Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005-2007 Xterra appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

The same defect exists in the Pathfinder & Frontier as well. And according to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,360 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Xterra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Xterra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Xterra Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #92

Mar 042011

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 67,247 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Got "check engine light" error code P0463 which is failed fuel sensor previous generation of Nissan Xterras were recalled for this issue. Repair is ~$600. Vehicle has 67,000 miles. Level sensor now reads unreliably which is a hazard in the winter. Supposedly, the current generation of Xterras have the same issue but there is no recall. Nissan needs to stand behind their vehicles and take care of this issue with a real fix for this issue.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #91

Jan 062011

Xterra

  • 93,348 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Xterra. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the fuel pump would need to be replaced. The fuel pump was replaced. The contact was then told that the vehicle was also running roughly and the intelligent power distribution module was replaced. The failure did not recur. The failure mileage was 93,348 and the current mileage was 94,800. Updated 03/15/11 updated 1/5/12

- Chino Valley, AZ, USA

problem #90

Oct 172008

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
My 2007 Nissan Xterra has an intermittent problem with the fuel sending unit not registering the correct fuel levels as well as the empty light staying on after a fill up of the tank. After filling up the tank the gas gauge sticks on empty and then after an undetermined amount of time it starts to fluctuate to different points in the full range of the gauge. This has happened several times in the last two years. The consequences could have included running out of gas due to incorrect fuel level reporting by the fuel gauge and stalling in traffic. There is a safety recall for the same model vehicle in prior and later years for the same issue, but Nissan refuses to address and correct the entire safety issue. At this point in time the vehicle in question has not been repaired to correct the problem.

- Taylor, UT, USA

problem #89

Aug 252010

Xterra

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Nissan 2007 Xterra has been experiencing problems with the fuel gauge. I first noticed in late August of 2010 my service E gine soon light (ses) come on and it was not until a few weeks later I took in my car and was told my fuel gauge was not working properly. I have been now doing research and have just learned that many others are experiencing the same problem as I am. My gauge will mark empty after I have filled up my tank and show a full tank at about 50 miles after I have filled up the tank. My gauge will also go on E when it is at 1/4 of a tank and even at a half tank never knowing exactly how much gas is in the tank. I also read online that the 2007 Xterras have a recall on the fuel system and I believe they should be replaced to anyone who is experiencing this problem free of charge. This is a serious matter and could end in accidents and possible deaths. Lets see if this happens and we all get it replaced as I also found this information online from a website. Dealers will replace the fuel level sending unit inside the fuel tank with a new one that has a modified float arm. This service will be performed free of charge. The safety recall is expected to begin on or before March 22, 2010.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #88

Dec 012008

Xterra

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Xterra. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph when the vehicle stalled due to having no fuel. The contact stated that the fuel level gauge displayed that the fuel tank was half full. The vehicle was not inspected for the failure. The manufacture was contacted and stated the vehicle was not covered by the warranty and the contact would have to pay for the cost of repairs. The contact later received an extended warranty notification from the manufacturer for vehicles under 72,000 miles that had experienced the fuel tank failure however, the contacts vehicle was over the mileage at the time of notification. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Desert Hot Springs, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #87

Dec 192010

Xterra

  • 57,000 miles
I own a 2007 Nissan Xterra it has 76,000 miles on it. The fuel level sending unit does not work properly. When I have 1/4, 1/2 tank of gas, sometimes 3/4 tank of gas the gauge drops to empty and the service engine lite comes on. This problem started at around 56,000 mi. I have read on line that his is an ongoing problem with the Xterra dating back to 2003. Should this not have been a recall by Nissan? fixed 2006 and 2008. With the amount of complaints, I think Nissan should step up to the plate and correct the expensive deficiency. I don't understand how they can fix a later model.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #86

Dec 052010

Xterra

  • 42,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge failed to register after a fill-up - showed empty, check engine light came on shortly afterwards.

- Kelowna, 00, USA

problem #85

Nov 192010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 19,100 miles
Fuel gauge reads zero after filling up and low fuel warning light is on. Also service engine soon warning light is on. Odb code 0463.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #84

Oct 202010

Xterra 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
The "check engine" light on my Xterra came on while driving. Borrowing an autopart stores computer, I found out my engine was showing error code P0463. After a little research I discovered that it meant my fuel level sensor was malfunctioning and that, while no real threat to my safety was posed other than possibly running out of gas by surprise, it seems this is a very common problem with Xterras and pathfinders.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #83

Apr 012010

Xterra

  • 38,000 miles
When gas tank gets to 1/4 mark the gas tank empty light comes on the the gas gauge stops working. Shortly after the check engine light comes on. The same thing happens when I fill my gas tank up when it is at a 1/2 tank. The gas gauge drops to empty, the gas tank empty light comes on and then the check engine light. There is a recall out from Nissan for 2006 and 2008 Xterras for the same problem. For some reason Nissan skipped their 2007 Xterra model on this recall.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #82

Sep 302010

Xterra

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Nissan Xterra (47,000miles) just stopped (no power when gas pedal is depressed) while on the freeway during a busy time... I had to try to get to the shoulder and was very dangerous. Luckily the cars around me were paying attention and a huge accident was avoided. After researching this on the net, apparently this is common with this vehicle and previous models(which were issued recalls). The fuel sending unit apparently has an issue where it stops sending fuel through to the engine, without any warning or notice....this is life threatening and unacceptable.. this needs to be taken care of before people die at the hands of a faulty 20 dollar part. Please please forward this or add it to the many other complaints I hope are listed... and thank you.. so far I have accumulated towing bills, rental car bills, and now have to wait for the weekday until Nissan can "talk" to someone in the tech dept.. the dealerships need to be made aware of this issue and the owners need to be contacted immediately...

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #81

Sep 202010

Xterra

  • 55,000 miles
I had 1/4 of a tank of gas and went to fill up. After filling up my gas tank, I turned on the car, at which point the needle did not register the full tank. After driving a couple miles, the check engine light came on. I went directly to the dealer and was told that it was a fuel sending unit/sensor and that it was no longer covered after 30K miles. After returning home and doing research, I went online to X.nissanhelp.com after performing a search, I came across many others who have experienced the same problem. Apparently it has something to do with the fuel sending unit. A similar problem was found on the 2000-2004 Xterra models and a recall was performed when the vehicle would stop after not getting any fuel, posing a great danger. It seems that something in the unit is faulty and will corrode over time. There is a general consensus that everyone who is having the problem is experiencing the same thing after having the vehicle for over 2 yrs and with around 39K-49K. If this problem existed in previous models, and it was recalled, the 2005-2007 Xterras, frontiers, and pathfinders should get this fixed at no charge to the customer!! cost of repair is $490.

- Wilton, NY, USA

problem #80

Sep 192010

Xterra

  • 40,460 miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Xterra with 40,000 miles on it. The vehicle is 3 years old and my fuel level sending unit went bad. Nissan has had a recall on the 2001 to 2003 Xterra for the fuel level sending unit and recently another recall for the same problem; fuel level sending unit for 2006 Xterra. I see that this is an on-going problem and Nissan needs to include the 2007 and possibly even the 2008 and 2009. This is unacceptable for a 3 year old vehicle part to go bad. I was stranded for about 2 hours until my husband could reach me and this is a safety issue with running out of fuel when your gauge is wrong. The "service engine soon" light came on after we ran out of gas. I took the vehicle in to the dealership and it was diagnosed as the fuel level sending unit was bad due to internal short.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #79

Sep 102010

Xterra

  • 36,250 miles
2007 Nissan Xterra fuel sending unit failed to show fuel being used in the gas tank. Gauge stayed at half full for a couple of days then service engine soon light came on and gauge went to empty. I cant tell how much fuel is in the tank, I cant get an inspection sticker and the vehicle is out of warrenty. The problem has not been repaired yet because it will cost me at least $400.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #78

Mar 102009

Xterra

  • 54,000 miles
1. no events leading to the failure but just driving 2. the failure is the check engine light came on and then a few days later the gas gauge started messing up; when it gets to 1/2 a tank it drops to empty and when filling up the gas tank it takes a day or so before the gas gauge reads full again; a consequence is I have ran out of gas do to this situation since the gas gauge does not function right 3. to fix the problem the vehicle needs a new fuel leveling/sending unit; it is a Nissan Xterra 2007 but production year of 2006 and was told by Nissan that the truck's VIN did not come up for the recall they have going on for production year of 2006 and 2008 Xterras although the symptoms of my issue is exactly the symptoms of the recall and that the truck falls into the production year of the recall years. Problem has not been fixed at all, and I am not paying out of pocket for an issue that is common with the Nissan Xterras hence the recalls.

- Osteen, FL, USA

problem #77

Sep 012010

Xterra

  • 56,700 miles
Defective fuel sending unit; gas gauge unreliable; "service engine soon" light on.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #76

Jul 222008

Xterra

  • miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Xterra the fuel gage whent haywire. I took it to a Nissan dealer and they told me it would be $600 to repair. This is bull seems a lot of Xterras are having the same problem and Nissan will do nothing about it. There should be a recall.

- Bennett, CO, USA

problem #75

Jun 012010

Xterra

  • 60,000 miles
2007 Nissan Xterra - fuel level sending unit failure - causing fuel gauge to fail with possibility of running out of gas in traffic situation - there is a recall 10V-075 however it is for Xterras 2006 and 2008 excluding 2007's for whatever reason - therefore not recalled by Nissan. Would love to know why... 2007 having the exact same problems would be excluded from this recall.

- Commerce City, CO, USA

problem #74

Aug 112010

Xterra

  • 44,000 miles
The instrument panel fuel gauge shows that the vehicle has approximately one quarter tank when the fuel tank is empty. Dealership to replace deformed molded fuel tank and the fuel sending unit. 2007 model is not covered by existing recall (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 - 06 & 08 only).

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #73

Feb 142010

Xterra

  • 40,000 miles
My fuel gauge doesn't work at all. It reads that I have anywhere from a half of tank to quarter tank when its really empty. Check engine light always on.

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?