Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 1 of 6)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,467 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #113

Sep 162016

Grand Am

  • 208,720 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

'm writing to notify GM about a dangerous issue with my 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The security system activates preventing the car to stop for 10 minutes until it resets, causing many work related issues. This security issue prevents the fuel pump from activating, allowing the car to start. The problem has gotten so severe, the car now shuts down mid drive while on the interstate. Living in louisville, tn away 10 hours from home, I have no other choice but to keep using this vehicle to get back and forth from work. Now I'm forced to remain in the outside lane to quickly get over onto the shoulder when the car shuts off. This has happened no less than 15 times a week, almost causing an almost fatal accident. I've been to a trusted mechanic where we replaced the ECM two separate times, but the issue still persists. Has there been many issues reported about the car stopping in the middle of a drive?

- Louisville, MS, USA

problem #112

Aug 222016

Grand Am

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. When the vehicle's ignition was manually turned to the off position, the key slipped out of the ignition. Also, while driving various speeds, the key would fall out of the ignition. The contact did not feel safe driving the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and no repairs were made. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #111

Apr 052014

Grand Am

  • miles
Takata. Everything has gone wrong with this car. Please me call me. Janet larch, brought the car new. Gave to my daughter her name is angela cusumano, her phone number is, 314-599-4867.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #110

Oct 252001

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was involved in a car accident as a passenger on 10/25/2001 in which the steering column locked up on our 2001 Grand Am as we were driving causing us to lose control of the car and flip down hill. My father and my brother were front passengers and I was the rear seat passenger of the car and was ejected out of the back window. The airbags never deployed. After being ejected from the rear window of the car I suffered a broken pelvic bone, a bleeding brain with permanent brain damage, internal bruises on my lungs, my liver, and my kidneys, and the top 3 discs and bottom 3 discs in my back popped out of place. I had to be air lifted to shands hospital in gainesville Florida where I remained until 11/20/2001. During the the time between 10/25/2001 and 11/20/2001 I was in a coma, had to be fed intraveinously, and was placed on life support. I was transported to shands rehab hospital in gainesville fl, on 11/20/2001 and was released from shands rehab hospital 11/30/2015 in wheelchair and body brace. I had to have outpatient vocational rehabilitation therpay due to my brain injuries after being released from the hospital. I recently learned that the vehicle that I was involved in the accident has been recalled by General Motors due to a faulty iginition switch that causes the vehicle to lose power which causes drivers to not be able to control the steering of the vehicle and am submitting this claim because of this finding. There have been several other claims agains general motor regarding the same vehicle model. I have uploaded the fhp report as well as pictures post accident of the vehicle.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #109

Nov 202014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle key recall notice. The consumer was under the impression, the ignition was going to be replaced. The dealer only replaced the key. However, when the key was returned to him, he did not fit in the ignition and the security light illuminated. The dealer only returned one key to the consumer.

- South Paris, ME, USA

problem #108

Jun 182015

Grand Am

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the vehicle would not start when the key was inserted into the ignition. The contact stated that the failure had not occurred prior to taking the vehicle to the dealer for the recall repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were unavailable.

- Darein, IL, USA

problem #107

Jun 142015

Grand Am

  • 195,330 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the vehicle would not start without warning. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact took her key to the dealer and was informed that the sensor in the key was faulty and needed to be replaced and reset with the ignition switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 195,330.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #106

May 162014

Grand Am

  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer write in regards to ignition switch recall and reimbursement requests form.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #105

Mar 012013

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
The blinkers stopped working. After turning on the hazard lights then the blinkers the blinkers would work. Now they only work about 15% of the time, even when trying to use the hazard lights.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #104

Jan 182013

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall issues. The consumer stated on two occasions, the key fell out of the ignition switch, while backing out of the driveway. After hitting a pole, the consumer went to another dealer, where it was determined the ignition switch was defective. The previous dealer stated the key was worn out.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #103

Oct 102014

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the key was loosely connected to the ignition and became stuck in the acc position. As a result, the key could be removed while the vehicle was still on. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: (electrical system) and the dealer stated that the part was not available for several months to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was not able to provide a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #102

Jan 232014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 29,240 miles
Letter from constituent regarding his 2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT; he is requesting remuneration for the repair costs he incurred for replacement of the two defective ignition switches from General Motors corporation. The ignition lock cylinder was replaced.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #101

Jun 012010

Grand Am

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated when attempting to turn the ignition, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and the ignition switch was replaced. The contact stated that the failure recurred twice. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) but the vehicle had not been seen by the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. However, the contact was notified that the recall notice received did not address the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Littleton, NC, USA

problem #100

Nov 172014

Grand Am

  • 152,491 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however, the contact stated that the failure continued immediately following the repair. The key would not start the ignition and it became difficult to remove the key from the ignition. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 152,491.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #99

Dec 292014

Grand Am

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the recall remedy did not suffice to deter the defect. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 3/13/15

- Milan , MI, USA

problem #98

Jan 302013

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer states had problems with ignition switch. The ignition switch was replaced.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #97

Jun 112014

Grand Am

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #96

Jul 012011

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 89,836 miles
1) 7/1/2011, vehicle would not start. Vehicle towed to shop costing owner $180.20 2) 12/9/2013, vehicle would not start. Vehicle towed to shop costing owner $252.51 plus lost of wages for time away from job costing owner $26.91, and forced to get rental vehicle costing owner $73.04 for rental car fees and gasoline 3) 3/11/2014, vehicle would not start. Vehicle towed to shop, unknown why vehicle would not start. No repair at shop, but owner lost time and wages away from job costing $2.99, and forced to get rental vehicle costing owner $46.09 for rentalcar. Owner advised keys for vehicle would need service from dealer 4) 4/8/2014, keys sent to progressive Chevrolet by repair shop costing owner $267.78 5) 11/8/2014, owner received recall notice #14350 from General Motors. Owner scheduled appointment for service relating to recall and received two new ignition keys. Vehicle seems to start, so far, just fine. With all of the aforementioned problems with owner vehicle, I should be reimbursed for all of the trouble, lost of wages, towing fees, service repair fees, and not to mention stress of not knowing what was wrong with the vehicle. With General Motors knowingly producing a defective vehicle, and ignoring the fact that the owner's vehicle could have caused serious bodily injury or death to owner, but stood by and did nothing for the thirteen years that I have owned the vehicle is really a travesty. GM took their chances hoping that this problem would go away, but it didn't, people have lost their lives. Others have been injured, and others, such as myself, have lost piece of mind and confident in GM. I paid nearly $30,000 for my Pontiac Grand Am. I am not sure why all of the problems related to starting the vehicle occurred. Once the recall issue was addressed, the owner's vehicle starts just fine, so far.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #95

Nov 072014

Grand Am

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact received a recall notice. The dealer repaired the vehicle, but it began experiencing the same issues with the ignition and the battery. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified of the recurring failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #94

Sep 052014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer writes in regards to head gasket and ignition switch replacement and is requesting reimbursement for repairs.* ld the consumer stated the vehicle was leaking coolant and the vehicle would not start.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?