If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,186.00
Average Mileage:
101,710 miles
Total Complaints:
19 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace catalytic converter (16 reports)
  2. not sure (3 reports)
2005 Nissan Pathfinder exhaust system problems

exhaust system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments

problem #19

Jan 282015

Pathfinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

MY CAR WAS BEING REPAIRED FROM 3/14/11 TO 3/30/11 (17 DAYS)

I BROUGHT MY CAR INTO CARMAX ON 3/14/11 BECAUSE MY AUTO START WAS NOT STARTING THE CAR AND MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. THE AUTO START WOULD MAKE A FEW ATTEMPTS TO START THE CAR, BUT IT WOULD NOT TURN COMPLETELY OVER. THEN WHEN I WOULD START IT WITH THE KEY, IT WOULD MAKE ANOTHER ATTEMPT TO START IT AND GRIND.

CARMAX INITIALLY SAID IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION AND TOOK THE CAR TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP IN ILLINOIS. THEY HAD TO TAKE THE TRANSMISSION APART TO DIAGNOSE IT. THEY SAID RADIATOR FLUID WAS MIXING WITH THE TRANSMISSION FLUID DUE TO A DEFECT IN THE RADIATOR. THIS PROBLEM WAS COVERED UNDER MY POWER TRAIN WARRANTY WITH NISSAN SO THEN MY CAR WAS SENT TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN SOUTH HOLLAND FOR THE REPAIRS BECAUSE NISSAN WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF THE REPAIRS, NOT MY EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN I PURCHASED FROM CARMAX. I WAS STILL REQUIRED TO PAY A $50 DEDUCTIBLE THOUGH.

THE WORK ORDER I REC’D WHEN I PICKED UP THE CAR SAID NOTHING ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION EVEN THOUGH IT WAS COMPLETELY TAKEN APART. THE GUY AT THE TRANSMISSION SHOP SAID THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSANS.

I DID NOT RECEIVE A RENTAL CAR UNTIL CARMAX HAD MY CAR FOR FOUR DAYS. I HAD A RENTAL CAR FROM ENTERPRISE (JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE 2011) FROM 3/17 UNTIL 3/21 AND A LOANER CAR FROM CARMAX (DODGE VAN) FROM 3/21 UNTIL 3/30.

NISSAN’S PHONE NUMBER THAT DID THE REPAIRS: 708-333-2000 NISSAN OF SOUTH HOLLAND 16269 VANDAMN ROAD, BISHOP FORD

OCTOBER 18, 2012 THEN I HAD TO HAVE REPAIRS DONE TO MY UNIVERSAL JOINT, PROPELLER SHAFT (4WD OPERATION REAR) WITH 67509 MILES ON IT

MAY 30, 2013 HAD TO HAVE MY SERPENTINE BELT REPLACED WITH 98934 MILES

JULY 14, 2014 HEATER HOSE ASSEMBLY REPLACE BY ALL AMERICAN TIRES WITH 120760 MILES ON IT $500

JANUARY 28, 2015 REPLACE BOTH CATALYTIC CONVERTERS AND BOTH DOWN STREAM 02 SENSORS WITH BY ACCURATE EMISSIONS CLINIC IN GARY INDIANA $582.18

MAY 21, 2015 JUST INFORMED THERE IS TRANSMISSION FLUID IN MY RADIATOR AND I NEED A NEW RADIATOR ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER RELATED REPAIRS TOTALING OVER $806.14 CAR IS AT ALL AMERICAN TIRE IN HOBART FOR REPAIRS NOW (3:26P 5/21/15)

I ALSO HAD THE FUEL SENDING UNIT REPAIRED SOMEWHERE IN ALL OF THIS MESS.

COULD THESE THINGS BE RELATED OR HAVE CAUSED THE PROBLEMS WITH THE OTHER ISSUES?

- , Hobart, IN, USA

problem #18

Jan 032013

Pathfinder SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

Catalytic converters failed at around 90,000 miles. After replacing them my car feels much smoother.

- , Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

problem #17

Jun 092014

Pathfinder LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

I can't pass Smog in CA. Its going to cost for a catalytic converter $1200 at a Nissan dealer or at a small shop they want $850. The part is $700. Nissan needs to pay for it.

- , Orange, USA

problem #16

Feb 012015

Pathfinder LE 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car's MPG went to abut 13MPG, it would have significant loss of power/hesitation and shake at certainly speeds. The issue was constant and predictable. Punching the gas would normally help it (until it would immediately do it again) but who drives like that.

We took the car to a mechanic and replaced spark plugs, ignition coils and a bunch of other stuff without resolution.

We took it to the dealership (who offered to do the same as above until we told them we already did that). We paid $150 for a fuel system flush...nothing.

They checked it again and suggested a Catalytic converter change. We paid $1200 for it (most painful Christmas present ever; and least fun). We drove it..SAME thing. Then we're told by by the dealership that the Pathfinder has (2) Catalytic converters - shall we go for round 2?

We sold the car at substantial loss and promised we NEVER buy another Nissan product again.

- , Nashville, TN, USA

problem #15

Jul 222012

Pathfinder LE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

The service engine light came on. Took to dealership.

Catalytic converter needs to be replaced: estimated cost $2,000

Also found the following issues: tension belts estimated $ 2,000

Headlights do not work - need to replace the IDPM controller estimated $ 500

- , Phoenix, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Aug 042012

Pathfinder SE 4.0 6 CYL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 172,000 miles

I had the ECU cleared and the new code stated the Drivers Side Front Catalytic Converter was the problem. The dealer wanted $800+ for each of the 4 so I went online to research various vendors. I found one with the one I needed for $155 and excellent ratings. I ordered it and installed it Saturday. I saw on a video (after installation,) that you can clean your converters while on the vehicle and/or after removed, HMMMM

So I finally finish the install and the battery is reconnected. The CEL is off but the VDC light and SLIP light is on. The next morning the two lights are off and the CEL is back on...UGH! So after church I have the code read and it states converter again. The rep tells me to run the truck at least 150 miles to get the ECU and converter on the right page then have it read...I will let you know. The good thing is I save a lot of money doing it myself and slowly I am replacing parts on this truck.

- , Leonardtown, MD, USA

problem #13

Mar 232012

Pathfinder LE 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The catalytic converter is nonfunctioning, my truck is inoperable at the moment. I was unaware that this problem existed at all. Initially, when I purchased the vehicle the service engine light was on & as the transaction was taking place the dealer was made aware of the problem that existed. The service engine light was reprogrammed before the purchased was finalized, so at that time the service engine light was off. When the light came back on I actually took it to a Nissan dealership & after it was placed on a diagnostic computer, it was determined that the catalytic converter was faulty & would soon be nonfunctional. Now I am without a operable vehicle & I want to know what, if any; recourse do I have. I see that there are many complaints concerning this problem & since that is the case, why hasn't there been a recall & replacement for the catalytic converters? How do we go about getting this problem on a recall list?? I am tired of having to come out of pocket to replace or repair what is the problem of the manufacturer.

- , Marion, SC, USA

problem #12

Dec 302011

Pathfinder SE 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,165 miles

Went in with check engine light and a problem with stalling. diagnosed as a faulty ECM. Had it replaced, fixing the stall, but light stayed on. New diagnosis is BOTH right and left upstream catalytic converters are bad.

- , St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #11

Dec 012011

Pathfinder SL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,200 miles

both of my catalytic converter (right and left) are bad. most cars wont have this problem over its lifetime but my 05 pathfinder did at 87k miles. is this a manufacturers defect? i think nissan should recall or reimburse people who have this problem.

i have owned 6 nissans already (280z, 200sx, 95 pathfiner, 96 altima, 05 pathfinder and 09 altima) and i think nissan should listen to us who are loyal to the nissan brand or we will all go to another car company.

- , Carson, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 112012

Pathfinder V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,883 miles

We have had both the right and left catalytic converters go at different times. Nissan has covered everything until the U-joints today which should have been covered as per the other people with the same issue.

- , Victoria, BC, Canada

problem #9

May 102007

Pathfinder V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,525 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both catalytic converters have failed but at different times. We have had every major failure that this model has listed this is definitely a lemon of a vehicle.

- , Victoria, BC, Canada

problem #8

Sep 122011

Pathfinder SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,000 miles

They tell me that my catalytic converter honeycomb is burning out and will suck it back into the intake if not fixed!

- , Only, TN, USA

problem #7

Mar 152011

Pathfinder 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

catalytic converter failed expensive repair I have a toyota with over 225000 miles on it no problems the nissan failing at 115000

- , Oak Ridge, TN, USA

problem #6

Jul 012010

Pathfinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Service Engine Light came on and one of the codes said catalytic converter needed replaced. I am told though that at 70000 miles, that is uncommon. Someone said it could be oxygen sensor instead. But I have not had the money or time to have it repaired. Also, there are two catalytic converters on this vehicle. This just so happens to show the more expensive one needing replaced at 650.00 just for parts.

- , Donaldson, AR, USA

problem #5

Nov 012010

Pathfinder LE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

My 2005 Pathfinder has been diagnosed with bad catalytic converters. I've asked around and there are two other acquaintances of mine or my wife with Pathfinders with same issue fairly early in the car's life. What do you have to do to get a frequent problem classified as frequent enough to push for a recall? I'm pissed I will have to spend over $2000 on this!

- , olathe, KS, USA

problem #4

Nov 192010

Pathfinder LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,164 miles

THIS ISSUE WAS BACK IN NOV,2010. I THOUGHT I WAS THE ONLY ONE WITH ALL THIS MECHANICAL PROBLEMS .I RECEIVED A EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR MY RADIATOR ASSEMBLY. BUT MY WARRANTY MILES ARE OVER, NOW I RECEIVED A RECALL FOR THE ECM RELAY. AFTER TAKING IT TO THE DEALER FOR THE RECALL THEY CHECK MY TRANSMISSION OIL AND TOLD ME MY TRANSMISSION WAS NO GOOD. WHY? WELL BECAUSE YOUR RADIATOR IS LEAKING COOLANT INTO YOUR TRANSMISSION NOW, WE RECENTLY CHANGE THE SHAFT.THINKING THAT WOULD STOP THE NOISE ON THE WHEELS BUT IT ALL SEEMS ITS THE TRANSMISSION CAUSING THE NOISE.NOW ITS GOING TO COST ME ANOTHER $5500 DOLLARS ,I DONT THING IS WORTH IT FIXING IT. ONLY ON THE CATALYIC EXHAUST WAS $1500 AND SHAFT $500 .

- , Elmendorf, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 012010

Pathfinder SE 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,633 miles

I would love to know how catalytic converters are gone after 5 years only 170000kms. Thats ridiculous i have had many cars and never had to change converters till at least 300.000kms this truck is not even fit for a dry road its a piece of junk

- , Milton, Ontario, Canada

problem #2

Feb 042011

Pathfinder SE 79,914

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,914 miles

This Nissan Pathfinder has turned into a curse. On one dreadful Friday, the check engine light comes on and the vehicle starts to drive funny, according to my wife. I proceed to drive it to see what I can figure out and I realize the transmission is slipping and the engine is making a high pitched whining sound. I had it towed to the dealership and get hammered with a faulty catalytic converter $1650 and simultaneously, the radiator failed and sent fluids into the automatic transmission, ruining it as well. The dealer quote is around $6,650, from one breakdown. Wow!!!!!

- , Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #1

Nov 302009

Pathfinder SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

mpg decreased and check engine light came on. Took to dealer they put. Cad converter on under warranty. 6 months later this issue had to be repeated. catalytic co

- , Madison Heights, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?