Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Power Window Devices And Controls Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,520 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 122007

Grand Am

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3 window regulator are broken on driver side, and passenger. The rear window defroster only defrost half the window, interior lights do not go off when the switch is on auto, engine overheats, turn signals do not work, the engine is hard to start. I have not fixed the windows but I been to the dealership for the overheating and I was told there was no problems. I had to replace the fuel pump because the car would not start. These issues began over a year ago.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 202007

Grand Am

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that all four regulators on her windows had to be replaced between March and November of 2007. The windows would no longer function after a certain point and the regulators needed replacing. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they ordered parts for the repair; however, the repair was made at an independent repair shop. The manufacturer has not been notified. The current mileage was 42,000 and failure mileage was approximately 30,000.

- Chelan, WA, USA

problem #14

Nov 012006

Grand Am

  • 90,000 miles
My husband bought me a 2001 Grand Am GT in October 05' @ 80,000 miles. I had problems with the front driver and passenger windows in a year. The driver side window regulator popped and blew out then about 2wks later the passenger side window went out!! my ignition switch doesn't work, I can take my keys out of the ignition while the car is still on. My signal lights went out I replaced them. My driver side seat does not maneuver @ all. My fog light in the front on the left side has came off completely while the car was still parked. I have noticed other Grand Am @ drive through restaurants who's windows don't work and you have to get you're food through the door!! this is completely unacceptable and should be fixed free of charge to all owners asap!! its a shame we pay so much for so little!!

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #13

Nov 202006

Grand Am

  • 70,428 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Intermittently, the driver side front window would not operate at all. The master switch assembly was replaced. Approximately 8 months later, the vehicle was involved in a crash, in which the impact was on the driver's side door. Three months later, the window began to work again intermittently, but then stopped working completely. The failure mileage was 70,428.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #12

Mar 102007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Between March 2007 and November 2007 the regulators on all 4 electric windows have had to be replaced. The car had approximately 30,000 miles on it when the first window failed and currently has 42,000 miles. I have never had to replace a regulator in any other vehicle I have owned and these are vehicles I have owned as brand new vehicles with up to 150,000 miles on them before they were sold.

- Chelan, WA, USA

problem #11

Oct 012007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE the plastic pieces to hold the window in place have broken. My window just dropped one day out after I rolled it down. It seems I'm not the only having this problem this year with the window just dropping out of place or off track.

- Tarawa Terrace, NC, USA

problem #10

Sep 012007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was rolling down my driver's side window when I heard a pop and the window glass fell. It shattered and I received several cuts. A week later I was rolling up the passenger rear window ( a window that I rarely use) when I heard another pop and the window refused to go up or down. I was told that the window regulator also broke in that window. Now I have 2 windows in my car that cannot be used. I replaced the window glass, but am unable to replace due to the $330 cost of each for a total of $660.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #9

Dec 202006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
- the contact's 2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT's fan speed switch for the defroster and air conditioning wasonly working at level 4. this incident occurred on several occasions, and she was unable to adjust the setting to 1,2, or 3. also, the driver side window was inoperable. The contact removed the panel and observed that one of the plastic window guides was broken. The contact attempted to replace the window switch, but the mechanic informed her that the failed components were the regulators.

- Orgobille , CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 152003

Grand Am

  • miles
I own a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. I have experienced several of the same problems/issues noted in previous complaints. My 1 and 2 function on the fan is no longer working, the turn signals appear to have a short/wiring problem, the driver and passenger side window motor/brackets needed to be replaced, the driver seat adjuster is broken, the(gear shaft) button that puts the car in gear(P, R, N, D) pops out frequently, driver floor has been soak and wet periodically, and numerous braking system problems(need to replace rotors and brake pads frequently, had to replace brake calipers/hubs/wheel bearings). The only problem that was covered under a recall was the turning switch, which the problem has re-occurred. I would like to see the manufacturer cover these problems that have become repetitive in several other vehicles.

- Chaptico, MD, USA

problem #7

Dec 102001

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Where to start...I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Within 2 months of buying it, my fuel pump & computer went out at the same time. Next was my water pump & timing chain. Then was the security system, then the turn signals, then the windows wouldn't roll down. And now my brakes are having to be replaced on a consistent basis. The only thing covered by GM was the turn signal switch. All other replacements were at my expense. After researching on this site, I see numerous complaints of the same kind. I notified GM and they refused to help at all. I explained that since there are multiple complaints for the same things, it has to be a manufacturing defect. They shrugged that off. They finally sent me a letter stating that they would no longer "entertain" any of my comments or complaints. Do not buy a Pontiac!!! junk city!!!

- St Joseph, MO, USA

problem #6

Apr 152006

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver's side window regulator failed. Told by services that in order to replace the regulator the motor needed replaced also. Quoted over $600 for fix.

- Fairchild Afb, WA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152002

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The A/C- heater speed control selection 1 and 2 stopped working in 2002 shortly after I purchased my vehicle. On April 10,2006, the selections 3 and 4 are also not working. This is now the 9th probolem I've had with my vehicle. To include both power window brackets breaking, my hazard flasher, transmission, steering, and A/C. I've unknowingly had jackson auto group of Hawaii do repairs without so much as a word about the recalls. What proactive steps have been taken to notify the dealers about the recalls and defects?

- Kaneohe Bay, HI, USA

problem #4

Nov 072004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Intake manifold gasket failure/signal failure/ window regualtor failure/rotors.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #3

Sep 132004

Grand Am

  • miles
Consumer experienced a problem with driver's side window, not being able to go up and down. This was going on for 1 year. She took vehicle to dealer, and was told that it would cost her $400 to get it repaired. Also, consumer was having a problem with flashers not working. She did not have them repaired.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #2

Mar 202004

Grand Am

  • 41,000 miles
Window failed and cost $ 1000 to repair.

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #1

Aug 172002

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am that I bought from the dealership in August 2002 in less than a year my turn signals stopped working niether power window will work, the tires have had to been replaced, and the speakers have had to be replaced. This care has only 52,000 miles on it and has been well maintained. Now, the front wheels of the car are making a horrendous noise that my mechanic can not figure out what it is. I have had problems with this car from the day I bought it and I will never buy another Pontiac!!! what can I do?

- Winfield, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?