Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
79,461 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Pontiac Grand Prix seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 162014

Grand Prix

  • 80,000 miles


Since I bought the car, I noticed on motion the force on the pedal started reducing. When it happens I repress it again which will become stable at that particular time. Will got stuck while in motion( 55mpr). I took to the dealership they told me nothing wrong with the car, and then I was under warranty. This morning I took it to mechanic, they told me it's electrical problem with throttle pedal and seat.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 052015

Grand Prix

  • 63,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated, while the vehicle was parked. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the passenger side airbag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,500. Updated 01/12/16

- Centreville, OH, USA

problem #17

Sep 012014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 171,500 miles
On September 1st, 2014 around 6:45pm I was in a car accident. A truck cut me almost crashing into another car from behind. I moved over I couldn't see the car stopped in the other lane. From the big truck infront of me. I hit the brakes didn't work made clicking sound. I rearended a vehicle, they slightly hit a car infront of them. My airbag, shot my hand through the windshield. I had extreme arm pain. I had seen a gray piece of metal in my arm, I went to the er. I still feel movement in it. I'm following up with my dr. Since the accident. Next will be a surgeon or specialty dr.

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #16

Aug 072010

Grand Prix

  • 87,000 miles


On August 7, 2010 afternoon my mother let me borrow her car to run some errands when a young man ran a red light and T- boned the car and it almost flip the car over I hit my head on the windshield the airbag didn't deploy until after I hit my head, due to the accident I have been off work for almost five years.due to my injuries I've had one back surgery and will need another one, I have to have neck surgery in July. I am in constant pain all everyday for the past almost five years. I filed a lawsuit and only received five hundred dollars. I would like to know what can be done about the pain suffering I'm going through, who do I need to talk to.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #15

Jun 012013

Grand Prix

  • 35,000 miles
2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. Consumer writes in regards to front and side airbags did not deploy during accident and vehicle on star issues. The consumer stated as she was turning left, the vehicle stopped and a truck hit her vehicle on the side front.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #14

Dec 102014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Driver air bag warning symbol light comes on and off on dashboard. Happens all the time. Passenger air bag "off" light comes on and off at the same time as driver air bag warning.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 152014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


Within a month of purchasing a pre-owned 2008 Pontiac, Grand Prix from mike smith Buick GMC, located in lockport, NY, I realized the sensor for the passenger airbag would turn off and on while I have a passenger weighing over 200lbs in the passenger seat. I notified dealership and made an appt. On Sept 22, 2014. My car went in for service on September 29, 2014. The technician informed me he reset the module but no codes were coming up for the electronic control unit and this was too expensive and time consuming to fix and would not be covered under the New York state lemon law warranty. This concerns me as a safety defect and I would like to know if this is covered under General Motors corporation.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 012014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
I was driving on the highway and exiting on a ramp. The ramp was on an incline. My driving speed around 45 mph. Then, unexpectedly, the speed decreased to 30 mph and immediately the "reduce engine speed" light came on. Shortly after, my "check engine" light came on. I continued on my exit, pulled over and parked. After car being off for 30 minutes, the car started right back up. The "reduce engine speed" light went off but the "check engine" light remained. I purchased my car in Feb 2014 and this was the very 1st incident. In the beginning, this wasn't frequent but as I noticed it happening more often, I began to record each time this happened. The dates I have tracked thus far are 7/7/14, 7/10/14, 7/13/14, 7/27/14, 8/2/14, 8/11/14, 8/12/14, 8/20/14, 8/21/14, 8/22/14, 8/28/14 (happened 3 times throughout the noon at 2:15P, 3:00P & 5:20P), 8/29/14, 9/9/14, 9/10/14 (4 times throughout this day), 9/15/14, 9/16/14, 9/17/14, 9/18/14, 9/19/14, 9/20/14, 9/23/14, 9/24/14, 9/27/14. I have already had $550 repairs done, at least that's what I thought, to take care of the "reduce engine speed" light but it continues to come on. I took it back the same mechanic/body shop and the diagnostic machine showed more/different codes. New repairs would cost another $550-$600. Also, when either of my sons sit in the front seat, the passenger airbag light goes on and off. They are both between 90-95 lbs. This are major concerns because I need to know that we are safe whenever we are inside the vehicle.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #11

Sep 032014

Grand Prix

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving approximately 60 mph attempting to avoid crashing into a deer, the contact tried to regained control but the vehicle stalled causing the power steering and brakes to malfunction. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a ditch and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered neck and back injuries during the incident and the vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #10

Sep 052014

Grand Prix

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, another vehicle crashed head on into the vehicle and the driver and passenger frontal air bags failed to deploy causing the contact face to hit the steering wheel. The contact suffered injuries to the face and knee, the front passenger suffered injuries to the legs and face, and the rear passenger suffered injuries to the legs and face. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #9

Nov 132012

Grand Prix

  • 85,000 miles


I have had my car 2yrs now and my passenger airbag light still doesn't come on all time when my fiancee sits on my front passenger side of my car. My fiancee is little and only weigh about 125lbs but I am getting frustrated with constantly turning the car on and off and making her get in and out off the car until the sensor reads that she is in the seat. When my bother and I sit on the passenger side the airbag is light comes on first try. My brother and I both weigh 250+ and I'm starting to think it may have something to do with the amount of weight in the seat for the sensor to pick up. Please help to resolve this because I am afraid that if I ever have a wreck and my fiancee is in the passenger seat the airbag may not deploy.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #8

Jun 262012

Grand Prix

  • 92,159 miles
We got this 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix from a second hand dealer that sold 2008 or newer, we were on a lease with this auto we also had a warranty as well. We took a short trip to Ohio and we checked into the hotel, went out got into the car was heading to their casino for the night was driving on interstate 75 doing about 72 mph. While I was in the fast lane I lost all power didn't know what had happen had to try to get the car all the way over to right side of the highway. This was in on June 26,2012 police came I called the warranty company they stated that we would have to have the car towed to a GM dealership so we did, the next morning I got up and called the dealer told them what happen while I was driving the car it cranks and does not start check and please advise. While waiting on them I called the lease company to see what kind of help we could get from them the answer was point blank none was never late on payments with them the car only had 92152 miles on it at this time we got it back in Aug.2009. So the dealer called back and told us the the car had a bad ignition control module and coil, this not the killing part we had to pay $705.88 and wow General Motors saying they don't have any recalls on this model or year. I have been trying to get reimburse for the amount we paid to have this done, I know that it's a whole lot of people out here that have had some of the same issues that I have had but didn't get them repaired. Other issues (1) power sterring(2) brake lights staying on alot of the time(3)airbag, and the list goes on.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #7

Jan 012009

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Airbag light goes on intermittently and won't turn off. Took car to GM dealership and was told that the passenger presence module was bad which causes the airbags to become inoperable when the light goes on.

- Northampton, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 022011

Grand Prix

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the brakes failed to respond on multiple occasions. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal had to be pumped in order to stop the vehicle. The contact also stated that the seatbelt sensor illuminated after the seatbelt was latched and that the air bag sensor flashed intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 112013

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I was in an accident going about 35 miles per hour when I hit a Bronco I knocked his tires off complete total of my vehicle the hood was destroyed I have pictures of my car the air bags did not go off and I hit my head pretty hard on the steering wheel I'm glad it was just me as my kids would have been injured but my concern is with the airbags not deploying even the cop on scene said they should have deployed.

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #4

Aug 302013

Grand Prix

  • 96,000 miles
A vehicle turned in front of me causing a subsequent crash resulting in front damage to my car. Airbags did not deploy although bumper was torn off and hood bent. Additionally aside from the crash, my car has started losing power while driving. I was driving on the highway when it lost power. I was able to maneuver and get it to the side of the road. It finally restarted. It will not start sometimes. Had the engine light checked and it shows there is a sensor problem. Will not identify which pedal sensor. Frustrated and will not drive it on the highway.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #3

Feb 262014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
My father-in-law was driving my Grand Prix and my mother-in-law was in the passenger seat. My father-in-law lost consciousness at the wheel and they went left of center and ran another vehicle off the road. My mother-in-law grabbed the wheel to avoid a collision and they went off the road to the right and went airborne and crashed into a tree. My father-in-law died in the crash and my mother-in-law was life-flighted. The car had extensive damage and was totaled. The airbags never deployed.

- Navarre, OH, USA

problem #2

Jun 082011

Grand Prix

  • 38,000 miles
Passenger seat air bag weight sensor cycles on and off when passenger of approx 150 lbs. Is in seat. Had dealer check, said would cost approx $900 to car was out of warranty (4yr). This is a very expensive repair on a vital safety device that should reliable well beyond a 3 or 4 yr period.

- Eglon, WV, USA

problem #1

Jun 182008

Grand Prix

  • 8,597 miles
I was pulling into a parking space and my foot slipped off brake and I hit a curb. The airbags went off which also shattered the windshield. My insurance and body shop said there was not enough damage to the car to cause the airbags to go off.

- Ardmore, OK, USA

Not what you are looking for?