Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,965 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Oct 172014

Odyssey

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the air bags failed to deploy after a vehicle crashed into the driver side of contact's vehicle. The driver sustained injuries to shoulders, back and neck. A child passenger sustained injuries to the stomach due to seat belt. The driver and child passenger did not seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #32

Dec 132013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 225,000 miles
I can not get my dealership to perform the recall. Dealership: Team Honda 4613 East Lincoln hwy merrillville, in 46410 despite providing the recall notice 13V-132, providing my VIN #, and making an appointment in advance, they refused to do the work.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #31

Aug 012013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer writes in regards to air bag recall notice. The consumer stated after recall repair was done, the air bag light illuminated. The consumer returned to the dealer, only to be told he would had to pay $900 to replace the SRS control unit, as the recall item was not the problem. The consumer also stated the horn did not work.

- Groveport, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 252013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took car in for recall. On pickup of car noticed SRS light illuminated. Dealer will not fix light unless I pay money. But light came on after "fixing" airbag recall.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #29

Dec 152011

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V041000 (air bags). After the recall repair was performed, the SRS warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 152011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer states air bag light illuminated. The consumer discovered a recall had been issued regarding the air bags. However, when he/she contacted the dealer, he/she was informed since the vehicle had not been in an accident where the air bags did not deploy, the recall did not apply to the vehicle.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #27

Mar 132011

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. Upon starting the vehicle, the contact noticed the air bag light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the seat belt and air bag system malfunctioned. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 165,000. Upfdated 06/21/11 updated 1/18/2012

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #26

Oct 162010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have tried to contact the dublin Ohio Honda dealer to correct my airbag recall for my 2002 Honda Odyssey. My SRS light is on and we took it to the dealer over 2 months ago. They said they saw no problem but would order a part to fix the seatbelt. Now for 3 days I have tried to reach service to ask about the part and make another appointment and they have not returned my call.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #25

Nov 072010

Odyssey

  • 88,600 miles
Problem: SRS light has been on since 11/07/10. At initial visit to Honda dealer on 11/11/10, problem diagnosed as faulty seat belt buckle. Honda stated part on back order until 11/24/10. Now Honda says part on back order until approximately 12/09/10. With SRS light on it is questionable as to whether air bags will deploy in a crash.

- Meadowbrook, PA, USA

problem #24

Aug 052010

Odyssey

  • 115,000 miles
In may, 2010, SRS light came on. Dealer diagnosed air bag sensor in passenger seat failed and replaced under extended opds warranty. In Aug 2010, SRS light came on again. Dealer diagnosed SRS control unit failure and noted air bags would not deploy if there was an impact. Not covered under their extended warranty. This is a major safety issue and appears to be a common issue with Honda vehicles.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #23

Jun 162010

(reported on)

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer states issues regarding safety recall driver's airbag inflator the consumer stated the recall was performed. However the SRS light illuminated, which was not on prior to the vehicle being serviced. The consumer was informed that the repairs would cost $ $562.38 to replace the SRS unit.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #22

May 282010

Odyssey

  • 41,000 miles
Transmission was replaced on a new 2002 Honda Odyssey at 41,000. Now at 94,000 miles another transmission must be replaced on the same vehicle. The same problems seems to be occurring. The car sounded funny. This is what alerted the problem to me the first time. Shortly afterward the car died in the middle of driving it. Again the same problem is occurring with the same minivan again. They told me they replace the transmission. This Honda automatic transmission was recalled by Honda on my exact VIN number shortly after I had my transmission replaced by them. I had a service contract so there was no charge. The same problem seems to be starting to occur once again. The last time I was driving on freeway and the minivan died suddenly. I reported the problem to Honda 7 times before they finally replaced the transmission. Again I brought my Honda to them for the funny sound. This time they wish for me to pay to have the entire transmission replaced. I know since my contract is up I have to have it replaced otherwise the car is unsafe to drive. Is this normal to have third transmission replaced in car with less than 95,000 miles on it. It is a 2002 Odyssey. Even if they replace the transmission several times have they truly corrected/resolved the vehicle problem? or are they bandaging up their mistake. The recall called for a transmission replacement and also another part to be replaced on my particular VIN #. I believe they did a faulty job that it why I am going on my third transmission. I don't drive like a maniac, I drive to and from work and its an automatic transmission. I don't want to end up with our family in the car again like last time in the fast lane on the freeway with the car dying. I trusted Honda last time and they failed me. How can I tell if they fixed the problem and why am I getting stuck with a faulty transmission that must be replaced every 30,000 miles...I feel they are covering up their recalls and they are sending me out w/a faulty car again.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #21

Feb 132010

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact located air bag recall information on the NHTSA website. The contact called the manufacturer and was advised that the VIN was not a part of the recall. The contact also requested that the manufacturer provide her with a letter to verify that the vehicle was not a part of the recall and they agreed to mail her the letter. There are no failures at this time. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 252009

Odyssey

  • 114,000 miles
Driving East on highway 27 near little falls, mn at 55 mph. A drunk driver went through a stop sign directly in front of our car. There was no time to apply the brakes. Swerved slightly to left to avoid killing driver. Hit left front of his vehicle. Impact caused car to become airborne, down an 8 foot gully, and 30 feet into a corn field. None of the airbags deployed. My wife and I were both wearing seat belts. Impact threw me into the steering wheel, bruising my sternum, shoulders, and back. My wife suffered whiplash. The car was totaled. We were taken by ambulance to the hospital, and the other driver was charged. All service was current with no previous accidents.

- Alexandria, MN, USA

problem #19

Mar 232009

Odyssey

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the SRS indicator constantly remains illuminated in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the computer panel failed and needed to be replaced. If not replaced, the air bags will not work. After researching the issue, the contact learned of numerous other complaints for the same defect on her vehicle. She called the manufacturer and was informed of a special warranty extension on the air bags; however, it only includes the opds sensor, not the computer manual panel. The manufacturer will not accept responsibility for the repairs. The vehicle is currently at the dealer and has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 92,000.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #18

Sep 062008

Odyssey

  • 143,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. While driving between 30-35 mph, the contact was cut off by another motorist and struck the vehicle. The middle driver's side of the vehicle was damaged. None of the air bags deployed. The vehicle has not been inspected. The contact is currently seeing a doctor for whiplash, back muscle spasms, and chest and abdominal bruises sustained by the seat belt and steering wheel. The other three passengers in the vehicle sustained bruises. A police report was filed. The contact has pictures available. The current and failure mileages were 143,000.

- Fort Rocker, AL, USA

problem #17

Jun 062007

Odyssey

  • 47,357 miles
SRS light on continuously for one year. Reset once by repair shop. Came back on a week later. Still on. Airbag thus inoperative, which I just became aware of. I read on the internet that in many such cases the Honda dealers could not find a lasting fix for this problem. Many people have spent a lot of money on parts/labor that did not fix the problem. Many people have been injured as a result of the air bags not deploying upon impact. Maybe it is cheaper for Honda to pay the lawsuits for injury/death than to fix the problem. I cannot afford to waste money on "fixes" that do not fix the problem. I want my children and their mother (me) to be reasonably safe in our car, which is why I bought the Honda Odyssey in the first place. I will be selling the van as soon as I can afford another vehicle. Please do not let Honda get away with this. I will be filing a separate complaint for the power doors spontaneously opening while driving the car. I have already experienced the transmission recall; mine was replaced. A local mechanic said he has an amazing number of problems with Odyssey's and would not recommend them. Never again will I buy a Honda van.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 132007

Odyssey

  • 98,035 miles
I received a letter from Honda saying the 'opds" sensor may be defective and Honda would replace it. We had it replaced at patterson auto center, wichita falls, tx 76301, invoice #hocs78608, 9/13/07. The "SRS" indicator light had been "on" and with the replacement the light was "off". one month later the light came "on" again and we returned to have it checked out. I was told the "SRS control unit" needed to be replaced, so we had that done, this was replaced at my cost. Then on 4/5/08 while driving on a smooth road, the passenger side air bag deployed, hurting my wife the passenger on her arm. The following Monday 4/7/08 took vehicle to patterson's and showed them the deployed air bag. Jimmy kendrick in service department said he had never seen that happen before without an accident. They connected the computer to the system and it indicated a side impact. Jimmy visually inspected the vehicle to have not had any "side impact" and could not explain why it had deployed. I asked if Honda would correct the faulty air bag system and was told "no". latest incident was on 7/29/08, while sitting in the vehicle at the church parking lot, with the engine running, but parked the drivers side air bag deployed, injuring my left arm. No side impact had occurred to cause this to happen. I was very lucky I was not driving at the time, because I know it would have caused me to have an accident. We need Honda to recall this vehicle and replace the air bag system before any of the other air bags deploy and cause a major accident leading to death, as soon as possible!

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #15

May 092002

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. When appyling pressure to the brake pedal, the contact heard and felt a loud grinding noise. The dealer changed the brake shoes, but the problem still persists. The vehicle was inspected by two additional professional technicains and they advised her that nothing was wrong with the brake system. On two occasions, the sliding door would spontaneously open, allowing her children to exit the vehicle while in motion. The dealer could not duplicate the failure; however, they greased the rollers on the sliding door, which remedied the failure. Several months later, the vehicle was rear ended directly in the center of the vehicle by another vehicle traveling 35 mph. None of the air bags deployed. There were no warning lights prior to the crash. The dealer was not notified. The cotnact took her vehicle to the dealer for NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train: Automatic transmission). Because there was no discoloration in the transmission fluid, the dealer informed her that the vehicle could not be repaired until it showed signs of failure. The contact called the dealer when she began experiencing failures shifting gears, and they advised her that they would not repair the vehicle under the free remdey outlined in the recall. The dealer refused to provide an explanation. The contact is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. The failure mileage was 20,000 and current mileaege was 80,000. *updated 10/20/08 updated 10/21/08.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #14

Oct 102007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
My wife and child were involved in a 3-car accident that involved our 2002 Odyssey van. She ended up rear-ending the 2nd vehicle due to the 1st vehicle stopping in the fast lane of a 55mph highway. The insurance adjuster and police at the scene have continually commented on the failure of the airbags deploying since the impact happened at a speed of between 40-45mph. The extent of the damage became manifest when it was totaled by the insurance company. When brought to the attention of Honda, they asked for the insurance company to do an investigation. Our response was that the 1st driver was cited for reckless driving and his insurance isn't inclined to assist. Their response was that they couldn't assist in the matter which is why I'm filing this complaint.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?