Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 13 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #128

Apr 022013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 94,400 miles


Radiator failed coolant leaked into transmission. Transmission and radiator need to be replaced. Nissan is aware of this problem and never informed me of this issue. If I was made aware of the problem I would have had radiator replaced. There should have been a recall. I am sure more similar situations will continue to occur until there is an official recall. Who loses? the customer. This is unacceptable. Nissan needs to be held responsible.

- Valencia , CA, USA

problem #127

Mar 272013


  • 95,000 miles
Radiator failed causing transmission fluid to leak into radiator and vice versa (antifreeze into transmission). Car rumbles really bad and shifts hard. Had to replace radiator and flush transmission so about $600 for a problem that Nissan should fix.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #126

Mar 202013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
I was driving on the highway about 55 to 60 miles per hour and felt an intense vibration causing my car to start shaking as if I were on the rumble strips in the median. I drove the car to a mechanic and was told my radiator had leaked into my transmission destroying the torque converter. Nissan has refused to help me as well as I have been denied by an aftermarket warranty that Nissan persuaded me to purchase.

- Arnold , MD, USA

problem #125

Mar 142013


  • 106,000 miles


Started shuttering and not shifting right, found tran fluid in radiator, what's sad is im writing this in vain cause nothing will come of it, its sad that if they're had been more known before hand my wife wouldn't have bought it, instead she has 3.5 more years to pay for something that was intended to last atleast til she got it paid for, but now she is going to have to go to the bank and make another loan, and try to make two payments instead of one, to say the least im not happy with Nissan trying to keep this under the rug with the rest of the dirt.

- Coalmont, TN, USA

problem #124

Mar 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the transmission began to jerk continuously and the engine stalled without any warning. The vehicle resumed in a jerking motion once restarted. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The transmission internal seal was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000....updated 05/08/13 the consumer stated the vehicle reversed itself when not in reverse gear. The transmission and radiator were replaced. Updated 05/20/2013

- Ambler, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #123

Mar 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I have the 06 Pathfinder, there was a recall that I was not aware of, until I start searching after the car have accelerating issue that almost cause an accident multiple occasions, anyway I went to my dealership and they said Nissan only cover U to 100000 miles. Our is 15000 miles over, the problem was a defected radiator and that leak coolant into the transmission. It would cost us $7600 to repair it, and way over our budget. I start check online and there is a lot of complaints on this issues. Hope my complaints help us and many others that help same misfortune.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #122

Jan 092012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 83,349 miles


I have a Pathfinder 2006 with 110,000 miles on January 9, 2012 I take it to the dealership because it was shaking ones I drove over 60 mph the dealer did a multi- point vehicle inspection and they determined that everything was ok except from the four-wheel-drive chaff joint got excessive play and replace it for new one and yesterday March 7, 2013 I took my Pathfinder 2006 to royal palm Nissan and the service advisor [xxx]estate it that my car radiator is leaking coolant into the transmission and though that I had to replace it for a new ones and is going to cost me $6400 and he states that that's a common issue with the path finders so if it's a common issue and they do an extended warranties wish there are no good to no body how can they spect a costumer to pay 6400 for a part the they should recall I'm sure I'm not along on this issue and just hope the some busy like you guys can make them do the right thing and stand by their products to avoid any accidents with thousands of vehicles on the road thanks so much for reviewing this lines I appreciated and I hope to hear back from you guys thanks ever such lots. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dunnellon , FL, USA

problem #121

Dec 062012


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while driving between 45-55 mph, the front end of the vehicle vibrated excessively. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the failure could have been related to the transmission. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Mt Vernon, IN, USA

problem #120

Feb 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 126,203 miles
Observed milky puddle under radiator and thick milky pink fluid in radiator and overflow reservoir. Observed during the last 3000miles intermittent vibrations similar to hitting the "wake-up" strips on the side of a highway shoulder or washer-board road texture. Vibrations happened at various times between 1250 to 2250 RPM and 50 to 60mph. Tire balance was ruled out as a cause of vibration by mechanic. Dealer diagnosis verified cross contamination of the engine coolant and transmission fluid caused by an internal transmission cooler in the radiator split apart. A mechanic described the damage that would be caused to the transmission from the cross contamination would include severe corrosion. Transmission failure is imminent because of the severe leakage. Transmission failure is also sudden, because the vehicle was operable even with the presence of a leak. Repair of this condition requires replacement of the radiator and transmission and flushing the coolant system. I would not want to replace a faulty radiator with the same, but our mechanic verified that the Nissan replacement radiator has been be changed from the original part number. Therefore, Nissan has revised their radiator but not issued a recall. Nissan dealer quotes for repair was $9983.

- Tolleson, AZ, USA

problem #119

Dec 042012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 92,367 miles
I first noticed the transmission was not shifting smoothly and the RPM's were revving very high before a shift. I took it to get a transmission flush on 12/22/12.the fluid seemed to be speckled with a darker liquid. The flush seemed to do the trick, but just this week I noticed between 1000 and 1500 RPM at 25-35 mph the vehicle starts to violently jerk until I accelerate and change gears.

- Hillsdale, NJ, USA

problem #118

Jan 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles


2006 Nissan Pathfinder started having a violent vibration at around 50mph. Researched online and found numerous articles regarding this issue. All information I found indicated that the radiator fluid was leaking into the transmission through the coolent line. When I checked my radiator level, the coolent was low, which was one of the indicators that his was my problem. I took my vehicle to the dealership that I bought it from, less than a year ago with 75,000 miles, they tell me that the warrenty only covers vehicles with less that 80,000 miles. When I purchased the vehicle, there was no mention of the issue, only that the Pathfinder was a solid, certified pre-owned vihicle. Now I will have to pay $3,000 co-pay. Everything I have read, indicates that these issues rarely ever start before 80,000 miles. The fact that the industry is letting them get away with this is disgusting to me. I have a wife and two children riding around in a faulty vehicle with a well known issue I can't aford to fix.

- Bonaire , GA, USA

problem #117

Feb 252013


  • 101,000 miles
We took our 2006 Nissan Pathfinder into the local dealer and they told us that we have to change the transmission because the oil is mixing with the fluid in the radiator and transmission. Was estimated at $10,000 to repair.

- Barrigada, GU, USA

problem #116

Feb 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
This issue is related to NHTSA action number : DP12004 my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder started having transmission issues at roughly 96,000 miles on 2/1/2013. While driving, the car will sometimes shake and rumble when traveling between 40-55 mph. The car has progressively gotten worse in the 2 weeks that the problem started happening. I took my Nissan for repair at berlin city Nissan in portland, Maine on 2/19/2013 and they stated that the problem is a known issue. The known issue was a design flaw with how the radiator and transmission are integrated together. In summary when there is a cracked atf line in the vehicle, that engine coolant will run through the transmission ultimately causing permanent damage and requiring that the radiator and transmission be replaced. The quote I got today to get the items repaired is $6,700. Nissan is aware of this issue and rather than having a recall they increased the warranty duration to 80K miles. From reading on-line, it appears that most people that have had this issue (like me), experience this problem after 80K miles. Therefore, Nissan does not have to pay for the repair. From reading on-line and talking with the Nissan service staff, the problem with my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder is only going to get worse and ultimately present a driving hazard. I need to make a decision soon whether to make the costly repair or get a new vehicle. I am concerned about the car failing putting myself and my passengers at risk.

- Falmouth, ME, USA

problem #115

Feb 182013


  • miles
Traveling at approximately 40mph. Noticed that car shuddered when I accelerated, but then it stopped as I sped up. Service engine soon light came on and car lost power while I was driving in high traffic. Nearly rearended by the vehicle behind me. Cars has to swerve to miss hitting me. The rpms were high when I applied the accelerator, but the car would only go about 10 mph. Took car to mechanic nearby. Was told there was a problem with the transmission and the car was dangerous to drive. Advised to have the car moved to a local transmission business for further inspection. Received a class action lawsuit notice against Nissan for the very make and model SUV I own. At the time, I had no problems. I have maintained the vehicle well. This very costly transmission problem came on suddenly with no warnings, which I read is typical of this Nissan defect. I believe that these cars should be recalled and all expenses paid for by Nissan as they were aware of the defective radiators. Not only are the costs to their consumers unacceptable ($6,000 repair on a vehicle with little over 100,000K miles), but they are putting people's lives at risk with this defect.

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #114

Feb 042013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
The radiator coolant has leaked into the transmission which has destroyed the transmission.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #113

Feb 162013


  • 166,000 miles
Driving car starts hard shifting up and down.I don't think I would have made it home if I wasn't so close. After a little online research I check radiator and see that transmission fluid is intermixing with radiator fluid. The worse part is Nissan new this was a problem and hasn't done a recall. I bought this car from a Nissan dealers preowned with 86,000 in 2009. To me they new it was a problem and still sold me a car in which I have little recourse, but to fix myself.

- Lake Worth, TX, USA

problem #112

Dec 232012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 138,131 miles
I noticed my radiator reservoir was getting low, so I filled again, a week passed and the same thing, I told my brother in law who have some mechanical knowledge and we both check the reservoir unit, and then the radiator cap, and for my sad surprise, there were a oily brown residue, which means that my truck had mixed transmission fluid and anti-coolant, wow what a downside !!! now the cost to repair it is around $3000+ dollars and of course I changed the radiator already, due to the fact of that part being defective, and of course after that happened I received a letter from Nissan extending the warranty of the radiator, only if I had less than 80K miles on my truck, so guess what? I am not covered but that warranty !!!! because I have more than 130K anyways, 2 weeks ago I received a class action settlement against Nissan !!!!! yeah !!!

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #111

Feb 072013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Driving on the highway last evening my transmission just blew out. The RPM's went high and I was thrown into first or second gear in an automatic vehicle. I had to weave to get off to the side of the road and out of traffic. It was a huge safety concern for me and my children. There was no warning. I have called Nissan this morning and I am being told there is nothing they can do. There are reports, class action law suits, and other complaints all over the internet on the exact issue (radiator fluid is leaking into transmission and causing it failure) and nothing is being addressed by Nissan. Does someone have to die before this is handled"? horrible business on their part. I know have a truck that should be worth $10,000-12,000 that has a $6,000 fix because of a factory defect and it is my problem?" this is unbelievable....

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #110

Dec 212012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 98,758 miles
Recently I noticed that the vehicle vibrates/shutters at certain speeds causing difficulty with acceleration. I took it to my mechanic and the mechanic told me that after some research he discovered there is a known defect with the radiator/transmission and that I should take it to the dealer. I brought it to the dealer and they informed me that I was 2000 miles over the 100,000 mile extended power train warranty and that I was not eligible for the replacements under warranty (which would have cost me $3,000?). instead if I want the radiator and transmission replaced I would have to pay $7,000-$8,000 which I find very unethical because as a pregnant mother driving around 2 small children this vehicle is unsafe for my family to drive in it's current condition. Nissan should recall the defective parts and replace at no cost to the customers, considering the part was defective when built and the consumers were never notified of the potential issues.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #109

Feb 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 107,710 miles
I was driving down the highway during rush when all of a sudden my car wouldn't go over 45mph and the RPM went up to 6-7 RPM's as my transmission slipped. I was able to pull my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder over to the median, but it was too dangerous to exit and check the engine because of the rush hour traffic driving in excess of 65-70mph. I was able to get the truck towed to coggin Nissan in jacksonville, fl at my expense. The dealership stated that the transmission cooler line ruptured inside of the radiator allowing coolant and transmission fluid to mix and cross contaminate. They suggested I get a new radiator and transmission. The same dealership sold me the truck and a warranty by fidelity warranty services. The warranty company that is a subsidiary company of the dealership owed by South East Toyota (set) denied my claim saying to root of the problem was the radiator. Felt like this is a conflict of interest since set owns the warranty company, which would be like asking your boss to pay for something. Contacted Nissan and haven't heard back. All Nissan offered was info on the class action lawsuit which didn't help since this failure in their engineering of the vehicle didn't occur until after 107,710 miles was put on my vehicle. I bought the vehicle with only 93,844 miles on it, and have only had it for a year and a half. I still owe $10,000 and the dealership, warranty company, and Nissan have all failed to help fix a known manufacturer defect in the engineering design. I thank god that my pregnant wife was not in the truck with me at the time and we were hit. Nissan should take responsibility for their decisions and recall and fix this. All this is doing is causing loyal customers to leave Nissan, coggin Toyota at the avenues, and fidelity warranty services and expose them and their crooked actions.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?