Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 36
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,711 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 18 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Dec 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No start. Has been happening repeatedly.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #61

Dec 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the part to perform the recall repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Golf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #60

Dec 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to perform the recall repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Golf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #59

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 24,356 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will not turn over not getting fuel to starter, car cuts off while driving numerous times. There is a recall for this on same models built prior to 8/01/2011, my car was built 8/15/2011 two weeks after. This is the exact problem as the recall.

- Alpine, NJ, USA

problem #58

May 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle will not start. Engine cranks, but des not start. Towed to dealer. Could not duplicate. Recently condition worsened and vehicle would not start at all. Vehicle repaired after sitting at dealer for 2.5 weeks. Diagnosis, fuel pump relay and wiring harness.

- Saint Joseph, MI, USA

problem #57

Apr 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
My 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo has stalled when turning on and has often not turned on. When driving the vehicle the car has shut off almost causing an accident.this has happened on many occasions. The car accelerates often when driving the lights, airbag symbols, etc turn on erratic. I had to replace the alternator and battery due to faulty timp which Jeep has recalls on however not my year although-my car has the same problems which I have to pay for and I have researched and many other Jeep owners have the same issues and Jeep is very aware and are not taking responsibility, I feel unsafe driving this car especially with my children, the car is unreliable and have been late to work due to the car stalls and lack og turning on. This car has a mind of its own starts when it feels like it, speeds up on its own, lights turn on off, tells U keys left the car when it hasn't. very angry at Jeep I should not have to pay for faulty equipment due to your negligence!

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #56

Aug 192014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had a recall (NHTSA 14V-391) electrical problem. Dealer told me "have to order part.. will call you when comes in"?? it is now November 20, 2014.. been over 3 months-still waiting for call and part..."supposedly part ordered "a few months ago" dealer said that "quote"... "Chrysler doesn't have many parts... they seem to drag out the process so that they do not get hit with all these expenses/charges in a month/year" well......this is B.S. !!! just getting the "run around". when can I except this to be handle.. can you put any pressure on Chrysler to get part??" there is another "pending" recall on an a alternator (no news regarding this except an newspaper article last month).. Chrysler needs to get their act together..

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #55

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available and the manufacturer only released one repair kit per week. The contact attempted to reach out to the manufacturer, but could not reach a live representative. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #54

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,800 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle failed to start and stalled twice without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the tipm failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,800.

- Richardson , TX, USA

problem #53

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,500 miles
Attempted to use the autostart to warm vehicle and after one minute it shut off. Tried 5 times to start vehicle using push button, would not start or stop. Finally let me start with keyfob. I contacted dealer that morning and was told it is most likely the tipm but they don't have any; also I was told it is unsafe to drive my vehicle and get it repaired asap. Luckily I was able to locate a dealership with an appointment and part to fix it; even though they told me the computer might just need an update. Vehicle continued to not start at random times using keyfob. Having issues starting car up to the time I drove it across town to dealership, it would not turn over, sputtered, shook and started. I also have parts on order (been on order since 9/28/14) for the active recalls for brake booster and sun visor fires. I always hear a running sound after the vehicle has been shut off. Chrysler's customer services department is no help. I expressed my concern with all the recall/safety issues via email and was told "sorry to hear of your concerns and delay in having parts. I regret the problems you are having with your vehicle. Unfortunately we are unable to diagnosis your vehicles issues via email. We recommend contacting your authorized dealership to arrange an appointment." Did they even read my complaint!!! I have an appointment to have it fixed but what happens between now and then. What happened to the dependable Chrysler products? this is my 5th in 18 years of driving and my last. Hopefully I do not hurt/kill anyone or myself behind the wheel of this vehicle. I am scared to drive it. It is a 2012 with 28K on it, this is just disgusting! for as much as these Jeep cost I expect a better product and customer service from Chrysler. Their dealerships can only do so much without backing from the manufacturer. Chrysler needs to fix these issues these are safety issues.

- Aurora , CO, USA

problem #52

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brookhaven, MS, USA

problem #51

Jun 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system, visibility) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Rensselaer , NY, USA

problem #50

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (exterior lighting, electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #49

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received the notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (brakes), 14V53000 (electrical) and 14V391000 (electrical). The dealer and the manufacturer were contact on multiple occasions and the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time to receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #48

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Erratic electrical issues. Heated seats stopped working. Back up camera not working. Keep getting error message that key battery is low even though battery was changed. Right rear taillight sporadically working.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #47

Oct 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 62,800 miles
Engine stalled while driving on interstate causing a near-accident. Vehicle was successfully restarted shortly thereafter, but after returning home and turning off vehicle, fuel pump continued to run. The following morning the vehicle would not start and had to be towed to Chrysler/Jeep dealership. Dealer repair involved replacing a defective "totally integrated power module" at a cost to me, the owner, of $1,200. This incident very closely mirrors media reports in late September, 2014, detailing similar incidents with the same vehicle. In at least one report (cbs-detroit; Sept. 20, 2014; "Chrysler recalls nearly 189,000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, Dodge durangos") Chrysler claims their pending recall will cover SUV's built from Jan. 25, 2010 through July 20, 2011. My vehicle, exhibiting the exact same malfunctions, was manufactured in November, 2011. Clearly the recall should be expanded to capture more vehicles with faulty power modules.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #46

Nov 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,500 miles
I was driving my vehicle when I noticed a small amount of smoke that seemed to be coming from the air system. Someone then exited my vehicle and the smoke billowed and I noticed fire on the passenger side sun visor area. I pulled my vehicle over and upon trying to exit the vehicle, noted that there was smoke coming from both sides near the side impact airbags and throughout the car. The fire was contained mostly to the passenger side, interior, but also went through the upper metal roof and was smoking exterior and causing the paint to bubble and crack open. Fire was put out by the local fire department and no injuries. Most of the damage is on the passenger interior and exterior, but other unknown damage and white dust was seen near the airbag areas too. Sidenote - the current recall on the passenger side sun visor for this vehicle was repaired at the local dealership 3 weeks ago.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #45

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hollis Center, ME, USA

problem #44

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Westville, IN, USA

problem #43

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
In September we were placed on a waiting list to have the repairs made with the recall P36/NHTSA 14V-391. As of today we are 42 on the waiting list at this one dealership in paducah ky. Chrysler is not sending the parts to the dealership to make the repairs. This is the same as the other recall we received P14/NHTSA 14V-154, we have been on that recall list since 05-01-2014. The dealership said they have only received 6 parts since may to make the repairs. We are 12 on this list and winter is approaching and the recall is associated with freezing brake boosters.

- Kevil, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?