Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,942 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Nov 112009

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,582 miles


The gas gauge registered a half tank of gas. The car ran out of gas while driving at 70 miles an hour on the highway.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #65

Mar 012010

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 49,717 miles
1.gas gauge was reading past empty so on my way to drop my kids off at school stopped and fueled up. Prepared to fill up the tank since the reading was past empty but the tank would only hold about 2.7 gallons. A couple weeks later the same thing happened but the opposite; the gauge was reading 3/4 tank full but obviously the reading was wrong because my wife ran out of gas and was stranded. 2. this is a recurring issue; the fuel gauge has not worked properly since Feb 2010 3. took the truck into Nissan for repair and was told there is no recall report on the 2005 Pathfinder's fuel gauge but there is a recall on other models. I was told the repair would cost around $500.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #64

Oct 012009


  • 50,000 miles
When fuel guage gets to 1/2 tank level reading or less, it immediately drops to "E" (empty). This is a vehicle my wife drives, and she has run out of gas on several occasions due to the incorrect readings. This is not an intermittent problem, it is constant. We are concerned about potential safety issues associated with this defect, especially since she often travels with our 2 children. Everything I have read from Pathfinder owners relative to this problem indicates it is a defective fuel sending unit. We saw that a recall was going to happen, but were dismayed that it did not include 2005 Pathfinders, as the same type of complaints from owners clearly indicated the problem spanned the 2005 model year. We now try to keep the tank over 1/2 full, but it requires us to make twice as many gasoline stops. This is a significant defect and does include 2005 Nissan Pathfinders. I would be happy to video tape what occurs if needed.

- Indian Harbour Beach, FL, USA

problem #63

Feb 162010


  • 96,000 miles


2005 Nissan Pathfinder gas gauge failure is a safety issue. The gas gauge in my 2005 Pathfinder fails and has caused the car to run out of gas twice in busy interchanges. A rear end collision could result in an accident or death.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #62

Sep 012009


  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. Around 50000 miles the fuel gauge quite working properly and continues to show both accurate and erroneous indications. I will indicated properly at times and indicated improperly at times. Also the distance to empty calculator has quite working. This is a very common issue with the Pathfinders, Nissan recently issued a recall for the 2006 and 2007 Nissan for this problem. However they failed to include the 2005 Pathfinders which have numerous reports of the exact same symptoms. I have run out of fuel twice due to incorrect fuel indications. Fortunately they were both near home on unbusy streets. I have a 2 year old son and I can't afford to drive and unsafe vehicle. Heaven forbid I run out of gas on a 4 lane highway with no shoulders. Nissan knows there is a problem with these and yet neglected to include 2005 Pathfinders in their recall. They continue to deny responsibility for the safety of the people that drive their cars. The fix for this cost nearly $500. In my case it caused the check engine light to come on, which in turn means my vehicle will not pass inspection. All because of a fuel level sendign unit that was either engineered improperly, manufactured imporperly or installed improperly. Why is it that the exact same type of vehicles have the exact same problem all around the same mileage. I highly doubt it is coinsidence. In fact, Nissan recognizes that there is a issue with the fuel level sending units, yet somehow the 2005 Pathfinders don't fit into the recall. You would think with the recent issues with Toyota that Nissan would be more willing to ensure the safety of their passengers.

- Justin, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Mar 292010


  • 45,000 miles
My 2005 Nissan Pathfinder hit a metal object in the road with one of the front tires. The object was propelled under the car towards the rear. There it contacted the fuel tank and punctured the tank. This caused 16-18 gallons of gasoline to flow out of the tank. After stopping I had to step through a steady stream of gasoline to remove my infant daughter from the middle row's driver's side seat. At this time I'm aware of no other damage sustained to the vehicle. Police and fire department responded to the scene, and the police report is available upon request. This incident appears to be consistent with events described in the recall 06V003000 for the 2005 Nissan murano, however to my knowledge it appears the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder has not been recalled for this issue. Currently I'm awaiting the final repair bill and determination if anything beyond the fuel tank was damaged. At this time the current repair planned is to have the fuel tank replaced. The old fuel tank is being kept in the event it is needed for insurance or safety inspection.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #60

Oct 202009


  • 77,000 miles


Sending unit fail 2nd time

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #59

Jun 132009


  • 60,000 miles
Beginning on or about the date referenced, the fuel gauge began to malfunction by showing incorrect fuel level and "distance to empty" readings. For instance, the gauge will read empty when the fuel tank has just been filled. It will also read full when the tank is nearly empty. This problem has persisted constantly to the present time. This malfunction also causes the "service engine soon" light to illuminate. The code associated with the ses light indicates a problem with the fuel level indicator. This malfunction constitutes a safety related defect which could cause the vehicle to run out of gas and stall in traffic, increasing the risk of a crash. In that regard, this defect is similar to the one addressed in NHTSA campaign number 10V-075 and should result in a product recall.

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #58

Jul 072009


  • 43,000 miles
I have a 2005 Pathfinder le. The fuel gauge is showing in-accurate reading even if there is no gas in the tank it still reads with a quarter of the tank which could lead to the vehicle running out of gas and stalling the vehicle in the middle of the highway as I use this vehicle on long trips with my family. There was a service bulletin ntb07-069B August 12, 2009 for Pathfinders including this model but the recall does not include the 2005 model which is odd that they will bypass the '05 and start the recall from model '06 till 08, where, there were a lot of fuel gauge complaints. This failure has been happening every fill up. And I have been filling up every 1/2 a tank.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #57

Mar 122010

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,136 miles
My 2005 Nissan Pathfinder has 58,136 miles and the gas gauge has started to malfunction. When filling up the tank, it takes driving the car for at least 30 miles before the gauge will move from empty and then the dte display never shows how many miles I have remaining and it show four dashes and sometimes 0. I am never sure of how much gas I actually have since the gauge is no longer accurate. This is a potential safety issue and I am concerned that they are recalling all models above the 2005 when we are having the same issue. Please help!

- Rahway , NJ, USA

problem #56

Feb 252010


  • 51,190 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact started the ignition. The engine warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The failure was contributed to the fuel level sending unit. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunction. The failure mileage was 51,190.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #55

Mar 082010


  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. After driving 45mph and then filling up the gas tank, the gauge went to empty and the check engine light and fuel empty light came on. The contact spoke with an authorized dealer who stated a fuel gauge sensor and delivery unit needed to be replaced, no repairs had been made at the time of the complaint. The failure is a recurring issue. The failure mileage was 66000. The current mileage was 66300.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #54

Jun 102009

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Nissan has a well known fuel gauge issue does which shows the tank as empty even with a full tank. My wife has twice run out of gas, once in a major intersection, called me crying. Thankfully a good samaritan came over and pushed her out of intersection. My 16 yr. Daughter is now driving this car and uses freeway daily, what happens when car stops at highway speeds and god forbid is involved in an accident because of this known issue. A 16 year old girl should not be subjected to this. Is Nissan going to admit responsibility if something terrible happened in this scenario? my issue is that this is now being recognized by Nissan and a recall is being initiated. Many 2005 models except the Pathfinder are going to be fixed free. They are only going to fix from 2006+ on the Pathfinder. There are numerous blogs on the internet that illustrate the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder owners are experiencing this exact problem. Are we suppose to spend $600 to fix what Nissan acknowledges as an issue and is fixing on most of their other models except the 2005 Pathfinder. This is ridiculous. Our Pathfinder is the 3rd Nissan we have owned. Previous models were xterra and titan truck.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #53

Nov 202009

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Fuel gauge reads full part of the time, empty part of the time and all in between. I have no way of knowing how much fuel I have in the tank. Nissan is recall ing the 2006 Pathfinders for this defect, but are not recalling the 2005 models with the same problem. I have contacted nissanusa and they have refused to repair my vehicel. The dealer did a diagnostic check and the problem is the fuel sending unit inside my gas tank.

- Newton, AL, USA

problem #52

Jun 102009


  • 60,000 miles
Gas gauge failure on 2005 Nissan Pathfinder--gas gauge stops working, or works erratically. Nissan has done a recall for 2006-2008 vehicles, but they have not included 2005 vehicles, which have the same problems.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #51

Mar 042010

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,297 miles
In January 2010 on 2005 Nissan Pathfinder the fuel distance to empty reader began showing inaccurate readings (ie. With full tank it would read 0 miles to empty, or with 1/4 tank left it would read as though tank was full). Service engine soon light would sporadically light-check showed for fuel sensor. Than without warning the gas gauge itself began to give false readings, same as above. Within several days lost all power on vehicle while driving on highway almost causing a crash. Repair facility states that vehicle was out of gas though gauge was registering more than 1/4 tank left. Further investigations shows this is a common problem with Nissan vehicles, but Nissan has failed to recall this safety issue.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #50

Dec 152009

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,400 miles
Fuel level sensor a input high recall for Nissan Pathfinder does not include the 2005 models and they have the same problem.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #49

Jan 072010

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
2005 Nissan Pathfinder fuel level sensor. Current Nissan recall for same problem does not cover 2005 model year. Fuel gauge reads inaccurate fuel levels may result in unknowingly running out of gas with the potential for bodily injury and property damage. Nothing replaced yet but the sensor is $600. Occurs once a week.

- Paxton, MA, USA

problem #48

Sep 142009

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder SE. I have had an issue with it and it could of been a safety issue. In June '09 the radiator had a cooling line that broke which has become a transmission problem. And anytime that a drivetrain is in issue it could cause a safety issue. I replaced the radiator for $600 and the transmission went out with violent stuttering and engaging in and out while in heavy traffic which could of caused a major accident especially at highway speeds. I have replaced the transmission with no help from Nissan. This is a major problem that has been documented by several hundred consumers all with the same problem. The total I spent was $3197.09 which should be reimbursed by Nissan Corp for this problem is well known by the yet no recall has been issued.

- Ceresco, MI, USA

problem #47

Feb 262010

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact was driving 30 mph when he noticed that the vehicle fuel sensor was not working. The fuel gauge indicated that the vehicle was empty; although, gasoline was added to the capacity. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the sensor at her expense although she had owned the vehicle for one month. The contact stated that the failure was directly related to an existing fuel sensor recall. The manufacturer was notified and stated that her VIN was not related to the recall. The failure mileage was 89000 and the current mileage was 90400. Updated 4/7/2010 updated 06/01/10.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?