Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Xterra appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

The same defect exists in the Pathfinder & Frontier as well. And according to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
103,987 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Xterra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Xterra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Xterra Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jan 222013

Xterra

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that as the engine was started, there was a knocking sound coming from the engine area. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #16

Sep 082012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
On September 8th, 2012, I got back from a 20 minute trip and was pulling into my driveway when my Xterra would not move. Transmission fluid was leaking all over my driveway. I had it towed to a service center where they estimated the cost to be between $2,500 and $2,800. When they realized the transmission and radiator had to be replaced the repair bill would have been much higher but they kept their promise and the final bill was $2,856. I am thankful that this did not occur on the highway. I should not have to pay for a defect that is not my fault and that is a possible safety hazard.

- Hummelstown, PA, USA

problem #15

Dec 212012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Just started moving after stopping at a light, and the engine stalled. Would not restart immediately, but when it finally restarted it was missing. Every time I have driven this car since then it has stalled, usually but not always after I have stopped or slowed to make a turn. I took it to the dealer this week (1/5/2013) and was told the problem is the transmission and radiator. The transmission is leaking fluid into the radiator and they both need to be replaced. I was told about the extended warranty and the $3000 co-pay. I have to fix the car but I don't know where I'm going to get $3000. I don't understand why Nissan didn't recall the part that fails which allows the fluid to leak into the radiator. That would have saved hundreds of people and Nissan a lot of trouble and expense. There shouldn't be any co-pay since Nissan could have prevented this.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 022012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 98,240 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Radiator leak, heater temp dropping, rough gear vibration from transmission.

- Buckley, WA, USA

problem #13

Oct 302012

Xterra

  • 127,607 miles
While driving on the 73N freeway in orange county, my car started shuddering. The temp gauge was ta the max so I pulled over. I was towed in to a Nissan dealership where the master mechanic told me that the problem was caused by the transmission cooler in the radiator failing causing radiator fluid and transmission fluid to mix rendering both inoperable. He also told me that this is a growing problem with Nissan and he has personally seen many such cases. He said that Nissan is using defective radiators which is the main cause of this.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 302012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Vehicle started making a jerking while shifting into moderate speed of 65 or lower. Vehicle was taken to a transmission repair shop where the technitian informed me that there was transmission oil in the radiator, causing the proper engaging of gears. Extended warranty is expired and the extended warranty of the radiator issue is also expired. Nissan was made aware of the malfunction and denied assistance unless I wanted to pay out of pocket. Transmission repair shop offered to fix problem at a cost of $5000! car is still being paid for until 2015!

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #11

Oct 012011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the Nissan Xterra brand new in April 2005. My Xterra began to have minor issues since buying it, (bad battery, fuel sending unit, oil pressure gauge, defective radio). As of October 2011 the catalytic converters went bad causing my "service engine" light to come on. My local Nissan service center will not offer any help with the issue. Their cost to replace the converters exceeds $1800. Now I'm facing a new major issue with the transmission. My Xterra only has 120,000 mile and the transmission needs to be replaced. I've been reading a lot of reviews from fellow Nissan Xterra owners facing the same extremely expensive issue as I am at this moment. I'm hoping that Nissan will soon offer a recall for these issues. I've had several quotes on having both issues repaired and the cost exceeds $5000. Again Nissan will not offer any help with the parts or labor. I think this is a issue that is effecting a lot of Nissan owners and something needs to be done to correct these issues.

- Greenwood, SC, USA

problem #10

Oct 252012

Xterra

  • 84,000 miles
Two years ago my 2005 Nissan Xterra began rattling, shaking and not heating when idling. I took it for diagnostics at my mechanic he thought it may be a U joint or tire problem. Recently, this problem is getting worse. I took it to the dealer after searching the Nissan website which has recently posted an extension of the radiator/transmission warranty due to the many reported problems of radiator fluid leaking into the transmission and destroying the transmission. My Xterra has 84000 miles on it. I was just told by Nissan that they will rebuild the transmission due to the defective manufacturing, however I must pay a co pay of $2500 dollars since I am over the 80,000 miles. This is ridiculous. They say it is dangerous for me to driver if I don't pay to replace it. Why isn't this a recall item " how can anyone justify not recalling a defective radiator/transmission on a car with less that 100,000 miles on it " this must be stopped. Nissan must be forced to make right the defective engineering used in it's automobiles. The customer who paid full price for a new car should not have to bear any of the cost for this defective and dangerous workmanship.

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

problem #9

Jul 042012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • miles
Radiator coolant leaked into transmission causing overheating. Replaced radiator $1200 now required to replace transmission for $3510 parts, $1450 labor, and $100 fluid at tischer Nissan laurel Maryland. Transmission feels like riding over rumble strips.

- Elkridge , MD, USA

problem #8

Sep 032012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Nissan is well-aware of a design flaw that allows radiator fluid to cross-contaminate transmission fluid. They jokingly (at least their dealers) refer to it as a "strawberry milkshake". the antifreeze degrades transmission parts and causes transmission failure. A quick web search shows over 300 such cases.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #7

Aug 142012

Xterra

  • 104,324 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Xterra. While parked, the contact attempted to start the vehicle but the engine would not start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostics. The technician stated that the radiator and transmission would have to be replaced due to coolant from the radiator leaking into the transmission, causing an electrical shortage. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number: DP12004 (power train:automatic transmission:cooling unit and lines power train:automatic transmission:torque converter power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) that could have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 104,324.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #6

Jul 162012

Xterra

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving my car after a long trip, I had about a quarter tank left. I parked my car and when I returned to use it to run an errand I began to drive. My gas tank needle went all the way to below empty then my check engine light turned on as well. I have looked up this issue and found out there were multiple complaints about the exact same thing that happened to me. This is a Nissan issue that should not be taken out of pocket from the consumer. Especially since there is a long history regarding this exact same problem.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 102012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Transmission cooler leaked into radiator, fouled cooling system with transmission fluid, also fouled transmission with coolant. This caused vibration in the transmission, loss of acceleration, check engine light was activated for a clutch solenoid switch, and unknown possible damage to the transmission.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #4

Mar 072012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Transmission failed to shift and made loud noises while driving. Caused the car to shake but did not lose control. Failed part in radiator allowed antifreeze into transmission and transmission fluid into radiator. Complete failure of radiator and transmission could have occurred on highway at speed. Know issue from Nissan who did nothing to communicate to vehicle owners on risks or precautions to take as well as no ownership for fixing this.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #3

Jun 152012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 128,345 miles
First incident occurred in April 2011 - while driving the transmission began to fail and would not shift. I had to have the vehicle towed because it would not drive faster than about 15-20 mph. The Nissan dealership diagnosed the problem as "internal fault in valve body" and replaced the valve body. This incident cost me $1568 and a week without a vehicle; went in to dealership on 4/20 and I picked it up on 4/27. Second incident occurred in June 2012 - while driving with my kids in the vehicle, on a busy street, the transmission began to fail again and would not shift. Once again, the vehicle would not drive faster than about 20 mph. This time I had the vehicle towed to a local transmission repair shop. The diagnosis was "fluid is full, but is black and burnt, dipstick for the trans is crusty looking..." the transmission shop rebuilt the transmission and replaced all faulty parts, including the valve body. This incident cost me $3865 and eleven days without a vehicle; went in to transmission shop on 6/15 and I picked it up on 6/26. In fourteen months, I have had transmission failure and have had to replace the valve body each time, a very expensive part. It is simply unacceptable that the manufacturer patches the vehicle, instead of fixing it, not to mention charges the owner for their defect.

- Whitehouse, TX, USA

problem #2

Apr 202012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 114,423 miles
First incident occurred in April 2011 - while driving the transmission began to fail and would not shift. I had to have the vehicle towed because it would not drive faster than about 15-20 mph. The Nissan dealership diagnosed the problem as "internal fault in valve body" and replaced the valve body. This incident cost me $1568 and a week without a vehicle; went in to dealership on 4/20 and I picked it up on 4/27. Second incident occurred in June 2012 - while driving with my kids in the vehicle, on a busy street, the transmission began to fail again and would not shift. Once again, the vehicle would not drive faster than about 20 mph. This time I had the vehicle towed to a local transmission repair shop. The diagnosis was "fluid is full, but is black and burnt, dipstick for the trans is crusty looking..." the transmission shop rebuilt the transmission and replaced all faulty parts, including the valve body. This incident cost me $3865 and eleven days without a vehicle; went in to transmission shop on 6/15 and I picked it up on 6/26. In fourteen months, I have had transmission failure and have had to replace the valve body each time, a very expensive part. It is simply unacceptable that the manufacturer patches the vehicle, instead of fixing it, not to mention charges the owner for their defect.

- Whitehouse, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 112012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Vehicle fuel gauge is reporting wrong information, shows empty when full and a half tank when empty. Service engine soon light stays on. Very dangerous barely made it to gas station.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?