If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

6.4

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$406.00
Average Mileage:
85,112 miles
Total Complaints:
16 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (13 reports)
  2. replace rack and pinion (1 reports)
  3. replaced brake pads and rotors (1 reports)
  4. replaced sensor wire harness (1 reports)
2001 Pontiac Grand Prix brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 182010

Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ABS would kick in when I make sharp turns on very low speed have my foot step on the break peddle. Then the traction and ABS lights would come on

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #15

Feb 022010

Grand Prix GT 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

HEY! I have a 2001 Grand Prix GT. I had this same problem (my ABS light was on, Trac light was saying "Trac Off", and the red Brake warning light on the dash was on!) Firestone ran a diagnostic test and the code said Front Right Sensor was bad. I have replaced both front hubs, both outer tie-rod ends, both rotors and the brakes. I also made sure that the brake fluid was full (adding the fluid turned off the "Brake" warning light that was on the dash)."

After doing all that, my friend and I bought a new right front sensor wire harness on Amazon for $29.00! We changed out the harness last night (took about 45 minutes) and the light is off! After inspecting the old harness once we removed it, we found that the wires had cracked or broke apart about 4 inches from the sensor connector that connects to the hub sensor. After replacing this harness, the light immediately went off and has stayed off. Take off the wheel, unhook the sensor connection, follow the wire harness to the chassiss just under the radiator. You will see where it splices into the main harness. Cut the old one out and splice the new one in! That simple!

You can email me at lancerecruit2002@yahoo.com if you have any questions.

- , Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #14

Feb 022010

Grand Prix V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,500 miles

Wife's car that is mainly city driven. Has low miles on it. One day she came home from work and said the ABS and Traction light came on. Checked trouble codes that came back with wheel speed sensors and transmission speed sensor faults. I thought it would be a real simple fix by just replacing the wheel speed sensors like on my Jeep Grand Cherokee, but it turns out that the speed sensors are part of the front hubs. How stupid is that! And the price for a front wheel hub is ridiculous. For a car with less than 50k miles on it, it shouldn't be having these problems and transmission issues. If this is the quality that Detroit auto makers put out, then it is now wonder that they are all in financial trouble.

- , Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 012007

Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car used from a Pontiac dealer ship. It had 50,000 miles on it. About a year later the abs light came on, the track light was on off, and my brakes barely worked when i tried to stop. I had the bub sensors replaced, and that fixed the problem, After a year, the same thing happened. I checked to see if there was a recall on this, and cold not find one. I then again replaced this. And now, my car is doing the same thing. I think there should be a recall for this problem before i end up killing my self or someone else. Three times in 3 years is ridiculous! GM should do something for us loyal GM buyers!

- , Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #12

Apr 012008

Grand Prix GT 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

The ABS light and traction control light would come on and I would lose both functions while the lights were on. When the lights were not on, the ABS would activate even though I did not need them such as when I was backing out of the garage at 5 mph on dry pavement and would brake to stop. Passenger side front always caused the computer diagnostic. Replaced the wheel hub which contains the sensor. Did not fix the problem but it went away after a month or so.

- , Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #11

Mar 012008

Grand Prix GT 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,100 miles

The low trac light comes on for no apparent reason at low speeds,anti lock brakes engage sometimes when almost stopped, and the ABS pump is making a low vibrating noise when I drive at very low speeds. My mechanic won't commit. He thinks it may be the ABS pump,which is a $1500 part and doesn't want to replace it because it's a lot of money for something he's not sure about. He recommends going to the dealer,as if they don't mind wasting my money. I think I should just disconnect the ABS pump or drive it until what ever it is actually goes out. It sounds like a few people are spending lots of cash trying to figure this one out.

- , Cedar Hill, MO, USA

problem #10

May 122007

(reported on)

Grand Prix V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

at very low speeds, especially turning into a parking spot the brakes make a scrubbing sound. just had the rotors turned and new pads installed less than two months ago so i'm sure that is not the problem.

- , Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #9

Oct 102007

Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,186 miles

6/28/2001, @11miles, Passngr seat clunks if pushed hard on seat back, Loose bolt - tighten bolt, 8/27/2001, @4147miles, Rear Passngr side seat belt will not lock, Ordered new belt, 8/27/2001, @4147miles, Controls in headliner for sunroof are loose, Ordered new console, 8/27/2001, @4147miles, Thud noise when backing up out of garage, Lube stabilizer bar, 9/6/2001, @4881miles, Rear Passngr side seat belt will not lock, Replaced Belt Kit - bad latch, 9/6/2001, @4881miles, Controls in headliner for sunroof are loose, Replaced Overhead Console, 9/6/2001, @4881miles, Fluttering sound when heater is on, R&R Motor and Secure - out of align, 10/10/2002, @9302miles, Maintenance - oil change & tire rotate, Inspect & lube front suspension,drive line,steering,hinges,cable guides, contact points, front drive belts,hoses,cables,lights,horn, filters,tires, fluid levels, adjust tire pressure,change engine oil,replace oil filter, $37.94 3/21/2002, @13018miles, Maintenance - 15K type, Lube frnt susp, drive line etc, insp belts, hoses, cables, lights, horn, filters, tires, change oil and filter, insp PVC valve, front and rear brakes, exhaust system & heat shields for damage or loose parts; rotate tires, adj pressure, service auto transm, repl fluid, pan gasket & filter, $131.30 2/23/2003, @28773miles, Maintenance - rotate tires, Rotated Tires, $49.44 3/19/2003, 29714, Clicking noise from front end at lower speeds, Install front caliper service kit per Bulletin (Pin Kit 4.665), A-Tire County Service, 4/16/2003, @31286miles, Maintenance - new front tires, Installed New Front Tires/balanced, $118.93 Patrick Pontiac/GMC, 6/1/1998, @32864miles, Constant Thump Noise, Replace front Wheel Bearing & Hub, 7/8/2003, @35853miles, Rhythmic knocking noise from tire, Recommend replace front tires, 4/19/2004, @46460miles, Vehicle leaking oily fluid, Recall #03034, $150.00 4/19/2004, @46460miles, Vehicle leaking oily fluid, Replaced RT Valve Cover Gasket, 4/19/2004, @46460miles, Vehicle leaking oily fluid, Replaced Oil Pan Gasket, 1/20/2005, @57090miles, Lower Blower speeds inoperable (Heating & Air), Replaced Blower Resister, $200.00 1/20/2005, @57090miles, Needs Seat Tracks - Est. $900 - not done, 1/20/2005, @57090miles, Low coolant light keeps coming on, Replaced leaking intake gasket, 7/7/2005, @62735miles, Maintenance - Car Wash, Replace Serpentine Belt, $56.95 10/14/2005, @65359miles, Brake Warning Light on, Replace Front Brakes, $240.40 2/4/2008, @65359miles, Car pulling to right, Shop Supplies, $5.00 2/4/2008, @65359miles, Car pulling to right, Repl Outer Tie Rod End L&R Sides, $39.75 2/4/2008, @65359miles, Car pulling to right, Repl L/S Inner Tie Rod End, $ 44.78 2/4/2008, @65359miles, Car pulling to right, Repl Inner CV Boot, $39.95 2/4/2008, @65359miles, Car pulling to right, Repair Front End, $80.00 10/19/2005, @65510miles, Maintenance - Oil Change, T-Tech Trans Svc; Radiator Svc, $159.97 10/20/2005, @65580miles, Brakes squealing, Bleed Brake System, $35.00 11/9/2005, @65910miles, Transm clunks gear to gear when upshifting; whining sound in motion as speed increases; slight burning odor, Overhauled Transmission, $200.00 12/22/2005, @67106miles, Transm has unusually harsh 2-1 downshift, Front End/2 Wheel Alignment, $69.95 12/22/2005, @67106miles, Clunk/thump from steering in both directions, Repl Outer Tie Rod (Rod Kit 6.233), $101.86 12/22/2005, @67106miles, Transm has unusually harsh 2-1 downshift, Reset Shifter Adapts, 2/20/2006, @68313miles, Transm has slip/hesitation feel when coming to stops, Replaced Valve Body - Main Control, 2/20/2006, @68313miles, Noise in front end - vibrating sound - rumble feel in 30-40mph range, Unable to duplicate concern, 3/3/2006, @68511miles, Noise in front end, Tried a new tire - noise ceased, 5/15/2006, @70444miles, Slight Knock, Unable to duplicate concern, 1/4/2007, @77756miles, Shifts 1st to 2nd ok; past that, no 3rd or 4th gears; seems to stick in 2nd, Replaced Catalytic Converter & O2 Sensor, 1/23/2007, @78871miles, SES light on, Repair & Replace Thermostat, $165.13 Londono's Auto, 5/9/2007, @82924miles, Customer had fuel filter replaced; vacuum hoses by tbi unit keeps coming off (pressure), Replaced Fuel Pressure Regulator, $123.56 8/14/2007, @88390miles, Vehicle running very poor - no lights on; hesitating, Unable to duplicate concern, $45.00 8/17/2007, @88524miles, Running poor & SES light is on, Repair Mass Air Flow Sensor, $319.27 9/28/2007, @89772miles, ABS & Traction warnings on, Trouble codes C0161, C0450 & C0035, $106.29 Londono's Auto, 10/10/2007, @90186miles, ABS Light on AGAIN, Replace Rack and Pinion w/new, $210.79 1/19/2008, @92680miles, Maintenance - Oil Change, Fuel Injection Service done, $69.99 2/4/2008, @93463miles, Car pulling to right, Alignment, $118.14 2/29/2008, @94811miles, Brake squealing noise - loud, Repair & Replace Rear Brake Pads and Rotors - Bleed brakes, $362.17 2/29/2008, @94811miles, Brake squealing noise - loud, Bleed & Flush Brake System, $59.99; 03/06/08, @95410miles, ABS & Traction Off lights on (�no data� from computer), recommends replacing ABS module/base (over $1,000!!!!)

- , Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #8

Sep 012007

Grand Prix SE 3.1L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

My ABS light came on randomly and only if i braked really hard would it turn off for about a minute and then come back on. My brakes started to squeak not to long after that and i had both the rotors and the pads placed on all four wheels and the light went off and hasn't been on since

- , Suffern, New York, USA

problem #7

Sep 102007

Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

First noticed a problem with braking at slow speeds. When slowing to turn right, would feel a vibration or grabbing feel in the brake pedal, so got around the problem for a while by braking straight and taking foot off brake pedal for turning right. Called Pontiac dealer and suggested I bring it in right away. Before I could take it in the ABS light and TRAC OFF light came on. Dealer said left hub bad, so replaced for $500; also replaced tie rods at same time as they said they were bad also. Drove for about 3 weeks and same problem, took it back to the dealer and they said right hub needs replacing, so another $500. Drove another month and noticed a lot of grease in right wheel. Cleaned wheel with the hope that it was just excess grease from repair, but now am having a bad brake feel when braking straight at slow speed (under 30 mph) sometimes. Doesn't happen all the time, just sometimes. Not sure how much more I can spend on this car; have 102000 miles now. Did my hubs and tie rods REALLY need replacing or is there something else that is the problem? Any ideas? CV joints? Brake caliper pins? Any help appreciated at this point!

- , Liberty Hill, TX, USA

problem #6

Sep 132007

(reported on)

Grand Prix GT 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First the catalytic converter went out, Pontiac put a new one in on a recall, then the transmission went out $2800 later that is fixed, now the ABS light and the trac off light are on and no one can figure it out, has anyone had any luck with this?

- , Bolingbrook, Illionois, USA

problem #5

Jul 062007

(reported on)

Grand Prix GT 3.8L II SERIES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

Well basically my wife wanted to test drive, didn't even really have the chance to do any homework. In just buying it, 4 days later the thermostat went then the wheel bearing and then the abs sh*t! Started trying to figure why i wasn't stopping when i expected. quite frankly scared the bejesus right out of me. Me and my lovely were a little nervous when it sounded like we were skidding on ice and thats the best way to put it, after talking to the brother in-law we found out about the sensor thing. i haven't found out how much its going to cost but i hope not that much....

- , Lacrosse, WIS, USA

problem #4

Mar 262007

(reported on)

Grand Prix GT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE OTHER THREE, SPENT CLOSE TO 700.00 SO FAR AND STILL NOT FIXED, STUPID ABS LIGHT AND LOW TRAC LIGHT. MY CAR DOES NOT STOP WELL. HAD A NEW WHEEL BEARING PUT ON AND A NEW MODULE, NEITHER FIXED IT.... COME ON PONTIAC, HELP US OUT.

- , Curtice, OH, USA

problem #3

Oct 312006

(reported on)

Grand Prix ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I started having problems with the ABS/ Traction control light coming on a few months ago. While slowing to stop my brake pedal would shake and the car would make a noise like springs were breaking. I took the car to a local dealership that told me the struts needed to be replaced. At a cost of over $700 for parts alone, we decided to let someone else look at it because the dealership advised it was "not a safety issue." So we took it to a local mechanic, who found the right front hub assembly to be bad, and replaced it. The car ran great for less than a month. Back to the mechanic, whose computer shows the same problem, but he can't get the car to duplicate the problem. He replaces the hub assembly anyway because it was under warranty. Three weeks later, same thing. BACK to the mechanic. This time he says the right tie rod end is real bad, and states that it may be throwing the sensor off. Had the tie rod end replaced. Started with the ABS Thing less than a week later. Hate the thought of going to a different local dealership, but am at my wits end. Any suggestions appreciated

- , Sulphur, LA, USA

problem #2

Jul 172006

(reported on)

Grand Prix SR

  • 90,000 miles

The ABS light comes on, the traction control turns off, and the car doesn't brake correctly when going slow (like turning into a parking spot). I have had the left hub assembly repaired twice and the right replaced once in the last month and I am about to make another appointment because the car is doing the same things again. The time wasted at the dealership is a pain in the ass. If anybody has figured out this problem, please let me know. I don't want to keep wasting my time and money. Thanks

- , Indiana, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 192006

(reported on)

Grand Prix GTP

  • 74,000 miles

I bought the car (from a Chrysler dealer, so mistake #1 there... never buy a car from a competing manufacturer's lot) and a week after I signed the paperwork, the ABS light came on and the Traction control turned off. I thought it was something simple, like brake fluid or something, so I had my uncle, who's a mechanic, look at it, and he said it was something more serious. So, I took it to a Pontiac dealer, and they said that it was the left wheel speed sensor. OK, I thought, we get that replaced and it should be alright from there on out. $600 and 2 months later, in August, the same issue happens again. I took it back to the dealer, who proceeded to tell me that it wasn't the part that went bad again (b/c it was under 12mo/12k warranty), nor could they figure out what was wrong. So, I'm having the same problem and no one (I took it to two other GM dealers) knows what's going on. I love my car, but this is becoming ridiculous!

- , St. Petersburg, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?