Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

May 142004

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles


I am attorney for a victim in a coma and in intensive care. Her vehicle was struck by a Toyota Camry 2002 driven by a 68 year old lady. Camry vehicle was parked, and then crashed into a storefront after going forward. Backed into traffic 40 feet away, struck vehicles, and went forward again killing pedestrian as well. Case under investigation. Recent accident. Previous reports of sudden acceleration. All Camry should be recalled before more loss of life. Possible power train/automatic transmission problems. Updated 03/05/10 update 9/21/2011

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #58

May 202004

(reported on)


  • 13,000 miles
Consumer complained about a sudden acceleration problem. While parking into a space at a school vehicle surged and lunged forward while consumer's foot was still on the brakes.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #57

May 182004

Camry 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
When vehicle is engaged in reverse it accelerates.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #56

May 182004

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles


While idling in traffic, and the brake pedal applied, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. This caused the driver to slam the gear shift in park in order to stop the vehicle. The mechanic informed the driver that the problem could not be duplicated. Please fill in additional information. Updated 7/5/12 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 08/13/12

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #55

Sep 042003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Makia cafua, driving her 2002 Toyota Camry. Was entering I-93 at exit 39 at 5:30 in the morning when her car suddenly shot across three lanes of travel and was hit, broad side, by another vehicle traveling in the high speed (3rd) lane. Traffic at the time of the accident was light. It is believed that the Camry experienced an un-commanded acceleration causing the driver to lose control resulting in the accident and her death. The Camry has been stored since the accident and no changes have been made to its post accident condition. Vehicle is available for inpection/testing by NHTSA. Updated 03/05/10 updated 06/25/10 updated 9/21/2011

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #54

Mar 272004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,669 miles
Vehicle accelerated when in reverse, as a result, the vehicle crashed into a tree and mailbox. See voq 10073601. Updated 7/5/12 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 08/23/12

- Mascot, TN, USA

problem #53

Apr 032003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles


While parked, the vehicle accelerated backwards. As a result, the vehicle collided into a tree. The cause of incident has yet to be determined. The consumer attempted to move out of the parking space. As the consumers foot was on the brake and the vehicle was placed in reverse, the vehicle shot back and hit a tree.

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #52

Apr 282004

(reported on)


  • 8,100 miles
Consumer left vehicle after shifting into park, with motor running. Opened garage door, and then reentered vehicle, shifted out of park with foot on the brakes and vehicle suddenly surged forward into garage. Had not placed foot on accelerator pedal when it had happened. This sudden acceleration occurred once before. Had surging problem repaired in March, 2004. Submitted a previous complaint 10062956, and was informed to resubmit complaint to the hot line from NHTSA's engineer - S. young.

- Munising, MI, USA

problem #51

Apr 242004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I began to back out of my parking spot when the car suddenly accelerated. I was unable to regain control of the vehicle until it had struck another car, causing damage to my rear fender. Fortunately, there was no damage to the other car. This has happened one other time about 6 months ago when I was backing out of my garage. No damage was sustained at that time.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #50

Nov 182003

Camry 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
When the brakes were applied, the vehicle accelerated. The consumer put the vehicle in neutral to slow it down, but to no avail. This problem has happened three times with this particular vehicle. The dealer has examined the vehicle and could not find the cause of the problem.

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #49

Mar 102004


  • miles


While parking vehicle lunged forward and hit two parked vehicles in the parking lot. Dealership was contacted. See 10080050.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #48

Apr 062004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle suddenly accelerates while driving. The steering wheel also felt loose while driving. The dealer inspected the vehicle several times but found no problems. At a stop light, the brake pedal goes down towards the floor. The vehicle remains stationary and the brakes always stop the car. Dsy the consumer's vehicle is still experiencing sudden acceleration.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #47

Mar 122004


  • miles
When driving at an undetermined speed vehicle surged forward. Consumer took vehicle back to the dealership.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #46

Mar 302004

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
While applying the brakes pedal went to the floor and vehicle suddenly accelerated. This caused the driver to lose control of the vehicle and hit another vehicle. Upon impact, both air bags did not deploy. Consumer was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. However, mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #45

Mar 142004

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
When driving at 12 mph vehicle surged forward. This caused the consumer to lose control of the vehicle and hit five parked vehicles in the parking lot head on before stopping. Upon impact, air bags failed to deploy. See voq 10083277.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 092004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,056 miles
While backing out of the driveway, the vehicle surged uncontrollably, as a result the vehicle crashed into a fence. No report of injuries.

- Jamaica Plain, MA, USA

problem #43

Jan 152004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
When idling, the vehicle surged forward without warning. No impact reported. The problem often occurred.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #42

Mar 192004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
While driving at low speeds or parking in a parking space the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The dealer inspected the vehicle six different times but could not duplicate or correct the problem. See voq 10062883. On one occasion while parking the vehicle surged forward and hit a post (no damage reported). The consumer had to replace the tires at 21000 miles because they would not move while on ice or snow.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #41

Nov 092002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
On the date below, I was driving on a highway when my brand new Camry went out of control and sped up, sending the car through a guard rail. My car ended up on the other side of the highway going in the opposite direction. I have a perfect driving record, and have never even had a ticket. I believe that my car had the acceleration problem that I've been reading about. I had contacted Toyota when the accident first occurred. They sent someone out who checked the tires and the steering, and a few minor things. No one tested anything to do with acceleration. The car was totaled, and I was taken by ambulance to a trauma center, where I was hospitalized. I am now driving a 2003 Camry, and I feel like I'm driving a time bomb, since I read that the problem may exist in both the 02 and 03 models. See voq 10063318.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #40

Feb 052004

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
While waiting at a stop sign consumer pressed the brakes and vehicle surged forward. Consumer continued to press the brakes and applied the emergency brake, and vehicle continued to surge forward, eventually colliding with a snow bank. There were no injuries, and no police report. Dealer claimed there was nothing wrong with the vehicle, and that it was consumer's fault.

- Bowie, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?