Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Saturn Ion (Page 3 of 7)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Jul 012014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to faulty ignition switch recall notices. The consumer stated it has been four months since she was first notified of the recall, and every time she called the dealer, she was informed, the parts were not available.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #99

Mar 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering).the contact stated that the repairs exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that parts were not available. The contact did not experience a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #98

Mar 152014

Ion

  • 76,350 miles
When trying to put the car in park, the key gets stuck and cannot move key back to park position. Moving the shifter back and forth and reparking had temporarily allowed me to pull the key out. Months later, we cannot pull key out of ignition it is stuck in the ignition. I was told we need a new shifter by the dealer. There is a recall on the shift cable assembly and mounting bracket, but of course, not for the Saturn Ion 2007 model. GM stinks!!!

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #97

Mar 012014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to several ignition switch replacement recall notices. The consumer stated she received the first recall notice in early March. Another month went by, and she received another letter. A few days ago, she received another letter. When she contacted the dealer, she was informed the parts were not available.

- Delran, NJ, USA

problem #96

Apr 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bag, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- St. Cloud , MN, USA

problem #95

Jun 132014

Ion

  • 99,000 miles
Fuel pump cracked; difficulty steering; ignition switch failed.

- China Spring, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 072012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 104,711 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall problems. The consumer stated after the repair was performed, he continued to experience a problem, with the key getting stuck in the ignition.

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #93

Jun 142011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition cylinder unit replacement problems. The consumer stated she could not turn the engine off, or remove the key from the ignition. The consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #92

Apr 242014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags and electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer did not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact did not experience a failure. Updated 8/19/14 updated 09/5/2014

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #91

May 192014

Ion

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received NHTSA campaign recall number 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable. The contact experienced a failure, where they were unable to remove the key out of the ignition switch. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #90

Apr 112014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 76,669 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3/2014 recall letter 14063, 4/2014 2nd recall letter,4/11/2014 car to dealer,5/16/2014 ignition replaced, "repair other ignition" accelerator pedal, throttle body, fuel induction sensor, throttle body sensor, quoted $560, charged $634.29, GM promised price assistance "repair other ignition-have not honored their word. Picked up car 5/16/2014 on 5/20/2014 <100 miles encountered same issue. 5/22/2014 car returned -to dealer, key stuck in ignition, service mgr witnessed issue, claims - solenoid @gearshift to ignition not registering park, states"I have seen a lot of these recalls, GM is going to replace anything remotely connected to this recall but is "customer bill". soleniod quote $400 additional to $634.29. I am inclined to believe if it is "remotely connected" it should be included in this recall. I firmly believe GM has employed this "other than ignition" strategy to recoup their losses on the back end by employing this "customer bill" phrase. The dealer has not shown any of the parts that were replaced or any evidence to support their claim.I welcome the opportunity to share my experience in great detail with the NHTSA and any congressional committe that is designated to investigate this GM recall.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #89

May 202014

Ion

  • 35,000 miles
The car is presently under recall for ignition. However. The car cannot be driven as the pwr str warning comes on for a few seconds, and no steering or severe loss of all steering control of the vehicle is lost after the car has run for 15 minute and every 5 plus minutes after the first failure. GM will not fix anything on my vehicle, I made a complaint with NHTSA and have made internal complaint at GM regarding my 2007 Ion and the 3 accidents due to the loss of ignition and total power including brake failure going down the highway at 50 plus and losing control resulting in accidents. I need help to start the complaint about the power steering as it will not allow me to safely drive the car at all. I am disabled and on oxygen, I have requested special accommodations from GM to assist with my disabled condition to help expedite any repairs and all warranted coverages for power steering, air bag non function, and recalled ignition. The car presently has 55,000 miles and cannot be driven as the power steering will not allow the car to be controlled. The previous, most recent accident, caused structural damage including a front fender complete bent and radiator bent at a tail collision due to ignition outage with no brakes at 30 plus mph. No air bags deployed, only damages to myself, blindness to left eye and severe concussion, and car is not safe to drive. GM will has not taken any action since my phone complaints in April, almost 30 days ago. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #88

Apr 232014

Ion

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the ignition switch was replaced by the dealer under NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000(electrical system). The contact indicated that the key continued to become stuck inside the ignition switch when attempting to turn the vehicle off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the transmission shifter was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect but no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #87

May 082014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
I took my car in for the ignition switch recall repair and I ended up paying $205 for a new battery because the car didn't run for approximately 3 months while waiting for parts to become available. They (david Chevrolet in niagara falls NY) told me that GM was not covering the cost of the batteries and that this had happened to 4 or 5 other people. In addition to this they said that they had to replace a part for the power steering that was covered under another recall. I can't believe they charged me $65 in labor charges to put in the battery. When I finally got the car home, I automatically locked the doors. Guess what, the new ignition keys don't unlock the trunk or the car doors. They forgot to tell me this.I don't believe GM is really trying to rectify this situation, because it took so long for the parts to come in, my battery became totally useless and cost me over $200. I will never buy any type of vehicle from any of GM's lines, in fact, I will buy a foreign brand because I no longer feel safe with this car. Thank you for your time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #86

Jan 022013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The vehicle will not turn completely off out of the "acc" position when stopped. The gear shifter has to be "played with" for a while and then maybe it will engage. Otherwise the car will stay in the acc position. Of course the doors cannot be locked because the car won't shut off.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #85

May 012014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer was involved in an accident, and the air bag did not deploy.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #84

Mar 032014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Rego Park, NY, USA

problem #83

Dec 132013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer was involved in a one-car accident on December 13, 2013, totaling the vehicle. The consumer stated a vehicle in front of her braked, so she braked. However, the consumer hydroplaned and hit a wire fence in the middle of 2 highways. It tore the bumpers off the vehicle, damaged the front and rear windows, and sliced the tired. There was a large dent on top of the vehicle. Even after all of the damage, the air bags did not deploy. The consumer was injured. The consumer stated the key was in the ignition switch. However, it was already in the off position. Also, prior to the accident, the brakes would go all the way to the floor. However, the dealer was never able to duplicate the problem.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #82

Feb 132012

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition. The vehicle had to be turned on and off to remove the key. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who repaired the vehicle but the failure continued. The contact was unsure of the exact repairs. The manufacturer has not been notified. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Highpoint, NC, USA

problem #81

Mar 072013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
I was driving down the street and lost my power steering capabilities. I pulled into a les schwab service center to have them see if I was out of power steering fluid. Learned that they were not able to ascertain that. When I turned my car back on, the power steering worked. I don't know why it stopped, but since my car is in the recall for the ignition, I would also like this problem looked at. How can I make sure that this issue is looked at too?

- Spokane, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?