Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,944 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #318

Apr 092014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) however, the part was not available to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/02/14 the consumer stated as of 8/11/2014 the parts for the repairwere not yet made available. Updated 09/10/2014

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #317

Feb 212014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 100,600 miles
I was driving down the street and the power steering failed. I pulled over to a nearby shop to have it looked at and was told to restart the car. The problem went away. Fast forward to the last 2 weeks (today is 5-June-14) and this issue has occurred at least 10 times. Now being this is the same system that was used on the Chevy cobalt and Pontiac G5, both of which were subject to recalls for replacement, I don't know why my Ion was recalled and this problem fixed. I have to drive long distances at times and for my power steering to fail while I'm on the highway for a known problem is not acceptable.

- Windsor, CT, USA

problem #316

Apr 082013


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed and the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the steering wheel became very hard to maneuver. Also, the contact stated that the failure recurred intermittently over a period of a year. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who indicated that the power steering unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who did not offered any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Springfield, PA, USA

problem #315

May 202014


  • 35,000 miles


The car is presently under recall for ignition. However. The car cannot be driven as the pwr str warning comes on for a few seconds, and no steering or severe loss of all steering control of the vehicle is lost after the car has run for 15 minute and every 5 plus minutes after the first failure. GM will not fix anything on my vehicle, I made a complaint with NHTSA and have made internal complaint at GM regarding my 2007 Ion and the 3 accidents due to the loss of ignition and total power including brake failure going down the highway at 50 plus and losing control resulting in accidents. I need help to start the complaint about the power steering as it will not allow me to safely drive the car at all. I am disabled and on oxygen, I have requested special accommodations from GM to assist with my disabled condition to help expedite any repairs and all warranted coverages for power steering, air bag non function, and recalled ignition. The car presently has 55,000 miles and cannot be driven as the power steering will not allow the car to be controlled. The previous, most recent accident, caused structural damage including a front fender complete bent and radiator bent at a tail collision due to ignition outage with no brakes at 30 plus mph. No air bags deployed, only damages to myself, blindness to left eye and severe concussion, and car is not safe to drive. GM will has not taken any action since my phone complaints in April, almost 30 days ago. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #314

May 102014


  • 109,000 miles
I was driving on the highway at approximately 55 mph and the car altered with the error sound and pwr str showed on the odometer display. Power steering was lost, but the wheel was still able to turn. On the highway, the steering wheel was not capable of turning much past 2 O'clock position. At lower speeds I could make right and left turns, but with a great amount of effort. The vehicle is not safe to operate without the use of the power steering. At high speeds, the steering wheel does not have has much range of motion.

- Dallastown, PA, USA

problem #313

May 062014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 230,000 miles
The power steering light came on and there was no power steering had to pull over and turn car off. After restarting it was fine for a while but did the same thing again.

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #312

Mar 042013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 99,108 miles


I was driving straight at 50 mph, when a chime sounded, power steering was displayed on message center, and power steering force was lost. Steering became almost too heavy to steer at all. Was able to pull over, turn off ignition, and reset steering system. Since then, this happened without warning at least 20 times in the past year. Power steering motor felt hot to touch. I am stuck with this very dangerous condition. Recall should include all cars affected. GM is negligent so far in replacing this on all affected vehicles.

- Fort Plain, NY, USA

problem #311

Apr 212014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Message "pwr str", loss of power steering assist. Shutting off ignition temporarily fixed issue and regained power assist, however issue continually crops up, 6 or 7 times during a normally 25 minute/18mile drive home from work. I was driving with cruise control on a straight highway, no sharp turns, an apparently unprovoked failure. I see there is a 3/31/2014 recall for this particular failure but I have not yet received any notification of it, though I have received notification of a later 4/10/2014 recall having to do with the ignition switch. Vehicle mileage reported is approximate, not sure exact mileage but right around 113,000.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #310

Dec 102013


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact was exiting a highway at 25 mph when the power steering assist failed, causing the contact to crash into a pole. The air bags did not deploy. The contact's mouth struck the steering wheel and the contact sustained injuries to the mouth. A police report was not filed. The contact sought medical treatment for the injuries. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer and dealer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #309

Mar 072013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
I was driving down the street and lost my power steering capabilities. I pulled into a les schwab service center to have them see if I was out of power steering fluid. Learned that they were not able to ascertain that. When I turned my car back on, the power steering worked. I don't know why it stopped, but since my car is in the recall for the ignition, I would also like this problem looked at. How can I make sure that this issue is looked at too?

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #308

Jan 012013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles


2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to free ignition replacement when parts are available and airbag recall notices. The consumer stated the power steering locked up in January 2013.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #307

Dec 022013


  • 50,000 miles
I lost power steering while driving on local roads (this happened 4 times between mid-November and early December) I was barely able to control the car to get it off the road, shut it down and restart it - at which time the power steering was working. It would then go out again as noted and the power steering message came on. At first I thought there was some water damage as the first time it happened was right after a car wash so I figured it would dry out and be all right. It seemed that way until it recurred again. I then brought it in to wallace Chevrolet in stuart fl for repair. I was quite surprised to learn that this repair was at no charge. My car is 7 years old but the power steering motor control module was replaced at N/C part 19257875. It appears the company knew of the problem and had a program for it but did not notify owners. Frankly I could have been killed or killed someone else if this had happened when I was driving on I-95. It would have been nearly impossible to steer off the highway at those speeds and no power steering. It still frightens me when I think about this. My car is also involved in the ignition switch recall.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #306

Mar 312014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My wife was driving with our 2 children, when the power steering light came on, and lost steering. She was able to muscle the car into a parking lot. She restarted vehicle and issue went away temporarily. It is now happening more frequently. Comes and goes.

- Rumford, RI, USA

problem #305

Mar 242014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Making an turn and the power steering goes out. Will not return, has to be forced. Almost slammed into an car. Tried calling Saturn can't get through.

- Glendale Hts, IL, USA

problem #304

Apr 022014


  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that when the brakes were applied, the steering wheel suddenly veered to the left causing the vehicle to nearly crash into a cement median. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 145,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #303

Mar 262014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 103,790 miles
I had just made a right turn into a side street and was proceeding down a slight hill when I heard three quick tones from the dashboard. A message that the power steering had failed appeared where the odometer is on the dash. I was able to steer the car to the curb. I turned the ignition off and then restarted the car and the power steering functioned again. The same problem has happened once in each of the three days following that initial incident.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #302

Mar 232014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Recvd ign sw recall (trbl w/keys hard to get out of ign sw & wont turn to off position increasingly getting worse ;ran batt strted car ok but now transmission stays in first gear, hard steering w/dic reads pwr steering.its my 23 year old daughter's car senior student @Ohio university'stuck @ small GM used car dealer that insists shifter need to be replaced @ $500 plus first w/no guantee to fix trbl before any other repairs that I believe should fall under GM ign sw recall & GM hard steering extended warranty offered seen on line news re:Saturn Ion disclosers since Feb 2014 @ no cost to me.never had transmission shift/hard steering problems ever till now but ign sw has been a plague several years now!

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #301

Nov 292013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
In December, 2012 we purchased a 2007 Saturn Ion from a local dealer. Shortly after purchase we had issues with the electrical system and the ignition key which we contacted the dealer about and were reassured that it was no cause for concern, subsequently we allowed my significant other's daughter to take the vehicle to college with her as she needed a form of transportation at school. On black Friday, 2013 she encountered a minor motor vehicle accident in a parking lot where it is my understanding the vehicle shut off. I have contacted General Motors and requested a courtesy vehicle for her which they had agreed to provide through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's web site and they state one excuse after another why they cannot do this. General Motors has exhibited a complete lack of any concern for the driver's safety and they are now at the point where they want my significant other to drive 500 miles across state pick up her vehicle, take it to a dealer and pick up a rental car, which will cost her a $50 deposit and when the repair, which is a manufacturers defect, is finally completed she should do this all over again without any compensation from GM. This is totally unacceptable and in complete conflict with what GM has told the NHTSA they would do. At this point in time, I respectfully request NHTSA investigate this matter and propose an agreeable resolution.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #300

Jun 222010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 55,059 miles
After my day of driving I pulled into my driveway at my home and put my car into the park gear and continued to remove my key--the key would not turn to off position. It had locked into place. I had to call my husband to come home and help me. He too tried. It would not turn to the off position. The only way we got the car to turn off the engine was to disconnect the battery cables. The key stayed in the on position. I had to contact the GM dealer the next morning -- I had to have my car towed to the dealership in frederick, Maryland. I was repaired and I was charged a total of $512.36 I received a recall letter today March 14, 2014 stating there is a recall 14063 the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration campaign id number for this recall is 14V-047 since this has already affected my car and I have paid I am requesting reimbursement.

- Boonsboro, MD, USA

problem #299

Mar 012010


  • 42,000 miles
The power cuts off when hitting a bump/jarring and car loses all automatic features--power steering, power brakes. Especially likely with heavy key chain. Has happened multiple times since I purchased the vehicle in 2009, but more in past two years. Occurs when pulling into driveways of stores, hitting pothole, etc. This is the Saturn "sister" car to the Chevy cobalt ss and of same year at that recent recall.

- Caro, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?