerous.

- Holmen, WI, USA

problem #38

Apr 302009

CR-V

  • 39,000 miles
Repeated burn out of headlight bulbs. Continuous replacement by owner and by shop. Both sides affected.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #37

Dec 272012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlight went out again. I have replaced headlights approximately every 3 months in the last 2 years. Appears to be an electrical issue, as reflected in recalls for earlier model CRV's. Honda needs to do recall for this for later model CRV's.

- Centreville , VA, USA

problem #36

Dec 012007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
While driving at highway speeds, the vehicle suffered a right hand low beam headlight failure. Since this first failure the bulb of this headlight has had to be replaced approximately 10 times, and continuously burns out again. The fuses remain good, the relays remain good. It appears there is a wiring harness problem affecting this year model as a google search reveals hundreds of owners of this vehicle experiencing a same or similar issue. Most reference a heat damaged wiring connector underneath the steering column.

- Nevada City, CA, USA

problem #35

Jan 072009

CR-V

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the passenger side low beam headlight continuously malfunctioned without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 90,000.

- Norwalk , CT, USA

problem #34

Nov 062012

CR-V

  • 130,000 miles
I was driving at about 25mph and both headlights suddenly went out. I had to use my high beams to get home.

- Robbinsville, NJ, USA

problem #33

Jan 282011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 86,461 miles
Starting in January of 2011 I have replaced the low-beam headlights numerous times. They are now going out every 4 months. It is getting quite expensive and Honda should take care of this problem for the 2006 CR-V owners.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #32

Sep 012011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My low-beam headlights have failed at least 4 times in the past year. At one point both headlights were out when I went to start the car in the evening. I've taken the car to a local vendor (not the dealer). Initially, they did some electrical work, stating there was a short in the system, but have since replaced the bulbs 4 times in the past year. Honda informs me that my VIN is not part of their headlight recall.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #31

Jan 132010

CR-V

  • 60,000 miles
I have had to replace both driver and passenger side headlights several times since 2010 and once again the passenger bulb went out today. Will have to take into repair shop to see if they can somehow figure it out.

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #30

Jul 072009

CR-V

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CRV. The contact stated that he had to replace the headlight bulbs eleven times within a very short span of time due to them constantly failing. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer where it was determined that the wiring harness to the headlights needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 23,000 and the current mileage was 66, 000.

- Wilburn, MA, USA

problem #29

Feb 282010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
2/28/10 driver's side low beam headlight failed. Bulb replaced. A few hours later (fortunately not at the same time) passenger side low beam headlight failed. Bulb replaced. (high beams O.K.) 12/2011 received police warning when passenger's side low beam headlight failed while driving (high beams okay). Both bulbs replaced. 6/2/12 driver's side low beam failure. Again, both bulbs replaced. 7/18/12 passenger's side low beam failed. I attempted to have both bulbs replaced. Passenger's side low beam was inoperative even with the new bulb. Technician checked the power supply with a volt meter. There was no ground on the passenger's side low beam. Driver's side low beam works (for now), and both high beams. My CR-V was manufactured in 2005. Perhaps it has the same defective terminals, lighting switches and harnesses as those used in the 2002-04 CR-V's recalled by Honda March 22, 2012? this makes night driving dangerous.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #28

Sep 152010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Excessive burnout of low beam headlights for past 2 years. Replacing bulbs on one side or the other every 3 or 4 months. Have been stopped on numerous occasions by police officers for burned out headlights. Contacted Honda service center who say they cannot fix without charging unless there is a recall. Recall was issued for earlier models and appears, based on websites indicating numerous complaints of similar nature, that the recall should be extended through 2008 models. Last week, both bulbs went out requiring me to drive with high beams after dark. We keep replacing the bulbs as we do not wish to incur the expense of having dealer repair when it appears to be a defect in the manufacturing. Have spoken to other CR-V owners having similar experience. My guess is that there are more CR-V owners with this problem but without the knowledge of how to report the issue. Now keeping an inventory of bulbs on hand.

- Moscow, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?