Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 36
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,711 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 16 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #102

Nov 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V634000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts to remedy the vehicle were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure.

- South Bury , CT, USA

problem #101

Dec 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would start intermittently. In addition, while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and multiple warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the tipm needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to back to the mechanic who diagnosed that the tipm needed to be replaced again. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #100

Jun 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
I have had multiple problems with my 2012 Grand Cherokee. All of the external lights modules ---headlights and tail lights--- went out and had to be replaced due to an electrical problem then the car sometimes wouldn't start. The dealer couldn't replicate the problem so told me they couldn't do anything. Finally one time it happened at the dealer and they figured it was a defect in the keyless entry that was reading the signal from the key fob. Then when they were inspecting the car they found the rear shock was leaking. They ordered a new part in June and it was finally replaced in Oct as the part was on back order. On a routine oil change the service tech told me I needed routine maintenance check ( 30000 miles) to the tune of $1700 and wanted me to do it right then.. the day after this oil change the check engine light comes on. I called the dealer. They said it was probably because I hadn't done my 30000 mile check ( the day before). He said it could be variable things but probably a bad spark plug that needed to be replaced ( part of the $1700 check he had wanted me to do). I said I had other cars including a 2002 Jeep and I hadn't had to replace the spark plugs at 30000 miles. Then he realized my 3.6 L car did not need spark plugs changed at 30000 ---- only the 5.7 did. Yesterday I checked my fluids and saw the power steering fluid was way low. I called the dealer to see if this was normal. The tech said no--- the steering fluid was in a contained system and should not loose fluid. He said I must have a leak somewhere in the system. He said it was very dangerous but not covered under warranty. He said the engine could catch fire or I could loose steering. Why wouldn't this be covered under warranty? it is dangerous. The car only has 36000 miles and this leak should not happen.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #99

Feb 122015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,032 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After owning my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee for only 1 single day (purchased with 35,004 miles on 2/11/15), I was unable to start it after 6-7 push start attempts with the brake pedal properly pressed down. After putting it in neutral and pulling it to the side of a hill, I put the vehicle back into park and once again tried and it started up. Based on research online, it looks as though this is identical to the recall for the 2011 model and the defective tipm (totally integrated power module) needing to be replaced. The alternator recall (P60) for 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee is not yet available (yet it was announced by Chrysler in October 2014) and could also be a factor to this intermittent start issue.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #98

Feb 212014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
I recently purchased a used 12 Grand Cherokee from starling Chevrolet Buick in St. Cloud, fl. I did a ton of research and had been looking for this particular Jeep for many months. Our Jeep is in immaculate condition and the car fax listed only two minor recalls, the sun visor wiring and a brake component; nothing else. I drove it off the lot a 35 days ago and back home and no problems whatsoever. About 14 days ago my Jeep randomly stalled while I was taking a left turn in front of another vehicle (at a safe distance). Thankfully I was able to pull off the side of the road (no power steering) and come to a complete stop, put Jeep in park, and started again. I was completely baffled why it did this and took it in for service under my 3 year extended warranty. My dealer was unable to get any error or warning sign on the diagnostic test and could not find any problem whatsoever. My Jeep has stalled 2 other times while driving and each time I took it back and the same thing, it would not stall on the mechanic and no check engine light. I was lucky to talk to the previous owner tonight and he explained that he had the tipm replaced 2 times, yes 2 times in this Jeep and after the 2nd time the Jeep kept stalling on him. My wife and I are terrified that we purchased a "lemon? without having any knowledge about this at all. The car fax did not show this information, my Jeep dealer showed me all the warranty history through Chrysler and they sincerely want to help us. However, if the faulty tipm will not even show a check engine light, then how do they warranty a part" they cant (or refuse) and that is the lawsuit. The previous owner said he had to fight until he couldn't fight anymore to get his dealer to replace the tipm and it still failed after the fact and is now failing on me. What can I do? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #97

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Jeep attempts to start when start is pushed. Engine turns but will not start. Occasionally it starts and then quickly shuts down. Other times it starts and runs perfectly.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #96

Nov 182014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I been calling around local Jeep dealer ships in my area and no one has parts for these recalls.

- Ringtown, PA, USA

problem #95

Feb 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the battery warning indicator illuminated. Also, the contact stated that the windshield wipers would slow down when the accelerator pedal was disengaged or when the brake pedal was applied. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Bethleham, PA, USA

problem #94

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Albany, IN, USA

problem #93

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure updated 3/31/15

- Clear Brook , VA, USA

problem #92

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mechanicsberg, PA, USA

problem #91

Nov 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
No incident occurred - just noticed the symptom in late November 2014. This is related to safety recall P60/NHTSA 14V-634 (sudden alternator failure). As of 02.04.15, this recall does not apply to my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee (jgc) because it has a 5.7L engine (recall only applies to jgcs with 3.6L engines). However, my vehicle also experiences what I think may be symptoms of a faulty alternator: Cold start whining/whirring, excessive whining/whirring during acceleration in lower gears, whining/whirring during sharp turns. Is there still an open investigation on vehicles with the larger engines" is there a similar pattern of complaints or service repairs for this particular model" I'm suspicious that my vehicle model should be included in the recall.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #90

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Utuado, PR, USA

problem #89

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richmond, MI, USA

problem #88

Jan 222015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Vehicle stalled while stopped at stop light. When started, idled very rough and stalled again. Car was towed to dealer. Dealer indicated failure in fuel pump relay. Repair involves disabling of fuel pump relay in totally integrated power module (tipm) and installing external fuel pump relay. Failure also resulted in failure of valve spring. The repair regarding the fuel pump is identical to the repair outlined in Chrysler safety recall P54/NHTSA 14V-530, which per Chrysler customer service rep is only applicable to 2011 vehicles and not 2012 vehicles. This fuel pump failure affects more vehicles than outlined by original recall.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #87

Oct 312014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced failure. The VIN was not available.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #86

Jan 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 4 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #85

Oct 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,593 miles
I have had repair after repair done and.spent over 900 just in repairs and I have the receipts. I would like to get a resolution. My top vehicle ceiling was burnt from the recall # 105129 electrical system wiring lamp. I need a resolution I cannot afford to pay for any more repairs. Recall id # 102683 - service brakes full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee recall id # 102682 - service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee recall id # 102682 - service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

- Corpus Christi , TX, USA

problem #84

May 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle experienced an unintended acceleration. In addition, the engine revved but failed to accelerate on several occasions. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) was received in may of 2014, NHTSA campaign number 14V391000 (electrical system) was received in August of 2014 and NHTSA campaign number: 14V636000 (electrical system) in December of 2014. The dealer informed that the parts were not available and no estimated date for receiving the parts could be given. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000. Djr

- Everette, WA, USA

problem #83

Apr 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle experienced a sudden loss of power. The vehicle later resumed normal function. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 6,000. Updated 02/24/15 updated 10/28/2015

- Milford, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?