Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling: Cooling System Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,026 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 222011

Grand Am

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Coolant level was going down on car and light was coming on, took car for checkup and intake gasket cracked and coolant mixed with oil, had gasket repaired, but while driving gasket blew again and powersteering functions of car did not work and coolant leaked all over ground, hard to control car and since in traffic almost was in accident < Pontiac knows about issues with Pontiac garnd am SE 2001 and also with signal turn problem since signals stop working, now car needs new motor since gasket replaced about 3 times and each time it blew after taking out of repair shop and while driving.when someone is hurt is that what they are waiting for so that thes cars will be recalled?

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 172009

Grand Am

  • 150,000 miles
Recall number: 03V327000 dates manufactured: Mar 2000 to May 2001 number of vehicles affected: 670740 date owners notified on: Feb 2004 certain passenger vehicles have hazard warning switches that may experience solder joint cracking caused by rapid temperature transitions and the soldering process. If solder joint cracking occurs and results in an open circuit, the turn signals/hazard lamps become intermittent or inoperative. I tried calling Pontiac today and they refused to inspect my car free of charge. The also tell me that this is not a valid recall number. I have seval issues with my car. I have paid several thousands of dollars on this car.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 272008

Grand Am

  • 17,373 miles
Problem: Intake manifold gasket failure and passlock system malfunction descr: Purchased car in 1/01, documented leak of coolant in Nov. '01. Nothing could be found. In 2003, after I told them where the leak was coming from, they found the problem and replaced the gasket. This is a safety issue for me because I was a divorced mother with a small child who drives almost 300 miles each week to work and back. After some arguing the dealer covered the cost, except for a 200 deductible. In January 2007, the same thing happened again - this time costing me $900. The next safety issue is the passlock system on the car. The latest stranding occurred on Wednesday, August 27, 2008. I have been "stranded" three or four times because the car would crank but would not turn over. Two or three times, the car has had to be towed to the dealership. I bought this car, my first new car, because I needed something reliable. Everytime the car has broken down, I have missed time from work, have had to pay several times to have the car towed (thankfully insurance has covered some of that) and had to pay for repairs.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #10

May 082006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,612 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We had an intake manifold leak on our 2001 Grand Am. The car had less tan 75,000 miles on it. When we got it back it had a cracked intake manifold and coolant in the oil. Since that time it has been in another dealers shop and not fixed.

- Green River, WY, USA

problem #9

Feb 162007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
During a routine oil change, it was found that coolent was leaking into the oil. The cause was found to be a cracked lower intake manifold gasket. As a result, I am forced to pay $800 to have the gasket replaced. My car only has 32,000 miles on it. There are so many people out there with the same problem. GM needs to be forced to correct an error that they are obviously aware of but refuse to correct. There are too many reports of this happening on GM vehicles for it to be a coincidence.

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #8

Jun 062006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,848 miles
Service engine soon light and coolant light came on at the same time, eventually causing the head gaskets to blow. Besides having to replace the gaskets, the oxygen sensor had to be replaced as well. Also, while the car was still under warranty, at 32,567 miles, the dealer found a coolant leak at the upper intake gaskets and lower intake gaskets, and replaced both gaskets, as well as the oil pump drive seal and related parts.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #7

Apr 242006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2001 Grand Am GT second hand in September 04. The 1 previous owner was my mechanic's brother in-law and has been well maintained when he owned it as well as since I have owned it. My problems started as soon as I left the lot. Within a month the car had been back into the dealership to have break pads replaced and rotors re-surfaced. My breaks have made a constant rubbing/grinding noise and no amount of work has solved the problem. I also have this intake manifold gasket issue. In December of 05 the low coolant light began coming on as well as the service engine soon light. I attempted to add coolant but the cap to the coolant tank was badly broken and required the replacement of the entire tank - since the cap would not come off even with a mechanics help. This solved the problem for a couple of months - but in February 06 the coolant alarm started again - I added more coolant and continued to drive it for another month. When the coolant alarm sounded again in March I took it to my mechanic who found the coolant leak from the intake manifold. $800-$900 to fix the problem. This was the second intake manifold he found on a GM car the same day and he told me there is a service bulletin on this. Why is GM not being forced to re-call this? come on - I have been researching for 1 day and found hundreds of examples of this problem. I am a single mother on a very tight budget - owe more on this piece of $)%& than it is worth as it is! my car has been parked for a month and I am bumming rides while I make monthly payments on a pretty car - nice to look at sitting in my driveway !

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #6

Jan 012001

Grand Am

  • miles
The coolant system has a continual leak. It needs to be replaced at least every month. Faulty ignition switch makes all interior lights and gauges go on and off and sometimes not come back on for days (happens everytime the car is started up). Makes speed limits impossible to tell, etc.

- Pleasant View, UT, USA

problem #5

Apr 012005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
Low coolant light came on after turning vehicle on in morning, checked coolant level it was low, added coolant, light came back on 2 weeks later, added more coolant. Changed oil found white crud in oil, called dealership (village Pontiac GMC) and service said it was manifold gasket and it is very common on this type of vehicle. Made appointment to have this fixed, quoted at $800 to repair. If this is so common and a service center knows what the problem is without seeing vehicle, shouldn't this be a recall?

- St Charles, IL, USA

problem #4

Jan 142005

Grand Am

  • miles
09/01/04 - low coolant warning light following cold engine starts. No visible coolant leaks, added 16 oz. Coolant to fix problem. 11/01/04 - same problem, added 16 oz. Coolant to fix problem. 12/23/04 - low coolant light always on while driving. 01/14/05 - intake gasket was found to be leaking coolant externally and internally. Potential for damage to engine. Potential for engine to overheat, which is dangerous to passengers in sub-zero temperatures during winter months. Intake gasket was replaced at costly $650 repair bill.

- Pine Island, MN, USA

problem #3

Aug 012003

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Pontiac Grand Am GT 2001 V6 and it has 3 major problems. The car has 52,000 miles and I have had to replace the rotors/breaks twice already. Whenever the front brakes are applied they pulsate and drag the car to a stop. Best of all its starting to shudder again when I use the breaks. So, soon to be 3 times in about 3 years. Second, the speakers have blown 2 times. I dont understand why GM would put speakers in the car that cannot handle the power from the factory reciever. Finally, the engine cooling problem. The low coolant light would turn on when I started the car, then turn off after 10-30 seconds. This went on for a week or two and I brought it in to get checked out. They told me the dex cool coolant ate through the gaskets, which caused the loss of coolant. Its $800 to get it fixed. Please do something, this car's design is flawed.

- Bay Village, OH, USA

problem #2

Dec 062003

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Water leaked into floorboard from air-conditioner. Grinding noise coming from the front and back wheels. Trim came loose from back bumper. Rearview mirror fell off. Had numerous times where the car would crank but not start (dealership could not duplicate problem) front driver window would not come down on occasion. Car caught fire under the dashboard while parked in our garage. The fire did extensive damage to the interior of the car. The inspector sent out to look at the car (by GM) said the fire was electrical and not caused by anything we did to the car. The car was repurchased by GM on January 7, 2004 after basically calling them on a daily basis to get something done about it.

- Kellyville, OK, USA

problem #1

Apr 302003

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,500 miles
Leaking steering rack, leaking water pump & broken blower motor.

- Pleasant Valley, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?