Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Passlock Faulty, Nothing Happens When Turning Key To Start Car

2002 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 3 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

8.1

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$336.00
Average Mileage:
85,190 miles
Total Complaints:
63 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (29 reports)
  2. wait 10 minutes with key in ignition on position (6 reports)
  3. leave key forward for 10min (5 reports)
  4. replaced passlock module (5 reports)
  5. replaced ignition lock cylinder (3 reports)
  6. towed to the mechanic, where it started right up (3 reports)
2002 Pontiac Grand Am electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Sep 022008

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I hate this dumb car. I was so far from home when this happened. when I went to start the car nothing happened, so I got someone to give me a jump, but the piece of crap still wouldn't start. I called roadside assistance, but they couldn't come tow the car till the next morning. I had to get a hotel room and wait (what kind of roadside assistance is this) The next morning they towed the car to a local mechanic and they couldn't figure out what was wrong. They told me to come back in 2 hours. Luckily my boyfriend had come to help me out. So we waited. Finally, the mechanic called me back and wanted to charge $450.00 to fix it . I told him I didn't have that much, I did but I just didn't want to spend that much. He was so kind he fixed it for $275.00 instead (Thank God). Two weeks later the car does it again, this time I found this site and through the complaints on here I found out what to do. I love my car, but I am going to trade as soon as I can. Thanks to this site I didn't have to spend any more money on a annoying problem.

- , Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012008

Grand Am SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

My POS Grand AM started the BS of not starting a few months ago and it's getting worse. Having to sit somewhere and wait 10 minutes for the reset, really pisses me off. I called GM and the script-reading unhelpful rep stated "GM is not aware of any widespread problems with the system." WTF!!! I've been reviewing the posts on various sites and it's all the same story. Security light is blinking, dealers don't know how to fix. If anyone can provide an answer on how to fix this problem, and no I'm not taking it to the dealership 10 times, please let me know.

- , Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #21

Feb 022008

Grand Am SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Again I'm a pizza delivery driver and have had pay lost because of these car. I'd love to trade it in, but its not in my name. Go figure. Anyway, if you haven't my first complaint about the car shutting off in the middle of driving you may want to go look for it, especially if you have to push on the gas pedal to get it to start or if it won't turn over. I believe this has to do with the security light coming on or blinking when you turn the key into the start position but nothing happens. I've had my security light come on once or twice but didn't really know enough about it. It's come on before in my old car which was a 91 mercury cougar, but it didn't keep it from starting so I never was really concerned about it until I was, once again calling into work telling them that my car wouldn't start. My brother the mechanic had it towed to their shop where they said it was the security system. He said that I had to reset it by leaving the key in the start position and wait for the security light to stop blinking, take the key out, and it should start back up. It's done that probably about five times over the past six months. Which it did it about three times in one week after I got it from the shop - one of those three times was when I was still in a customers driveway and stay there waiting for the light to stop blinking - talk about humiliating. Then once about five months after bringing it into the shop. I was about to go on a delivery when my car wouldn't start. I had forgotten about the security system since it hadn't done it for so long that I ended up having to miss out on getting tips which accounts for the greater part of my income...until the end of the night when I was racking my brain about why it wouldn't start and it clicked in my head to check the security light to see if it was blinking..BINGO...problem solved.......sort of.

- , Moss Point, MS, USA

problem #20

Aug 182007

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to North Carolina for school in August 2007 when this first occurred. My car had been sitting out in the freshman parking lot and I went to go drive to a friend's and the car wouldn't start. I fixed it this first time but turning everything off and flipping random switches and eventually it came on again. The next time it happened I had to have my car towed to the dealer where they kept it for over a week. They ended up replacing that passlock which cost $500 to get done. It happened again for a third time a couple months later before I came home for winter break and I had to have it towed again where they just reset the passlock. When I was home, the car wouldn't start again in February 2008. Again, the car was towed to the dealer and they reset the passlock. Again. In May 2008 the car would not start. By this time I was completely fed up and my mom was pretty pissed off too. The car guy emailed us how to reset it ourselves and thankfully it worked so I wouldn't have to waste anymore money. But this is like 5th time in a year that my car hasn't started. This is complete bullshit.

- , Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #19

Jun 092008

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,250 miles

While driving home this week the security light came on not far from the house. I was immediately freaked out and felt and impending sense of doom! I have had this light come on before in August of 2006 (65,000 miles at the time!). When I called the dealer they said to bring the car in fast because eventually it would not start. Lucky for me I had an extended warranty that covered the problem. Well, when it happened this time I called the dealer again and told the service guy how this was fixed almost 2 years ago and all he can say is sorry but your not under warranty anymore. There was also a 1 year warranty on that that particular part after they fixed it but that has also expired. I also asked him to look at my turn signals because every once in a while they don't come on. I've gotten by with pushing the hazard lights on and then when I turn them off the signals work again. I need that fixed because my car is due for inspection this month and I have a horrible feeling that would be a time for them to act up. So I just came from dropping it off to be fixed again because I don't really have a choice do I? What has really started to infuriate me is that while I was waiting for the dealer to call me back the other day to make an appointment for service I stumbled upon this site and am absolutely appalled at at the list of complaints for this and other problems with the car. I have had many of these problems and some of them twice! I guess I never really paid to much attention to it because of having the warranty! So let's count: passlock- twice, driver's side front and back window motor( I hardly ever used the back one!) - twice, manifold gasket leak - twice, turn signal issues - three, ambient temperature switch (I think it was a switch!) - once, my door lock button- once, and I know ther a few other ones but unfortunately the paperwork is in my car at the dealer! I really still love my sick little car because well it's mine! I paid it off 3 months ago and it can really go and it's a nice for just me! I am extremely unhappy with GM! My family has always had GM cars and we got most of them through the same dealer but I no longer know if they will have my loyalty!

- , Cape May, NJ, USA

problem #18

Jan 312008

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

So the problem started a couple months ago with the security light flashing in my car. I thought it was no big deal until I went to go start it and nothing. The lights come on, music is blaring, but no running car. I brought it to a local body shop which fixed the problem for about 3 hours. I was stranded at work, at school, basically everywhere you could imagine. I finally realized the cheap way to fix it with the 10 second thing, but it is really annoying. So I brought it to a GM certified dealership thinking they would know, and the charged me up the ass to "fix" the problem when really all they did was change something that didn't need it. So yet once again I'm stuck with no car, and sh*tty mechanics who won't listen to what I have to say. Wonderful!

I will never ever own another GM car again! They are the worst!

- , Fredonia, NY, USA

problem #17

Feb 162008

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The security light has finally come on to stay it appears. This has happened before but

I was able to get it to start by turning the interior/dash light knob all the way to the right until it clicks (into the fully on position). While your all lights are on try starting the engine it has worked for me before (sounds retarded but hey it worked) . Unfortunately this time it cranks but will not start it definitely has something to do with Passlock. However I am not sure if it is just Passlock or if there are some other electrical problems. Here's a neat example I got pulled over by a cop because my taillights weren't on the only way I could get my tail lights to come on was to have my dome lights on (by turning the interior lighting knob to fully on). I'm wondering if all this has to do with the micro chip in the key shifting out or if there is a short or if this is all due to Passlock security.

- , Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #16

Aug 052007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,110 miles

On 10-25-06 The security light came on. Car will not start. Had car towed into dealer. They replaced the passlock module. It was shorted out.

- , Augusta, GA, USA

problem #15

Oct 312007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT Coupe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

I am hearing that their are a lot of people who have also had this problem with their Grand Ams. However, mine seems a little different. Most people are saying the security light is flashing. Mine either never comes on or just stays on for 3 or 4 days and then goes off again. Same thing with the Service Engine Soon light. Everyone is saying that you can reset the passlock system by turning the key to On and waiting for 10 minutes for it to reset. Mine seems to take about 15 minutes to reset. However as soon as I try and start it again after resetting it, it shuts off again. I have to wait about 3 hours after resetting the passlock system before it will let me start it without shutting off. So far I have been stranded 4 times. Luckily each time my boyfriend was able to come and help me with it so I haven't had to pay for a tow yet. Since resetting it with the key hasn't worked, we've found that disconnecting the power to the battery and waiting a few minutes before reconnecting it will also reset the passlock system. And it doesn't shut down immediately again either. I'm worried it's going to stall on me while I'm driving down the highway one day!

- , Bishopville, MD, USA

problem #14

Oct 112007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I ended up trading in this car because this happenned twice in 9months resulting in a tow to the dealer and 2days without a car. Once I could understand but the second time it happenned that was it, I no longer wished to own the car. The dealer would not warranty the part past 10000 miles and I had gone 12000miles. Definitely a HUGE reliability problem being ingnored by GM. This car had numerous other breakdown/reliability problems during its history (Head gasket, ABS brake failure, Thermostat, Brakes shoes/rotors etc., Oilpan Gasket,window motors x2,tire mounting problems, etc.) Never again will I by a GM car, they have had decades to work out reliability problems and they are just not competitive in that area anymore.

- , Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 022007

(reported on)

Grand Am 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

for all you grand am drivers who have the security light problem of your car not starting, there is a fix. turn the key to the on position and let it sit for 10 minutes. while the key is turned to on, the security light will begin blinking. after 10 minutes the light will stop blinking. turn the key back to the off position and the car should start up.

a pain in the butt, yes---but cheaper than having it towed. this resets the computer in the security system that is shutting down the ignition. if fixes the problem for a while.

what stinks is my car only has 40,000 miles and it does this crap. the dealer says over $500 to have it fixed and from what i've researched it tears up again.

give it a try. ten minutes of your time is cheaper than a tow truck.

thanks

- , Corbin, KY, USA

problem #12

Aug 062007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

Randomly won't start. Linked to the Passlock II security system. A complete piece of sh*t!! I hate this car... What really pisses me off is the fact that this is the most common problem with any GM car using the Passlock II security system. They neglect to do a recall on it basically so they can keep making money... I read one complaint on here that states it shuts off while there car is going down the highway??? This sounds like a major safety concern. I hope nobody dies from this bullshit problem because GM is going to have a hell of lawsuit on there hands... At this point it is mainly a nuisance. It is a pain in the ass and a bullshit problem if you ask me. Currently I am done buying GM products. The quality and care for their customers has consistently gone down hill and to show for it they are losing their ass!!!! They wonder why the sales have been dropping??? Bullshit over priced products and then they won't stand behind their products... Yea great deal F-heads..... Don't waist your time with any GM vehicle having a passlock II system... I checked on a Monte Carlo 02-04, same sh*t... I don't even want to look at it... Now my light is on solid.... it hasn't F** up on me in a week or so but I can't wait until it does.... Oh and to reset the system you have to leave the key in the ignition for 10 min???? Seriously can your bullshit engineers from cracker box university come up with anything dumber??? So on top of a piss poor design, you make the reset 10 minutes?? Yea like people have nothing better to do than sit around for 10 minutes and wait for there POS to start... What a crock!!!!! F* GM and all their bullshit.... time to look at other manufactures..... I find myself asking this simple question.."why be loyal?", they don't give a sht... all they do is produce crap and then won't fix anything even when they know there product has design flaws... If they gave a crap they would do a recall and fix it because it is a POS!!! I guess its going to take someone getting killed to wake their ass up. Oh and my A/C and blower speed control recently burned out!!! What a joke... a car with 80k miles!!!!

- , Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #11

Aug 052007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,155 miles

On 07-19-07 security light on car will not start. Had to wait three hours to get towed in!!! The dealer replaced the passlock sensor and programed theft system. And then the remotes did not work.

- , Augusta, GA, USA

problem #10

Aug 052007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,834 miles

On 05-11-07 the security light came on. Car driven to dealer. Security passlock module replaced. Shorted out, (Again!).

- , Augusta, GA, USA

problem #9

Mar 202007

(reported on)

Grand Am V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

I've absolutely had it with this POS! NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG!!!! Every time it stalls, I wait, and wait, and wait... NOTHING... and now, it's new trick is stalling as I'm driving 55mph down the HIGHWAY! WTF?!? As soon as it gets towed to the dealership, it starts right up... they run diagnostics... and NOTHING! Pontiac needs to get a grip here... I'm sure there are many more of us out here that are having this issue! They need to resolve this... If I get hit or killed because of this, someone's in trouble.

- , Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #8

Mar 132007

(reported on)

Grand Am SE 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,967 miles

have been stranded three times now. Everytime I get the car towed, it starts right up at the shop. I was on carspace.com, and there a a ton of people experiencing the same thing. I guess it's the passlock system thats in the car, but pontiac won't admit it. They will keep fixng different things, and you will keep getting stranded. They don't admit it because they don't want a class action lawsuit against them.

- , Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 082007

(reported on)

Grand Am V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,500 miles

Twice now I have had my car not start. Each time after being towed, it starts fine for repair shop. Diagnostics is not showing anything. Gas is getting through fine, battery is fine. I'm scared and frustrated that it will happen again, again, and again.

- , Lihue, HI, USA

problem #6

Feb 162007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

3 months later, here I am trying to run a few errands around town and I get to my final destination. I turn the car off and get out for about 15 minutes. I get back in, put in the key, hear the radio come on, and then nothing. My engine AGAIN would not turn over. It doesn't make any sense at all to have everything come on, but the engine. The battery is totally charged and the car has run real good for the past 3 months. I'm ready to blow this sucker up! I wish someone would steal it!

- , Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #5

Feb 162007

(reported on)

Grand Am GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

I was dropping my kindergartener off at school when I decided to turn off the engine while I waited for the doors to open; thinking that it would save me on gas. I went to turn it on about 10 minutes later and nothing came on but the radio, wipers, turn signals and such. The engine would not even turn over. So my wonderful husband has it towed to his buddy's house to look it over. We replaced the ignition completely (about $200) and it began working again.

- , Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #4

Oct 262006

(reported on)

Grand Am SE 2.2L I4

  • Manual transmission
  • 48,000 miles

The passive theft system is way too sensitive to short starter cycles [ you let the key off before or as the car starts] and it kills the car. The dealer told me to leave the key in the car for 5 to 15 minutes which works but who has the time to waste doing that?? I found that simply removing your key and opening the door will reset the system as if you had just got in the car and it will start. This has not failed me yet and I am not interested in forking out a wad of cash to have the system checked only to hear it works as it is expected to.

- , Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?