Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
55,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Pontiac Grand Am seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 102016

Grand Am

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the horn worked intermittently. The dealer diagnosed that the air bag melted onto the electrical parts inside the steering wheel. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- New Smyurna Beach, FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 072013

Grand Am

  • 58,494 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am. While the vehicle was at a complete stop, the preceding vehicle reversed and crashed into the front of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new fuel pump and ignition lock cylinder switch. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that a technician from the manufacturer came out to assess the vehicle, but the contact believed the procedure was not done correctly. The failure mileage was 58,494.

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #14

Jun 262006

Grand Am

  • 29,002 miles
At 29,000 miles in 2006 the ignition would not turn. Car towed to authorized Pontiac dealer where I was told the ignition cylinder needed to be replaced. The cost for the ignition cylinder was $327 I was struck by a utility truck while stopped at a red light in 2013 and the airbag did not deploy. At approximately 58,000 miles the car won't start.again towed to a Pontiac dealer. Told I need a new ignition cylinder for a cost of $447.82. Prior to this incident, when the key was turned the security light and airbag light would stay illuminated longer than usual. There has been a clicking sound coming from dashboard and at times while driving on a shifted level road (example: End of a highway ramp, backing out of an uneven driveway) the car has turned off. There has also at times been difficulty turning the steering wheel. Often times it turned easily and other times it wouldn't turn at all. 2015 General Motors told me this wasn't passed on for investigation because I didn't provide a photo of the vehicle before the bodywork was done although they received the repair bill. I still don't have a driveable car and am unsure if this car would even be safe to drive.

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #13

Sep 022014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that there was a sudden loss of power and the steering wheel became extremely tight and difficult to turn. The contact applied force to the brake pedal which did not stop the vehicle, causing the contact to veer to the right and crash into a curb and then a stop sign. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained head injuries and whiplash, which required medical attention. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system), but experienced the failure before the recall repair was performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 139,000. Updated 5/29/15 the consumer hit a curb then a fire hydrant. Updated 04/05/16.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #12

Aug 192012

Grand Am

  • miles
The contact owned a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving approximately 10-15 mph, a train crashed into the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the check engine and oil warning lights illuminated. The front driver side air bag did not deploy. A police report was filed. The front passenger and the contact sustained head and chest injuries that required medical attention. The contact mentioned that a recall notice for the air bag was received after the failure. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was deemed totaled. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Troy , AL, USA

problem #11

Nov 292013

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 139,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact's vehicle rear ended the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The suffered injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 139,000. Updated 12/01/14 updated 01/27/15

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #10

Apr 242007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 171,989 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tuesday, 24 Apr 2007 1500 hours after workday ended, I-25 southbound at Colorado mile marker 104 right lane, weather partly cloudy with partly wet roadway, the Pontiac Grand Am 2003 I was driving at 55 mph started front drive shaking. The vehicle ran off the right side of the highway and rolled one and one-half times in the borrow ditch. Upside down restrained by the seat belt, I noticed the Pontiac's air bags had not deployed and the engine was not running. After unbuckling the seatbelt, I, with a scarred forehead, climbed through the drivers side broken out window and exited the vehicle. The Colorado state patrol arrived, investigated, had the vehicle towed to the salvage yard, and sent me to the local hospital, an outpatient for the forehead scar. 3 July 2014 NHTSA recall 14V400 and GM recall N140350 unintended key rotation for my 1999-2005 Pontiac Grand Am.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #9

Jun 062013

Grand Am

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact's vehicle was rear ended while idling at a traffic light. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained a neck injury. An independent mechanic stated that the front bumper needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #8

Sep 112013

Grand Am

  • 97,000 miles
The dash is peeling and rolling up it has broke all the vents and has pushed the trim around the speedometer/ rim et down and off. My airbag light comes on often and it is a concern for the passenger side airbag that is starting to push up the cover. Starting to have electrical problems due to it pushing pressure on the fuse boxes. I also have it pushing on the door allowing water to run into my car at the fuse box speaker and into my floor. I see this problem in several other vehicles with the dash. These problems are a safety issue and should be addressed and fixed by GMC before a failure to one of these systems and cause injury or death.

- Calhoun, GA, USA

problem #7

Oct 282005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The other driver ran a red light and I T-boned her Jeep, the crash spun my Grand Am around and ripped the front end almost all the way off my car. My air-bags did not deploy I sustained damage to my shoulder that is for the rest of my life. As hard as the hit was, my air bag should have deployed. Why did it not?

- Buzzards Bay, MA, USA

problem #6

May 272007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving back home from a weekend trip at the lake, when my car made a chiming noise (like the noise it makes when you need gas.) then my air bag light came on and flashed a few times then went off. It kept flashing every now and again until we made a stop. The rest of the way home it didn't make a noise or flash. Then a few days later I was driving home from work and it made the sound again and started flashing. I am almost afraid to drive my car because I don't want the air bag to go off with out being in a wreck, but then I am also afraid that the air bag might not go off if I get in a wreck.

- Andale, KS, USA

problem #5

Jul 032004

Grand Am 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Am that my daughter was in hit an embankment and rolled several times. There was extensive front and both sides damage. No airbag deployed in the car. I have found a complaint that was filed about another airbag that did not deploy. I am wondering how many more there are.

- Searcy, AR, USA

problem #4

May 302005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,187 miles
I drove from the state of Virginia, heading to reno, nv to visit family. I was driving a 2003 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 3.4L. The conditions of the road were wet, as it was raining. The posted speed limit was 75mph - I was travelling at 68mph. I was involved in a single car accident, in fort bridger, Wyoming. A semi-truck cut in front of me, in the left lane, from the right lane - splashing alot of water over my vehicle. I hydroplaned and my car spun out of control to the right. I hit the right side of the road guard rail with the left/front of the vehicle, and then the car slid across the road ramming the left side of the road guard rail, dead center in the rear end. I was wearing my seat belt, but I was still slammed and jolted forward and sideways. Neither of my dual front air bags deployed. The speed that was calculated by the highway patrol at the time that I hit the guard rail was at a minimum of 60-65mph. The air bags should have deployed with either impact of the front and rear, at a minimum speed of 35mph, and they did not. I have pictures of the vehicle from the incident.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #3

Apr 012004

Grand Am 8-cyl

  • miles
The consumer request assistance in getting a copy of the accident report. The vehicle inspection report, and written monetary settlement fm GM, his daughter was injured in the 2003 Pontiac am. The consumer is requesting correspondence from GM. Updated the consumers daughter was in a single accident on the interstate. The vehicle hydroplaned in wet rainy conditions and she crashed into a guardrail, then spun around and severed a light pole. The brakes did not engage and the air bags did not deploy. The consumer has not received requested data defined on the 0500-05/01/05 memo. As of 3/28/2006 the consumer has not received the field assessment report. Updated 05/09/06 the consumer stated a representative from the BBB will be contacting NHTSA in the near future. Updated 07/13/06.

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #2

Jul 222003

Grand Am

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,450 miles
While driving 60 mph front passenger side tire came off the rim. As a result the driver lost control of the vehicle and hit a bridge, spun around and hit a guard rail. None of the airbags deployed.

- Mount Pleasant, TX, USA

problem #1

May 272003

Grand Am

  • 6,000 miles
While driving vehicle was invovled in a head on collision and airbags did not deploy. Please provide additional information.

- Caneyville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?