Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2007 Saturn Ion (Page 2 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,813 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Jan 162013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

An accident occurred when a vehicle pulled out in front of me. I was traveling 50-55 mph and had time to briefly apply the brakes. The resulting collision destroyed the entire front end of my car. I was shocked the airbag did not deploy but at the time was unaware my car had serious potential safety issues. Since becoming aware of the recall I have been able to simulate the ignition failure by jostling the key in the ignition while the car is running. I have followed the instruction sent to me by GM in regards to the recall process and have heard nothing back from my GM dealer 3 months since calling to arrange bringing my vehicle in. I was simply informed they would call me when the part comes in. In the mean time, I am extremely conscious of the fact that my car does indeed fail. I actually say a quick prayer every time I get in the car now because I'm scared. I am scared of the possibility that I could be responsible for hurting or killing someone while driving a vehicle I am fully aware can fail. GM will call me back soon, I hope.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #33

Mar 012014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to several ignition switch replacement recall notices. The consumer stated she received the first recall notice in early March. Another month went by, and she received another letter. A few days ago, she received another letter. When she contacted the dealer, she was informed the parts were not available.

- Delran, NJ, USA

problem #32

Jul 162013

Ion

  • 40,000 miles
Passenger airbag issue where the passenger awareness system had a fault. It disabled my air bags. For a couple weeks I rode around not knowing all my air bags were disabled. Dealer charged around $900 to replace sensor! I felt like I had to choose between safety and spending a ton of money.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #31

May 192011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After about a year of having my Saturn Ion I was driving on 94 going the normal speed limit when I lost control of my car. My wheel locked up causing me to hot my breaks unable to steer another vehicle ans mine collided at 45-50 mph. My airbags did not deploy. Until now I did not think anything of it until you guys sent me a letter about the recalls on both the ignition switch (if my keys fell out my wheel would lock) and or if my power steering went out I would lose control as well. I never had any previous accidents not even a fender bender. Also when I called about this recall I was told to bring my car in and get it switched for a rental for 6-8 weeks until my car was finished. When arriving there was not a rental available so I was told I would have one within the next 3 days tops. I waited 5 days and called dealership again. I was then told I would be getting a rental from enterprise and because of my long late hours at work the vehicle would be dropped off that evening to come get after work. When arriving there the ball was dropped once again and I did not have a rental. The guy helping me scrambled and found a rental somehow and sent me home in it again stating it would be 6-8 weeks. 4 days later they called me stating I need to bring the rental back because it was sold. After driving all the way there once again and getting my 2nd rental I was called the very next day saying my vehicle was done. I don't understand all the miscommunication and why I had to waste my time and gas money for GMC major screw ups. This recall has upset my enough where im not sure if I will buy a GM vehicle ever again.

- Oaldale, MN, USA

problem #30

Apr 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bag, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- St. Cloud , MN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Jul 072012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 104,711 miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall problems. The consumer stated after the repair was performed, he continued to experience a problem, with the key getting stuck in the ignition.

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #28

Jun 142011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition cylinder unit replacement problems. The consumer stated she could not turn the engine off, or remove the key from the ignition. The consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #27

Sep 012013

Ion

  • 68,973 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated and the warning bell advised that the air bag needed service. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who performed a diagnostic which was unable to locate a failure code. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,973 and the current mileage 69,000.

- Church Hill , TN, USA

problem #26

Apr 242014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags and electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer did not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact did not experience a failure. Updated 8/19/14 updated 09/5/2014

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #25

Apr 112014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 76,669 miles
3/2014 recall letter 14063, 4/2014 2nd recall letter,4/11/2014 car to dealer,5/16/2014 ignition replaced, "repair other ignition" accelerator pedal, throttle body, fuel induction sensor, throttle body sensor, quoted $560, charged $634.29, GM promised price assistance "repair other ignition-have not honored their word. Picked up car 5/16/2014 on 5/20/2014 <100 miles encountered same issue. 5/22/2014 car returned -to dealer, key stuck in ignition, service mgr witnessed issue, claims - solenoid @gearshift to ignition not registering park, states"I have seen a lot of these recalls, GM is going to replace anything remotely connected to this recall but is "customer bill". soleniod quote $400 additional to $634.29. I am inclined to believe if it is "remotely connected" it should be included in this recall. I firmly believe GM has employed this "other than ignition" strategy to recoup their losses on the back end by employing this "customer bill" phrase. The dealer has not shown any of the parts that were replaced or any evidence to support their claim.I welcome the opportunity to share my experience in great detail with the NHTSA and any congressional committe that is designated to investigate this GM recall.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #24

May 202014

Ion

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car is presently under recall for ignition. However. The car cannot be driven as the pwr str warning comes on for a few seconds, and no steering or severe loss of all steering control of the vehicle is lost after the car has run for 15 minute and every 5 plus minutes after the first failure. GM will not fix anything on my vehicle, I made a complaint with NHTSA and have made internal complaint at GM regarding my 2007 Ion and the 3 accidents due to the loss of ignition and total power including brake failure going down the highway at 50 plus and losing control resulting in accidents. I need help to start the complaint about the power steering as it will not allow me to safely drive the car at all. I am disabled and on oxygen, I have requested special accommodations from GM to assist with my disabled condition to help expedite any repairs and all warranted coverages for power steering, air bag non function, and recalled ignition. The car presently has 55,000 miles and cannot be driven as the power steering will not allow the car to be controlled. The previous, most recent accident, caused structural damage including a front fender complete bent and radiator bent at a tail collision due to ignition outage with no brakes at 30 plus mph. No air bags deployed, only damages to myself, blindness to left eye and severe concussion, and car is not safe to drive. GM will has not taken any action since my phone complaints in April, almost 30 days ago. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #23

Jan 022008

Ion

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer multiple times where the technician diagnosed that the air bag sensor and pretension needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 20,000. The current mileage was 119,000.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #22

May 012014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer was involved in an accident, and the air bag did not deploy.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #21

Dec 102013

Ion

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact was exiting a highway at 25 mph when the power steering assist failed, causing the contact to crash into a pole. The air bags did not deploy. The contact's mouth struck the steering wheel and the contact sustained injuries to the mouth. A police report was not filed. The contact sought medical treatment for the injuries. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer and dealer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #20

Mar 032014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Rego Park, NY, USA

problem #19

Dec 132013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer was involved in a one-car accident on December 13, 2013, totaling the vehicle. The consumer stated a vehicle in front of her braked, so she braked. However, the consumer hydroplaned and hit a wire fence in the middle of 2 highways. It tore the bumpers off the vehicle, damaged the front and rear windows, and sliced the tired. There was a large dent on top of the vehicle. Even after all of the damage, the air bags did not deploy. The consumer was injured. The consumer stated the key was in the ignition switch. However, it was already in the off position. Also, prior to the accident, the brakes would go all the way to the floor. However, the dealer was never able to duplicate the problem.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #18

May 012012

Ion

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch malfunction. In May 2012, the original ignition switch had to be replaced, because she was unable to turn the engine off. The key would not turn or come out of the ignition switch. On June 5, 2013, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, because the vehicle would intermittently stop running at random times. The invoice stated, they checked codes, monitored fuel pressure, tested the battery, wiggled and tapped tested the app PCM, ignition wires and relays, etc. And no trouble was found. The vehicle shut down 3 times, on her way home. The consumer returned to the dealer the next day, and asked if the vehicle shutting down had something to do with the original ignition switch being replaced, because it was not shutting down prior to the replacement. The consumer believed the replacement ignition was faulty. The consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #17

Mar 042014

Ion

  • 27,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while driving in reverse approximately 2 mph there was a sudden increase in acceleration and the vehicle crashed into a brick wall. The air bags did not deploy. The ignition key independently released from the switch prior to the crash. In addition, the front driver's side seat belt unexpectedly detached which caused the driver to strike the dashboard. The contact sustained injury to the chest and head. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the dealer. The contact stated the failure was a related to the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact did not receive the recall notice until after the incident occurred. The approximate failure mileage was 27,600.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #16

Jan 012013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to free ignition replacement when parts are available and airbag recall notices. The consumer stated the power steering locked up in January 2013.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #15

Feb 192014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and the part was currently unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?