Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,132 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Pontiac Grand Prix lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 292016

Grand Prix

  • 155,000 miles


Went to car to go to work and found during the night the fuse box under the hood had burnt up while parked in driveway over night.

- Rocky Point, NC, USA

problem #18

Aug 222016

Grand Prix

  • 159,000 miles
Low beam headlights go off, and sometimes on again by themselves. This happens after dark, while driving. It also happens in early evening when headlights should be on. This has been happening for a few weeks. Looking on the internet, I see there is a recall for this in 2007 models.

- Canaan, NH, USA

problem #17

Aug 132016

Grand Prix

  • 161,000 miles
Was driving down road and smelt a burnt odor, found out my low beams where not working. Once home, I popped the hood, opened the fuse box and found it smoking. Quickly disconnected battery cable. Further observation, found low beam relay started melting and must have caused small fire. Burnt part of the fuse box.

- Sublette, KS, USA

problem #16

Feb 012014

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving at various speeds, low beam head lamps failed to function intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 02/26/16 updated 02/29/16.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #15

Dec 112015

Grand Prix

  • 98,500 miles
This vehicle keeps blowing the fuse for front park lights and tail lights. Without lights, cant drive vehicle at night or low light, inclement weather conditions. Initial investigation/troubleshooting leads to faulty body control module. The body control module provides ground circuit for multiple electrical functions on vehicle. This problem could result in vehicle wiring harness overloading and catching fire. Problem needs to be addressed with manufacturer. This fault can occur while driving or stationary. Fault occurs simply by turning ignition switch to on position and/or activating the multi-function switch to activate headlights and the fuse blows immediately. Simply replacing the fuse does not fix the problem. The vehicle should be diagnosed by GM dealer to validate proper function of lights/lighting system to pinpoint problem. Left alone, electrical components can fail and result in vehicle electrical fire. See attached photo of fuse block showing damage to area for parking light fuse.

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #14

Oct 012015

Grand Prix

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the headlights failed to remain illuminated. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #13

Nov 012015

Grand Prix

  • 129,500 miles


2008 Grand Prix low beam headlights/daytime running lights work intermittently or don't work at all. Lights will work when car is started and will go out as I am driving or will not come on at all. VIN search says no recall on my year, but this same exact issue is in recall for 2007 and 2006 Grand Prix. This is a safety issue for my vehicle and I have now been pulled over and ticketed by the police for having headlight issues. I have tried replacing the hdm/headlight relay fuse, but the problem has persisted. I believe the issue to be the fuse socket or fusebox itself that is overheating the hdm

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #12

Sep 152014

Grand Prix

  • 70,000 miles
Low beam and driving lamps keep cutting out, stop working. Sometimes they work correctly then go through a series of shut downs. Especially at night I have to use hi beams to get off the road or get home.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #11

Sep 202015

Grand Prix

  • 105,000 miles
The headlamp module stopped working causing the low beams to go out when my daughter was driving home one evening. I researched this and found that this is a recall for cars through 2007 but GM refused to handle this on my 2008.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #10

May 262015

Grand Prix

  • 123,000 miles
Lowbeam headlights suddenly quit while driving causing me to almost run off road. This is directly related to the GM recall #14291 concerning the sudden failure of the hdm without any warning. The recall not cover my 2008 Pontiac at this time. Was told "under investigation". this needs to be immediately addressed by GM or federal government since it is a deadly matter. Sudden loss of lights at higher speeds will cause deaths.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 022014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


Headlights intermittently go off while driving. Happens 1-3 times per month & not every time I drive the car. GM dealer tested extensively and could not duplicate in shop. Suggested I drive to their shop when it happens at night again, but not open at night! GM recall on other cars with the same problem 12-2014. When I called GM they said there is no recall for the lighting issue I am suddenly having. They agreed to have the shop look at it again but per [xxx] at 866-790-5700 X [xxx], if they can't duplicate it in the shop "how can we prove there is a problem". I explained I had heard on the news that other GM car's had this exact same problem and would I need to video when it happens? he said we would start with the dealer but was not sure what would happen if they couldn't duplicate it. I am willing to try again with the excellent shop but I don't expect resolution. Thank you as I suspect I am not the only one experiencing this dangerous condition. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #8

Oct 222014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The daytime running lights stopped working while I was driving at night. I could not turn them back on manually or by restarting the car etc. The high beams, turn signals, etc. Were not affected. The following day and for 2 weeks the problem did not reoccur that I noticed while driving during the day or night. After 2 weeks, the daytime running lights completely stopped working and I had to have the headlight relay module replaced. There is currently a recall on other GM models for this problem.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #7

Sep 152014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Within a month of purchasing a pre-owned 2008 Pontiac, Grand Prix from mike smith Buick GMC, located in lockport, NY, I realized the sensor for the passenger airbag would turn off and on while I have a passenger weighing over 200lbs in the passenger seat. I notified dealership and made an appt. On Sept 22, 2014. My car went in for service on September 29, 2014. The technician informed me he reset the module but no codes were coming up for the electronic control unit and this was too expensive and time consuming to fix and would not be covered under the New York state lemon law warranty. This concerns me as a safety defect and I would like to know if this is covered under General Motors corporation.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 312014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Low beam headlights shut off during driving. Have owned the car for about 8 months now and has happened 4 times randomly (3 on the interstate). The high beams will still work. Just have to pull over and wait until they come back on. Very frustrating & worrisome.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #5

Dec 232013

Grand Prix

  • 150,000 miles
Back in the summer the headlights would not work on dim and took it to a mechanic and they replaced the hdm module under the hood. On December 23, 2013 the headlights would not work on dim again. Had to replace the hdm module again. It appears looking on line that this is not only my problem but others as well. This is a safety issue and should be dealt with by the manufacturer.

- Conover, NC, USA

problem #4

Jun 112012

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
Low beams on my car come on and off at the car's pleasure. High beams work fine but low beams will work then go off randomly. Fog lights work correctly as well.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #3

Aug 162013

Grand Prix

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that head lights failed. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the low beam control module and the passenger's side seat needed to be replaced. The control module was repaired but the seat was not. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Walkerton, IN, USA

problem #2

Mar 022009

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
I bought this car used with low mileage, around 30,000 miles in November 2008. My headlights are not working on dim. They work fine on bright. Seems like this could be an electrical problem or a short, because the dims work at times and then will go off if you hit a bump. This has happened several times since I bought the car. Warranty ran out so I took it to an individual mechanic who replaced the dimmer switch. That didn't fix the problem. I also had to replace the power steering pump within the first year or two of purchasing this car.

- Magnolia, AR, USA

problem #1

Nov 242010

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 64,500 miles
2008 Pontiac Grand Prix headlights go out when heater fan is turned on.

- Dudley, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?