Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 21 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

Aug 062013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Cherokee showing symptoms of same wide spread problem with starting issue. Vehicle cranks over but does not start. Must attempt numerous times until started. While driving, if vehicle dies all loss of power steering and brakes is lost and is a huge safety concern. My vehicle has 40K+ miles and problem seems to be pervasive problem throughout model year.

- Glendora , CA, USA

problem #67

Oct 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,500 miles
My 2011 Grand Cherokee overland has an intermittent starting problem. Not always, but a couple of times a day, it will not start the first time, it cranks and cranks but doesn't start, this last for 10 secs approx then shuts off, this might last anywhere from 1 to 4 attempts, then will start right up. Sometimes it will start and then fade out, like out of gas. Over the weekend the time between starts was more lengthy and at one point it shut off and drifted into an intersection. Jeep is "looking into the situation" which according to the internet is widespread. I was told a recall will not occur since its not a safety issue. I was stranded at a rest stop in rural Pennsylvania at 11:30 pm over the weekend, I think that's a safety concern. My costs associated with this issue will exceed $2000K and dealerships are only aloud to order one part a week since its on national back order. Any time a new vehicle that is well maintained strands you or stalls and drifts into an intersection, its a concern. The issue is random and can be unexpected. Please investigate.

- Annapolis , MD, USA

problem #66

Sep 132011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
My vehicle is having trouble starting and my fuel pump continues to pump after the vehicle is off which is killing my battery. I've only had the car for a year and its only two years old.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #65

Oct 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car has had intermittent long cranking time for almost the past year and recently the fuel pump would keep running after the car was turned off.I would remove the fuel pump fuse to save the cars battery.I was told the problem was with the total integrated power module or tipm.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #64

Aug 212013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
At first would not get any response when the start button was depressed, this would happen mostly in the morning and few times during the day (changes out the batteries in the handsets twice and of course blamed the wife that it was her!!!). this past few weeks (since Sept.) the engine will crank for a few seconds but will not start, this is mostly in the morning but has happened to my wife during the day. It has now started to leave here stranded and once 'die' on her on the hwy!!! I drove the gc to our dealer ( had to rent a car to get back home) and after a $110 service charge was 'informed' that it would need to have the tipm replaced at a cost of over $1300. And would have to wait 6-8 weeks as the tipm is on back order nation wide because of so many failures!!!!! the technician stated they have 24 on backorder. And if I had an issue to call Chrysler!!! this is clearly a wide spread defective critical component (tipm) that can fail at anytime (multiple times!!!) and dangerous if it fails on the road.

- El Centro , CA, USA

problem #63

Aug 262013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,491 miles
During the summer I was having trouble starting my Jeep. By 8/26/2013 it would not start at all. I scheduled an appointment at the local Jeep dealer to fix the problem. I took the Jeep in at the first available time, 9/9/2013. Within two days they diagnosed the problem as being the tipm unit. They told me that the unit was not available and could not give me a time when the unit would be available. The service person at the dealership told me to contact Jeep directly regarding the part. I was also told that the repair cost for the tipm unit would cost me $1,050. When I contacted a Jeep customer service representative on 9/13/2013 I was told the part was on extreme backorder and it would not be a warranty item. The defective part came into the dealership on approximately 10/18/2013. I was without a running vehicle for 7 weeks. The dealership and Jeep said that because I was outside my warranty on mileage only that they would not warranty the part. The warranty for the vehicle is a 3 year/36,000 mile. The mileage on the vehicle is 68,491. So I am over the warranty on mileage but under the warranty for years. In talking with the service reps they told me that this problem has occurred in cars well under the 36,000 mile threshold and they covered the part under warranty. The problem with the part is not a result of mileage, but a result of poor designed or bad manufacturing and should be covered under the warranty of the vehicle.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #62

Oct 212013

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon attempting to start the vehicle, it will crank but not turn over to start. Managed to start the vehicle and drove directly to the dealership. Diagnosed with a shorted out tipm (totally integrated power module). Part is currently on back order due to the high demand from Chrysler on this part. I have researched and determined that there a hundreds if not thousands of Jeep owners who are experiencing the same problem. Since my car is out of warranty dealership tells me that it is on me to pay for the parts and labor to fix. Unacceptable. With this being such a widespread problem a recall should be issued and consumers not be forced to pay for a part that is clearly failing nationwide. Also, service manager at benchmark Jeep in birmingham, al used an analogy of the part being a light bulb and that if you turn on a light bulb 100 times it might not turn on the 101st. Way to stand by your product!!! something as important as the cpu that runs your car should work all the time every time. Also used an analogy of my home computer crashing. Only problem is I use apple. They make an excellent product and stand by it!! never buying a Jeep again..

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #61

Sep 262013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 37,100 miles
Apparently I am one of many with a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee that will not start on occasion. Also had issues with key not locking or opening doors and other odd electrical issues happening. For instance last night when I parked the car and turned off the engine, I could hear something continuing to run on the drivers side under the middle of the car, like a fan running ? it ran for about 1 hour, I started and stopped the car a few times, and turned off all air/fan etc.,, it finally stopped ! I took the car to the dealer they indicated the updates were needed for the PCM, tipm and wcm, this was done (flash updated) cost me $135 dealer said tipm was covered but not PCM or wcm. However this did not correct the issue, still having problems, took back to the dealer, left all day, they now say tipm needs to be replaced. Only 37K miles on car, two years old ! love this Jeep - but worried ! dealer says new tipm will be here in 10 days " dealer manager has contacted Chrysler and they will "goodwill" the tipm - because I am only 1K over warranty, but I cover $100 charge for labor" I am scared the tipm will never come ! meanwhile I am still driving this car, its my only vehicle, and still making payments on it. Feel like I need to trade it in before it dies !!! but I own too much ! worried that it will get worse and worried a new tipm will not fix the problem ! help!

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #60

Jun 082012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Back in June 2012 I began experiencing problems with my vehicle. The vehicle was giving a hard start and stalling while driving. The vehicle has been back and forth to the dealership for these problems and as a result the hard start is the only thing that was fixed. In May 2013 the dealership installed a device called the starmobile to monitor the vehicle to see what causes the vehicle to shut down. Upon taking it off they told me the device did not read however, the problem seemed to be fixed. About 2 months later, it came right back to haunt me the vehicle began shutting down again. On the morning of 10/21/13, the vehicle shutdown and cause me to run in the bushes as a result. If this was to happen on the main road I would end up in someone's vehicle and would of had to pay for repairs for both my vehicle and the other person vehicle. Help help help that's all I am asking for.

- Christiansted, VI, USA

problem #59

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 37,300 miles
The T.I.P.M. (totally integrated power module) on my Jeep Grand Cherokee overland has malfunctioned. After doing some research online thousands of Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep consumers have been experiencing the same problem with the tipm module. The problem seems to be with all Chrysler brand SUV's built between 2011 and 2013. To make matters worse this particular part is nationally back ordered due to the large volume of consumers experiencing the same problem. Due to the shear amount of consumers experiencing this problem an investigation by the NHTSA should be launched and a manufacturer recall should be issued to protect consumers from the costs (around $1200) associated with replacing this obviously faulty part.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #58

Oct 092013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated the vehicle would not start and the horn would not function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the tipm module would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000..updated 11-18-13

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #57

Sep 272013

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,000 miles
Jeep would not start I thought it was the fuel pump so I took it to a mechanic. The diagnosed it an also thought it was the pump. They changed it out and I still had the same issue. After looking at it again the mechanic told me that he had read up on a problem several Jeep vehicles were having and it was the same problem as my Jeep. They changed the ignition module and it works great now. It took about a week and half to get the part in due to the fact that many people are having the same problem. I believe that Jeep should recall all the vehicles that have this module because it seems like it is becoming a big issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #56

Sep 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted within a few minutes and resumed normally. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the battery was replaced. The failure continued after the repair was performed. The vehicle was akin to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed that the failure was contributed to an electrical issue in which the tipa module would need to be replaced and the part was ordered. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 11/21/14

- St. Albans, NY, USA

problem #55

Sep 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,000 miles
Car will crank but will not start. After about 10-20 minutes car will start. Remote start is more successful than turning the key.

- Gallion, AL, USA

problem #54

Jul 302013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
Jeep Grand Cherokee started having a slight miss in early July. Then Jeep would not start. Waited 2 minutes then Jeep started. Had Jeep serviced including new spark plugs from Chrysler. Still had miss at idle. Drove Jeep from northern California to southern California. Still had miss. Sitting in heavy traffic Jeep stalled and caused a traffic backup. Waited for a couple of minutes then Jeep started.took Jeep to the Jeep dealer in Aug. Dealer did software upgrade. Still had rough idle and hard to start. Took Jeep in again. They said to order a tipm. Dealer said it would be at least several weeks to get the part and to park the Jeep due to the stalling out situation. Wrote an email to the Jeep CEO. Jeep responded. The tipm was replaced in early Sept. Stalling is gone but the rough idle is now back. This issues could be very dangerous. Considering how Jeep are used (off road, long trips) one could easily be stranded or worse. Given the number of complaints and the long period of time to get a part it would seem like a recall is in order. It appears that the part is no longer manufactured due to a bankruptcy of the oem. There are thousands of us having this problem and we need help!

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #53

Oct 062013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Tipm- I went to start my Jeep this morning that felt like a weak start up, it then hiccuped and died. Thinking it maybe just a one time incident, tried again, with the result of the starter just cranking for about 5-6 seconds. This repeated multiple more times before I called a tow truck to take to a local mechanic. It was diagnosed with bad fuel pumps, and the cost to replace was $1600. This prompted me to call the dealership and ask if that's even possible. After explaining the issue at hand, the service manager told me that he doesn't believe the issue to be caused by faulty pumps, but from the tipm. This is obviously not the first time he has heard of this issue. I then did some research on the web and found this to be a pretty prevalent issue amongst owners of this year, make, and model. When I called him back to see if the backorder issues were true, he told me it would take around three weeks to get the part. I immediately asked for the Jeep corporate number, called them, and began to speak to a guy about it there. He told me that the production rate was one per 7 days... and that coupled with there are tons of these cases out there is why it was going to take a while to get the part. He went on to tell me that sounds crazy, but its just how fast, (or slow) they are producing them. I asked if the new product was a replica of the original and he said this is a solution for the previous one and would fix the problem, not just a bandaid. He advised me to have it fixed and hope the recall comes and I would be eligible for a reimbursement. With the price of this fix being so high and the amount of people affected, this has to be recalled. Please have anyone having this issue file a complaint here. This customer service rep told me there just hasn't been enough formal complaints about it to validate a recall....

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #52

Dec 102011

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,600 miles
Recently having issues while trying to start my 2011 Jeep gc. The engine will turn over but will not start the electronic throttle control (etc) warning light comes on. This has been happening intermittently and becoming more frequent. In doing research, it seems this is a common problem with this model and the replacement part is not only costly, but on bo for a undisclosed time frame.

- Montgomery,, AL, USA

problem #51

Sep 052011

Grand Cherokee

  • 41,000 miles
Vehicle will not start. Apparently all of the 2011 SUV Jeep Grand Cherokee have the issue with the tipm. The part will cost me over a thousand dollars to repair and the part is on backorder. In the meantime, I have no transportation to get to work. I have bad knees and a bad back and cannot continue taking the bus. I am a teacher and have been late getting to school for the past 2 weeks.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #50

Aug 072012

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,243 miles
The remote start on the Jeep starts but does not run. I was told the tipm was bad in it and cuts off fuel to the Jeep and also causes the ar bags not to work, also controls alot of other electrical parts on the Jeep. I feel Jeep should have already had a recall on this part as they know there are numerous problems anad they are putting people in danger while driving. I undertand there are so many bad they are on back order for "several months". this is not fair to the consumer to be placed in this kind of danger, nor not be able to get the part for over several months.

- Soddy Daisy, TN, USA

problem #49

Sep 162013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
There seems to be thousands of cases on the internet like mine. The car won't start when cold. To get it to start, you have to try and try pushing the starter button. Eventually, it will start after 10-25 times. I'm told this is caused by a defective tipm (computer). I'm told that eventually the car won't start at all. I see this as a safety issue, as if you can't get your car started you can get into a lot of trouble if you are in harm's way. There are thousands of issues like this. The replacement part is not even available. Chrysler told me it would take 3 weeks to even get the replacement computer. That means that the car is essentially not usable for at a minimum 3 weeks. This car needs to be recalled.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?