Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting: Hazard Flashing Warning Lights: Switch Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,968 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Apr 172009

Grand Am

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall number: 03V327000 dates manufactured: Mar 2000 to May 2001 number of vehicles affected: 670740 date owners notified on: Feb 2004 certain passenger vehicles have hazard warning switches that may experience solder joint cracking caused by rapid temperature transitions and the soldering process. If solder joint cracking occurs and results in an open circuit, the turn signals/hazard lamps become intermittent or inoperative. I tried calling Pontiac today and they refused to inspect my car free of charge. The also tell me that this is not a valid recall number. I have seval issues with my car. I have paid several thousands of dollars on this car.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 252008

Grand Am

  • 128,000 miles
I am having the same problem with my signal/hazard problem as the recall of the 2001 Grand Am but my VIN number is outside the range so thus it is not covered in the recall.

- River Falls, WI, USA

problem #31

Jul 202008

Grand Am

  • 106,500 miles
GM recall #03043 NHTSA action#03V327000 hazard warning switch overheats leading to solder joint cracking which in turn leads to an open circuit that causes intermittent/inoperative use of hazard lights/turn signals they have refused my recall because they say the car was built 10 days after the cutoff of 670,740 units that were affected.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #30

May 132008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 81,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Related to recall #03V327000 had my hazard switch replaced via recall. New switch is same as old switch and is defective. Pontiac won't replace. Purchase new switch yesterday and is also defective. Replacement switches are also defective. Recall does not remedy problem.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #29

Jan 162008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
I have a 2001 grand-am. There was a recall on the hazard light switch #NHTSA recall campaign number: 03V327000 component: Exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch details: Certain passenger vehicles have hazard warning switches that may experience solder joint cracking caused by rapid temperature transitions and the soldering process. If solder joint cracking occurs and results in an open circuit, the turn signals/hazard lamps become intermittent or inoperative. Consequence: When the turn signals are inoperative, the driver cannot use them to signal intent to turn that could result in a crash. Corrective action: Dealers will replace the hazard warning switch. Owner notification began on February 5, 2004. Owners should contact Chevrolet at 1-800-630-2438, Pontiac at 1-800-620-7668, or Oldsmobile at 1-800-630-6537. Units potentially affected: 670740 recall initiated by: ODI date added to NHTSA database: 09/04/2003 I have called Pontiac because I am having the exact problem but they say my VIN puts my car out of the almost 700,000 cars effected. What can I do?

- Germantown, OH, USA

problem #28

Aug 012005

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. She noticed that there was a leak under her vehicle for a few years. On several occasions the dealer was unable to find the cause of the leak. The dealer later stated that the leak was coming from the gas tank line and it was a fuel leak. They also told her that there was a related recall; however, her VIN was not related. The contact is aware of the safety risk involved and request that her VIN is a part of the existing NHTSA campaign id number 07E021000. The dealer information is not available. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 98,000. The consumer stated the vehicle is still located at the repair shop awaiting word from the Corp office. The dealer stated replaced hazard lights switch, speaker radio rear door, molding windshield side pillar, exterior bulbs, and wiper blade. Updated 10/31/07

- Martinez, CA, USA

problem #27

Aug 272007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,950 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 4/3/07 my Pontiac Grand Am was worked on at greiner Pontiac in victorville California because a constant ticking noise was coming from the console when I used my turn signals, also air bag light came on and the area where the radio is became very hot. On 4/3/07 greiner Pontiac found the multi-function switch to be failing. Greiner Pontiac replaced the switch. When they finished my car, as I drove away I noticed that the steering wheel was tight and made a tick noise when I turned. I went back to greiner to inform them of this, and they said that is normal from replacing that switch. On 8/27/07 the steering locked up on me while driving and the horn started beeping on its own. I called greiner when I returned home and they told me it sounded like the power steering pump went out. They advised me to take it to ideal auto center who does work on GMC vehicles. Took my vehicle to ideal auto center approx 10:10 in the morning of 8/27/07. On 8/28/07, Tuesday afternoon I called ideal, talked to mike he stated when greiner Pontiac put the multi-function switch in on 4/3/07 they had put it in wrong and that my car should have never left their lot that day in the condition they left it in. On 8/31/07, approx. 11:30 am, I called ideal auto center, spoke to mike, he stated that my car should be ready in about an hour. I then went down to ideal auto, and mike stated that my car should be ready shortly. About and hour and a half went by, I asked the cashier clerk if she can check the status of my car. She told me that the steering wheel was broke, had a crack. When their mechanic tried to un-loosen the steering wheel, a loud noise sounded off. Ideal auto said when greiner did the work on 4/3/07 they tightened the steering wheel too tight which caused pressure to crack the steering wheel in side.

- Barstow, CA, USA

problem #26

Mar 132007

Grand Am

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. I received a notice that the hazard switch was recalled and I took it to the dealer ship to have it replaced. After that I had a clicking noise that was intermittent so I took it back and they replaced it again...still have the clicking noise. Then they told me it was the multi function switch. After doing some research this seems to be a known problem in the Pontiac's and should be recalled along with the hazard switch. If the problem was not such a known issues I would not be complaining. Matter of fact this is my first complaint ever on a vehicle. I hope Pontiac realizes there is a problem before it causes fire or something that is a safety issue. However, I do think it is a default and Pontiac should be reimbursing for this problem.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #25

Aug 062004

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
"hazard switch" recall has been replaced twice on my 2001 Pontiac Grand Am and I am still having the same clicking noise, sounds like a turn signal, and it is getting worse. I am told by the dealership that I will need to replace the turn signal switch, that the recall has to do with the hazard light not the turn signal. The noise being heard has "always" been the turn signal noise, it just comes from the center of the car where the hazard switch is located, and I have seen plenty of reports from other individuals that are having the same issue. Pontiac "GM" should have to fix this problem, not the consumer! I am also having a problem with the security light coming on and having to turn the key and wait 10 minutes before I can start my car. There is nothing that the service department will do about it because by the time you take it to be repaired they cannot find the malfunction. GM should have to fix these ongoing problems that many consumers are having with this model vehicle.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #24

Jun 302006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I just recently replaced the coolant intake in my 2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 6 cylinder. The mechanic told me that he has seen this many times before and that it is a costly manufacturing error. I also have to replace my multi-function switch when the turn signal recall came out. I have done a little research on the coolant intake problem and as I have stated I have found that as well as my GM dealer have all noted that there is a design flaw with the gasket in it's relation to the dex-cool coolant (the coolant is acidic and eats away at the gasket which leads to coolant getting into engine or oil getting into coolant). I would like to looked at further.

- Little Chute, WI, USA

problem #23

Mar 072004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had a failure with my multi-function switch causing my turn signal sound to constantly be going off. A couple of times, my steering column has started smoking from this. It is also a distraction from paying attention to driving.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #22

May 162006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
It started with a very annoying fast clicking noise. It got worse and worse! then, smoke started coming out of the steering column. I had the hazard switch replaced under the recall. I took it to the dealer today and they told me that it is my multifuction switch, it shorted out the hazard switch, which I already had replaced. Now, I am getting charged $315 to get it fixed! I have seen many many complaints on many years of the Grand Am. You would figure that if the company knew about it, then they would take the time and money to correct the problem, the right way. I have told everyone that I know about this, and not to ever buy a Pontiac they don't take care of their consumers!!

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #21

Nov 012005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact states there is a NHTSA recall campaign 03V327000 concerning the exterior lighting:hazard warning switch.. this vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. Updated 1/11/2006. The turn/hazard switch was replaced on 12/10/2005 with GM part 10359039. The old part number was 22624799 0691 E.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 072005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Faulty turning signals. Although GM has had a recall on this item I don't think included all VIN numbers in the recall. My car is suffering from the same problem but was refused recall service because my VIN number was not included. I feel there maybe numerous cars out there that were excluded from this recall. I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT sedan.

- Spring Hill , TN, USA

problem #19

Oct 172005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
Continuous rapid clicking noise from dash caused by short circuit in multi-function switch. According to mechanic this eventually will result in turn signal failure if not repaired, due to short circuit causing switch to burn out. This has been a recurring problem on this vehicle. Had this problem repaired three times already (07/23/2003, 11/14/2004, 10/18/2005). Each repair replaced the multi-function switch with a new part and cost about $300 installed. Suspect some kind of manufacturing defect is causing this safety issue. This problem is not related to the flasher unit recall, since this vehicle was already serviced for that recall, but this problem continues to occur.

- Pine Island, MN, USA

problem #18

Sep 062005

Grand Am

  • miles
Turn signals operate intermittently. Driver cannot signal turns or lane changes. Pontiac claims my vehicle is not covered under NHTSA campaign # 03V327000 even though it is the same problem.

- Gibbstown, NJ, USA

problem #17

Aug 152005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own at 2001 Pontiac Grand Am which has had a recall on exterior lighting - hazard flashing warning lights which causes my turn signals to operate intermittently. Through my own investigation over 700,000 of these models have been recalled. When I went to the dealer to have it repaired, I was informed that my VIN number didn't fall into the "range" that General Motors was willing to replace for free. General Motors told me to pay for the repair and send them the bill and they will "review it". it is very obvious that this is the same issue that other Grand Am owners are having - this part is defective and I want GM to replace it. This is a safety issue with my car, how can they not fix it??

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #16

May 152005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Consumer complained about hazard light switch problem. Was told by the dealership that the model years 1999 -2001 had the same problem. The part number 226247990961E that was on this car, and was under recall. Has a recall. The recall number was unavailable. The part was replaced in May 2005, and still had the same clicking noise from the hazard switch. Also, complained about security system problem. When I trying to start put the key in ignition and the light flashed, car would not start. Had to reset the system. Turned the key to the accessory position for 15 minutes for the car to start. Dealership wanted to charge $45 diagnose, and to replace the part with the same kind of part that was already replaced it with once. This has been happening since first purchasing the car in June 30, 2004. This happened every time consumer drove the car.

- Detriot, MI, USA

problem #15

Mar 232004

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Contact states: After the signal light was fixed per the recall notice, a clicking sound was heard and smoke emitted from the arm. If the turn was not very wide, the signal stayed on. The dealer stated the problem is part of the recall and will not fix it.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #14

Apr 142005

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
Our 2001 Pontiac Grand Am was making a clicking noise by the switch for the hazard light for a couple months. Tonight it would not stop and the car started smoking. I went to your web site only to find out that the car was recalled and we were not notified. I am very disturbed by the fact that car manufacturers do not have to notify owners of failures to the vehicles. What if my car had started on fire and not just smoked. We had a similar incident with our Ford Explorer and the gas filter being faulty. We were not notified on that either and the vehicle would lurch when put in reverse. An accident could easily have occurred with that problem. I think you need to start making the car manufacturers notify owners of problems. If I didn't have access to the internet I wouldn't have known this was recalled.

- Jackson, WI, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?