Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting: Hazard Flashing Warning Lights: Switch Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,882 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments

problem #20

Oct 012011

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer states issues with blinker sounds not turning off

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #19

Jun 022009

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the blinker and hazard lights would fail intermittently. The contact stated there was a shortage in the solder wiring from becoming un-welded from the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted but would not provide any assistance. There were no recalls and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were approximately 150,000. Updated 9/13/10 the consumer stated there was a recall for the 2000 model, but not the 2002. Updated 09/15/10

- Centralia , IL, USA

problem #18

May 202008

Grand Am

  • 90,000 miles
I own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT and the turn signal indicators will randomly stop working. The first time this happened was on 5/20/08. The indicator arrows inside the car were not going off when I tried to signal. Luckily I was able to pull over and exam the exterior lights only to find that no signal lights outside my car worked either. This problem now occurs every couple of days and I find it very dangerous on busy roads. I feel it could lead to a preventable traffic accident. Through research I have found that this is a common complaint from fellow Pontiac owners. I also found that a recall investigation was filed back in Sept. Of 2005 (#PE05055) but was closed in Jan. Of 2006 with no recalls being issued. I have contacted my mechanic and it is going to cost me around $300 to fix this. I am upset that this same malfunction was recalled in the 2001 Grand Am models (03V327000) but will not be fixed for my 2002. When is GM going to take ownership of it's manufacturing errors??

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #17

Feb 282008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lower intake manifold gasket replace for leakage 5/06 water pump replaced for leakage 9/06 power steering rack and pinion replaced for leaking 2/08 multifunction switch still malfunctioning all work performed at dealership and records have been retained. All maintenance on car is up to date with records to validate.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #16

Jan 142008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
Clicking noise coming from behind hazard switch in 2002 Pontiac grand-am. Found a recall with related information on this vehicle, however, GM-Pontiac show no recall with my VIN# and never received letter to have replaced.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #15

May 032007

Grand Am

  • miles
For several months the vehicle has emitted a clicking noise from the central dash area that has become more frequent. It is usually triggered by using the turn signal - once the turn signal stops, the clicking noise continues for varying amounts of time. The dealer said it is not related to the service advisory on the hazard flasher, but that it is the wiring to multi-function switch in the steering column shorting out. From internet searches this sounds like a fairly common problem and a short sounds like a potential fire hazard. Should there be a recall or at least a warranty extension on this failure mode? the repair cost will be about $350 at the dealer.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #14

Mar 162006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2002 Pontiac Grand Am also developed the annoying "clicking" noise that sounded as if the blinkers were on when they were not. This is a known issue with the multi-function turn signal switch supplied to GM by TRW. How do I know this" a good friend of mine is employed with TRW as the quality engineer on the P90 line and informed me of a design change to the switch during the 2002 model year. He supplied me with a replacement switch that corrected the issue. When will/is GM going to step up to the plate and acknowledge this issue and recall all affected vehicles"

- St. Charles, MN, USA

problem #13

Jan 162007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased my 2002 Grand Am used in July 2005 with 25,000 miles on it. Have since replaced the timing and everything that goes along with that ($2000+) and we are trying to get some of that money back from GM as we are aware there was a service bulletin that had something to do with what happened. Now... I had received a "recall" regarding the blinkers about an issue where they stop working. The issue I'm having, of course, is not covered by the recall. In December, I began hearing a clicking sound coming from the dash which sounded like the blinker was flashing. The blinkers are not flashing but it sounds like they are. They do seem to be working fine when I am actually trying to use them. Doesn't happen all the time, but sometimes it clicks just a few times and stops, sometimes it clicks alot to the point where I just turn the radio up so I can't hear the clicking. The dealer told me this would cost $300 to replace the whole arm--which apparently involves removing the steering column. Luckily, I know a mechanic who will do this repair for the cost of the arm. What is the problem with GM and these Grand Am? they sure don't stand behind their product! I love my car, but this is getting ridiculous...to the point that I'm tempted to buy a foreign car next time!

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #12

Jan 012006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,144 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle had a defective multi-function switch, which produced a buzzing sound. The service dealer stated the switch had to be replaced. The manufacturer stated they would not replace the part because it was not the part they were reimbursing for. Updated 09/06.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 102006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Am. Frequent engagement of the turn signal relay from simply moving the steering wheel. We received a "recall notice" related to the turn signal, but Pontiac has no record of our car qualifying for the recall. Multi function switch replaced. Total cost of repair $360. Research on the internet indicated several of these issues.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #10

Feb 022006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Your recall of 2000-2001 Pontiac grandams (03V327000) states that if the turn signals/hazard flashers become inoperative it could result in a crash. Now Pontiac sends me a letter letting me know that my 2002 grandam could have a problem with the turn signals/hazard flashers that could allow them to fail. With a little logic - if it is dangerous for a 2000-2001 then it also dangerous for a 2002 and there should be a recall!

- Moran, KS, USA

problem #9

May 202006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After using the turn signal, I noticed there was a clicking noise still coming from under the dash for a few minutes after the signal was turned off. This happens every time I use the turn signal and the latest incident resulted in smoke in the cabin but no fire. After doing much research, I see this is an ongoing issue with this vehicle, as with previous years. Why is there no recall or tsb issued for this item, seeing as though this results in turn signal failure, and can even cause a fire.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #8

Jan 012004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Complained 2 years ago about turn signal clicking noise in dash when not engaged. Received letter from Pontiac April 2006 to have signal/hazard warning flashers replaced. Took to jack wolf Pontiac and was told by craig wegner, service manager it was also the hazard switch and the multi-function switch causing problem. These are not covered and would cost me $474 to replace. Cannot stand constant clicking noise any longer. Please look into this matter.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #7

Mar 232006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. I am having problems with the turn signals. It started with the turn signals working intermittently. Now the problem has progressed to the turn signals continuing to click even when they are not in use. I know the 2000 and 2001 Grand Am were recalled for this same problem. Why aren't the 2002S have the same thing done. My problem has not been fixed yet but plan on having it done soon if there is a potential for a fire.

- Peru, IN, USA

problem #6

Jan 042006

Grand Am

  • miles
Exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch exterior lighting:turn signal:switch see open investigation #PE05055 turn signal is still clicking when not engaged. This is due to the hazard flashing switch (confirmed by mechanic) when will recall be issued as has been for other year Pontiac's??

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #5

Apr 072005

Grand Am

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The hazard warning lights and turn signal lights were not working. The consumer stated they came on and went off and they got stuck. The vehicle was looked at in April 2005 to see why this was occurring. At that time, nothing was found wrong with the vehicle. When the consumer called Pontiac, they stated there was no a recall. The bulbs have been replaced. The consumer stated she must hit the hazard switch for the lights to work, sometimes this does not work either. Updated 11/16/05.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #4

Sep 122005

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
I have been having trouble with my turn signals on my 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. When I use my signals, after it clicks off, it still clicks and on 2 occasions there was smoke that came out of my steering wheel. My husband and I have brought the car to the dealership on a separate occasion, and after explaining what was wrong with the car (that is still under GM warranty) they told us that we still had to pay for a diagnostic test. I know of at least 3 other people with the same year and model car as I and they have had the same problem. I was informed from my mechanic that if the wiring work is not done soon, there will most definitely be a fire. I don't feel that I as a consumer and with it still being under warranty, should have to pay out of my pocket for repairs that are clearly the manufacturer's fault. This defect risks the lives of my children as well as myself and anyone else who rides in my vehicle.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 032005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Turn signal switch appears to be failing - something GM addressed on earlier model vehicles and across a wide range of GM vehicles. Turn signal switch appears to continue to operate even after the turn signal is returned to it's off position. Clicking is random and usually very fast - likely the result of current arcing given earlier recalls regarding the turn signal and hazzard light switch. GM has issued a recall for this on earlier vehicles. Often referred to by owners as "nervous blinker syndrome." Dealer plans to charge $250 to fix despite recalls on earlier models.

- Monticello, MN, USA

problem #2

Jan 012005

Grand Am

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When using turn signal the light in the dash stays on even after making the turn. It was due to hazard light switch failure.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #1

Feb 012004

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
I purchased a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am (with about 20,000 miles on it) from gandrud Chevrolet in green bay, wi. When the car had 30,000 - 35,000 miles on it, the front bumper started peeling paint and the flashers started clicking occasionaly on their own. By the time the warranty was up (about 40,00 to 45,000 miles) the paint was really comming off and now the flashers/turn signals constantly click as if on. Even though they constantly do this, they are not flashing. I took the car to the dealer about the paint and they said sorry the warrenty is up. Is their any recourse I have to make them fix the tur signal/flasher problem?

- Menominee, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?