Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Xterra appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

The same defect exists in the Pathfinder & Frontier as well. And according to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,270 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Xterra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Xterra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Xterra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Aug 072013

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000: Nissan is recalling certain model year 2006 and model year 2008 frontier, Xterra and pathfinder vehicles. The molded fuel tank shells can deform, causing the fuel sender float arm to contact an embossment molded into the tank shell causing the instrument panel fuel gauge to show that the vehicle has approximately one quarter tank when the fuel tank is empty. This could cause the vehicle to run out of gas and stall in traffic, increasing the risk of a crash. My vehicle was denied coverage because the VIN was not in the recall batch. An authorized Nissan dealer diagnosed and fixed the issue. Nissan America reviewed the issue and still denied coverage not because the failure was legitimate but rather because of the VIN technicality. Vehicles in my VIN lot need to be added to this safety recall.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

problem #37

Jul 162012

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
My fuel gauge shows the wrong fuel level and the engine light comes on indicating a fault with the fuel sending unit. I thought my vehicle would be part of the recall id # 10V075000 - fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank. I called Nissan and gave them my VIN. They informed me that my vehicle is not part of the recall. I have the exact problem addressed in the recall. Same make, model and year.

- Silverton, OH, USA

problem #36

Aug 032011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I noticed last summer that when I gassed my Nissan Xterra up that the gas gauge would not show it being full and after visiting my local Nissan dealership it was diagnosed that it was a faulty fuel sensor error code P0463 and since I had over 75,000 miles on my Xterra at the time Nissan would not pay to repair it and that I had the option to pay for the repair myself which is well over 300 hundred dollars. I was also told by the dealership this was a known defect for 2005 and 2006 Xterra pathfinders etc. I have since found out that there was a NHTSA campaign recall on this id # 10V075000. I have since looked this up and found that this only covered Xterras with certain vins and I'm not sure if my Xterra is one of these vins. I also found it only covered it up to 75,000 miles which of course doesn't help me since the fuel sensor broke after 75,000 miles. This has been a very annoying problem for me for the last year and although I haven't run out of gas yet I've been close and I'm sure its only a matter of time before it will and then it will a safety issue for me.I recently contacted Nissan and talked to one of their representatives [xxx] at 1-800-343-6913 ext [xxx] and was told because I have over 105,000 miles on my Xterra now that Nissan would not pay to have it fixed and it was my problem.I feel that this a very known defect that Nissan knows about and has only halfway tried to resolve ie only covers Xterras with certain vins and up to 75,000 miles which shouldn't matter.it still is a defective part that I don't consider a wear and tear part and mileage vins shouldn't matter. I think Nissan should pay to have the fuel sensor fixed and mileage vins shouldn't matter they need to stand behind their products and correct their mistakes as this is a potential safety issue.I would appreciate any help in getting this issue resolved thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #35

Jan 042011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our fuel sensory went out on our Nissan Xterra shortly before we reached 100000 miles. Nissan is aware of the problem and sent a letter out for a warranty only. However, the warranty included 2006 Nissan Xterras with less than 72000 miles on them. When I did research I found that over 80000 2006 Nissan Xterras were affected by this. I contacted Nissan usa to have them resolve the issue of the fuel tank sensor and indicated I would like the defect fixed. They refused to fix it and indicated it would cost me a little over $400 to fix. I asked them for financial assistance since I do not have this to pay for the repair on top of my $433 a month a car payment. I recently had a baby and never know when my car is empty. The sensor no longer reads fuel levels and is constantly showing empty. I was up for emissions testing this year and can not pass emissions until the sensor has been replaced. I believe since this is such a wide spread issue that Nissan should recall the part. Just this week my vehicle ran out of gas according to my speedometer I had 100 miles left on the tank it misread and I was stuck with my screaming 5 month old on the side on the road at night waiting for aaa to arrive. This wide spread problem needs to be addressed by Nissan and not just shoved to the side. Way to many vehicles are affected for this to remain a warranty issue only!!!!! I have see the stats listed here on NHTSA. Campaign id # 10V075000.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #34

May 012011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that the vehicle was being inspected by an independent repair shop when he was informed that the service engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact was also informed that the fuel level sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank). The failure and current mileage was 125,000. Updated 07/08/11 the consumer stated there was rubbing sound coming from the vehicle. At diagnostic test revealed a component in the fuel system need to be replaced. The mechanic advised the consumer to take the vehicle to the dealer for repairs because a recall had been issued. The dealer informed the consumer his VIN was not included in the recall. Updated 07/20/11

- Round Rock, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Feb 062011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 82,500 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra recall id from NHTSA: 10V075000 they said it doesn't apply to my car!" it's on a recall list for my model but they said my VIN is not in there system" wth is going on with Nissan and my VIN not being in their system for a recall. Issue came up engine light on with code P0463, which is what the recall is for.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #32

Jan 132010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Nissan Xterra. Consumer writes regarding recall and requesting reimbursement. The consumer stated the vehicle had a random hard start and the check engine light illuminated. Also, the gas gauge was not working. The mechanic replaced the fuel sensor.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #31

Oct 152010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that the check engine light would illuminate on the instrumental panel intermittently. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed the contact that he would need to replace the fuel sending unit. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 05/03/11 updated 05/05/11

- Hillsdale, NY, USA

problem #30

Jun 012010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,189 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph when the check engine warning light illuminated. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they informed the contact that the fuel level sending unit would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired at the contact's expense. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank) however, the contact's VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 29,189. Updated 12/23/10. 04/07/11

- Middle Village, NY, USA

problem #29

Dec 152009

Xterra

  • 53,188 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. Upon starting the vehicle the fuel gauge would display an improper reading. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where she was informed the fuel pump sending unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified and she was informed her vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000, fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxillary tank. The failure had not recurred. The failure mileage was 53,188 and the current mileage was 63,000.

- Tampa, FM, USA

problem #28

Mar 152010

Xterra

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The fuel level sending unit inside the fuel tank has fail. The fuel gauge does not accurately show the level of fuel that was left in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that they can repair the vehicle at the contact's expense. There was a recall NHTSA# 10V075000; component: Fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary but her VIN was not included in the recall. At 32,000 miles the clutch failed on the highway when driving 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was repaired at a cost of $1500. The manufacturer also stated her VIN was not included in the recall and they will not cover the repairs of both failures. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #27

Aug 052010

Xterra

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. After adding fuel to the vehicle while it was parked he noticed that the fuel gauge did not move. He stated that most of the time after adding fuel the fuel gauge stayed on empty. He referenced recall 10V075000, fuel system, gasoline:storage:auxiliary tank. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and he was advised that his vehicle was not part of the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had to set his trip mileage counter in order to avoid running out of gasoline. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000 and the current mileage was 66,500.

- Pasenda, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012010

Xterra 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra, gas gauge showing 1/4 tank when it is empty.

- Rural Retreat, VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 102010

Xterra

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact started the ignition after dispensing fuel into the fuel tank, and observed that the fuel gauge displayed an inaccurate reading with the service engine warning light illumination. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician advised that the fuel gauge would need to be replaced. The part was unavailable at the time of the diagnosis. There was a recall under the NHTSA campaign id number 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxiliary tank); however, the contact's VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was left with the dealer where the contact was awaiting repairs. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #24

Aug 102010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 42,531 miles
2006 Nissan Xterra. Consumer states fuel gauge failed to work the consumer stated the failure occurred because of a faulty fuel level sender. Also, the serpentine belt was replaced. Recently, the consumer had to replace the timing chains on the vehicle. The replacement was required, because of the premature failure of the tensioners that held the timing chain in place. The consumer stated it was obvious, the premature failure of the adjusters were caused by wear and cracks on the parts. Updated 06/10/13

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #23

Jul 202010

Xterra

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated the check engine warning light illuminated. The dealer advised that the fuel sending unit had failed. Although there was a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000- fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary tank) the contact's VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Manasass, VA, USA

problem #22

Jun 202009

Xterra

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated the vehicle stalled twice as a result of the fuel level gauge reading inaccurate gasoline fuel levels. The contact inquired with the manufacturer in regards to NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary tank) but was told his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #21

Jul 282010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated the fuel level gauge would read inaccurate fuel levels. The vehicle would read the fuel tank as empty when it was full. The contact was able to locate a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 component: Fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxillary tank) but was informed by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 33,000. Updated 11/16/10

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #20

Jul 292010

Xterra

  • 33,000 miles
I fill my gas tank, the gauge falls to the bottom and the light comes on, then shortly the check engine soon light comes on it seems like there is a recall but only to a range of VIN's and unfortunately my car is not in this range. The NHTSA campaign id number is 10V075000. The symptoms are exactly the same as described in this camp. Id number.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #19

Mar 152010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Nissan Xterra. When the contact added gasoline to the fuel tank, the fuel gauge displayed that it was empty. When there was a quarter tank of fuel in the vehicle, the fuel gauge stopped working; therefore, she didn't know if the fuel tank was empty or full. She also noticed that the miles driven on the instrument panel displayed zero; however, when the vehicle was actually driven 50 miles the computer reset itself, and the fuel gauge also functioned normally. The manufacturer was contacted. The manufacturer stated that the VIN wasn't included in recall 10V075000 fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Auxiliary. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 53,000. Updated 09/07/10. Updated 09/14/10

- Brookfield, WI, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?