Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,915 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Apr 012016

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On a number occasions, I made a sudden sharp turn, & the engine stalled for a few seconds, this loss of power nearly caused me to either get hit in the rear, or being struck by an on coming vehicle. Dealers said they've heard this complaint a number of times, but thet don't have a solution as Honda has not put out a service bulletin. These CRV's seem to have this and vibration problems, but either Honda denies it, or has no solution. A car stalling when making a turn is dangerous.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #119

Apr 222016

CR-V

  • 5,600 miles
I purchased this 2015 Honda CR-V brand new. I have taken it to the dealer who stated they have heard of this problem but no bulletin has been formally issued yet. The problem consists of two things but both are engine related. When at a stop after about 5-10 seconds the engine gets a rough idle almost like you think at first it's going to die, but it doesn't it's just annoying. However, here is a real problem. When driving down the road, or after pulling out, changing lanes (really no set pattern) the engine (and acceleration) are gone. It's like you just are without go power. Finally it catches up but if you have this happen at the wrong time it could be bad. I have changed lanes and had plenty of space but if your CR-V happens to do this in the process the closing rate is major. The car behind you is on your bumper and fast because it's like you just stop accelerating. This has happened on normal streets, pulling away from stop sign and going down the interstate. Needless to say it's really bad if it happens at the wrong place and at the wrong time. I have contacted the dealer again. And, again I am told we do not show anything (bulletin/recall) on it to have a fix/repair in place. I believe Honda needs to recognize the issue and find a fix. Being the dealer has heard this complaint before at least I know I'm not alone. This is not a problem to be dismissed because a major wreck could be the outcome if it continues. As for when it's happened?? it's happened many times but so far I've been fortunate to not to get hit when my car just decides to go into this serious "sleep" mode. Note below I have checked the last date of the occurrence but not to be confused or taken as it's the only time it's occurred.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #118

Oct 122015

CR-V

  • 7,000 miles
Honda CR-V 2015 vibration. Last year I purchased a 2015 Honda CR-V and as with most other owners, it has a bad vibration issue while at a stop in drive mode with foot on the brakes. I also vibrates at low speeds between 40 -50 mph and around 70 mph. I has been in the shop 4 times but still vibrates while stopped in the drive mode (in gear with foot on brake). I have filed a complaint with Honda Corp and they said even with the 4 suggested repairs which has already been preformed on my car by the local Honda service center, this will not stop the vibration issue and that Honda has no other known fix to stop the vibration issue and that they will not replace the car. The local Honda service center verbally acknowledges the vibration issue but refused to put it on the service report that there is still a vibration issue. I see all the post from other owners with the same issue. This a distraction and I consider it a safety issue as one, time while I was setting at a red light, it started vibrating and while I was distracted by the seat and car vibrating, the truck behind me blew his loud horn and I almost ran the red light that had changed while I was distracted. I know there was a class action law suit but I do not know the status of it. They had to know about the problem prior to sending the 2015 Honda CR-V to the dealers, but nobody informed the buyers of this issue.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #117

Nov 122015

CR-V

  • 4,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My current and 2012 Honda CRV along with my granddaughters 2012 civic loses engine power while in a turn. It feels like the engine is failing for a brief moment. I have reported this to Honda but they didn't seem too concerned. I believe it could be a safety issue to me and other drivers. These events have been going on for many months.

- Pineville, NC, USA

problem #116

Dec 152015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a year 2015 Honda CRV on May 8, 2015. I have just one complaint (concern) and that is the engine vibration at idle speed (while sitting at a traffic light). It's an intermittent occurrence but there most of the time. I read about the recently filed class action law suit case no. 2:15-md-2661 dated January 19, 2016 and I want to go on record about my vehicle. Thank you

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #115

Apr 012015

CR-V

  • 500 miles
When at a stop and in idle the car vibrates as if there is not enough RPM's to keep it running properly. Also vibrates when driving slowly or at a lower RPM. Waiting for a recall as Honda has admitted that there is something wrong with the car due to the transmission and engine combination.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #114

Jan 102015

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving at both low and high speeds, the vehicle shook and vibrated abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than three times, but they were not able to provide a permanent remedy for the condition. The dealer test drove the vehicle and indicated that the failure was associated with the newly designed engine and transmission/power train. The contact stated that the condition continued to progress with no solution to repair the vehicle. The contact was nauseous frequently when the vehicle vibrated and shook. The manufacturer provided no permanent remedy. The failure mileage was not available.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #113

Feb 162016

CR-V

  • 6,400 miles
Engine loses power, gears dont shift in timely manner, wouldnt go in reverse, while car is in motion and in traffic.

- Hurdle Mills, NC, USA

problem #112

Dec 152015

CR-V

  • miles
We purchased a new Honda CRV 2015 December of 2015. The same week we took the car home, we noticed a very strong vibration at idle when the car is in gear, for example, when stopping at a red light. The vibration is so strong that it feels as if one is sitting in a 'massaging chair'. we (my wife and I) have gotten dizzy and nauseated from the vibration. We notified the dealership and american Honda immediately. Since then, the dealership attempted to repair the car 5 times and was unsuccessful. I then requested them to buy the car back and they denied it. They even said that they were not going to repair my car anymore for the same issue. The last time I took the car to the dealership was Saturday February, 13 2016. In the repair order, the dealership clearly states that the vibration was present after the repair.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #111

Nov 012015

CR-V

  • miles
Virbration. Steering pulls left.the car has serious vibration at idle, @600 RPM, 1200 RPM, 1800 RPM and 2200+ RPM. This vibration transmits through seat, steering column, floor and pedals. Back pain is induced within just a few miles of driving. Feet get pins and needles and go numb as well as hands and arms fatigue quickly. Driving is limited in range as a result. Dealer attempted 4 repairs including reprogramming, remounting radiator and modifying engine. Vibration was dampened in the seat only at lower rpms. Mpg decreased from 33 mpg to 28 mpg. Car pulls strongly to the left. Having one hand on the wheel (e.g. reaching for a.C.) is not sufficient to keep it in a straight line. This has caused many near misses on two lane roads and now I just don't adjust a.C. unless I have to (foggy window etc.) I take I95 and this causes problems on ramps. I was told this was all related to the cv transmission, and it takes getting used to, but I had Nissan with cv transmissions. For years. I have repair documentation but am unable to upload it at this time. Please contact me if you need them. I returned the car to the dealership immediately upon discovering the problem (within 48 hours of purchase) and they took no action or attempted repair until I had contacted them repeatedly.

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #110

Jan 212016

CR-V

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vibration and rattling while driving car. I find this very distracting and dangerous and it happens at different speeds.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #109

Jan 162016

CR-V

  • 300 miles
My wife and I purchased the 2015 CR-V ex-L AWD on January 5 2016 at staten island Honda. After only 11 days and 300 miles on vehicle as we were driving for a ski vacation I noticed a crackling noise when I would turn the steering wheel in either direction. I then noticed that none of the steering wheel controls worked or the radio. In addition to this my horn didnt work and my bluetooth would constantly say (htc is ok ) both my radio interface screens would always flash different maintenance malfunctions. My cellphone would also randomly connect and make calls. Then as I was driving to get gas off the NJ turnpike my horn started to go off non stop and I had to pull the horn fuse out from under the hood. I also noticed a very strong vibration when vehicle is idle and stopped at traffic lights on both driver and passenger side and now seems to be getting worse. Our vehicle was serviced from January 19-21 and the mechanic stated that they replaced the fuses and the cable reel and said the vibration was normal. I did some further research and there is a lawsuit against Honda in regards to the 2015 CR-V vibration issue. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and feel that I was sold a $30K lemon. I have owned Honda in the past with no issues but after this experience and Honda being aware of this issue and still sold these trucks the company has lost my trust. When going through my documents I noticed that I was missing alot of paperwork from my sales contract and I brought it to the attention of the sales representative. At first he said he gave us everything and then realized he didnt but didnt have access to the file room to give us the necessary documents. He stated he would get back to us and never did. So in all I would not recommend going to staten island Honda due to their incompetent sales staff and I hope Honda resolves all of these issues.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #108

Jan 072016

CR-V

  • miles
When car is on idle with drive gear, the car gets vibrate and it gets worse when air condition is turn on. After the repair of service bulletin 15-046, the issue is vibrating and it gets worse when turn ac on. The first service was on 1/7/16 with 136 milages and the second service was on 1/19/16 with 678 milages with no resolution. When I drive to work, the vibration and shaking cause my body get nauseated and headaches.

- Sachse, TX, USA

problem #107

Dec 112015

CR-V

  • 6,547 miles
Intermittent vibration while at idle or 2200 RPM while driving. Taken to dealership for resolution 3-4 times but the problem persists. Was advised by dealership where vehicle was bought to seek help from another dealership. Manufacturer software upgrade did not address the issue, we were even advised the software update decrease fuel efficiency by 20%. brand new car running like a worn-out vehicle. Honda says it is not a safety issue, firmly disagree, eventually consistent vibrations will cause parts to loosen. Do we have to wait for accidents to happen before Honda and the government to address this issue" when will consumer safety protection come first before profits and reputation" it is plain disgraceful...

- Marysville, WA, USA

problem #106

Jan 082016

CR-V

  • 2,200 miles
SUV would not start. Vehicle parked in parking lot. Outside temperature 27F. Battery checked ok. Dash board lights came on but engine would not start. Attempted 6-7 times. Dash board lights just flickered with no response from engine. Turned off ignition for 25-30 minutes and engine started with another attempt. Vehicle driven to local Honda dealership.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #105

Jan 062016

CR-V

  • 2,612 miles
Bought a Honda CRV-LX 2015 two months ago only to have a vibration problem after three weeks. Hondas fix was to put new head rest with shorter post and bushings under radiator, rear tail gate, transmission and engine so as to mask vibration problem. After doing this the steering became hard not like it was when we first got the vehicle, the steering goes from very easy to almost manual I consider this a safety problem. Unfortunately Honda of America will not acknowledge that it was a design flaw and the car should not be sold. It vibrated at a stop very bad then it feels like you have studded snow tires on at 40 to 50 miles an hour which they claim is a software fix there is a class action law suit in California against Honda for these problems.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #104

Nov 202015

CR-V

  • 500 miles
I noticed some vibration on the front seats of the car when I am at the stop sign an my car is in the drive mode (D) with my foot on the brake paddle. There is vibration when the car is in idle mod and this is very annoying,

- Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #103

Oct 132015

CR-V

  • 4,000 miles
We bought our 2015 Honda CRV within a few months and less than 4,000 miles it started vibrating excessively looking online this seems to be a manufacturers problem. When we called the dealer they played dumb to any issues yet the amount of complaints our horrendous.

- Fairhope, AL, USA

problem #102

Jul 042015

CR-V

  • miles
There is a high vibration and engine noise, and is getting worse with time when I stop at a red light. Even after taking the car in for Honda to fix the problem, after 4 times the issue has not been fixed.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #101

Dec 022015

CR-V

  • 10,000 miles
Vehicle shudders and vibrates under light to moderate acceleration from 15 to 40 mph. Dealer acknowledges same problem with other 2015 CRV vehicles with the cvt transmission. Vehicle must be driven in lower gear ('sport") in order for symptoms to disappear until vehicle reaches 50+ mph. Dealer says fix must come from Honda in the form of a software change.

- Lacey, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?