Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 11 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Mar 182004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle by applying the brakes to slow the vehicle down. This happened more than once. The driver will contact the dealer in the near future. The vehicle would continue in motion when the consumers foot was not on the accelerator. When slowing from speeds above 30 mph, the vehicle would not slow below 20-22 mph without applying the brakes. As the tachometer dropped down to 1000 RPM's, it would automatically make a slight surge to 1100-1200 RPM's then settle to 1000 RPM's and would continue until the brakes were applied.

- Bridgton, ME, USA

problem #38

Feb 182004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45 miles
I'm very concern about my 2002 Toyota Camry Solara VIN#[xxx] since I noticed on several occasions 02/18/04 being the most recent one of something that causes sudden acceleration even when it reads something different on the speedometer. Thank you. Respectfully, [xxx]. updated 07/26/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Hopatcong, NJ, USA

problem #37

Mar 122004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,690 miles
2002 Toyota Camry xle - engine surge unexpected acceleraton I have been operating this vehicle for two years without incident. However, in the last two months I have experienced the engine surge/racing problem. The first episode took place 2 months ago as I was in reverse and backing out of a driveway; I was able to stop by applying the brakes. The second incident took place as I was beginning to accelerate from a stop light; the vehicles ahead of me were slowing down as I applied the brakes to slow down the engine began to race. I was able to stop the car with the brakes but did lightly hit the car in front of me. There was no damage to either vehicle or any injuries. I took the car to my dealer this morning and reported the incidents. The dealership test drove the car and could not duplicate the problem. I did have passenger in car during the most recent episode who can attest to the problem.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #36

Mar 122004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Camry surges forward unexpectedly. Brakes are being applied, but the vehicle accelerates. ABS kicks in. Happens intermittently. Has happened twice now over last 3-5 weeks, last time just in front of a school cross walk! took the car to the dealer (12 Mar 04) and was informed nothing could be done. Sent me home with car despite more than an hour with dealer and very serious concerns about car safety.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #35

Sep 012002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
I have heard about the problem the Toyota Camry has with speed surges. I have had a problem but identified the cause quite readily. The brake pedal is located too close to the the gas pedal and at about the same level. After catching myself several times stepping on the gas pedal when I intended to step on the brake I have learned to be very careful when switcing from one to the other. In the cases where the mistake did occur I was quickly aware of what was happening and there was no incident or accident involved. Am submitting this as it may be what has occured in some of the instances of unanticipated drive surge. I have filled in a date of occurance but it occured a few times after I bought the vehicle and I don't remember the exact dates.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #34

Nov 062003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
While applying the brakes the vehicle surged forward intermittently. Updated 7/5/12 the consumer stated on several occasions, the vehicle lunged forward. Updated 08/13/12

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #33

Jan 012002

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving at low speeds, the vehicle surged forward without warning. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection and the mechanic changed the computer in the vehicle. The A/C did not cool properly, the vehicle lunged forward and backwards. The consumer was unable to stop the vehicle. Sudden acceleration also occured when braking. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem, even after 443 miles of driving the vehicle.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #32

Jan 142004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,800 miles
When starting the vehicle and putting it in reverse, the vehicle surged backwards. Consumer was preparing to back out of the driveway and placed the gear shift in reverse and the vehicle surged out of the driveway, landed across the street and collided with the neighbor's air conditioning unit. Consumer sustained head, neck, arm, and knee bruises. Updated 07/01/10.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #31

Mar 102004

Camry

  • miles
While waiting at an intersection vehicle suddenly accelerated. Driver's foot was placed on the brake at this time of the incident. Driver turned off the vehicle, and was able to restart, and drive it to the to dealer for inspection. Mechanic was not able to duplicate or resolve the problem.

- Toronto, 00, USA

problem #30

Apr 012004

(reported on)

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
When starting the vehicle, the engine raced and sounded like the vehicle was going to accelerate. The vehicle had not been inspected to determine the cause of the problem. The engine would accelerator up to 5000 RPM's and would not settle down.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 102004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 5 mph vehicle suddenly accelerated.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #28

Mar 192003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
When the brakes were depressed vehicle surged forward. This problem occurred 6 times since ownership of the vehicle. The vehicle has been to the dealer, who could not determine the cause of the problem. See voq 10063541.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #27

Mar 092004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
While driving 5 mph and pulling inside of a parking lot vehicle suddenly accelerated. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle by applying the brakes. Consumer contacted a dealer by phone, and technician informed the driver that nothing could be done.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #26

Feb 012002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Sudden accelaration on freeway in Toyota Camry le. Just after I had bought the Toyota I noticed this happening and did write an E-mail to the main web site of Toyota just to know if they were aware of the problem. They referred me to their dealer to have it checked out. I never mentioned it during service appointment because after the first few months the problem did not seems to occur too often. It mainly happens at higher speeds. Never noticed it a lower speeds.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #25

Dec 012003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I saw an article today on www.cnnfn.com about Toyota Camry safety investigation regarding sudden acceleration. My 2002 Toyota Camry le has that problem. It happened to me 3 or 4 times already during low speed driving. I did not write down the dates when it happened, so I placed 12/01/03 below. Updated 10/22/10 I am also going to report this problem to my service as soon as I can. The consumer would like the complaint to remain activated. Updated IVOQ 10/26/10

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #24

Jan 282004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
(in reference to your open investigation PE04021) I have a 2002 Toyota Camry, recently I took the car to the dealership (15,000 miles), my complaint was that the car has sudden and short surges of exceleration while at a full stop. I have been able to avoid accident or injury to others by keeping my foot completely and firmly depressed on the brake petal. This situation has happened in both drive and reverse. The dealer was unable to address this problem because they could not re-create the condition. Dealer stated that they had no procedure to diagnose this problem and that if it continued they would have to contract Toyota headquarters for advise. I requested that this be documented on the cars history. After hearing of the NHTSA investigation, I contacted Toyota customer relations to open a case to get this problem resolve. The dealership customer ralations manager (colleen) is to contact me by the end of the week.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #23

Jun 272002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75 miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Camry xle, since I got the car new it started to lunge several times while sitting at stop lights/signs. I went to two different Toyota dealers and was told that the car is running as manufactured. I said this can cause an accident. They said nothing was wrong. Also, since I bought the car new it wants to stall when coming to a stop. Again, no dealer will help. Something is wrong but the dealers won't help. I do not have time to keep running to dealers, that is why I bought a new car. There is a definite problem with these cars. As times goes by, it's getting worse, especially in warm weather conditions.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #22

Jan 062004

(reported on)

Camry

  • 31,000 miles
While vehicle was parked in the driveway with the engine off vehicle rolled back into traffic. Dealer stated this was normal for a vehicle on a slight incline.

- Brunswick, ME, USA

problem #21

Aug 112002

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Unreliable throttle response from stopped or slightly rolling.. sometimes responds smartly, most of the time hesitates and/or responds then hesitates. Sometimes letting you linger for a second or two partially across two lanes(infrequent) but you never know when this thing is going to do it to you!. events are continuous. Dealer says nothing wrong. Of course they also said my driver power seat does not move or slip. Found the sb on that, will provide them a copy next time in for sservice.

- Bagdad, KY, USA

problem #20

Aug 292003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,700 miles
The vehicle was being parked parallel to the curb. With the drivers foot on the brake, he shifted from park to drive and the vehicle accelerated forward, throughout the intersection, over a curb increasing in speed. The air bag did not deploy. The driver attempted to brake, but the vehicle did not respond. The vehicle was totaled.

- Niles, IL, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?