Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 2 of 4)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,005 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Aug 012014

Grand Prix

  • 140,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while the shifter was in the park position and after exiting the vehicle, the doors erroneously became locked and would not unlock. As a result, a one-year-old child was trapped inside the vehicle. An independent mechanic was able to force the door open. The contact also stated that while driving, the low beam head lights would suddenly shut off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #53

Aug 062015

Grand Prix

  • 126,789 miles
While driving down the street my low beam headlights shutoff. This has been going on foe a year and half. I changed the relay and the new one got so hot it melted. So then I changed the whole fuse box under the hood. It seemed to have worked until the other week. Now its the same problem.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #52

Mar 272015

Grand Prix

  • 145,000 miles
Beginning approximately the end of March, while driving at night, both of my low beam headlights have gone out at the same time. They came right back on at that time so I thought I hit a switch. Sometime in may it happened again, but the lights would not go back on so I used my hi beams. The low beams worked fine in the morning. This has happened about 3 more times since then and is becoming more frequent. Last night on July 23, it happened again on a dark, curvy road and I almost ran off the road. This morning, they work fine again. I called the dealer and they said there was no recall on this. I am surprised as this is a serious safety issue. I need to get it repaired, but since it is an intermittent problem, I suspect the dealer will not be able to find the root cause or fix the problem.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #51

May 152015

Grand Prix

  • 106,555 miles


I had just bought this vehicle a week before from a used dealer. The first time I drove at night was on my son's graduation. It was only a few mins into driving with my low beams on and they just shut off on me. I freaked it was pich dark and I tried everything to get them to come on. I turned them on bright and my brights worked but the low beam was still off. A few mins later the low beam finally came back on. Then it did it again a few mins later. The low beam will do this all the time even the running lights. I have searched for an answer to this and found that my year model is not the only one with this problem. This can truly cause a major accident. I am very grateful I was the only one on that road that night it first happened to me.

- Mount Ida, AR, USA

problem #50

May 112015

Grand Prix

  • 152,000 miles
I own a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix GT. While driving at various speeds, the low beam of both headlights automatically turn off with no warning. It is extremely dangerous and I have seen multiple other complaints of the same nature on this website. Pontiac/GM need to issue a fix for this immediately. No one should have to die from this issue!!

- Springdale, AR, USA

problem #49

Nov 212014

Grand Prix

  • 119,000 miles
Approximately after 3 minutes of driving the head lights go out. The high beams still work. If the car is off for 5 minutes it seems to reset, but will only last 3 minutes again.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #48

Aug 202012

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles


I had the exact same problem with a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. In my case it was the headlamp relay that needed replacement. I'm concerned this my be the same issue as for yesterday's announced recall but did not see any Pontiac listed as being affected. Fyi my VIN was [xxx] [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 1/5/2015

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #47

Jun 212014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
When leaving a friends house our low beam headlamps failed to illuminate. I tried to manually make them come on and they still would not illuminate. I still had high beams, tail lamps, and side marker lamps. I turned on my fog lamps to make it home with lighting to the front.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #46

Sep 072013

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Head lights go off intermittently. I'm sure I don't have to say how dangerous this is.

- Batesville , AR, USA

problem #45

Aug 152014

Grand Prix

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact that while driving at various speeds, the low beam of both headlights automatically turned off. The problem occurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #44

Oct 282014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


2007 Pontiac Grand Prix VIN: [xxx] high beam headlights come on while traveling without cause. October 28, 2014 tonight coming home traveling approx. 25-30 mph on side street low beam lights switched to high beam without driver ever touching turn signal/headlight switch arm on left of steering column. Originally it was noticed during right hand turns when right hand blinker turned on that head lights would change from low beam to high beam. This observation started occurring approximately November 2013. I have read about fires in other vehicles from faulty switches and this concerns me greatly. Is there a recall for this issue so it can be fixed? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #43

Aug 052014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 175,145 miles
I parked my car at work. When I got out of work the car would not start. The low beam lights apparently never shut off. The switches inside the car were all off. I jumped the car and drove home and found that no matter what I did the headlights would not shut off. I went to pull relay 35 and burnt my hand. It was melting and I had to get a pair of pliers to remove it. I have had this relay fail at least 3 times in the past but it never kept the lights on. They would only not turn off. Researching online this seems to be a common problem with people's car catching fire.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #42

Oct 022014

Grand Prix

  • 110,459 miles
My 2007 Grand Prix lower lights just cut off while driving with no warning. It's been going on for about a year. I replaced my battery, my alternator and starter is working fine. My high beams did it twice about 8 months ago but haven't happened since. I'm scared to travel at night but I have a brother who can't walk and he lives on the next road from my house and I have to go to his house every night. I have 2 friends that have a Grand Prix, one has a 2006 and the other a 2008. They have the same problem. Our key pads don't work either. Mine stopped about a year after I purchased the car in August of 2007. All these people are not having this issue by coincedent. Please contact me soon.

- Canton, MS, USA

problem #41

Sep 112014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 100,500 miles
Over the past 3 years at random occasions the low beams would just turn off in my car while driving. Luckily, the high beams have always worked so I could continue to drive. I researched how to fix the issue, and I ended up replacing the relay to the low beams twice since Oct. 2011. Replacing the relay always seemed to correct the issue. I was always under the impression that it was just a faulty relay. Last night, my wife returned home from dinner and the headlights would not turn off. She called me to ask what she should do. I advised her to either disconnect the battery or remove the relay that has been a problem in the past until I could come home and take a look at it. As she opened the hood she noticed a burning smell. It was dark so she went to grab a flashlight, and upon returning the relay panel was now on fire. Thankfully there was a fire extinguisher nearby for her to extinguish the flames before it got out of hand. Our 3 year old and 8 month old sons had also just gotten out of the car as well. I cringe thinking about what could have happened had my family been driving an extra 10 minutes when this fire began, or if my wife couldn't have returned in time with a fire extinguisher. I have read multiple other reports online of other individuals having the same issues with the low beams shutting off, and several that ended with a fire such as ours did.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #40

Aug 142014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I noticed my car lights would not turn off. I then drove my car less than 5 minutes away to pick up my kids. Upon pulling into the parking lot I let down my window and noticed a burning smell. There were guys around at the time that noticed as well. They then ran to my car asked me to pop my hood and we noticed my fuse box on fire. They where able to unhook it to keep the rest of the car from catching on fire. I have filed a complaint also with GM. I have seen from other complaints that this has happen to many of the Pontiac Grand Prix. I cannot find a recall on this from GM. If I would have had my kids in the car and been driving a longer distance this problem could have possibly caused my whole car to catch on fire and could have resulted in injury or even death.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #39

Jun 202014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
A couple months ago the low beam headlamps began to randomly and intermittently stop working while the vehicle was in motion. There was no apparent correlation between how long the vehicle had been running and when the lights cut off or how long it would take for them to begin working again. Only hi beams worked consistently. As of this past week, the low beam head lamps are no longer working for any length of time. A local mechanic has been engaged to troubleshoot possible causes. After reading online complaints, he will review the fuse block, relay and connections to the computer to determine where the breakdown occurs. We are in agreement with other comments posted on this site. It is very scary the first time it happens. Fortunately, the 20-year old driver was familiar with that particular curve and had the presence of mind to hit the high beams right away. I'm not confident all drivers would recover so quickly under such circumstances. It only takes a couple seconds to engage the hi beams if it's your vehicle and you know their placement. However, people are likely to fumble and switch from auto to manual for the low beams first before engaging the hi beams. That extra time could cost lives. It is a shame that after all these complaints and fires, there's no recall yet.

- Saint Clair, MI, USA

problem #38

Aug 052014

Grand Prix

  • miles
Leaving my child's day care provider my husband noticed the headlights were not working. My husband continued to drive home thinking the fuse had blown. He had replaced the fuse about 5 months ago and thought it was strange to have it blown out again so soon. He pulled into the garage and took our daughter inside. He went back to the garage to check it out more in detail and immediately smelled burnt plastic. He then opened the hood and noticed the fuse block was melted where the recent relay was replaced.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #37

Jul 152014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
I went to work on July 15, 2014, after dropping my daughter off at her grandmothers. I worked for 8 hours and as I was leaving I could not get the car to turn over. My dome light was in the off position & my headlights were in the auto position. I could not figure out why my car was dead. I called my fiancÉ to come jump my car. When he arrived and opened the hood he immediately smelled something burning. He noticed that my fuse box under the hood was warped and when he opened it smoke rolled out and 1 relay switch was so burnt/melted it was black & flakey and had began to melt the other relays around it. My fiancÉ had to have the car towed home. Upon further inspection it has also damaged the wiring harness. I have researched this and I have discovered that many people have been reporting this same problem online for a number of years now. Some vehicles have even had a fire under the hood of their cars. This is a hazard to anyone who drives the vehicle and to those who are around the vehicle if a fire does break out.

- Marion, IN, USA

problem #36

May 072012

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
My low beam head lights go off intermittently. We have replaced the relay under the hood as well as sensors. This happens almost every time we drive. Clearly its quite a safety issue, they have shut off unexpectedly while driving at a high speed on the interstate in the pitch black of night.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #35

Jun 182014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
This is not the first time this happened we have already fixed this problem 3 times witch the switch cost us $210 dollars to have replaced and that is just the part. I will be driving at night and my lights just turn off and never come back on!!! I have almost been in a wreck due to this problem so I believe someone needs to do some research on the Pontiac control switch that operates lights blinkers cruise control.

- Bellmead, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?